
SB 276 – Sentencing (Identical HB 591) 
 
This bill creates s. 775.08701, F.S., retroactively applying “chapter 2016-7, Laws of 
Florida, only as provided in this section, to persons who committed aggravated assault 
or attempted aggravated assault before July 1, 2016, the effective date of chapter 2016-
7, Laws of Florida, which amended s. 775.087, F.S. to remove aggravated assault and 
attempted aggravated assault from the list of predicate offenses for mandatory minimum 
terms of imprisonment under that section.” This would apply to those who committed 
their offenses before July 1, 2016 and had not yet been sentenced, as well as someone 
sentenced before October 1, 2022, but who committed these offenses before July 1, 
2016, and received a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment. The first group would 
be sentenced under current law and the group who have already been sentenced to a 
mandatory minimum term of imprisonment under prior law “must be resentenced…to a 
sentence without such mandatory minimum term of imprisonment” and will be “eligible 
to receive any gain-time pursuant to s. 944.275, F.S. which he or she was previously 
ineligible to receive because of the imposition of the mandatory minimum term of 
imprisonment.” However, ultimately it is up to the individual offender to seek a sentence 
review hearing once DOC informs the person of eligibility, and the court might 
determine that a person does not meet the criteria for resentencing. 
  
Per DOC, there are currently 141 cases eligible under this criteria, though it is unknown 
how their new sentences would be structured. Furthermore, it is not known how many 
offenders committed their offenses prior to July 1, 2016 and have yet to be sentenced. 
 

CONFERENCE ADOPTED ESTIMATE: Negative Indeterminate 
 
This bill also creates s. 893.13501, F.S., establishing that someone who committed 
trafficking offenses involving hydrocodone/codeine and oxycodone must be 
resentenced if the offender was serving a mandatory minimum prison sentence under 
prior weight thresholds that were changed on July 1, 2014 for both of these drugs and 
changed once more on October 1, 2019 for hydrocodone. If the offense was committed 
before either one of these dates and the person had not been sentenced as of October 
1, 2022, those offenders would also be subject to the new weight thresholds. However, 
ultimately it is up to the individual offender to seek a sentence review hearing once DOC 
informs the person of eligibility, and the court might determine that a person does not 
meet the criteria for resentencing. 
 
Under prior law (before July 1, 2014), hydrocodone/codeine and oxycodone were 
included under trafficking in illegal drugs with the following thresholds:  
 

 4 grams or more, less than 14 grams – Level 7, 1st degree felony; 3 year 
mandatory minimum 

 14 grams or more, less than 28 grams – Level 8, 1st degree felony; 15 year 
mandatory minimum 

 28 grams or more, less than 30 kilograms – Level 9, 1st degree felony; 25 
year mandatory minimum 



 
Under current law for hydrocodone/codeine (thresholds most recently increased on 
October 1, 2019): 
 

 28 grams or more, less than 50 grams – Level 7, 1st degree felony; 3 year 
mandatory minimum 

 50 grams or more, less than 100 grams – Level 7, 1st degree felony; 7 year 
mandatory minimum 

 100 grams or more, less than 300 grams – Level 8, 1st degree felony; 15 year 
mandatory minimum 

 300 grams or more, less than 30 kilograms – Level 9, 1st degree felony; 25 
year mandatory minimum 

 
Under current law for oxycodone (thresholds most recently increased on July 1, 2014): 
 

 7 grams or more, less than 14 grams – Level 7, 1st degree felony; 3 year 
mandatory minimum 

 14 grams or more, less than 25 grams – Level 7, 1st degree felony; 7 year 
mandatory minimum 

 25 grams or more, less than 100 grams – Level 8, 1st degree felony; 15 year 
mandatory minimum 

 100 grams or more, less than 30 kilograms – Level 9, 1st degree felony; 25 
year mandatory minimum 

 
 
Per DOC, as of September 30, 2021, there were 666 offenders incarcerated for 
trafficking in illegal drugs with an offense committed before July 1, 2014. For the 4 or 
more, but less than 14 gram threshold group, of the 183 incarcerated, there were no 
offenders with sentence lengths less than 3 years, though this is likely the outcome of 
when the offenses were committed, since most offenders with smaller sentences would 
no longer be incarcerated over six years after committing an offense. For the 14 or 
more, but less than 28 gram threshold group, of the 220 incarcerated, there are some 
with sentence lengths less than 15 years (27, 12.27%), with 127 (57.73%) having 
sentences of exactly fifteen years. Finally, for the 28 or more, but less than 30 kilogram 
threshold group, of the 263 incarcerated, there is also a large number with sentence 
lengths less than 25 years (99, 37.64%), with 99 (37.64%) having sentences of exactly 
25 years. Though it is possible that those offenders clustered around the mandatory 
minimum sentences could see an impact from this bill, it is not known how many of 
these offenders would be eligible for resentencing since DOC does not have information 
on how many were incarcerated for hydrocodone/codeine or oxycodone prior to July 1, 
2014. It is also not known how many additional offenders have yet to be sentenced who 
committed their offenses prior to October 1, 2022. 
 
There has been one commitment to prison since the change in hydrocodone/codeine 
thresholds on October 1, 2019. This was for an offense under the 28 or more, but less 
than 50 grams threshold, and this person received a sentence below the 3 year 



mandatory minimum (13 months). Furthermore, there are currently 49 offenders 
incarcerated under the hydrocodone/codeine thresholds prior to that date. For the 14 or 
more, but less than 28 gram threshold group, of the 23 incarcerated, there is one with a 
sentence length less than 3 years (1, 4.35%), with 3 (13.04%) having sentences of 
exactly three years. Finally, for the 28 or more, but less than 50 grams threshold group, 
of the 16 incarcerated, there are also a few with sentence lengths less than 7 years (4, 
25%), with 6 (37.50%) having sentences of exactly 7 years. There are only 10 
incarcerated at higher thresholds, and only 2 are at or above the mandatory minimums 
for these thresholds. Given the new thresholds for hydrocodone/codeine removing the 3 
year mandatory minimum for more than 14 and less than 28 grams, as well as reducing 
the mandatory minimum from 7 years to 3 years for more than 28 and less than 50 
grams, these two incarcerated groups, especially the 9 offenders with sentence lengths 
that line up with mandatory minimums, could possibly be impacted by this language. 
However, it is also not known how many additional offenders have yet to be sentenced 
who committed their offenses prior to October 1, 2022. 
 
Since hydrocodone and oxycodone were initially recorded under trafficking in illegal 
drugs, it is not known how many would be eligible for resentencing, nor is it known how 
offenders are currently sentenced when hydrocodone and oxycodone fall below their 
trafficking thresholds. However, both sentence length and incarceration rates are 
significantly lower for offenses under s. 893.13, F.S. when compared to the trafficking in 
illegal drugs threshold where these drug types initially were (4 grams or more, less than 
14 grams), and could impact resentencing decisions for those who are eligible. 
 

CONFERENCE ADOPTED ESTIMATE: Negative Indeterminate 
 

CONFERENCE ADOPTED FOR ENTIRE BILL: Negative 
Indeterminate 
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