
SB 1552 – Law Enforcement Activities 
 

This bill amends s. 775.21, F.S. (sexual predator registration) and s. 943.0435, F.S. 

(sexual offender registration) with the same language. First, it adds that for these 
groups the current requirement of reporting a change in vehicles owned can be made 
“through the department’s online system.” It also adds (in bold that) one who “intends to 

establish a permanent, temporary, or transient residence in another state or jurisdiction 
other than the State of Florida or intends to travel outside of the United States shall 
report in person to the sheriff of the county of current residence at least 48 hours before 

the date he or she intends to leave this state to establish residence in another state or 
jurisdiction or at least 21 days before the date he or she intends to travel outside of the 
United States. Any travel that is not known…48 hours before he or she intends to 

establish a residence in another state or jurisdiction or 21 days before the departure  
date for travel outside of the United States must be reported to the sheriff's office as 
soon as possible before departure.” Current language states that establishing residence 

in another state/jurisdiction would have to occur within 48 hours, where this new 
language requires at least 48 hours. The 21 days before departure outside of the United 
States is currently only required if the stay is 5 days or more. However, it does permit 

the opportunity to report to the sheriff’s office as soon as possible before departure if 
this travel was not known by the sexual predator/offender before these time periods. 
Furthermore, it adds more detail for international travel, including flight numbers, 

airports of departure and return, cruise ports of departure and return, as well as 
intended country of travel. Currently, only a single flight number, airport of departure, 
cruise port of departure, and country of residence are required. This new language has 

the potential to expand the pool of sexual predators/offenders committing registration 
offenses. 
 
Further amending s. 943.0435, F.S., this bill allows sex offenders to petition for relief of 

registration if they are only required to register based on a requirement to register in 
another state and if their registration is considered confidential from being disclosed to 
the public in that state. This could reduce the number of sex offenders required to 

register in Florida. 
 
Per FDLE, as of June 2019, there were a total of 31,143 sexual predators and sexual 

offenders who were not incarcerated in the state of Florida. Per DOC, in FY 18-19, there 
were 536 new commitments to prison for sexual predator/offender registration offenses. 
It is not known how many offenders will or won’t be charged with these offenses under 

the amended language. 
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