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Official Notification

Letter from the Florida Department of State to the Financial Impact Estimating Conference
(FIEC) dated September 26, 2013, to initiate an analysis and financial impact statement per
Florida Statutes 100.371.

The 45-day window began on September 26" when the official transmittal letter was hand-
delivered to EDR. This means that all of the FIEC work has to be completed by November 10",
Since that day is a Sunday and the following Monday is a state holiday, EDR plans to finish no

later than Friday, November 8™

The notice of workshops and conference for the FIEC is also enclosed.



FLORIDA DEPARTMENT Of STATE
RICK SCOTT : KEN DETZNER
Governor Secretary of State

September 26, 2013

Financial Impact Estimating Conference

c/o Ms. Amy Baker, Coordinator

Office of Economic and Demographic Research
111 West Madison Street, Suite 574
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-6588

Dear Ms. Baker:;

Section 15.21, Florida Statutes, provides that the Secretary of State shall submit an initiative
petition to the Financial Impact Estimating Conference when the sponsoring political committee
has obtained ten percent of the signatures in one fourth of the Congressional Districts, as
required by section 3, Article XI of the Florida Constitution, and has met registration and
submission requirements.

People United for Medical Marijuana has successfully met the requirements of Section 15.21,
Florida Statutes, for the initiative petition titled Use of Marijuana for Certain Medical
Conditions, Serial Number 13-02. Therefore, I am submitting the proposed constitutional
amendment for your review, along with a status update for the initiative petition, and a current
county-by-county signature count.

Siz(zilyW

Ken Detzner
Secretary of State

KD/am

pc: John Morgan, Chairperson 3 T —_—— ‘
People United for Medical Marijuana :MW bev s¢, "%/J, 3-atm
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R.A. Gray Bldg., Rm. 316 * 500 S Bronough St. ¢ Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0250
Telephone: (850) 245-6200 ¢ Facsimile: (850) 245-6217 elections.myflorida.com
< Commemorating 500 years of Florida history www.flaB00.com \
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CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT PETITION FORM

Note: . :
« All information on this farm, including your signature, becomes a public recard upan recelpt by the Supervisar of Elections.

* Under Florida law, it is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 ar s. 775.083, Florida Statutes, to knawlIngly sign
more than one petition for a candidate, a minor palitical party, or an issue. [Section 104.185, Florida Statutes]
o If all requested information an thls form Is not completed, the form will not be valid,

Your name
Please print name as it appears on your Voter Infarmation Card -

Your residential street address

City Zip___ County
Voter Registration Number OR Date of Birth

| am a registered voter of Florida and hereby petition the Secretary of State to place the following praposed amendment to the Flarida Constitution on the
ballot in the general election:

BALLOT TITLE: Use of Manjuana for Certain Medical Conditions

IBALLOT SUMMARY: Allows the medical use of marijuana for individuals with debilitating diseases as
determined by a licensed Florida physician. Allows caregivers to assist patients’ medical use of marijuana. The
Department of Health shall register and regulate centers that produce and distribute marijuana for medical
purposes and shall issue identification cards to patients and caregivers. Applies only to Florida law. Does not
authorize violations of federal law or any non-medical use, possession or production of marijuana.

ARTICLE AND SECTION BEING AMENDED OR CREATED: Article X, Section 29

Full text of proposed constitutional amendment is as follows:

ARTICLE X, SECTION 29. Medical marijuana production, possession and use.,—
(a) . PUBLIC POLICY.

(1)  The medical use of marijuana by a qualifying patient or personal caregiver is not subject to criminal or civil liability or sanctions
under Florida law except as provided in this section.

(2)  Aphysician licensed in Florida shaii not be subject to criminal or civil liability or sanctions under Florida law for issuing a
physician certification to a person diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition in a manner consistent with this section.

(8)  Actions and conduct by a medical marijuana treatment center registered with the Department, or its employees, as permitted by
this section and in compliance with Department regulations, shall not be subject to criminal or civil Hability or sanctions under Florida law
except as provided in this section.

(b)  DEFINITIONS. For purposes of this section, the following words and terms shall have the following meanings:

(1)  "Debilitating Medical Condition" means cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), acquired
immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), hepatitis C, amyatrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Crohn’s disease, Parkinson's disease, multiple
sclerosis or other conditions for which a physiclan believes that the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health
risks for a patient.

(2)  "Department” means the Department of Health or its successor agency.

(3)  ‘“Identification card” means a document issued by the Department that identifies a person who has a physician certification or a
personal caregiver wha is at least twenty-one (21) years old and has agreed to assist with a qualifying patient's medical use of marijuana.

(4)  "Marijuana" has the meaning given cannabis in Section 893.02(3), Florida Statutes (2013).

(5) “Medical Marijuana Treatment Center” means an entity that acquires, cultivates, possesses, processes (including development
of related products such as food, tinctures, aerosols, oils, or ointments), transfers, transports, sells, distributes, dispenses, or administers
marijuana, products containing marijuana, related supplies, or educational materials to qualifying patients or their personal caregivers and
is registered by the Department.

(6)  "Medical use" means the acquisition, possession, use, delivery, transfer, or administration of marijuana or related supplies by a
qualifying patient or personal caregiver for use by a qualifying patient for the treatment of a debilitating medical candition.

(7)  “Personal caregiver’ means a person who Is at least twenty-one (21) years old who has agreed to assist with a qualifying
patient's medical use of marijuana and has a caregiver identification card issued by the Department. A personal caregiver may assist no
more than five (5) qualifying patients at one time. An employee of a hospice provider, nursing, or medical facility may serve as a personal
caregiver to more than five (5) qualifying patients as permitted by the Department. Personal caregivers are prohibited from consuming
marijuana obtained for the personal, medical use by the qualifying patient.

(8)  "Physician” means a physician who is licensed in Florida. .
: (Continues on next page)




(Continued from previous page)

(9)  "Physician cemfcatlon means & written document signed by a physician, stating that in the physician's professional opinion, the
patient suffers from a debllitating medical condition, that the potential benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the
health risks for the patient, and for how long the physician recommends the medical use of marijuana for the patient. A physician
certification may only be provided after the physician has conducted a physical examination of the patient and a full assessment of the
patient's medical history.

(10) "Qualifying patient’ means a person who has been diagnosed to have a debilitating medical condition, who has a physlcian
cerlification and a valid qualifying patient identification card. If the Department does not begin issuing identification cards within nine (9)
months after the effective date of this section, then a valid physician certification will serve as a patient identification card in order {o allow a
person to become a "qualifying patient” until the Department begins issuing identification cards.

(c) LIMITATIONS. .
Nothing In this section shall affect laws relating to non-medical use, possession, production or sale of marijuana.

1

(2)  Nothing in this section authorizes the use of medical marijuana by anyone other than a qualifying patient.

{3)  Nothing in this section allows the operation of a motor vehicle, boat, or aircraft while under the infiluence of marijuana.
(4)  Nothing in this law section requires the violation of federal law or purports to give immunity under federal law.

(5)  Nothing in this section shall require any accommodation of any on-site medical use of marijuana in any place of education or
employment, or of smoking medical marijuana in any public place.

{6)  Nothing in this section shall require any health insurance provider or any government agency or authority to reimburse any
person for expenses related to the medical use of marijuana.
{d) DUTIES OF THE DEPARTMENT. The Department shall issue reasonable regulations necessary for the implementation and
enforcement of this section. The purpose of the regulations is to ensure the avallability and safe use of medical marijuana by qualifying
patients. It is the duty of the Department to promulgate regulations in a timely fashion,

(1) Implementing Regulations. In order to allow the Department sufficient time after passage of this section, the following regulations
shall be promulgated no later than six (8) months after the effective date of this section:

a. Procedures for the issuance of qualifying patient identification cards to people with physician certifications, and standards for
the renewal of such identification cards.

b. Procedures for the issuance of personal caregiver identification cards to persons qualified to assist with a qualifying patient's
medical use of marijuana, and standards for the renewal of such identification cards.

C. Procedures for the registration of Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers that include procedures for the issuance, renewal,
suspension, and revocation of registration, and standards to ensure security, record keeping, testing, labeling, inspection, and safety.

d. A regulation that defines the amount of marijuana that could reasonably be presumed to be an adequate supply for qualifying

patlents’ medical use, based on the best available evidence. This presumption as to quantity may be overcome with evidence of a

particular qualifying patient's approptiate medical use.

(2)  Issuance of identification cards and registrations. The Department shall begm issuing qualifying patient and personal caregiver
identification cards, as well as begin registering Medlcal Marijuana Treatment Centers no later than nine months (9) after the effective date
of this section.

(3)  If the Department does not issue regulations, or'if the Department does not begin issuing identification cards and registering
Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers within the time limits set in this section, any Florida citizen shall have standing to seek judicial relief
to compel compliance with the Departments constitutional duties.

(4)  The Department shall protect the confidentiality of all qualifying patients. All records containing the identity of qualifying patients
shall be confidential and kept from public disclosure other than for valid medical or law enforcement purposes,

(e) LEGISLATION. Nothing in this section shall limit the legislature from enacting laws consistent with this provision,
{f) SEVERABILITY. The provisions of this section are severable and if any clause, sentence, paragraph or section of this measure, or
an application thereof, is adjudged Invalid by any court of competent jurisdiction other provisions shall continue to be in effect to the fullest

extent possible.

X

DATE OF SIGNATURE SIGNATURE OF REGISTERED VOTER

Include below th d add f pald petition clrcuiator if one was (Y«

unSC;g t?: ogt(;in él:nnaatmz ?gecﬁlonrisoss.a 9(3?), F.S.)0 o RETURN TO:

People United for Medical Marijuana
Post Office Box 560296
Name of paid circulator (if applicable) ‘ Orlando, FL 32856

i
Address For official use only: Serialnuml.wer 13-02 x
) . Date approved 7/10/2013 i
|

Pd. pol. adv. paid for and sponsored by People United for Medical Marijuana, P.0. Box 560296, Orlando, FL 32856




Attachment for Initiative Petition
Use of Marijuana for Certain Medical Conditions
Serial Number 13-02

Name and address of the sponsor of the initiative petition:
People United for Medical Marijuana, 20 North Orange Avenue, Suite 1600,
Orlando, Florida 32801; Chairperson is John Morgan, Esq.

Name and address of the sponsor’s attorney, if the sponsor is represented:
Unknown

A statement as to whether the sponsor has obtained the requisite number of
signatures on the initiative petition to have the proposed amendment put on
the ballot: As of September 26, 2013, the sponsor has not obtained the requisite
number of signatures to have the proposed amendment placed on the ballot. A total
of 683,149 valid signatures is required for placement on the 2014 general election
ballot.

If the sponsor has not obtained the requisite number of signatures on the
initiative petition to have the proposed amendment put on the ballot, the
current status of the signature-collection process: As of September 26, 2013, the
Supervisors of Elections have certified a total of 94,541 valid petition signatures to
the Division of Elections for this initiative petition. This number represents more
than 10% of the total number of valid signatures needed from electors statewide and
in at least one-fourth of the congressional districts in order to have the initiative
placed on the 2014 general election ballot.

The date of the election during which the sponsor is planning to submit the
proposed amendment to the voters: Unknown. The earliest date of election that
this proposed amendment can be placed on the ballot is November 4, 2014,
provided the sponsor successfully obtains the requisite number of valid signatures
by February 1, 2014.

The last possible date that the ballot for the target election can be printed in
order to be ready for the election: September 4, 2014, if amendment is to be
placed on November 2014 Ballot.

A statement identifying the date by which the Financial Impact Statement will
be filed, if the Financial Impact Statement is not filed concurrently with the
request: Unknown (The Secretary of State forwarded a letter to the Financial
Impact Estimating Conference in the care of the coordinator on September 26,
2013))

The names and complete mailing addresses of all of the parties who are to be
served: This information is unknown at this time.




FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF ELECTIONS

SUMMARY OF PETITION SIGNATURES

Political Committee: People United for Medical Marijuana
Amendment Title: Use of Marijuana for Certain Medical Conditions

) For Review For Ballot
, Voting Etectors 10% of 8% Required 8% Required By .
Cong.res.smnal Jin2012 By Section 15.21 Article X, Section 3 Slgnqtgres
District Presidential Election Florida Statutes Florida Constitution Certified

FIRST 356,435 2,851 28,515 0
SECOND 343,558 2,748 27,485 2,022
THIRD 329,165 2,633 26,333 1,277
FOURTH 351,564 2,813 28,125 3,307
FIFTH 279,598 2,237 22,368 4,986
SIXTH 363,402 2,907 29,072 4,624
SEVENTH 333,990 2,672 26,719 2,812
EIGHTH 365,738 2,926 29,259 2,168
NINTH 277,101 2,217 22,168 1,985
TENTH 329,366 2,635 26,349 1,749
ELEVENTH 359,004 2,872 28,720 1,166
TWELFTH 345,407 2,763 27,633 3,723
THIRTEENTH 344,500 2,756 27,560 4,298
FOURTEENTH 295,917 2,367 23,673 6,340
FIFTEENTH 304,932 2,439 24,395 2472
SIXTEENTH 360,734 2,886 28,859 2,383
SEVENTEENTH 299,464 2,396 23,957 790
EIGHTEENTH 345,399 2,783 27,632 2,568
NINETEENTH 323,317 2,587 25,865 948
TWENTIETH 264,721 2,118 21,178 8,271
TWENTY-FIRST 326,392 2,611 26,111 2,927
TWENTY-SECOND 329,816 2,639 26,385 5,110
TWENTY-THIRD 290,042 2,320 23,203 5,694
TWENTY-FOURTH 263,367 2,107 ' 21,069 13,000
TWENTY-FIFTH 240,521 1,924 19,242 1,932
TWENTY-SIXTH 268,898 2,151 21,512 4,441
TWENTY-SEVENTH 247,023 1,976 19,762 3,437

TOTAL: 8,539,371 68,314 683,149 94,541

Date: 9/26/2013 11:18:06 AM




Official Notification

The notice of workshops and conference for the FIEC.



NOTICE OF WORKSHOPS AND CONFERENCE
FINANCIAL IMPACT ESTIMATING CONFERENCE

The Financial Impact Estimating Conference (FIEC) will be holding
workshops and a conference on the petition initiative entitled “Use of Marijuana for
Certain Medical Conditions”. Unless otherwise indicated on the schedule below,
all meetings will begin at 9:00 a.m. in Room 117, Knott Building,

415 W. St. Augustine Street, Tallahassee, Florida. They will continue until
completion of the agenda.

The FIEC is required by s. 100.371, Florida Statutes, to review, analyze,
and estimate the financial impact of amendments to or revisions of the State
Constitution proposed by initiative. In this regard, the FIEC is now in the process
of preparing financial impact statements to be placed on the ballot that show the
estimated increase or decrease in any revenues or costs to state and local
governments resulting from proposed initiatives.

The purpose of the Public Workshop is to provide an opportunity for
proponents and opponents of the initiative to make formal presentations to the
FIEC regarding the probable financial impact of the initiative. In addition to the
workshop, proponents and opponents may submit information at any time to the
FIEC by contacting the Legislative Office of Economic and Demographic Research

(contact information below).

Use of Marijuana for Certain Medical Conditions
e Public Workshop — October 21, 2013
e Principals’ Workshop — October 28, 2013

e Formal Conference — November 4, 2013

For additional information regarding the meetings, please contact the
Florida Legislature’s Office of Economic and Demographic Research at
(850) 487-1402.



Address for submitting information to the FIEC:
The Florida Legislature
Office of Economic and Demographic Research
111 West Madison, Suite 574
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6588
Email:edrcoordinator@leg.state.fl.us
FAX: (850)922-6436

For additional information regarding the Financial Impact Estimating
Conference process and the Initiative Petition process, please visit the Florida
Legislature’s Office of Economic and Demographic Research’s website at:

http://edr.state.fl.us/Content/constitutional-amendments/index.cfm

and the Florida Department of State, Division on of Elections’ website at:

http://election.dos.state.fl.us/initiatives/initiativelist.asp
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Statutory Authorization for FIEC

Section 100.371, Florida Statutes: Initiatives; procedure for placement on ballot.



F.S. 100.371 Page 1 of 3

100.371 Initiatives; procedure for placement on ballot.—

(1) Constitutional amendments proposed by initiative shall be placed on the ballot for the general election,
provided the initiative petition has been filed with the Secretary of State no later than February 1 of the year the
general election is held. A petition shall be deemed to be filed with the Secretary of State upon the date the
secretary determines that valid and verified petition forms have been signed by the constitutionally required
number and distribution of electors under this code.

(2) The sponsor of an initiative amendment shall, prior to obtaining any signatures, register as a political
committee pursuant to s. 106.03 and submit the text of the proposed amendment to the Secretary of State, with
the form on which the signatures will be affixed, and shall obtain the approval of the Secretary of State of such
form. The Secretary of State shall adopt rules pursuant to s. 120.54 prescribing the style and requirements of such
form. Upon filing with the Secretary of State, the text of the proposed amendment and all forms filed in
connection with this section must, upon request, be made available in alternative formats.

(3) Aninitiative petition form circulated for signature may not be bundled with or attached to any other
petition. Each signature shall be dated when made and shall be valid for a period of 2 years following such date,
provided all other requirements of law are met. The sponsor shall submit signed and dated forms to the supervisor
of elections for the county of residence listed by the person signing the form for verification of the number of valid
signatures obtained. If a signature on a petition is from a registered voter in another county, the supervisor shall
notify the petition sponsor of the misfiled petition. The supervisor shall promptly verify the signatures within 30
days after receipt of the petition forms and payment of the fee required by s. 99.097. The supervisor shall
promptly record, in the manner prescribed by the Secretary of State, the date each form is received by the
supervisor, and the date the signature on the form is verified as valid. The supervisor may verify that the signature
on a form is valid only if:

(@) The form contains the original signature of the purported elector.

(b) The purported elector has accurately recorded on the form the date on which he or she signed the form.

(c) The form sets forth the purported elector’s name, address, city, county, and voter registration number or
date of birth.

(d) The purported elector is, at the time he or she signs the form and at the time the form is verified, a duly
qualified and registered elector in the state.

The supervisor shall retain the signature forms for at least 1 year following the election in which the issue
appeared on the ballot or until the Division of Elections notifies the supervisors of elections that the committee
that circulated the petition is no longer seeking to obtain ballot position.

(4) The Secretary of State shall determine from the signatures verified by the supervisors of elections the total
number of verified valid signatures and the distribution of such signatures by congressional districts. Upon a
determination that the requisite number and distribution of valid signatures have been obtained, the secretary
shall issue a certificate of ballot position for that proposed amendment and shall assign a designating number
pursuant to s. 101.161.

(5)(a) Within 45 days after receipt of a proposed revision or amendment to the State Constitution by initiative
petition from the Secretary of State, the Financial Impact Estimating Conference shall complete an analysis and
financial impact statement to be placed on the ballot of the estimated increase or decrease in any revenues or
costs to state or local governments resulting from the proposed initiative. The Financial Impact Estimating
Conference shall submit the financial impact statement to the Attorney General and Secretary of State.

(b) The Financial Impact Estimating Conference shall provide an opportunity for any proponents or opponents
of the initiative to submit information and may solicit information or analysis from any other entities or agencies,
including the Office of Economic and Demographic Research.

http://searchandbrowse.leg.fla.int/nxt/gateway.dll/Statutes/2013Stat/fs2013/chapters%2076%20-%20100/0100contentsind...  Accessed 10/7/2013



F.S. 100.371 Page 2 of 3

(c) All meetings of the Financial Impact Estimating Conference shall be open to the public. The President of the
Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, jointly, shall be the sole judge for the interpretation,
implementation, and enforcement of this subsection.

1. The Financial Impact Estimating Conference is established to review, analyze, and estimate the financial
impact of amendments to or revisions of the State Constitution proposed by initiative. The Financial Impact
Estimating Conference shall consist of four principals: one person from the Executive Office of the Governor; the
coordinator of the Office of Economic and Demographic Research, or his or her designee; one person from the
professional staff of the Senate; and one person from the professional staff of the House of Representatives. Each
principal shall have appropriate fiscal expertise in the subject matter of the initiative. A Financial Impact
Estimating Conference may be appointed for each initiative.

2. Principals of the Financial Impact Estimating Conference shall reach a consensus or majority concurrence on
a clear and unambiguous financial impact statement, no more than 75 words in length, and immediately submit the
statement to the Attorney General. Nothing in this subsection prohibits the Financial Impact Estimating Conference
from setting forth a range of potential impacts in the financial impact statement. Any financial impact statement
that a court finds not to be in accordance with this section shall be remanded solely to the Financial Impact
Estimating Conference for redrafting. The Financial Impact Estimating Conference shall redraft the financial impact
statement within 15 days.

3. If the members of the Financial Impact Estimating Conference are unable to agree on the statement
required by this subsection, or if the Supreme Court has rejected the initial submission by the Financial Impact
Estimating Conference and no redraft has been approved by the Supreme Court by 5 p.m. on the 75th day before
the election, the following statement shall appear on the ballot pursuant to s. 101.161(1): “The financial impact of
this measure, if any, cannot be reasonably determined at this time.”

(d) The financial impact statement must be separately contained and be set forth after the ballot summary as
required in s. 101.161(1).

(e)1. Any financial impact statement that the Supreme Court finds not to be in accordance with this subsection
shall be remanded solely to the Financial Impact Estimating Conference for redrafting, provided the court’s
advisory opinion is rendered at least 75 days before the election at which the question of ratifying the amendment
will be presented. The Financial Impact Estimating Conference shall prepare and adopt a revised financial impact
statement no later than 5 p.m. on the 15th day after the date of the court’s opinion.

2. If, by 5 p.m. on the 75th day before the election, the Supreme Court has not issued an advisory opinion on
the initial financial impact statement prepared by the Financial Impact Estimating Conference for an initiative
amendment that otherwise meets the legal requirements for ballot placement, the financial impact statement
shall be deemed approved for placement on the ballot.

3. In addition to the financial impact statement required by this subsection, the Financial Impact Estimating
Conference shall draft an initiative financial information statement. The initiative financial information statement
should describe in greater detail than the financial impact statement any projected increase or decrease in
revenues or costs that the state or local governments would likely experience if the ballot measure were approved.
If appropriate, the initiative financial information statement may include both estimated dollar amounts and a
description placing the estimated dollar amounts into context. The initiative financial information statement must
include both a summary of not more than 500 words and additional detailed information that includes the
assumptions that were made to develop the financial impacts, workpapers, and any other information deemed
relevant by the Financial Impact Estimating Conference.

4. The Department of State shall have printed, and shall furnish to each supervisor of elections, a copy of the
summary from the initiative financial information statements. The supervisors shall have the summary from the
initiative financial information statements available at each polling place and at the main office of the supervisor

http://searchandbrowse.leg.fla.int/nxt/gateway.dll/Statutes/2013Stat/fs2013/chapters%2076%20-%20100/0100contentsind...  Accessed 10/7/2013
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of elections upon request.

5. The Secretary of State and the Office of Economic and Demographic Research shall make available on the
Internet each initiative financial information statement in its entirety. In addition, each supervisor of elections
whose office has a website shall post the summary from each initiative financial information statement on the
website. Each supervisor shall include the Internet addresses for the information statements on the Secretary of
State’s and the Office of Economic and Demographic Research’s websites in the publication or mailing required by
s. 101.20.

(6) The Department of State may adopt rules in accordance with s. 120.54 to carry out the provisions of
subsections (1)-(5).

(7) No provision of this code shall be deemed to prohibit a private person exercising lawful control over
privately owned property, including property held open to the public for the purposes of a commercial enterprise,
from excluding from such property persons seeking to engage in activity supporting or opposing initiative

amendments.
History.—s. 15, ch. 79-365; s. 12, ch. 83-251; s. 30, ch. 84-302; s. 22, ch. 97-13; s. 9, ch. 2002-281; s. 3, ch. 2002-390; s. 3, ch. 2004-
33; s. 28, ch. 2005-278; s. 4, ch. 2006-119; s. 25, ch. 2007-30; s. 1, ch. 2007-231; s. 14, ch. 2008-95; s. 23, ch. 2011-40.

http://searchandbrowse.leg.fla.int/nxt/gateway.dll/Statutes/2013Stat/fs2013/chapters%2076%20-%20100/0100contentsind...  Accessed 10/7/2013
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Information on States with Medical Marijuana Laws

A listing of states with medical marijuana laws from the National Conference of State
Legislatures (NCSL), updated September 2013.



State Medical Marijuana Laws

Page 1 of 2
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Updated September 2013

In 1996, California voters passed Proposition 215, making the Golden State the first in the
union to allow for the medical use of marijuana. Since then, 19 more states, and the
District of Columbia have enacted similar laws, for a total of 20 states and the District
] of Columbia with public medical marijuana programs.**

Medical Uses of Marijuana

In response to California's Prop 215, the Institute of Medicine issued a report that examined potential therapeutic uses for
marijuana. The report found that:

"Scientific data indicate the potential therapeutic value of cannabinoid drugs, primarily THC, for pain relief, control of nausea and
vomiting, and appetite stimulation; smoked marijuana, however, is a crude THC delivery system that also delivers harmful
substances. The psychological effects of cannabinoids, such as anxiety reduction, sedation, and euphoria can influence their
potential therapeutic value. Those effects are potentially undesirable for certain patients and situations and beneficial for others.
In addition, psychological effects can complicate the interpretation of other aspects of the drug's effect."

Further studies have found that marijuana is effective in relieving some of the symptoms of HIV/AIDS, cancer, glaucoma, and
multiple sclerosis.t

State Vs Federal Perspective

At the federal level, marijuana remains classified as a Schedule I substance under the Controlled Substances Act, where
Schedule I substances are considered to have a high potential for dependency and no accepted medical use, making distribution
of marijuana a federal offense. In October of 2009, the Obama Administration sent a memo to federal prosecutors encouraging
them not to prosecute people who distribute marijuana for medical purposes in accordance with state law.

In late August of 2013, the U.S. Department of Justice announced an update to their marijuana enforcement policy. The statement reads
that while marijuana remains illegal federally, the USDOJ expects states like Colorado and Washington to create "strong, state-
based enforcement efforts.... and will defer the right to challenge their legalization laws at this time." The department also
reserves the right to challenge the states at any time they feel it's necessary.

Arizona and the District of Columbia voters passed initiatives to allow for medical use, only to have them overturned. In 1998,
voters in the District of Columbia passed Initiative 59. However, Congress blocked the initiative from becoming law. In 2009,
Congress reversed its previous decision, allowing the initiative to become law. The D.C. Council then put Initiative 59 on hold
temporarily and unanimously approved modifications to the law.

Before passing Proposition 203 in 2010, Arizona voters originally passed a ballot initiative in 1996. However, the initiative stated
that doctors would be allowed to write a "prescription" for marijuana. Since marijuana is still a Schedule I substance, federal law
prohibits its prescription, making the initiative invalid. Medical marijuana "prescriptions" are more often called
"recommendations" or "referrals" because of the federal prescription prohibition.

States with medical marijuana laws generally have some form of patient registry, which may provide some protection against
arrest for possession up to a certain amount of marijuana for personal medicinal use. The primary exception is Maryland, whose
statute simply allows for medical purposes as a defense against arrest and prosecution of marijuana possession, but does not
provide a means for patients to actually obtain the drug. As of April, 2011, people in Maryland with a debiliating medical
condition cannot be prosecuted for non-public use or possession of one ounce or less of marijuana.

Some of the most common policy questions regarding medical marijuana include how to regulate its recommendation,
dispensing, and registration of approved patients. Some states and localities without dispensary regulation are experiencing a
boom in new businesses, in hopes of being approved before presumably stricter regulations are made. Medical marijuana
growers or dispensaries are often called "caregivers" and may be limited to a certain number of plants or products per patient.
This issue may also be regulated on a local level, in addition to any state regulation.

Resources

b

Comparison of all state medical
marijuana programs with contact
information. Prepared by the
Network for Public Health Law as
of May 2012.

"State Legalization of
Recreational Marijuana:
Selected Legal Issues."
Congressional Research
Service, April 2013.

Analysis of CO Amendment 64
(rec use initiative) by Colorado
State University, April 2013.
"Marijuana and Medicine:
Assessing the Science Base,"
Institute of Medicine, 1999.
Treatment Research Institute's
TRI) policy position statement
regarding medical marijuana.
ProCon.org's resources on medical
marijuana. Medical Marijuana
ProCon.org presents laws,
studies, statistics, surveys,
government reports, and pro and
con statements on guestions
related to marijuana as medicine.
"Exposing the Myth of Smoked
Medical Marijuana," U.S. Drug
Enforcement Administration.
"State-by-State Medical Marijuana
Laws: How to Remove the Threat
of Arrest," Marijuana Policy
Project, 2011.

Statement by ONDCP Director Gil
Kerlikowske regarding Federal
quidelines for medical marijuana
prosecution.

"How to Become a Legal Medical
Marijuana Patient," Americans for
Safe Access.

"Marinol: The Legal Medical Use
for the Marijuana Plant," U.S.
Drug Enforcement Administration

NCSL Contact

Contact Karmen Hanson,
program manager (Denver)

STATE STATUTORY LANGUAGE (YEAR)  PATIENT ALLow SPECIFY CONDITIONS RECOGNIZE PATIENTS STATE
REGISTRY DISPENSARIES FROM OTHER STATES ALLows FOR RECREATIONAL USE
Alaska Measure 8 (1998) SB 94 Yes No Yes
(1999) Statute Title 17
Chapter 37
Arizona Proposition 203 (2010) Yes Yes Yes Yes
California Proposition 215 (1996) SB 420 Yes Yes No
(2003)
Colorado Amendment 20 (2000) Yes Yes Yes Amendment 64 (2012)
Task Force Implementation
Recommendations (2013)
Analysis of CO Amendment 64 (2013)
Connecticut HB 5387 (2012) Yes Yes Yes

http://www.ncsl.org/issues-research/health/state-medical-marijuana-laws.aspx
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STATE STATUTORY LANGUAGE (YEAR)  PATIENT ALLow SPECIFY CONDITIONS RECOGNIZE PATIENTS STATE
REGISTRY DISPENSARIES FROM OTHER STATES ALLows FOR RECREATIONAL Use
Delaware SB 17 (2011) Yes Yes Yes Yes
District of Initiative 59 (1998) LR 720 (2010) | Yes Yes TBD
Columbia
Hawaii SB 862 (2000) Yes No Yes
Illinois HB 1 (2013) Eff. 1/1/2014 Yes Yes Yes No
Maine Question 2 (1999) LD 611 Yes Yes Yes Yes
(2002)
Question 5 (2009) LD 1811
(2010)
LD 1296 (2011)
Maryland** HB 702 (2003) SB 308 (2011) HB No No No
(NOT a fully 180/SB 580 (2013) HB 1101-
functioning Chapter 403 (2013) (legal defense only-
public state only has limited
program, see R .
below) medical marijuana
program for research)
M. husett Question 3 (2012) Yes Yes Yes
Regulations (2013)
Michigan Proposal 1 (2008) Yes No Yes Yes
Montana Initiative 148 (2004) SB 423 (2011) | Yes No*** Yes No
Nevada Question 9 (2000)_NRS 453A NAC Yes No Yes
53A
New HB 573 (2013) Yes Yes Yes Yes, with a note from
Hampshire !
their home state, but
they cannot purchase
or grow their own in NH.
New Jersey SB 119 (2009) Yes Yes Yes
New Mexico SB 523 (2007) Yes Yes Yes
Oregon Oregon Medical Marijuana Act | Yes No Yes
(1998)
SB 161 (2007)
Rhode Island SB 791 (2007) SB 185 (2009) Yes Yes Yes Yes
Vermont SB 76 (2004)_SB 7 (2007) SB 17 Yes Yes Yes
(2011)
Washington Initiative 692 (1998) SB 5798 No No Yes Initiative 502 (2012)
(2010)
SB 5073 (2011)

*The links and resources are provided for information purposes only. NCSL does not endorse the views expressed in any of the articles linked from this page.

** As of 4/22/13: Maryland's law allows for medical marijuana use as a legal defense in court. Possession of more than one ounce of marijuana and public
consumption for medical reasons is still illegal. 2013 bill allows caregivers to be included in the affirmative legal defense category. HB 1101
legalized a medical use RESEARCH program and was signed by the governor on 5/3/2013 as Chapter 403.

*** While Montana's revised medical marijuana law limits caregivers to three patients, caregivers may serve an unlimited number of patients due to an injunction
issued on January 16, 2013.

Denver Office

Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800 | 7700 East First Place |
Denver, CO 80230

©2013 National Conference of State Legislatures. All Rights Reserved.

Washington Office
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069 | 444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515 |
Washington, D.C. 20001

http://www.ncsl.org/issues-research/health/state-medical-marijuana-laws.aspx
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20 Legal Medical Marijuana States and DC
Laws, Fees, and Possession Limits

Il. Details by State

I1l. Sources

I. Summary Chart: 20 states and DC have enacted laws to legalize medical marijuana

State

1. Alaska

2. Arizona

3. California

4. Colorado

5. Connecticut

6. DC

7. Delaware

8. Hawaii

9. lllinois
10. Maine

11.
Massachusetts

12. Michigan

13. Montana

14. Nevada

15. New
Hampshire

Year
Passed

1998

2010

1996

2000

2012

2010

2011
2000

2013

1999

2012

2008

2004

2000

2013

How Passed
(Yes Vote)

Ballot Measure 8
(58%)

Proposition 203
(50.13%)

Proposition 215
(56%)

Ballot Amendment 20
(54%)

House Bill 5389 (96-
51 House, 21-13
Senate)

Amendment Act B18-
622 (13-0 vote)

Senate Bill 17 (27-14
House, 17-4 Senate)

Senate Bill 862 (32-
18 House; 13-12
Senate)

House Bill 1 (61-57
House; 35-21 Senate)

Ballot Question 2
(61%)

Ballot Question 3
(63%)
Proposal 1 (63%)

Initiative 148 (62%)

Ballot Question 9
(65%)

House Bill 573 (284-
66 House; 18-6
Senate)

Fee

$25/
$20

$150/
$75

$66/
$33

$35

TBD*

$100/
$25

$125
$25

TBD*

No fee

TBD'’

$100/
$25

$25/
$10

$2008

TBD*

Possession Limit

1 oz usable; 6 plants (3 mature, 3
immature)

2.5 0z usable; 0-12 plants?
8 0z usable; 6 mature or 12 immature
plants*

2 oz usable; 6 plants (3 mature, 3
immature)

One-month supply (exact amount to be
determined)

2 oz dried; limits on other forms to be
determined

6 0z usable

3 0z usable; 7 plants (3 mature, 4
immature)

2.5 ounces of usable cannabis during a
period of 14 days

2.5 0z usable; 6 plants

Sixty day supply for personal medical use

2.5 0z usable; 12 plants

1 oz usable; 4 plants (mature); 12
seedlings

1 oz usable; 7 plants (3 mature, 4
immature)

Two ounces of usable cannabis during a
10-day period

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

Accepts
other states'
registry ID
cards?

unknown*

Yes®

No

No

No

No

Yes

No

No

Yes®

unknown

Yes

No

Yes

Yes
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16. New Jersey 2010  SenateBill 119 (48-  $200/ 2 oz usable No
14 House; 25-13 $20
Senate)

. Senate Bill 523 (36- 6 0z usable; 16 plants (4 mature, 12

17. New Mexico 2007 glera?g)se. 323 $0 immature) No

18. Oregon 1998  BallotMeasure 67  $200/ 24 oz usable; 24 plants (6 mature, 18 No
(55%) $100'° immature)

19. Rhode 2006  SenateBill 0710 (52- $75/ 2.5 oz usable; 12 plants Yes

ISland 10 House; 33-1 $10
Senate)

20. Vermont 2004  Senate Bill 76 (22-7)  $50 2 oz usable; 9 plants (2 mature, 7 No
HB 645 (82-59) immature)

21. Washington 1998  Initiative 692 (59%)  ** 24 oz usable; 15 plants No

Notes:

a. Residency Requirement - 18 of the 20 states require proof of residency to be considered a
qualifying patient for medical marijuana use. Only Oregon has announced that it will accept out-of-
state applications. The lllinois law does not appear to have a residency requirement, but it is
unknown whether the program rules will address this matter.

b. Home Cultivation - Karen O'Keefe, JD, Director of State Policies for Marijuana Policy Project
(MPP), told ProCon.org in a August 5, 2013 email that "Some or all patients and/or their caregivers
can cultivate in 15 of the 20 states. Home cultivation is not allowed in Connecticut, Delaware,
lllinois, New Hampshire, New Jersey, or the District of Columbia and a special license is required in
New Mexico. In Arizona, patients can only cultivate if they lived 25 miles or more from a dispensary
when they applied for their card. In Massachusetts, patients can only cultivate if they have a
hardship waiver. In Nevada, patients can cultivate if they live more than 25 miles from a dispensary,
if they are not able to reasonably travel to a dispensary, or if no dispensaries in the patients'
counties are able to supply the strains they need. In addition, Nevada patients who were growing by
July 1, 2013 may continue grow until March 31, 2016."

c. Patient Registration - Karen O'Keefe stated the following in an Aug. 5, 2013 email to ProCon.org:

"Affirmative defenses, which protect from conviction but not arrest, are or may be
available in several states even if the patient doesn't have an ID card: Rhode Island,
Michigan, Colorado, Nevada, Oregon, and, in some circumstances, Delaware. Hawaii
also has a separate 'choice of evils' defense. Patient ID cards are voluntary in Maine
and California, but in California they offer the strongest legal protection. In Delaware,
the defense is only available between when a patient submits a valid application and
receives their ID card.

The states with no protection unless you're registered are: Alaska (except for that
even non-medical use is protected in one's home due to the state constitutional right
to privacy), Arizona, Connecticut, Montana, New Hampshire, Vermont, New Mexico,
and New Jersey. Washington, D.C. also requires registration."

d. Maryland - Maryland passed two laws that, although favorable to medical marijuana, do not legalize
its use. Senate Bill 502 ™ (72 kB), the "Darrell Putman Bill" (Resolution #0756-2003) was approved
in the state senate by a vote of 29-17, signed into law by Gov. Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr. on May 22,
2003, and took effect on Oct. 1, 2003. The law allows defendants being prosecuted for the use or
possession of marijuana to introduce evidence of medical necessity and physician approval, to be
considered by the court as a mitigating factor. If the court finds that the case involves medical
necessity, the maximum penalty is a fine not exceeding $100. The law does not protect users of
medical marijuana from arrest nor does it establish a registry program.

On May 10, 2011, Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley signed SB 308 ™ (500 KB), into law. SB 308
removed criminal penalties for medical marijuana patients who meet the specified conditions, but

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true Accessed 10/7/2013



20 Legal Medical Marijuana States and DC - Medical Marijuana - ProCon.org Page 3 of 23

patients are still subject to arrest. The bill provides an affirmative defense for defendants who have
been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition that is "severe and resistant to conventional
medicine." The affirmative defense does not apply to defendants who used medical marijuana in
public or who were in possession of more than one ounce of marijuana. The bill also created a Work
Group to "develop a model program to facilitate patient access to marijuana for medical purposes."

Maryland passed two medical marijuana-related laws in 2013. HB 180 ™ (150 KB), signed into law by
Governor O'Malley on Apr. 9, 2013, provides an affirmative defense to a prosecution for caregivers
of medical marijuana patients. HB 1101 ™ (200 kB), signed into law by Governor O'Malley on May 2,
2013, allows for the investigational use of marijuana for medical purposes by "academic medical
centers." The University of Maryland Medical System and Johns Hopkins University indicated they
would not participate ™ (230 KB).

e. Several states with legal medical marijuana received letters from their respective United States
Attorney's offices ™ (2 MB) explaining that marijuana is a Schedule | substance and that the federal
government considers growing, distribution, or possession of marijuana to be a federal crime
regardless of the state laws. An Aug. 29, 2013 T (525 kB) Department of Justice memo clarified the
government's prosecutorial priorities and stated that the federal government would rely on state and
local law enforcement to "address marijuana activity through enforcement of their own narcotics
laws."

f. Between Mar. 27, 1979 and July 23, 1991, five US states enacted laws that legalized medical
marijuana with a physician's prescription, however, those laws are considered symbolic because
federal law prohibits physicians from "prescribing" marijuana, a schedule | drug.

The five states were Virginia ™ (25 kB) (Mar. 27, 1979), New Hampshire (Apr. 23, 1981), Connecticut
(July 1, 1981), Wisconsin (Apr. 20, 1988), and Louisiana (July 23, 1991).

Il. Details by State: 20 states and DC that have enacted laws to legalize medical marijuana

State and Relevant Medical Marijuana Laws Contact and Program Details

1 Alaska Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics
Marijuana Registry

Ballot Measure 8 ™ (100 kB) -- Approved Nov. 3, 1998 by 58% of | P-O. Box 110699
voters Juneau, AK 99811-0699

Effective: Mar. 4, 1999 Phone: 907-465-5423

Removed state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and | BYSSpecialServices@health.state.ak.us

cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess written
documentation from their physician advising that they "might benefit
from the medical use of marijuana.”

AK Marijuana Registry Online

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

Approved Conditions: Cachexia, cancer, chronic pain, epilepsy None found

and other disorders characterized by seizures, glaucoma, HIV or
AIDS, multiple sclerosis and other disorders characterized by
muscle spasticity, and nausea. Other conditions are subject to
approval by the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services.

Patient Registry Fee:
$25 new application/$20 renewal

Accepts other states' registry ID

Possession/Cultivation: Patients (or their primary caregivers) may cards?

legally possess no more than one ounce of usable marijuana, and | ;. o
may cultivate no more than six marijuana plants, of which no more |~ Unknown [Editor's Note: Four phone
than three may be mature. The law establishes a confidential state- | calls made Jan. 5-8, 2010 and an email

run patient registry that issues identification cards to qualifying sent on Jan. 6, 2010 by ProCon.org to
patients. the Alaska Marijuana Registry have not

yet been returned and the information is
Amended: Senate Bill 94T not available on the state's website (as
Effective: June 2, 1999 of Jan. 11, 2010).]

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true Accessed 10/7/2013
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Mandates all patients seeking legal protection under this act to
enroll in the state patient registry and possess a valid identification
card. Patients not enrolled in the registry will no longer be able to
argue the "affirmative defense of medical necessity" if they are
arrested on marijuana charges.

Update: Alaska Statute Title 17 Chapter 37 T (36 KB)

Creates a confidential statewide registry of medical marijuana
patients and caregivers and establishes identification card.

Page 4 of 23

Registration:
Mandatory

2. Arizona

Ballot Proposition 203 ¥ (300 kB) "Arizona Medical Marijuana Act"
-- Approved Nov. 2, 2010 by 50.13% of voters

Allows registered qualifying patients (who must have a physician's
written certification that they have been diagnosed with a
debilitating condition and that they would likely receive benefit from
marijuana) to obtain marijuana from a registered nonprofit
dispensary, and to possess and use medical marijuana to treat the
condition.

Requires the Arizona Department of Health Services to establish a
registration and renewal application system for patients and
nonprofit dispensaries. Requires a web-based verification system
for law enforcement and dispensaries to verify registry identification
cards. Allows certification of a number of dispensaries not to
exceed 10% of the number of pharmacies in the state (which would
cap the number of dispensaries around 124).

Specifies that a registered patient's use of medical marijuana is to
be considered equivalent to the use of any other medication under
the direction of a physician and does not disqualify a patient from
medical care, including organ transplants.

Specifies that employers may not discriminate against registered
patients unless that employer would lose money or licensing under
federal law. Employers also may not penalize registered patients
solely for testing positive for marijuana in drug tests, although the
law does not authorize patients to use, possess, or be impaired by
marijuana on the employment premises or during the hours of
employment.

Approved Conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C,
ALS, Crohn's disease, Alzheimer's disease, cachexia or wasting
syndrome, severe and chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures
(including epilepsy), severe or persistent muscle spasms (including
multiple sclerosis).

Possession/Cultivation: Qualified patients or their registered
designated caregivers may obtain up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in
a 14-day period from a registered nonprofit medical marijuana
dispensary. # If the patient lives more than 25 miles from the
nearest dispensary, the patient or caregiver may cultivate up to 12
marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility.

Amended: Senate Bill 1443 T (20 KB)
Effective: Signed by Governor Jan Brewer on May 7, 2013

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

Arizona Department of Health
Services (ADHS)

Medical Marijuana Program
150 North 18th Avenue
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
Phone: 602-542-1023

Prop 203 Information Hub

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:
"Qualifying patients can obtain medical
marijuana from a dispensary, the
qualifying patient's designated
caregiver, another qualifying patient, or,
if authorized to cultivate, from home
cultivation. When a qualifying patient
obtains or renews a registry
identification card, the Department will
provide a list of all operating

dispensaries to the qualifying patient.”
ADHS, "Qualifying Patients FAQs,"™ (150 KB)
Mar. 25, 2010

Patient Registry Fee:
$150 / $75 for Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program participants

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?

3 Yes, but does not permit visiting
patients to obtain marijuana from an
Arizona dispensary

Registration:
Mandatory

Accessed 10/7/2013
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"Specifies the prohibition to possess or use marijuana on a
postsecondary educational institution campus does not apply to
medical research projects involving marijuana that are conducted
on the campus, as authorized by applicable federal approvals and
on approval of the applicable university institutional review board."

[Editor's Note: On Apr. 11, 2012, the Arizona Department of
Health Services (ADHS) announced the revised rules ™ (1.1 mB) for
regulating medical marijuana and set the application dates for May
14 through May 25.

On Nov. 15, 2012, the first dispensary was awarded "approval to
operate." ADHS Director Will Humble stated on his blog that, "[W]
e’ll be declining new 'requests to cultivate' among new cardholders
in most of the metro area... because self-grow (12 plants) is only
allowed when the patient lives more than 25 miles from the nearest
dispensary. The vast majority of the Valley is within 25 miles of this
new dispensary."

On Dec. 6, 2012, the state's first dispensary, Arizona Organix,
opened in Glendale.]
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3. California

Ballot Proposition 215 7 (45 kB) -- Approved Nov. 5, 1996 by 56%
of voters
Effective: Nov. 6, 1996

Removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and
cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess a "written or oral
recommendation” from their physician that he or she "would benefit
from medical marijuana." Patients diagnosed with any debilitating
illness where the medical use of marijuana has been "deemed
appropriate and has been recommended by a physician" are
afforded legal protection under this act.

Approved Conditions: AIDS, anorexia, arthritis, cachexia, cancer,
chronic pain, glaucoma, migraine, persistent muscle spasms,
including spasms associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures,
including seizures associated with epilepsy, severe nausea; Other
chronic or persistent medical symptoms.

Amended: Senate Bill 420 7 (70 KB)
Effective: Jan. 1, 2004

Imposes statewide guidelines outlining how much medicinal
marijuana patients may grow and possess.

Possession/Cultivation: Qualified patients and their primary
caregivers may possess no more than eight ounces of dried
marijuana and/or six mature (or 12 immature) marijuana plants.
However, S.B. 420 allows patients to possess larger amounts of
marijuana when recommended by a physician. The legislation also
allows counties and municipalities to approve and/or maintain local
ordinances permitting patients to possess larger quantities of
medicinal pot than allowed under the new state guidelines.

S.B. 420 also grants implied legal protection to the state's medicinal
marijuana dispensaries, stating, "Qualified patients, persons with

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

California Department of Public
Health

Office of County Health Services
Attention: Medical Marijuana Program
Unit

MS 5203

P.O. Box 997377

Sacramento, CA 95899-7377

Phone: 916-552-8600

Fax: 916-440-5591

mmpinfo@dhs.ca.gov
CA Medical Marijuana Program

Guidelines for the Security and Non-
diversion of Marijuana Grown for
Medical Use ™ (55 KB)

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:
"Dispensaries, growing collectives, etc.,
are licensed through local city or county
business ordinances and the regulatory
authority lies with the State Attorney
General's Office. Their number is 1-800-
952-5225." (accessed Jan. 11, 2010)

Patient Registry Fee:

$66 non Medi-Cal / $33 Medi-Cal, plus
additional county fees (varies by
location)

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
No

Accessed 10/7/2013
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valid identification cards, and the designated primary caregivers of | Registration:
qualified patients ... who associate within the state of California in Voluntary
order collectively or cooperatively to cultivate marijuana for medical
purposes, shall not solely on the basis of that fact be subject to
state criminal sanctions."

“ [Editor's Note: On Jan. 21, 2010, the California Supreme Court
affirmed (S164830 ™ (300 KB)) the May 22, 2008 Second District
Court of Appeals ruling 3 (50 kB) in the Kelly Case that the
possession limits set by SB 420 violate the California constitution
because the voter-approved Prop. 215 can only be amended by the
voters.

ProCon.org contacted the California Medical Marijuana Program
(MMP) on Dec. 6, 2010 to ask 1) how the ruling affected the
implementation of the program, and 2) what instructions are given
to patients regarding possession limits. A California Department of
Public Health (CDPH) Office of Public Affairs representative wrote
the following in a Dec. 7, 2010 email to ProCon.org: "The role of
MMP under Senate Bill 420 is to implement the State Medical
Marijuana ID Card Program in all California counties. CDPH does
not oversee the amounts that a patient may possess or grow. When
asked what a patient can possess, patients are referred to
www.courtinfo.ca.gov, case S164830 which is the Kelly case,
changing the amounts a patient can possess from 8 0z, 6 mature
plants or 12 immature plants to 'the amount needed for a patient’s
personal use.' MMP can only cite what the law says."

According to a Jan. 21, 2010 article titled "California Supreme Court
Further Clarifies Medical Marijuana Laws," by Aaron Smith,
California Policy Director at the Marijuana Policy Project, the impact
of the ruling is that people growing more than 6 mature or 12
immature plants are still subject to arrest and prosecution, but they
will be allowed to use a medical necessity defense in court.]

Attorney General's Guidelines:

On Aug. 25, 2008, California Attorney General Jerry Brown issued
guidelines for law enforcement and medical marijuana patients to
clarify the state's laws. Read more about the guidelines here.

4. Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry
Colorado Department of Public Health
Ballot Amendment 20 -- Approved Nov. 7, 2000 by 54% of voters | and Environment

Effective: June 1, 2001 HSVR-ADM2-Al .
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South

Removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and | Denver, CO 80246-1530

cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess written Phone: 303-692-2184
documentation from their physician affirming that he or she suffers ) .
from a debilitating condition and advising that they "might benefit medical.marijuana@state.co.us

from the medical use of marijuana.” (Patients must possess this

documentation prior to an arrest.) CO Medical Marijuana Registry

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

"The Colorado Medical Marijuana
amendment, statutes and regulations
are silent on the issue of dispensaries.
While the Registry is aware that a
number of such businesses have been

Approved Conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS positive,
cachexia; severe pain; severe nausea; seizures, including those
that are characteristic of epilepsy; or persistent muscle spasms,
including those that are characteristic of multiple sclerosis. Other
conditions are subject to approval by the Colorado Board of Health.

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true Accessed 10/7/2013



20 Legal Medical Marijuana States and DC - Medical Marijuana - ProCon.org

Possession/Cultivation: A patient or a primary caregiver who has
been issued a Medical Marijuana Registry identification card may
possess no more than two ounces of a usable form of marijuana
and not more than six marijuana plants, with three or fewer being
mature, flowering plants that are producing a usable form of
marijuana.

Patients who do not join the registry or possess greater amounts of
marijuana than allowed by law may argue the "affirmative defense
of medical necessity" if they are arrested on marijuana charges.

Amended: House Bill 1284 7 (236 kB) and Senate Bill 109 7 (50 KB)
Effective: June 7, 2010

Colorado Governor Bill Ritter signed the bills into law and stated the
following in a June 7, 2010 press release:

"House Bill 1284 provides a regulatory framework for dispensaries,
including giving local communities the ability to ban or place
sensible and much-needed controls on the operation, location and
ownership of these establishments.

Senate Bill 109 will help prevent fraud and abuse, ensuring that
physicians who authorize medical marijuana for their patients
actually perform a physical exam, do not have a DEA flag on their
medical license and do not have a financial relationship with a
dispensary."
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established across the state, we do not
have a formal relationship with
them." (accessed Jan. 11, 2010)

Patient Registry Fee:
$35

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
No

Registration:
Mandatory

5. Connecticut

HB 5389 ™ (310 KB) -- Signed into law by Gov. Dannel P. Malloy (D)
on May 31, 2012

Approved: By House 96-51, by Senate 21-13

Effective: Some sections from passage (May 4, 2012), other
sections on Oct. 1, 2012

"A qualifying patient shall register with the Department of Consumer
Protection... prior to engaging in the palliative use of marijuana. A
qualifying patient who has a valid registration certificate... shall not
be subject to arrest or prosecution, penalized in any manner,... or
denied any right or privilege."

Patients must be Connecticut residents at least 18 years of age.
"Prison inmates, or others under the supervision of the Department
of Corrections, would not qualify, regardless of their medical
condition.”

Approved Conditions: "Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for
human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency
syndrome [HIV/AIDS], Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis,
damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective
neurological indication of intractable spasticity, epilepsy, cachexia,
wasting syndrome, Crohn's disease, posttraumatic stress disorder,
or... any medical condition, medical treatment or disease approved
by the Department of Consumer Protection..."

Possession/Cultivation: Qualifying patients may possess "an
amount of usable marijuana reasonably necessary to ensure

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

Medical Marijuana Program
Department of Consumer Protection
(DCP)

165 Capitol Avenue

Hartford, CT 06106

Phone: 860-713-6006

Toll-Free: 800-842-2649

dcp.mmp@ct.gov

The DCP will "issue temporary patient
registration certificates starting on
October 1, 2012."

CT Medical Marijuana Program

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

"The Commissioner of Consumer
Protection shall determine the number
of dispensaries appropriate to meet the
needs of qualifying patients in this
state."

Patient Registry Fee:

*The Commissioner of Consumer
Protection will establish a "reasonable
fee."
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uninterrupted availability for a period of one month, as determined
by the Department of Consumer Protection."

The Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program website posted an
update on Sep. 23, 2012 with instructions on how to register for the
program starting on Oct. 1, 2012. "Patients who are currently
receiving medical treatment for a debilitating medical conditions set
out in the law may qualify for a temporary registration certificate
beginning October 1, 2012. To qualify, a patient must also be at
least 18 years of age and a Connecticut resident."”

Draft Regulations on Medical Marijuana 7 (482 KB) were posted on
Jan. 16, 2013.
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Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
No

Registration:
Mandatory

6. District of Columbia (DC)

Amendment Act B18-622 M (sokB) "Legalization of Marijuana for
Medical Treatment Amendment Act of 2010" -- Approved 13-0 by
the Council of the District of Columbia on May 4, 2010; signed by
the Mayor on May 21, 2010|

Effective: July 27, 2010 [After being signed by the Mayor, the law
underwent a 30-day Congessional review period. Neither the
Senate nor the House acted to stop the law, so it became effective
when the review period ended.]

Approved Conditions: HIV, AIDS, glaucoma, multiple sclerosis,
cancer, other conditions that are chronic, long-lasting, debilitating,
or that interfere with the basic functions of life, serious medical
conditions for which the use of medical marijuana is beneficial,
patients undergoing treatments such as chemotherapy and
radiotherapy.

Possession/Cultivation: The maximum amount of medical
marijuana that any qualifying patient or caregiver may possess at
any moment is two ounces of dried medical marijuana. The Mayor
may increase the quantity of dried medical marijuana that may be
possessed up to four ounces; and shall decide limits on medical
marijuana of a form other than dried.

On Apr. 14, 2011, Mayor Vincent C. Gray announced the adoption
of an emergency amendment ™ (450 kB) to title 22 of the District of
Columbia Municipal Regulations (DCMR), which added a new
subtitle C entitled "Medical Marijuana." The emergency amendment
"will set forth the process and procedure" for patients, caregivers,
physicians, and dispensaries, and "implement the provisions of the
Act that must be addressed at the onset to enable the Department
to administer the program.” The final rulemaking ™(8o00 KB) was
posted online on Jan. 3, 2012.

On Feb. 14, 2012, the DC Department of Health's Health
Regulation and Licensing Administration posted a revised timeline
for the dispensary application process ™ (180 KB), which listed June
8, 2012 as the date by which the Department intends to announce
dispensary applicants available for registration.

The first dispensary, Capital City Care, was licensed in Apr. 2013.

Medical Marijuana Program
Health Regulation and Licensing
Administration

899 N. Capitol Street, NE

2nd Floor

Washington, DC 20002

Phone: 202-442-5955

doh.mmp@dc.gov

The law establishes a medical
marijuana program to "regulate the
manufacture, cultivation, distribution,
dispensing, purchase, delivery, sale,
possession, and administration of
medical marijuana and the manufacture,
possession, purchase, sale, and use of
paraphernalia. The Program shall be
administered by the Mayor."

Patient Registry Fee:
$100 initial or renewal fee /$25 for low
income patients

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
No

Registration:
Mandatory

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

Accessed 10/7/2013




20 Legal Medical Marijuana States and DC - Medical Marijuana - ProCon.org

7. Delaware

Senate Bill 17 7 (100 kB) -- Signed into law by Gov. Jack Markell
(D) on May 13, 2011

Approved: By House 27-14, by Senate 17-4

Effective: July 1, 2011

Under this law, a patient is only protected from arrest if his or her
physician certifies, in writing, that the patient has a specified
debilitating medical condition and that the patient would receive
therapeutic benefit from medical marijuana. The patient must send
a copy of the written certification to the state Department of Health
and Social Services, and the Department will issue an ID card after
verifying the information. As long as the patient is in compliance
with the law, there will be no arrest.

The law does not allow patients or caregivers to grow marijuana at
home, but it does allow for the state-regulated, non-profit
distribution of medical marijuana by compassion centers.

Approved Conditions: Approved for treatment of debilitating
medical conditions, defined as cancer, HIV/AIDS, decompensated
cirrhosis, ALS, Alzheimer's disease, post-traumatic stress disorder;
or a medical condition that produces wasting syndrome, severe
debilitating pain that has not responded to other treatments for
more than three months or for which other treatments produced
serious side effects, severe nausea, seizures, or severe and
persistent muscle spasms.

Possession/Cultivation: Patients 18 and older with certain
debilitating conditions may possess up to six ounces of marijuana
with a doctor's written recommendation. A registered compassion
center may not dispense more than 3 ounces of marijuana to a
registered qualifying patient in any fourteen-day period, and a
patient may register with only one compassion center. Home
cultivation is not allowed. Senate Bill 17 contains a provision that
allows for an affirmative defense for individuals "in possession of no
more than six ounces of usable marijuana.”

On Feb. 12, 2012, Gov. Markell released the following statement
(presented in its entirety), available on delaware.gov, in response to
a letter from US District Attorney Charles Oberly ™ (2 MB):

"I am very disappointed by the change in policy at the federal
department of justice, as it requires us to stop implementation of
the compassion centers. To do otherwise would put our state
employees in legal jeopardy and | will not do that. Unfortunately,
this shift in the federal position will stand in the way of people in
pain receiving help. Our law sought to provide that in a manner that
was both highly regulated and safe."

On Aug. 15, 2013, Gov. Markell announced in a letter to Delaware
lawmakers ™ (175 KB) his intention to relaunch the state's medical
marijuana program, despite his previous decision to stop
implementation. Markell wrote that the Department of Health and
Social Services "will proceed to issue a request for proposal for a
pilot compassion center to open in Delaware next year."

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true
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Delaware Department of Health and
Social Services

Division of Public Health

Phone: 302-744-4749

Fax: 302-739-3071

MedicalMarijuanaDPH@state.de.us

DE Medical Marijuana Program

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

The Delaware Medical Marijuana
Program website states (as of Aug. 5,
2013), "The creation of the state-
licensed, privately owned compassion
centers has been suspended by the
state. Based on guidance from the US
Attorney, the compassion centers
concept conflicts with federal law. As a
result there is no plan to open
compassion centers at this time."” On
Aug. 15, 2013, Gov. Markell announced
that he will seek approval to open one
compassion center in 2014.

Patient Registry Fee:
$125 (a sliding scale fee is available
based on income)

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?

% Yes (a visiting qualifying patient is not
subject to arrest if a visitor ID card is
obtained)

Registration:
Mandatory
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5. Hawali

Senate Bill 862 ™ (40 KB) -- Signed into law by Gov. Ben Cayetano
on June 14, 2000

Approved: By House 32-18, by Senate 13-12

Effective: Dec. 28, 2000

Removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and
cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess a signed
statement from their physician affirming that he or she suffers from
a debilitating condition and that the "potential benefits of medical
use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks.” The law
establishes a mandatory, confidential state-run patient registry that
issues identification cards to qualifying patients.

Approved conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for
HIV/AIDS; A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or
its treatment that produces cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe
pain, severe nausea, seizures, including those characteristic of
epilepsy, or severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those
characteristic of multiple sclerosis or Crohn's disease. Other
conditions are subject to approval by the Hawaii Department of
Health.

Possession/Cultivation: The amount of marijuana that may be
possessed jointly between the qualifying patient and the primary
caregiver is an "adequate supply," which shall not exceed three
mature marijuana plants, four immature marijuana plants, and one
ounce of usable marijuana per each mature plant.

Amended: HB 668 ™ (240 KB)
Effective: June 25, 2013

Establishes a medical marijuana registry special fund to pay for the
program and transfers the medical marijuana program from the
Department of Public Safety to the Department of Public Health by
no later than Jan. 1, 2015.

Amended: SB 642 T (95 KB)
Effective: Jan. 2, 2015

Redefines "adequate supply" as seven marijuana plants, whether
immature or mature, and four ounces of usable marijuana at any
given time; stipulates that physician recommendations will have to
be made by the qualifying patient's primary care physician.

Page 10 of 23

Department of Public Safety
Narcotics Enforcement Division
3375 Koapaka Street, Suite D-100
Honolulu, HI 96819

Phone: 808-837-8470

Fax: 808-837-8474

HI Medical Marijuana Application info

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:
"Hawaii law does not authorize any
person or entity to sell or dispense
marijuana... Hawaii law authorizes the
medical use of marijuana, it does not
authorize the distribution of marijuana
(Dispensaries) other than the transfer
from a qualifying patient's primary
caregiver to the qualifying

patient." (accessed Jan. 11, 2010)

Patient Registry Fee:
$25

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
No

Registration:
Mandatory

o lllinois

House Bill 1 7 (385 KB)

Approved: Apr. 17, 2013 by House, 61-57 and May 17, 2013 by
Senate, 35-21

Signed into law by Gov. Pat Quinn on Aug. 1, 2013

Effective: Jan. 1, 2014

The Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act
establishes a patient registry program, protects registered
qualifying patients and registered designated caregivers from
"arrest, prosecution, or denial of any right or privilege," and allows

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

Medical Marijuana Program
lllinois Department of Public Health

http://www.idph.state.il.us/

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:
Cultivation centers and dispensing
organizations will be registered by the
Department of Agriculture and
Department of Financial and
Professional Regulation, respectively.
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for the registration of cultivation centers and dispensing
organizations. Once the act goes into effect, "a tax is imposed upon
the privilege of cultivating medical cannabis at a rate of 7% of the
sales price per ounce."

Approved Conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for HIV,
AIDS, hepatitis C, ALS, muscular dystrophy, Crohn's disease,
agitation of Alzheimer's disease, multiple sclerosis, chronic
pancreatitis, spinal cord injury or disease, traumatic brain injury, or
"one or more injuries that significantly interferes with daily activities
as documented by the patient's provider; and a severely debilitating
or terminal medical condition or its treatment that has produced at
least one of the following: elevated intraocular pressure, cachexia,
chemotherapy induced anorexia, wasting syndrome, severe pain
that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or
surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced
serious side effects, constant or severe nausea, moderate to
severe vomiting, seizures, or severe, persistent muscle spasms.

Possession/Cultivation: "Adequate supply" is defined as "2.5
ounces of usable cannabis during a period of 14 days and that is
derived solely from an intrastate source." The law does not allow
patients or caregivers to cultivate cannabis.

Governor Pat Quinn's Aug. 1, 2013 signing statement ™ (25 KB)
explains key points of the law and notes that it is a four-year pilot
program.

10. Maine

Ballot Question 2 -- Approved Nov. 2, 1999 by 61% of voters
Effective: Dec. 22, 1999

Removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and
cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess an oral or written
"professional opinion" from their physician that he or she "might
benefit from the medical use of marijuana." The law does not
establish a state-run patient registry.

Approved diagnosis: epilepsy and other disorders characterized
by seizures; glaucoma; multiple sclerosis and other disorders
characterized by muscle spasticity; and nausea or vomiting as a
result of AIDS or cancer chemotherapy.

Possession/Cultivation: Patients (or their primary caregivers) may
legally possess no more than one and one-quarter (1.25) ounces of
usable marijuana, and may cultivate no more than six marijuana
plants, of which no more than three may be mature. Those patients
who possess greater amounts of marijuana than allowed by law are
afforded a "simple defense" to a charge of marijuana possession.

Amended: Senate Bill 611
Effective: Signed into law on Apr. 2, 2002

Increases the amount of useable marijuana a person may possess
from one and one-quarter (1.25) ounces to two and one-half (2.5)
ounces.

Amended: Question 5 ™ (135 kB) -- Approved Nov. 3, 2009 by 59%

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true
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Patient Registry Fee:
To be determined during the rulemaking
process

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
No

Registration:
Mandatory

Department of Health and Human
Services

Division of Licensing and Regulatory
Services

John Thiele, Program Manager

11 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333

207-287-9300

Maine Medical Marijuana Program

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

"The patient may either cultivate or
designate a caregiver or dispensary to

cultivate marijuana.” (“Program Bulletin,"
Maine.gov, Sep. 28, 2011)

Patient Registry Fee:

$0

Caregivers pay $300/patient (limit of 5 patients; if
not growing marijuana, there is no fee)

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
Yes

& |_aw enforcement will accept
appropriate authorization from a
participating state, but that patient
cannot purchase marijuana in Maine
without registering here. That requires a
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of voters

List of approved conditions changed to include cancer, glaucoma,
HIV, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, hepatitis C,
amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn's disease, Alzheimer's, nail-
patella syndrome, chronic intractable pain, cachexia or wasting
syndrome, severe nausea, seizures (epilepsy), severe and
persistent muscle spasms, and multiple sclerosis.

Instructs the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to
establish a registry identification program for patients and
caregivers. Stipulates provisions for the operation of nonprofit
dispensaries.

[Editor's Note: An Aug. 19, 2010 email to ProCon.org from
Catherine M. Cobb, Director of Maine's Division of Licensing and
Regulatory Services, stated:

"We have just set up our interface to do background checks on
caregivers and those who are associated with dispensaries. They
may not have a disqualifying drug offense."]

Amended: LD 1062 7 (25 KB)
Effective: Enacted without the governor's signature on June 26,
2013

Adds post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) to the list of approved
conditions for medical marijuana use.
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Maine physician and a Maine driver
license or other picture ID issued by the
state of Maine. The letter from a
physician in another state is only good
for 30 days." (Aug. 19, 2010 email from

Maine's Division of Licensing and Regulatory
Services)

Registration:

Voluntary

"In addition to either a registry ID card or
a physician certification form, all
patients, including both non-registered
and voluntarily registered patients, must
also present their Maine driver license
or other Maine-issued photo
identification card to law enforcement,

upon request.” ("Program Bulletin,” Maine.gov,
Sep. 28, 2011)

11. Massachusetts

Ballot Question 3 -- Approved Nov. 6, 2012 by 63% of voters
Effective: Jan. 1, 2013

"The citizens of Massachusetts intend that there should be no
punishment under state law for qualifying patients, physicians and
health care professionals, personal caregivers for patients, or
medical marijuana treatment center agents for the medical use of
marijuana...

In the first year after the effective date, the Department shall issue
registrations for up to thirty-five non-profit medical marijuana
treatment centers, provided that at least one treatment center shall
be located in each county, and not more than five shall be located
in any one county."

Approved diagnosis: "Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for
human immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency
syndrome (AIDS), hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS),
Crohn's disease, Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis and other
conditions as determined in writing by a qualifying patient’s
physician."

Possession/Cultivation: Patients may possess "no more
marijuana than is necessary for the patient's personal, medical use,
not exceeding the amount necessary for a sixty-day supply...

Within 120 days of the effective date of this law, the department
shall issue regulations defining the quantity of marijuana that could

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

Department of Public Health of the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
One Ashburton Place

11th Floor

Boston, MA 02108

617-573-1600

www.mass.gov/medicalmarijuana

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

The state will issue registrations for up
to 35 nonprofit medical marijuana
treatment centers

Patient Registry Fee:
"To be determined by DPH within 120

days of the effective date of Jan. 1,
2013.

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
Unknown

Registration:

Mandatory

"Until the approval of final regulations,
written certification by a physician shall
constitute a registration card for a
qualifying patient.”
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reasonably be presumed to be a sixty-day supply for qualifying
patients, based on the best available evidence."

"The Department shall issue a cultivation registration to a qualifying
patient whose access to a medical treatment center is limited by
verified financial hardship, a physical incapacity to access
reasonable transportation, or the lack of a treatment center within a
reasonable distance of the patient’s residence. The Department
may deny a registration based on the provision of false information
by the applicant. Such registration shall allow the patient or the
patient’s personal caregiver to cultivate a limited number of plants,
sufficient to maintain a 60-day supply of marijuana, and shall
require cultivation and storage only in an enclosed, locked facility.

The department shall issue regulations consistent with this section
within 120 days of the effective date of this law. Until the
department issues such final regulations, the written
recommendation of a qualifying patient's physician shall constitute
a limited cultivation registration.”
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12. Michigan

Proposal 1 ™ (60 kB) "Michigan Medical Marihuana Act" --
Approved by 63% of voters on Nov. 4, 2008
Approved: Nov. 4, 2008

Effective: Dec. 4, 2008

Approved Conditions: Approved for treatment of debilitating
medical conditions, defined as cancer, glaucoma, HIV, AIDS,
hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn's disease, agitation
of Alzheimer's disease, nail patella, cachexia or wasting syndrome,
severe and chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, epilepsy, muscle
spasms, and multiple sclerosis.

Possession/Cultivation: Patients may possess up to two and one-
half (2.5) ounces of usable marijuana and twelve marijuana plants
kept in an enclosed, locked facility. The twelve plants may be kept
by the patient only if he or she has not specified a primary caregiver
to cultivate the marijuana for him or her.

Amended: HB 4856 ™ (40 KB)
Effective: Dec. 31, 2012

Makes it illegal to "transport or possess" usable marijuana by car
unless the marijuana is "enclosed in a case that is carried in the
trunk of the vehicle.” Violation of the law is a misdemeanor
"punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of
not more than $500.00, or both."

Amended: HB 4834 ™ (40 KB)
Effective: Apr. 1, 2013

Requires proof of Michigan residency when applying for a registry
ID card (driver license, official state ID, or valid voter registration)
and makes cards valid for two years instead of one.

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

Michigan Medical Marihuana Program
Bureau of Health Professions,
Department of Licensing and Regulatory
Affairs

P.O. Box 30083

Lansing, MI 48909

Phone: 517-373-0395

BHP-MMMPINFO@michigan.gov
MI Medical Marihuana Program

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

"The MMMP is not a resource for the
growing process and does not have

information to give to patients." (accessed
Jan. 7, 2013)

Patient Registry Fee:
$100 new or renewal application / $25
Medicaid patients

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
Yes

Registration:
Mandatory

Accessed 10/7/2013
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Amended: HB 4851 ™ (40 KB)
Effective: Apr. 1, 2013

Requires a "bona fide physician-patient relationship," defined in part
as one in which the physician "has created and maintained records
of the patient's condition in accord with medically accepted
standards" and "will provide follow-up care;" protects patient from
arrest only with registry identification card and valid photo ID.

Amended: State of Michigan vs. McQueen T (90 KB)
Decided: Feb. 8, 2013

The Michigan Supreme Court ruled 4-1 that dispensaries are illegal.
As a result, medical marijuana patients in Michigan will have to
grow their own marijuana or get it from a designated caregiver who
is limited to five patients.

13. Montana Medical Marijuana Program
Montana Department of Health and

Initiative 148 7 (76 kB) -- Approved by 62% of voters on Nov. 2, Human Services

2004 Licensure Bureau

Effective: Nov. 2, 2004 2401 Colonial Drive, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 202953

Approved Conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, or positive status for Helena, MT 59620-2953

HIV/AIDS, or the treatment of these conditions; a chronic or Phone: 406-444-2676

debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that i

produces cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe or chronic pain, jbuska@mt.gov

severe nausea, seizures, including seizures caused by epilepsy, or _ .
severe or persistent muscle spasms, including spasms caused by | MT Medical Marijuana Program
multiple sclerosis or Chrohn's disease; or any other medical
condition or treatment for a medical condition adopted by the
department by rule.

Medical Marijuana Program FAQs ™ (35
KB)

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

"The Medical Marijuana Act... allows a
patient or caregiver to grow up to six
plants or possess up to one ounce of
usable marijuana. The department
cannot give advice or referrals on how
to obtain a supply of marijuana... State
law is silent on where grow sites can be
located." (accessed Jan. 11, 2010)

Possession/Cultivation: A qualifying patient and a qualifying
patient's caregiver may each possess six marijuana plants and one
ounce of usable marijuana. "Usable marijuana" means the dried
leaves and flowers of marijuana and any mixture or preparation of
marijuana.

Amended: SB 423 7 (100 KB) -- Passed on Apr. 28, 2011 and
transmitted to the Governor on May 3, 2011
Effective: July 1, 2011

SB 423 changes the application process to require a Montana
driver's license or state issued ID card. A second physician is
required to confirm a chronic pain diagnosis.

Patient Registry Fee:

$25 new application/$10 renewal
(reduced from $50 as of Oct. 1, 2009)

"A provider or marijuana-infused products provider may assist a

. . Accepts other states' registry ID
maximum of three registered cardholders..." and "may not accept P gistry

o
anything of value, including monetary remuneration, for any Klir?rz.ci rocity ended when SB 423 took
services or products provided to a registered cardholder.” effect) P y

Approved Conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, or positive status for
HIV/AIDS when the condition or disease results in symptoms that
seriously and adversely affect the patient's health status; Cachexia
or wasting syndrome; Severe, chronic pain that is persistent pain of
severe intensity that significantly interferes with daily activities as
documented by the patient's treating physician; Intractable nausea
or vomiting; Epilepsy or intractable seizure disorder; Multiple

Registration:
Mandatory

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true Accessed 10/7/2013
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sclerosis; Chron's Disease; Painful peripheral neuropathy; A central
nervous system disorder resulting in chronic, painful spasticity or
muscle spasms; Admittance into hospice care.

Possession/Cultivation: Amended to 12 seedlings (less than 12"),
four mature flowering plants, and one ounce of usable marijuana.

On Nov. 6, 2012, Montana voters approved initiative referendum
No. 124 by a vote of 56.5% to 43.5%, upholding SB 423.

142. Nevada Nevada State Health Division
4150 Technology Way, Suite 104

Ballot Question 9 -- Approved Nov. 7, 2000 by 65% of voters Carson City, Nevada

Effective: Oct. 1, 2001 Phone: 775-687-7594

Fax: 775-684-4156
Removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and ) -
cultivation of marijuana by patients who have "written NV Medical Marijuana Program
documentation" from their physician that marijuana may alleviate

his or her condition. Information provided by the state on

sources for medical marijuana:

Approved Conditions: AIDS; cancer; glaucoma; and any medical | "The NMMP is not a resource for the
condition or treatment to a medical condition that produces growing process and does not have
cachexia, persistent muscle spasms or seizures, severe nausea or | information to give to patients.”

pain. Other conditions are subject to approval by the health division

of the state Department of Human Resources. Patient Registry Fee:
$50 application fee, plus $150 for the

Possession/Cultivation: Patients (or their primary caregivers) may | card (new or renewal), plus $15-42 in
legally possess no more than one ounce of usable marijuana, three a_ddmonal related costs
mature plants, and four immature plants. 8 SB 374 requires the fee to be reduced

at least by half before Apr. 1, 2014
Registry: The law establishes a confidential state-run patient

registry that issues identification cards to qualifying patients. Accepts other states' registry ID
Patients who do not join the registry or possess greater amounts of | cards?

marijuana than allowed by law may argue the "affirmative defense | % veg starting Apr. 1, 2014 with an
of medical necessity" if they are arrested on marijuana charges. affidavit

Legislators added a preamble to the legislation stating, "[T]he state
of Nevada as a sovereign state has the duty to carry out the will of | Registration:
the people of this state and regulate the health, medical practices Mandatory
and well-being of those people in a manner that respects their
personal decisions concerning the relief of suffering through the
medical use of marijuana." A separate provision requires the
Nevada School of Medicine to "aggressively" seek federal
permission to establish a state-run medical marijuana distribution
program.

Amended: Assembly Bill 453 ™ (25 KB)
Effective: Oct. 1, 2001

Created a state registry for patients whose physicians recommend
medical marijuana and tasked the Department of Motor Vehicles
with issuing identification cards. No state money will be used for the
program, which will be funded entirely by donations.

Amended: Senate Bill 374 7 (280 KB)
Signed into law by Gov. Brian Sandoval on June 12, 2013

"Provides for the registration of medical marijuana establishments
authorized to cultivate or dispense marijuana or manufacture edible
marijuana products or marijuana-infused products for sale to

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true Accessed 10/7/2013
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persons authorized to engage in the medical use of marijuana...

From April 1, 2014, through March 31, 2016, a nonresident
purchaser must sign an affidavit attesting to the fact that he or she
is entitled to engage in the medical use of marijuana in his or her
state or jurisdiction of residency. On and after April 1, 2016, the
requirement for such an affidavit is replaced by computer cross-
checking between the State of Nevada and other jurisdictions.”
Patients who were growing before July 1, 2013 are allowed to
continue home cultivation until March 31, 2016.
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1. New Hampshire

House Bill 573 ™ (215 KB)

Approved: May 23, 2013 by Senate, 18-6 and June 26, 2013 by
House, 284-66

Signed into law by Gov. Maggie Hassan on July 23, 2013
Effective: Upon passage

The bill authorizes the use of therapeutic cannabis in New
Hampshire, establishes a registry identification card system, allows
for the registration of up to four non-profit alternative treatment
centers in the state, and establishes an affirmative defense for
qualified patients and designated caregivers with valid registry 1D
cards.

HB 573 also calls for the creation of a Therapeutic Use of Cannabis
Advisory Council, which in five years will be required to "issue a
formal opinion on whether the program should be continued or
repealed."

A valid ID card from another medical marijuana state will be
recognized as allowing the visiting patient to possess cannabis for
therapeutic purposes, but the "visiting qualifying patient shall not
cultivate or purchase cannabis in New Hampshire or obtain
cannabis from alternative treatment centers..."

Approved Conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for HIV,
AIDS, hepatitis C, ALS, muscular dystrophy, Crohn's disease,
agitation of Alzheimer's disease, multiple sclerosis, chronic
pancreatitis, spinal cord injury or disease, traumatic brain injury, or
"one or more injuries that significantly interferes with daily activities
as documented by the patient's provider; and a severely debilitating
or terminal medical condition or its treatment that has produced at
least one of the following: elevated intraocular pressure, cachexia,
chemotherapy induced anorexia, wasting syndrome, severe pain
that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or
surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced
serious side effects, constant or severe nausea, moderate to
severe vomiting, seizures, or severe, persistent muscle spasms.”

Possession/Cultivation: "A qualifying patient shall not obtain more
than 2 ounces of usable cannabis directly or through the qualifying
patient's designated caregiver during a 10-day period." A patient
may possess two ounces of usable cannabis and any amount of
unusable cannabis.

Medical Marijuana Program
New Hampshire Department of Health
and Human Services

http://www.dhhs.state.nh.us

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

HB 537 requires DHHS to register two
nonprofit alternative treatment centers
within 18 months of the bill's effective
date, provided that at least two
applicants are qualified. There can be
no more than four alternative treatment
centers at one time.

Patient Registry Fee:
To be determined during the rulemaking
process

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
Yes

Registration:
Mandatory

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true
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16. New Jersey

Senate Bill 119 7 (175 KB)

Approved: Jan. 11, 2010 by House, 48-14; by Senate, 25-13
Signed into law by Gov. Jon Corzine on Jan. 18, 2010
Effective: Six months from enactment

Protects "patients who use marijuana to alleviate suffering from
debilitating medical conditions, as well as their physicians, primary
caregivers, and those who are authorized to produce marijuana for
medical purposes” from "arrest, prosecution, property forfeiture,
and criminal and other penalties."

Also provides for the creation of alternative treatment centers, "at
least two each in the northern, central, and southern regions of the
state. The first two centers issued a permit in each region shall be
nonprofit entities, and centers subsequently issued permits may be
nonprofit or for-profit entities."

Approved Conditions: Seizure disorder, including epilepsy,
intractable skeletal muscular spasticity, glaucoma; severe or
chronic pain, severe nausea or vomiting, cachexia, or wasting
syndrome resulting from HIV/AIDS or cancer; amyotrophic lateral
sclerosis (Lou Gehrig's Disease), multiple sclerosis, terminal
cancer, muscular dystrophy, or inflammatory bowel disease,
including Crohn’s disease; terminal illness, if the physician has
determined a prognosis of less than 12 months of life or any other
medical condition or its treatment that is approved by the
Department of Health and Senior Services.

Possession/Cultivation: Physicians determine how much
marijuana a patient needs and give written instructions to be
presented to an alternative treatment center. The maximum amount
for a 30-day period is two ounces.

The New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services
released draft rules ¥ (385 KB) outlining the registration and
application process on Oct. 6, 2010. A public hearing to discuss the
proposed rules was held on Dec. 6, 2010 at at the New Jersey
Department of Health and Senior Services, according to the New
Jersey Register.

On Dec. 20, 2011, Senator Nicholas Scutari (D), lead sponsor of
the medical marijuana bill, submitted Senate Concurrent Resolution
(SCR) 140 | (25 kB) declaring that the "Board of Medical Examiners
proposed medicinal marijuana program rules are inconsistent with
legislative intent." The New Jersey Senate Health, Human Services
and Senior Citizens committee held a public hearing to discuss
SCR 140 and a similar bill, SCR 130, on Jan. 20, 2010.

On Feb. 3, 2011, DHSS proposed new rules ™ (200 kB) that
streamlined the permit process for cultivating and dispensing,
prohibited home delivery by alternative treatment centers, and
required that "conditions originally named in the Act be resistant to
conventional medical therapy in order to qualify as debilitating
medical conditions."

On Aug. 9, 2012, the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program
opened the patient registration system on its website. Patients must

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true
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S119 was supposed to become effective
six months after it was enacted on Jan.
18, 2010, but the legislature, DHHS, and
New Jersey Governor Chris Christie did
not agree on the details of how the
program would be run.

The Department of Health and Senior
Services (DHSS), the state agency in
charge of the program, issued its first
dispensary permit on Oct. 16, 2012.

Medicinal Marijuana Program

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:
Patients are not allowed to grow their
own marijuana. On Mar. 21, 2011, the
New Jersey DHHS announced the
locations of six nonprofit alternative
treatment centers (ATCs) ™ (100 kB) from
which medical marijuana may be
obtained.

Medical marijuana is not covered by
Medicaid.

Patient Registry Fee:

$200 (valid for two years). Reduced fee
of $20 for patients qualifying for state or
federal assistance programs

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?

No (“[T]o be eligible for the New Jersey
Medicinal Marijuana program you
must... hold a valid patient identification
card issued by the New Jersey
Medicinal Marijuana Program.")

Registration:
Mandatory
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have a physician's recommendation, a government-issued ID, and
proof of New Jersey residency to register. The first dispensary is
expected to be licensed to open in September.

On Oct. 16, 2012, the Department of Health issued the first
dispensary permit ™ (24 kB) to Greenleaf Compassion Center,
allowing it to operate as an Alternative Treatment Center and

New Jersey's first dispensary.

Five other treatment centers are "in various stages of finalizing
locations or background examinations of the principals of their
organizations."

Amended: SB 2842 T (40 KB)
Signed into law by Gov. Chris Christie on Sep. 10, 2013 following
legislative adoption of his conditional veto ™ (10 KB)

Allows edible forms of marijuana only for qualifying minors, who
must receive approval from a pediatrician and a psychiatrist.

dispense marijuana. The center opened on Dec. 6, 2012, becoming
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17. New Mexico

Senate Bill 523 ™ (71 kB) "The Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use
Act"

Approved: Mar. 13, 2007 by House, 36-31; by Senate, 32-3
Effective: July 1, 2007

Removes state-level criminal penalties on the use and possession
of marijuana by patients "in a regulated system for alleviating
symptoms caused by debilitating medical conditions and their
medical treatments." The New Mexico Department of Health
designated to administer the program and register patients,
caregivers, and providers.

Approved Conditions: The 15 current qualifying conditions for
medical cannabis are: severe chronic pain, painful peripheral

hepatitis C infection, Crohn's disease, Post-Traumatic Stress
Disorder, ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease), cancer, glaucoma, multiple
sclerosis, damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with
intractable spasticity, epilepsy, HIV/AIDS, and hospice patients.

Possession/Cultivation: Patients have the right to possess up to
six ounces of usable cannabis, four mature plants and 12
seedlings. Usable cannabis is defined as dried leaves and flowers;
it does not include seeds, stalks or roots. A primary caregiver may
provide services to a maximum of four qualified patients under the
Medical Cannabis Program.

neuropathy, intractable nausea/vomiting, severe anorexia/cachexia,

New Mexico Department of Health
1190 St. Francis Drive

P.O. Box 26110

Santa Fe, NM 87502-6110

Phone: 505-827-2321

medical.cannabis@state.nm.us
NM Medical Cannabis Program

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:
"Patients can apply for a license to
produce their own medical cannabis...
Once a patient is approved we provide
them with information about how to
contact the licensed producers to

receive medical cannabis."” (accessed Jan.
11, 2010)

Patient Registry Fee:
$0

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
No

Registration:
Mandatory

18.Oregon

Ballot Measure 67 ™ (75 kB) -- Approved by 55% of voters on Nov.
3,1998
Effective: Dec. 3, 1998

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

Oregon Department of Human
Services

Medical Marijuana Program

PO Box 14450

Portland, OR 97293-0450
Phone: 971-673-1234

Fax: 971-673-1278

Accessed 10/7/2013




20 Legal Medical Marijuana States and DC - Medical Marijuana - ProCon.org

Removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and
cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess a signed
recommendation from their physician stating that marijuana "may
mitigate" his or her debilitating symptoms.

Approved Conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for
HIV/AIDS, or treatment for these conditions; A medical condition or
treatment for a medical condition that produces cachexia, severe
pain, severe nausea, seizures, including seizures caused by

multiple sclerosis. Other conditions are subject to approval by the
Health Division of the Oregon Department of Human Resources.

Possession/Cultivation: A registry identification cardholder or the
designated primary caregiver of the cardholder may possess up to
six mature marijuana plants and 24 ounces of usable marijuana. A
registry identification cardholder and the designated primary
caregiver of the cardholder may possess a combined total of up to
18 marijuana seedlings. (per Oregon Revised Statutes ORS
475.300 -- ORS 475.346) ™ (52 KB)

Amended: Senate Bill 1085 T (52 KB)
Effective: Jan. 1, 2006

State-qualified patients who possess cannabis in amounts
exceeding the new state guidelines will no longer retain the ability
to argue an "affirmative defense" of medical necessity at trial.

cannabis in amounts compliant with state law, still retain the ability
to raise an "affirmative defense" at trial.

The law also redefines "mature plants" to include only those
cannabis plants that are more than 12 inches in height and
diameter, and establish a state-registry for those authorized to
produce medical cannabis to qualified patients.

Amended: House Bill 3052
Effective: July 21, 1999

Mandates that patients (or their caregivers) may only cultivate
marijuana in one location, and requires that patients must be
diagnosed by their physicians at least 12 months prior to an arrest

law enforcement officials who seize marijuana from a patient
pending trial do not have to keep those plants alive. Last year the
Oregon Board of Health approved agitation due to Alzheimer’s
disease to the list of debilitating conditions qualifying for legal
protection.

patients. The new rule defines attending physician as "a physician
who has established a physician/patient relationship with the
patient;... is primarily responsible for the care and treatment of the

request, has conducted a thorough physical examination of the
patient, has provided a treatment plan and/or follow-up care, and
has documented these activities in a patient file."

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

epilepsy, or persistent muscle spasms, including spasms caused by

Patients who fail to register with the state, but who possess medical

in order to present an "affirmative defense." This bill also states that

In August 2001, program administrators filed established temporary
procedures further defining the relationship between physicians and

patients;... has reviewed a patient’s medical records at the patient’s

Page 19 of 23

OR Medical Marijuana Program
(OMMP)

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

"The OMMP is not a resource for the
growing process and does not have

information to give to patients." (accessed
Jan. 11, 2010)

Patient Registry Fee:

19:$200 for new applications and
renewals; $100 for application and
annual renewal fee for persons

receiving SNAP (food stamp) and for
Oregon Health Plan cardholders; $20 for
persons receiving SSI benefits

An additional $50 grow site registration
fee is charged if the patient is not his or
her own grower.

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
No

Registration:
Mandatory
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Amended: SB 281 ™ (25 KB)
Signed by Gov. John Kitzhaber on June 6, 2013

Adds post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) to the list of approved
conditions for medical marijuana use.

Amended: HB 3460 ™ (50 KB)
Signed by Gov. John Kitzhaber on Aug. 14, 2013

Creates a dispensary program by allowing the state licensing and
regulation of medical marijuana facilities to transfer marijuana to
registry identification cardholders or their designated primary
caregivers.

[Editor's Note: On Nov. 2, 2010, 55.79% of Oregon Voters
rejected Measure 74 T (100 kB), which would have allowed for the
creation of state-regulated dispensaries.]
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19. Rhode Island

Senate Bill 0710 -- Approved by state House and Senate, vetoed
by the Governor. Veto was over-ridden by House and Senate.

Timeline:

June 24, 2005: passed the House 52 to 10

June 28, 2005: passed the State Senate 33to 1

June 29, 2005: Gov. Carcieri vetoed the bill

June 30, 2005: Senate overrode the veto 28-6

Jan. 3, 2006: House overrode the veto 59-13 to pass the
Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical
Marijuana Act 2 (48 KB) (Public Laws 05-442 and 05-443)
6. June 21, 2007: Amended by Senate Bill 791 ™ (30 KB)
Effective: Jan. 3, 2006

aprLOdE

Approved Conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for
HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C, or the treatment of these conditions; A
chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment
that produces cachexia or wasting syndrome; severe, debilitating,
chronic pain; severe nausea; seizures, including but not limited to,
those characteristic of epilepsy; or severe and persistent muscle

any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the state
Department of Health.

in Rhode Island. It has the same force and effect as a card issued
by the Rhode Island Department of Health.

Possession/Cultivation: Limits the amount of marijuana that can
be possessed and grown to up to 12 marijuana plants or 2.5
ounces of cultivated marijuana. Primary caregivers may not
possess an amount of marijuana in excess of 24 marijuana plants

he or she is connected through the Department's registration
process.

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

spasms, including but not limited to, those characteristic of multiple
sclerosis or Crohn’s disease; or agitation of Alzheimer's Disease; or

If you have a medical marijuana registry identification card from any
other state, U.S. territory, or the District of Columbia you may use it

and five ounces of usable marijuana for qualifying patients to whom

Rhode Island Department of Health
Office of Health Professions Regulation,
Room 104

3 Capitol Hill

Providence, Rl 02908-5097

Phone: 401-222-2828

RI Medical Marijuana Program (MMP)

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

"The MMP is not a resource for
marijuana and does not have
information to give to patients related to

the supply of marijuana.” (accessed Jan. 11,
2010)

Patient Registry Fee:
$75/$10 for applicants on Medicaid or
Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?

Yes, but only for the conditions
approved in Rhode Island

Registration:
Mandatory
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Amended: H5359 ™ (70 kB) - The Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas
C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act (substituted for the original bill)

Timeline:

May 20, 2009: passed the House 63-5

June 6, 2009: passed the State Senate 31-2

June 12, 2009: Gov. Carcieri vetoed the bill T (60 KB)
June 16, 2009: Senate overrode the veto 35-3

June 16, 2009: House overrode the veto 67-0

aprLOdE

Effective June 16, 2009: Allows the creation of compassion
centers, which may acquire, possess, cultivate, manufacture,
deliver, transfer, transport, supply, or dispense marijuana, or
related supplies and educational materials, to registered
qualifying patients and their registered primary caregivers.

The first dispensary, the Thomas C. Slater Compassion Center,
opened on Apr. 19, 2013.
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20. Vermont

Senate Bill 76 7 (45 KB) -- Approved 22-7; House Bill 645 T (41 KB) -
- Approved 82-59

"Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe

lliness" (Sec. 1. 18 V.S.A. chapter 86 ™ (41 KB) passed by the
General Assembly) Gov. James Douglas (R), allowed the act to
pass into law unsigned on May 26, 2004

Effective: July 1, 2004

Amended: Senate Bill 00007 7 (65 KB)
Effective: May 30, 2007

Approved Conditions: Cancer, AIDS, positive status for HIV,
multiple sclerosis, or the treatment of these conditions if the
disease or the treatment results in severe, persistent, and
intractable symptoms; or a disease, medical condition, or its
treatment that is chronic, debilitating and produces severe,
persistent, and one or more of the following intractable symptoms:
cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe pain or nausea or seizures.

Possession/Cultivation: No more than two mature marijuana
plants, seven immature plants, and two ounces of usable marijuana
may be collectively possessed between the registered patient and
the patient’s registered caregiver. A marijuana plant shall be
considered mature when male or female flower buds are readily
observed on the plant by unaided visual examination. Until this
sexual differentiation has taken place, a marijuana plant will be
considered immature.

Amended: Senate Bill 17 ™ (100 kB) "An Act Relating To
Registering Four Nonprofit Organizations To Dispense Marijuana
For Symptom Relief"

Signed by Gov. Peter Shumlin on June 2, 2011

The bill "establishes a framework for registering up to four nonprofit
marijuana dispensaries in the state... A dispensary will be permitted
to cultivate and possess at any one time up to 28 mature marijuana
plants, 98 immature marijuana plants, and 28 ounces of usable

http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881&print=true

Marijuana Registry
Department of Public Safety
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, Vermont 05671
Phone: 802-241-5115

VT Marijuana Registry Program

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

"The Marijuana Registry is neither a
source for marijuana nor can the
Registry provide information to patients

on how to obtain marijuana.” (accessed
Jan. 11, 2010)

Patient Registry Fee:
$50

Accepts other states' registry ID
cards?
No

Registration:
Mandatory
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marijuana.”

On Sep. 12, 2012, the State of Vermont Department of Public
Safety announced conditional approval 2 (65 kB) of two medical
marijuana dispensaries. In June 2013, two dispensaries opened in
Vermont.

1. Washington Department of Health
PO Box 47866

Chapter 69.51A RCW T (4kB) Ballot Initiative 1-692 -- Approved Olympia, WA 98504-7866

by 59% of voters on Nov. 3, 1998 Phone: 360-236-4700

Effective: Nov. 3, 1998 Fax: 360-236-4768

Removes state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and | MedicalMarijuana@doh.wa.gov
cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess "valid
documentation” from their physician affirming that he or she suffers
from a debilitating condition and that the "potential benefits of the
medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks."

WA Medical Marijuana website

Information provided by the state on
sources for medical marijuana:

"The law allows a qualifying patient or
designated provider to grow medical
marijuana. It is not legal to buy or sell it.
The law does not allow

dispensaries." (accessed Jan. 11, 2010)

Approved Conditions: Cachexia; cancer; HIV or AIDS; epilepsy;
glaucoma; intractable pain (defined as pain unrelieved by standard
treatment or medications); and multiple sclerosis. Other conditions
are subject to approval by the Washington Board of Health.

Possession/Cultivation: Patients (or their primary caregivers) may ) )
legally possess or cultivate no more than a 60-day supply of Patient Registry Fee:

marijuana. The law does not establish a state-run patient registry. | ~*NO state registration program has
been established

Amended: Senate Bill 6032 T (29 KB) )
Effective: 2007 (rules being defined by Legislature with a July 1, | Accepts other states’ registry ID

2008 due date) cards?

No
Amended: Final Rule T (123 kB) based on Significant Analysis ™ . )
(370 KB) Registration:
Effective: Nov. 2, 2008 None

Approved Conditions: Added Crohn's disease, Hepatitis C with
debilitating nausea or intractable pain, diseases, including anorexia,
which result in nausea, vomiting, wasting, appetite loss, cramping,
seizures, muscle spasms, or spasticity, when those conditions are
unrelieved by standard treatments or medications.

Possession/Cultivation: A qualifying patient and designated
provider may possess a total of no more than twenty-four ounces of
usable marijuana, and no more than fifteen plants. This quantity
became the state's official "60-day supply" on Nov. 2, 2008.

[Editor's Note: On Jan. 21, 2010, the Supreme Court of the State
of Washington ruled that Ballot Initiative "1-692 did not legalize
marijuana, but rather provided an authorized user with an
affirmative defense if the user shows compliance with the

requirements for medical marijuana possession." State v. Fry T (125
KB)

ProCon.org contacted the Washington Department of Health to ask
whether it had received any instructions in light of this ruling. Kristi
Weeks, Director of Policy and Legislation, stated the following in a
Jan. 25, 2010 email response to ProCon.org:
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"The Department of Health has a limited role related to medical
marijuana in the state of Washington. Specifically, we were directed
by the Legislature to determine the amount of a 60 day supply and
conduct a study of issues related to access to medical marijuana.
Both of these tasks have been completed. We have maintained the
medical marijuana webpage for the convenience of the public.

The department has not received 'any instructions' in light of State
v. Fry. That case does not change the law or affect the 60 day
supply. Chapter 69.51A RCW, as confirmed in Fry, provides an
affirmative defense to prosecution for possession of marijuana for
qualifying patients and caregivers."]

Amended: SB 5073 T (375 KB)

Effective: July 22, 2011

Gov. Christine Gregoire signed sections of the bill and partially
vetoed others, as explained in the Apr. 29, 2011 veto notice. T (50
KB) Gov. Gregoire struck down sections related to creating state-
licensed medical marijuana dispensaries and a voluntary patient
registry.

[Editor's Note: On Nov. 6, 2012, Washington voters passed
Initiative 502, which allows the state to "license and regulate
marijuana production, distribution, and possession for persons over
21 and tax marijuana sales." The website for Washington's medical
marijuana program states that the intiative "does not amend or
repeal the medical marijuana laws (chapter 69.51A RCW) in any
way. The laws relating to authorization of medical marijuana by
healthcare providers are still valid and enforceable."]
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For a detailed list of sources used to compile this information, please see our sources page.

Read the 2012 presidential candidates' views on medical marijuana at our 2012 presidential election website.

Other sites are welcome to link to this page, but please see our reprinting policy for details on how to request

permission to reprint the content from our website.

©ProCon.org, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit

All rights reserved
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Information on States with Medical Marijuana Laws

A summary listing of states with medical marijuana laws from the Marijuana Policy Project
(MPP), updated August 26, 2013.



Marijuana Policy Project
236 Massachusetts Ave. NE

Suite 400

Washington, DC 20002
p: (202) 462-5747 - f: (202) 232-0442
info@mpp.org « www.mpp.org

Key Aspects of State and D.C. Medical Marijuana Laws

State Year Home Caregivers Possession Dispensaries Qualifying Conditions ID Cards? Recognizes
Initially Cultivation Limits Out-of-State ID
Enacted Cards?
Alaska 1998, Allowed. Yes. Caregivers One ounce of Not allowed. Cancer, HIV/AIDS, Yes, through the No.
initiative, can assist only marijuana, six glaucoma, cachexia, Department of Health
revised later one patient, plants. severe pain, severe and Social Services.
by the unless the nausea, seizures, and
legislature. caregiver is a persistent muscle
relative of more spasms.* The health
than one department can
patient. approve additional
conditions.
Ariz. 2010, Allowed in Yes. Caregivers Two and one- Yes. More than 90 Cancer, HIV/AIDS, Yes, through the Yes, for patients
initiative. enclosed, can assistup to | half ounces of Department of Hepatitis C, ALS, Crohn’s | Department of Health with conditions
locked five patients. marijuana, 12 Health Services- disease, glaucoma, Services. that qualify
facility if the | Caregivers plants for those | regulated non-profit | Alzheimer’s, severe and under Arizona
patient does | cannot be paid allowed to dispensaries chronic pain, cachexia, law. Does not
not live for their cultivate. received severe nausea, seizures, allow out-of-
within 25 services, but preliminary or persistent muscle state patients to
miles of a they may be certificates. Atleast | spasms. The obtain
dispensary. | reimbursed for 64 have opened. Department of Heath marijuana from
actual expenses. Subject to 6.6% Services can approve dispensaries.
sales tax. additional conditions.

Last updated: August 26, 2013

Disclaimer: This grid is not intended for or offered for legal advice. It is for informational and educational purposes only. It also does not capture nuances of the laws,
many of which are a dozen or more pages. Please consult with an attorney licensed to practice in the state in question for legal advice.



State Year Home Caregivers Possession Dispensaries Qualifying Conditions ID Cards? Recognizes
Initially Cultivation Limits Out-of-State ID
Enacted Cards?
Calif. 1996, Allowed. Yes. Caregivers | Atleast eight Collectives and “Cancer, anorexia, Yes, optional. Issued by | No.
initiative, must have ounces and six cooperatives are AIDS, chronic pain, the Department of
added to “consistently mature plants, allowed. There is no | spasticity, glaucoma, Public Health.
later by the assumed or 12 immature | state licensing, but arthritis, migraine, or
legislature. responsibility plants. Counties | some localities issue | any other illness for
for the housing, | can allow more | licenses and which marijuana
health, or safety | and a defense regulations. They pay | provides relief.”
of [the] patient.” | can be raised for | the state sales tax
more. and some cities have
specific taxes.
Colo. 2000, Allowed. Yes. A caregiver | Two ounces of Yes. Over 500 Cancer, HIV/AIDS, Yes. Issued by the No.
amendment must have marijuana, six “medical marijuana glaucoma, severe pain, | Department of Public
to state “significant plants. centers” and more cachexia, severe Health and
constitution responsibility than 1,000 growers nausea, seizures, and Environment.
approved by for managing and infused product | persistent muscle
voters, the well-being of makers are regulated | spasms. The health
legislation the patient.” by the department of | department can
enacted Generally, a revenue and local approve additional
later. caregiver cannot governments. conditions.
assist more than Medical marijuana is
five patients. subject to sales tax,
with an exemption
for indigent patients.
Conn. 2012, Not allowed. | Yes, a caregiver | A one-month Yes. The department | Cancer, glaucoma, Yes. They will be issued | No.
legislation. can serve one supply, to be will set the number HIV/AIDS, Parkinson's | by the Department of

patient (or more
for close family).
The need for a
caregiver must
be evaluated by
the physician
and be included
in a written
certification.

determined by
the Department
of Consumer
Protection.

of dispensaries. Only
pharmacists may file
dispensary
applications. Three
to 10 growers are
allowed. Medical
marijuana will likely
be subject to sales
tax.

disease, multiple
sclerosis, spinal cord
damage causing
intractable spasticity,
epilepsy, cachexia,
wasting syndrome,
Crohn's disease or
PTSD. The Department
of Consumer
Protection can approve
additional conditions.

Consumer Protection.
Temporary
registrations are
currently available.




State Year Home Caregivers Possession Dispensaries Qualifying Conditions ID Cards? Recognizes
Initially Cultivation Limits Out-of-State ID
Enacted Cards?
Del. 2011, Not allowed. | Yes. Caregivers | Up to six ounces | Yes. A single Cancer, HIV/AIDS, ALS, | Yes. Issued by the Yes, for patients
legislation. can assistup to | at one time. compassion center decompensated Department of Health with conditions
five patients. is expected to cirrhosis, Alzheimer’s, and Social Services. that qualify
open in 2014. The PTSD, debilitating pain under Delaware
governor put a that has not responded law.
broader program on | to other treatments or if Dispensaries
hold in 2012. Only they produced serious can only provide
revenues above $1.2 | side effects, intractable marijuana to
million per year are | nausea, seizures, and patients with a
subject to gross persistent muscle Delaware ID
receipts taxes. spasms. The health card.
department can add
conditions.
D.C. 1998, Not Yes. Caregivers | Up to two Yes, the District Cancer, HIV/AIDS, Yes. Issued by the No.
initiative, presently can assist only ounces in a 30- | health department glaucoma, severe and Department of Health.
later revised | allowed, but | one patient. day period, has approved three | persistent muscle
by D.C. a committee obtained from a | dispensaries spasms, and conditions
Council. was registered and three growers. treated with
Because of supposed to dispensary. The | The first dispensary | chemotherapy, AZT,
intervention | recommend mayor can began serving protease inhibitors, or
by Congress, | whether to increase thisto | patients in July radiotherapy. The
the law did allow it by four ounces. 2013. Dispensaries | mayor can approve
not go into January 1, must have a sliding | additional conditions.
effect until 2012. scale of prices for
July 2010. low-income
patients. Six percent
sales tax.
Hawaii 2000, Allowed. Yes. Caregivers | A patient and Not allowed. Severe pain, cachexia, Yes, through the state No.
legislation. can assist only caregiver can severe nausea, seizures, | Department of Public
one patient. collectively or severe and persistent | Safety. The program will

possess three
ounces, three

mature plants,

and four
immature
plants. The
amounts will
increase in
2015.

muscle spasms. The
health department can
approve additional
conditions.

be transferred to the
Department of Public
Health by Jan. 1, 2015.




State Year Home Caregivers Possession Dispensaries Qualifying Conditions | ID Cards? Recognizes
Initially Cultivation Limits Out-of-State ID
Enacted Cards?
I11. 2013, Not allowed. | Yes. Caregivers | 2.5 ounces of Yes. There will be One of 33 specific Yes, through the No.
legislation. can assist only marijuana, 60 dispensaries, medical conditions, Department of Public
one patient. unless a waiver | probably beginning | including HIV/AIDS, Health.
is granted for in late 2014, and 22 | cancer, spinal cord
more. cultivation facilities. | injury or disease, MS,
There will be a 7% and residual limb pain.
excise tax at the The health department
wholesale level and | can add conditions.
a 1% sales tax.
Maine 1999, Allowed in Yes. Caregivers 2.5 ounces. The | Yes. Health Cancer, HIV/AIDS, ALS, | Yes, optional for Yes.
initiative, enclosed, can assistup to | patient, department Hepatitis C, Crohn’s, nail | patients and some
revised later | locked five patients ata | caregiver, or regulated non-profit | patella, glaucoma, caregivers. Issued by
by initiative | location. time. dispensary can dispensaries are Alzheimer’s, intractable | the Department of
and the grow up to six allowed. So far, eight | pain, cachexia, severe Health and Human
legislature. mature plants have been nausea, seizures, Services.
for a patientand | registered. They are | persistent muscle
may have plants | subject to the state spasms, and (beginning
at other states of | sales tax. in late Sept.) PTSD. The
harvesting. health department can
add conditions.
Mass. 2012, In some Yes. Unless an A 60-day supply. | Yes. The health Cancer, glaucoma, Yes, through the No.
initiative. cases, such exception The health department must HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C, Department of Public
as financial | applies — such | departmentset | register up to 35 ALS, Crohn’s disease, Health.
hardship or | as for immediate | a 10-ounce non-profit Parkinson'’s, multiple
ifa family and presumptive dispensaries by Jan. | sclerosis, or another
dispensary medical amount, but 1,2014. More can be | debilitating condition
is far away. | professionals — | physicians may | approved later if approved of by a
Must grow caregivers may | specify a patient | they are needed. As | patient’s physician.
in enclosed, | assist one needs a greater | a medicine, Debilitating is defined
locked patient. amount. No set marijuana will not as causing symptoms
location. number of be subject to sales such as weakness or
plants is tax. intractable pain and
included. substantially limiting

life activities.




State Year Home Caregivers Possession Dispensaries Qualifying Conditions ID Cards? Recognizes
Initially Cultivation Limits Out-of-State ID
Enacted Cards?

Md. 2013 No. Yes. The The defense No. Teaching For the defense: It does not appear so No.

(research | legislation, defense is applies toup to | hospitals — if they Cachexia, severe or for the 2013 teaching

-focused also 2011 available to an ounce. participate — would | chronic pain, severe hospital law. The

lawand a | and 2003 caregivers in Participating set up a program nausea, seizures, severe affirmative defense and

defense) legislation. some instances. | hospitals will providing marijuana | and persistent spasms, sentencing mitigation

The research- determine the from state-licensed | or any severe condition do not involve ID cards
oriented amount in the growers or the that is resistant to other | or a registry.
programs could | research- federal government, | medicine. The teaching
also allow for oriented (which is very hospitals would propose
them. program. unlikely to the conditions for their

participate). programs.

Mich. 2008, Allowed in Yes. Caregivers | 2.5 ounces. The | Notprovided forin | Cancer, HIV/AIDS, Yes, through the Yes.
initiative, enclosed, can assist up to patient or the state law, Hepatitis C, ALS, Crohn’s | Department of
some locked five patients ata | caregiver can though some cities disease, nail patella, Licensing and
legislative location. time. grow up to 12 have local glaucoma, Alzheimer’s, Regulatory Affairs.
changes in plants for a ordinances. severe and chronic pain,

2012. patient. cachexia, severe nausea,
seizures, or severe and
persistent muscle
spasms. The department
can add conditions.

Mont. 2011 Allowed. Yes. Under the Four mature Not explicitly Cancer, HIV/AIDS, Yes, through the No. The state
legislation revised law, plants, 12 allowed, but glaucoma, cachexia, Department of Health had reciprocity
replaced caregivers can seedlings, and caregivers could intractable nausea or and Human Services. prior to the
2004 voter assist only three | one ounce. assist an unlimited vomiting, seizure 2011 law.
initiative. and cannot be number of patients | disorder, multiple
Parts of the compensated; until mid-2011, sclerosis, Crohn’s, painful
new law however, this resulting in peripheral neuropathy,
have been limitation has storefront admittance to hospice
blocked in been blocked by operations. care, or in some cases,
court. injunction. However, the three | severe pain or spasms.

patient cap part of
the new law is
currently enjoined.




State Year Initially Home Caregivers Possession Dispensaries Qualifying Conditions ID Cards? Recognizes Out-of-
Enacted Cultivation Limits State ID Cards?
Nev. 1998 and 2000, | Allowed. Yes. Caregivers | 2.5 ounces every | Yes,a 2013 law will | Cancer, HIV/AIDS, Yes, through the Yes, beginning in
amendment to must have 14 days, 12plants | allow up to 66 glaucoma, severe pain, Department of Health April 2014. Patients
state significant (for those dispensaries cachexia, severe nausea, | and Human Services. must have an ID
constitution responsibility allowed to grow), | regulated by the seizures, or persistent card and sign an
approved by for managing a and an amount of | Health Division, muscle spasms. The affidavit created by
voters, patient's well- marijuana- along with health department can the Health Division.
legislation being. Marijuana | infused products | growers, infused approve additional In April 2016, the
followed in cannot be to be set by the product makers, conditions. process will change.
2001 and 2013. delivered for Health Division. and labs. Sales
compensation. taxes and two 2%
excise taxes will
apply.
N.H. 2013, Not allowed. | Yes. Caregivers | Two ounces of Yes. There will be The patient must have Yes, through the Yes, for patients
legislation. can generally marijuana. four non-profit both a qualifying Department of Health with conditions

help no more
than five
patients.

alternative
treatment centers.
The first two
should open in
2015.

symptom and one of the
following conditions:
cancer, glaucoma,
HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C,
ALS, muscular
dystrophy, Crohn’s,
Alzheimer’s, multiple
sclerosis, chronic
pancreatitis, spinal cord
injury or disease,
traumatic brain injury,
and injuries that
significantly interfere
with daily activities. The
department may grant
waivers for patients
with other conditions.

and Human Services.

qualifying in New
Hampshire. They
must bring their
own marijuana.




State Year Initially Home Caregivers Possession Limits | Dispensaries Qualifying ID Cards? Recognizes Out-
Enacted Cultivation Conditions of-State ID Cards?
N.J. 2010, Not allowed. | Yes. Caregivers | No more than two Yes. In March 2011, ALS, multiple Yes, through the No.
legislation. can assistonly | ounces can be six state-regulated sclerosis, muscular | Department of Health
one patient. dispensed to a patient | "alternative dystrophy, and Senior Services.
in 30 days. treatment centers" inflammatory bowel
were registered. As disease, cancer,
of July 2013, one is HIV/AIDS, terminal
open and a second is | illness, seizure
expected to open in disorders,
September. Medical intractable skeletal
marijuana is subject | muscular spasticity,
to sales tax. and glaucoma.* The
health department
may approve
additional
conditions.
N.M. 2007, Allowed Yes. Caregivers | Six ounces. Patients Yes. As of July 2013, | Severe chronic pain, | Yes, through the No.
legislation. with special | can assistup to | with cultivation there are 23 peripheral Department of Health.
permit and four patients at | licenses are also "licensed producers" | neuropathy,
possible a time, but they | allowed to cultivate that can grow only intractable
inspection. cannot four mature plants 150 plants and nausea/vomiting,

cultivate.

and 12 seedlings.

seedlings. The state
health department
regulates the
licensed producers.
Medical marijuana
sales are subject to
gross receipts tax.

cachexia, Hepatitis
C, Crohn’s, PTSD,

ALS, cancer,

glaucoma, multiple

sclerosis, spinal

cord damage with

spasticity, epilepsy,
and HIV/AIDS. The
health department

can approve
additional
conditions.




State | Year Initially Home Caregivers Possession Limits Dispensaries Qualifying ID Cards? Recognizes Out-
Enacted Cultivation Conditions of-State ID Cards?

Ore. 1998, initiative, | Allowed at Yes. A caregiver | 24 ounces of Yes. Beginning in Cancer, HIV/AIDS, Yes, through the No.
revised later by | registered must have marijuana, six mature | March 2014, state- glaucoma, Department of Human
legislature. grow sites. “significant plants, and 18 registered and state- | Alzheimer’s, Services.

No one can responsibility immature plants. regulated medical cachexia, severe
produce for managing marijuana facilities pain, severe nausea,
marijuana the well-being” may receive seizures, PTSD, and
for more of the patient. marijuana from persistent muscle
than four patients, caregivers, | spasms. The health
people ata and persons department can
time. responsible for grow | approve additional

sites. Until March medical conditions.

2014, existing

facilities are exempt

from criminal

penalties if they

follow the law.

R.L 2006, Allowed in Yes. Patients 2.5 ounces, 12 plants, | Yes. As of July 2013, Cancer, HIV/AIDS, Yes, through the state Yes.
legislation, enclosed, are allowed up | and 12 seedlings. two compassion Hepatitis C, Department of Health.
revised later by | locked to two Caregivers can centers are open and | glaucoma,
legislature. facility. caregivers possess that much per | a third has been Alzheimer’s, severe,

(dispensaries patient, with a total approved but is not debilitating pain,
are considered | cap of 24 plants and yet open. Sales tax cachexia, severe
caregivers). five ounces. The applies, along with a | nausea, seizures,

Caregivers can
assist up to five
patients.

dispensary cap is 150
plants (99 mature)
and 1,500 ounces.

4% surcharge.

and persistent

muscle spasms. The
health department
can add conditions.




State | Year Initially Home Caregivers Possession Limits Dispensaries Qualifying ID Cards? Recognizes Out-
Enacted Cultivation Conditions of-State ID Cards?
Vt. 2004, Allowed in Yes. Caregivers | Two ounces of Yes. Two non-profit Cancer, multiple Yes, through the No.
legislation, enclosed, can assist only | marijuana, two dispensaries opened | sclerosis, HIV/AIDS, | Department of Public
revised later by | locked one patient. mature plants, and in June 2013. severe pain, Safety.
legislature. facility. seven immature Another should open | cachexia, severe
plants. laterin 2013, and a nausea, or seizures.*
fourth will be
approved later. It is
expected that
medical marijuana
will not be subject to
sales tax.
Wash. | 1998, initiative, | Allowed. Yes. Caregivers | 24 ounces of In Nov. 2012, voters Cancer, HIV/AIDS, No. Note: This law does | No.

revised later by
legislature.

can only assist
one patient ata
time.
Caregivers
must wait 15
days between
serving two
different
patients.

marijuana and 15
plants, with a defense
for more. Patients can
collectively grow, with
no more than 10
patients, 72 ounces,
and 45 plants.

approved allowing
stores to sell adults
21 and older
marijuana for any
purpose.

multiple sclerosis,
seizure and spasm
disorders,
intractable pain,
glaucoma, Crohn’s,
Hepatitis C, and
diseases causing
nausea, vomiting, or
appetite loss.

not include protection
from arrest or
prosecution. It has an
affirmative defense
that prevents
conviction. However,
under Washington law,
all adults 21 and older
can possess up to one
ounce of marijuana for
any purpose.

* = Some or all of this state’s listed illnesses must be resistant to other treatments.




Information on States with Medical Marijuana Laws

A detailed listing of states with medical marijuana laws from the Marijuana Policy Project
(MPP), updated August 26, 2013.



Marijuana Policy Project

236 Massachusetts Ave. NE
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Washington, DC 20002

p: (202) 462-5747 - f: (202) 232-0442
info@mpp.org - www.mpp.org

The Twenty States and One Federal District With Effective Medical Marijuana Laws
And a 21 state with a research-oriented program and a limited defense

Twenty U.S. states and the District of Columbia have enacted laws that remove criminal
sanctions for the medical use of marijuana, define eligibility for such use, and allow some means
of access — either through home cultivation, dispensaries, or both. In addition, Maryland has
both a limited defense for qualifying patients who are charged with possessing up to an ounce of
marijuana and a law allowing teaching hospitals to propose medical marijuana programs. !

In each of the states, a doctor’s recommendation or certification is required for a patient
to qualify. In all of those laws, except California and Massachusetts’, a physician must certify that
the patient has a specific serious medical condition or symptom that is listed in the law. The laws
generally include cancer, AIDS, multiple sclerosis, severe or debilitating pain, and severe nausea.
The laws also protect physicians who make the recommendations and include designated
caregivers who may assist one or more patients, such as by picking up their medicine for them
from a dispensary. In all of the jurisdictions except Washington state and Maryland, the patient
can send an application, a fee, and the physician’s certification in to a state or county department
to receive an ID card. The cards typically have to be renewed each year, though some states allow
them to be renewed every two years.

Most of the laws specify that they do not allow marijuana to be smoked in public or
possessed in correctional facilities. The laws generally specify that employers do not have to
allow on-site marijuana use or employees working while impaired, and several specify that they
do not protect conduct that would be considered negligent. All but Maryland’s law specify that
insurance is not required to cover the costs of medical marijuana.

Fifteen of the laws allow at least some patients to cultivate a modest amount of marijuana
at their homes. In one of those states, Arizona, patient cultivation is only allowed if the patient
lives at least 25 miles away from a dispensary. Nevada’s law only allows certain patients to
cultivate, including those living 25 miles or more from a dispensary. In Massachusetts, patient
cultivation is allowed only under certain circumstances, such as due to financial hardship. Other
than New Mexico, each of the states that allow home cultivation allow patients to designate a
caregiver to cultivate for them.

Fourteen states’ and D.C.’s laws allow for state regulated dispensing, though some of the
laws are so new their dispensaries are not yet up and running. The states with state-registered
dispensary laws are Arizona, Delaware, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Nevada, New
Hampshire, New Mexico, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, and
Vermont. In addition, California has hundreds of dispensaries, many of which are regulated at the
local level, but there is no statewide licensing or regulation of them. Finally, Washington state’s
law does not provide for regulated dispensaries, but it does allow marijuana stores for adults.

! This document does not cover dozens of laws passed in the 1970s and 1980s that do not provide actual protection to
patients. It also does not cover states where courts have ruled in favor of common law necessity defenses for medical
marijuana. Information on those laws and rulings is available in MPP’s State-by-State report, available at:
www.mpp.org/statelaws

Disclaimer: This is not intended for or offered for legal advice. It is for informational and educational
purposes only. It also does not capture many nuances of the laws, many of which are a dozen or more
pages. Please consult with an attorney licensed to practice in the state in question for legal advice.

Last updated: August 26, 2013



This paper provides an overview of key provisions of each of the 21 effective (and one
research-oriented) medical marijuana laws.

Alaska — Measure 8, a ballot initiative, passed with 58% of the vote in 1998, and was modified
by S.B. 94 in 1999. The law’s citation is Alaska Stat. § 17.37.010 et seq.

Quialifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must have a qualifying
condition and a statement from an Alaska-licensed physician who has personally examined the
patient stating that “the physician has considered other approved ... treatments that might
provide relief ... and that the physician has concluded that the patient might benefit from the
medical use of marijuana.” A minor patient only qualifies with the consent of his or her parent
or guardian and if the adult controls the dosage, acquisition, and frequency of use of the
marijuana. The qualifying conditions in Alaska are cancer, HIVV/AIDS, glaucoma, and
conditions causing one or more of the following: cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures,
or persistent muscle spasms, including those that are characteristic of multiple sclerosis. The
health department can approve additional medical conditions.

Protections, Access, and Possession Limits: Alaska’s law allows a patient with a registry
identification card to possess one ounce of processed marijuana and cultivate six plants, only
three of which can be mature plants. It only provides an affirmative defense, not protection
from arrest. Each patient may have one primary caregiver and one alternate caregiver.
Caregivers must be 21 years of age or older and can only serve one patient, unless the caregiver
is a relative of more than one patient. They cannot be on parole or probation and cannot have
certain drug felonies. Alaska’s law does not include any protections for unregistered patients.

Arizona — Proposition 203, a ballot initiative, passed with 50.1% of the vote on November 2,
2010. It went into effect when the election results were certified on December 14, 2010. The law
is codified at Ariz. Rev. Stat. Chapter 36-28.1. The Department of Health Services issued rules
on March 28, 2011. In 2011, the legislature passed two laws to undermine Prop. 203 — H.B.
2585, which adds the medical marijuana registry to the prescription drug monitoring registry, and
H.B. 2541, which relates to employment law. In 2012, the legislature passed another law to
undermine Prop. 203 — HB 2349 — which prohibited medical marijuana on college campuses.
The next year, in 2013, the legislature passed SB 1443 to clarify that federally approved medical
marijuana research could still be conducted at universities.

Qualifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must have a qualifying
condition, must be "likely to receive therapeutic or palliative benefit" from the medical use of
marijuana, and must obtain a statement from a physician with whom the patient has a bona fide
relationship. A minor patient only qualifies with two physician certifications and the consent of
his or her parent or guardian. Moreover, the adult must control the dosage, acquisition, and
frequency of use of the marijuana. The qualifying conditions in Arizona are cancer,

HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn's disease, glaucoma, agitation
related to Alzheimer’s disease, and conditions causing one or more of the following: severe and
chronic pain, cachexia or wasting, severe nausea, seizures, or persistent muscle spasms. The
department of health services can approve additional medical conditions. The department also
administers the 1D card program.

Patient Protections: Arizona’s law allows a patient with a registry identification card to
possess 2.5 ounces of processed marijuana. Registered caregivers may possess up to 2.5 ounces
for each patient they assist. The law provides that registered patients and caregivers abiding by
the act are "not subject to arrest, prosecution or penalty in any manner, or denial of any right or
privilege, including any civil penalty or disciplinary action ...” for doing so. It also prevents
landlords, employers, and schools from discriminating based on a person’s status as a caregiver
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or patient, unless they would otherwise lose a federal monetary or licensing benefit. In 2012,
Gov. Brewer signed HB 2349, which banned medical marijuana on all schools, including
college campuses and vocational schools.

Employers generally cannot penalize staff for testing positive for marijuana unless they ingest
marijuana at work or are impaired at work. In 2011, the legislature passed and Gov. Brewer
signed a bill that undermines employment protections, allowing employers to depend on reports
of impairment by a colleague who is “believed to be reliable” and seeming to allow termination
based on a positive drug test. Prop. 203 also provides some protection for child custody and
visitation rights and some protections for residents of nursing homes and other assisted living
facilities.

Arizona honors visiting patients’ out-of-state registry identification cards for up to 30 days, but
they are not valid for obtaining marijuana. The law has an affirmative defense for unregistered
patients with doctors’ recommendations and their caregivers, but it sunset once the Department
of Health Services began issuing ID cards.

Possession Limits and Access: If a patient lives more than 25 miles away from a dispensary,
the patient can cultivate up to 12 plants in an enclosed, locked location, or he or she can
designate a caregiver to do so. Patients can have a single caregiver and a caregiver can assist no
more than five patients. Caregivers can receive reimbursement for their actual expenses, but
cannot receive any compensation for their services.

Arizona’s law provides for state-regulated nonprofit dispensaries. The department may charge
up to $5,000 for each dispensary application and up to $1,000 for each renewal. Each
dispensary employee must register with the department. The department developed rules for
dispensaries’ oversight, record keeping, and security. In addition, the initiative included several
regulations. Dispensaries must be at least 500 feet from schools. Dispensaries may cultivate
their own marijuana, either at the retail site or a second enclosed, locked cultivation location
that must be registered with the department. They may also sell usable marijuana to one
another, but dispensaries cannot purchase marijuana from anyone other than another
dispensary. Patients and caregivers may donate marijuana to one another and to dispensaries.
Dispensaries can dispense no more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana to a patient every 14 days. The
total number of dispensaries cannot exceed one for every 10 pharmacies, which would total
about 125 dispensaries.

The Department of Health Services issued certificates to more than 90 dispensaries in August
2012, and 64 are up and running as of August 2013.

California — Proposition 215, a ballot initiative, passed with 56% of the vote in 1996, and the
legislature added protections by passing SB 420 in 2003. In 2010, the legislature passed AB 2650,
adding a buffer zone between dispensaries and schools. In California, the legislature cannot
amend a voter-initiative, so SB 420 and AB 2650 are only supplementary. The laws are codified
at Cal. Health and Safety Code §11362.5 and 11362.7 et seq.

Qualifying for the Program: California’s law is the only one to allow doctors to recommend
medical marijuana for any condition. Medical marijuana can be recommended for “cancer,
anorexia, AIDS, chronic pain, spasticity, glaucoma, arthritis, migraine, or any other illness for
which marijuana provides relief.” Patients may get a registry identification card from their
county health departments, but cards are not mandatory and the vast majority of patients rely on
a written recommendation from a physician.

Patient Protections: A patient is protected from “criminal prosecution or sanction” if he or she
has a physician’s recommendation for medical marijuana. To qualify as a primary caregiver in
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California, one must be designated by a patient and must have “consistently assumed
responsibility for the housing, health, or safety of [the] patient.” The law allows primary
caregivers to cultivate marijuana for any number of patients. The California Supreme Court
ruled in Ross v. Ragingwire that the law does not provide protection from being fired for testing
positive for marijuana metabolites, even if the patient is never is impaired at work.

Possession Limits and Access: California’s law allows a patient with a physician’s
recommendation to possess at least eight ounces of processed marijuana and cultivate six
mature plants or 12 immature plants, or greater amounts if the county allows a greater amount.
Patients may also assert a defense in court for greater amounts that are for “personal medical
purposes.”

SB 420 provides that patients and caregivers “who associate within the State of California in
order collectively or cooperatively to cultivate marijuana for medical purposes, shall not solely
on the basis of that fact be subject to state criminal sanctions ... .” It also specifies that it does
not “authorize any individual or group to cultivate or distribute marijuana for profit.” Based on
this collective language, dispensaries are operating in many parts of California. While then-
Attorney General Jerry Brown issued guidelines on medical marijuana, state law provides no
regulation or registration of collectives and cooperatives. Instead, many localities have moved
to regulate them, while others have enacted bans, some of which are being challenged in court.
In early 2012, the California Supreme Court granted review to several cases relating to
dispensaries, including whether dispensaries can be banned and whether cities issuing licenses
to dispensaries are federally preempted. Those cases are currently pending.

In 2012, AB 2650 prohibited a collective, cooperative, or dispensary with a storefront or mobile
retail unit from dispensing medical marijuana within a 600-foot radius of a school for students
between kindergarten and 12" grade.

Colorado — Amendment 20, a constitutional amendment ballot initiative, passed with 54% of
the vote in 2000. In 2010, two bills were enacted to amend the medical marijuana law, H.B. 1284
and S.B. 109. In 2011, two more revisions, HB 1250 and HB 1043, were signed into law. The
citations of the statutes are Colo. Rev. Stat. § 12-43.3-101, 18-18-406.3, and 25-1.5-106 et seq.
The constitutional amendment is Article XVI11, Section 14. Department of Health Rules on
medical marijuana are available at 5 CCR 1006-2. The Medical Marijuana Enforcement Group
rules are available online. The rule on residency is available at 1 CCR 212-1.

Quialifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must reside in Colorado and
submit a fee and written documentation from a physician in good standing in Colorado
certifying that the patient "might benefit from the medical use of marijuana" in connection with
a specified qualifying medical condition. The physician must have a treatment or consulting
relationship with the patient and must have done a physical exam and be available for follow-
up care. The qualifying conditions in Colorado are cancer, HIV/AIDS, glaucoma, and
conditions causing one or more of the following: severe pain, cachexia, severe nausea, seizures,
or persistent muscle spasms. The health department administers the 1D card program and can
approve additional qualifying conditions. A minor patient only qualifies with two physicians’
authorizations, parental consent, and if the adult controls the dosage, frequency of use, and if
they acquire the medical marijuana.

Patient Protections: Colorado's law created an exception from the state's criminal laws for any
patient or caregiver in possession of an ID card and a permissible amount of marijuana. The
department is required to issue an ID card to a qualified applicant within 35 days of receiving
an application. However, if the department fails to do so, 35 days after the submission of the
application the patient's applications materials and proof of mailing will serve as an ID card. A
patient and his or her caregiver may raise an affirmative defense for more than the specified

4



amount only if the patient’s physician specified that that patient needs a specific greater
amount. It seems the defense can also be raised whether or not a patient has a registry ID card.
The law also says that "the use of medical marijuana is allowed under state law" to the extent it
is carried out in accordance with the state constitution, statutes, and regulations.

Possession Limits and Access: Each patient can possess up to two ounces of marijuana and
can cultivate up to six plants, three of which may be mature. Patients can designate a single
caregiver or a medical marijuana center to cultivate for them. A caregiver can assist no more
than five patients, unless the department of health determines exceptional circumstances exist.
A caregiver must have "significant responsibility for managing the well-being of a patient.”

Under a law that passed in 2010, medical marijuana centers (dispensaries) and entities that
make marijuana-infused products are explicitly allowed and must be licensed by their locality
and a state licensing authority under the department of revenue. Labs may also be licensed to
test marijuana. There are several regulations spelled out in the law including for medical
marijuana centers' security, proximity to schools, and hours of operation. On-site marijuana use
is forbidden. Specific labels and packaging are required for marijuana sold in food products.
Caregivers must have a waiver from the department to be allowed to pick up marijuana for
homebound patients. In addition, the licensing authority — the Medical Marijuana Enforcement
Division, which is part of the Department of Revenue — set fees and developed additional
regulations, which went into effect on July 1, 2011. The Medical Marijuana Enforcement
Division has the authority to impose penalties, including suspending and revoking licenses. The
state’s medical marijuana center fees range from $7,500 to $18,000. The infused products and
cultivation fees are each $1,200. With the exception of new medical marijuana centers and
those granted a waiver due to a catastrophic event related to inventory, medical marijuana
centers must cultivate at least 70% of the marijuana they dispense, and the rest can only be
purchased from other medical marijuana centers. Although there is an exception, a center
generally can possess no more than six plants and two ounces per patient who designates it.

Medical marijuana is subject to sales tax, except for individual patients who the department
finds are indigent. Up to $2 million per year in tax revenue will be appropriated to services
related to substance abuse. The medical marijuana center licensing provisions sunset on July 1,
2015. For fiscal year 2012, the Medical Marijuana Enforcement Division reported there were
532 medical marijuana centers either licensed and operating or allowed to operate while
awaiting the review of their license applications.

In addition to Colorado’s medical marijuana law, voters approved Amendment 64 in November
2012, which allows any adult, 21 and older, to possess up to an ounce of marijuana and up to
six plants. It will also allow the retail sales of marijuana for recreational use.

Other: The state licensing authority is directed to petition the federal DEA to reschedule
marijuana.

Connecticut — The Connecticut Legislature passed and Gov. Dannel Malloy signed HB 5389 in
2012. The law is available at Conn. Gen. Stat. § 21a-408 to 21a-4080. The effective date for part
of the law — including for patients’ temporary registry ID cards — was October 1, 2012. The
Department of Consumer Protection submitted proposed regulations to the Regulation Review
Committee on June 21, 2013.

Qualifying for the Program: From October 1, 2012 until 30 days after the department issues
permanent registrations, patients and their caregivers may obtain a temporary registry
identification card from the Department of Consumer Protection. To qualify for an ID card, a
patient will be required to have a qualifying condition and a physician's written certification
stating that the potential benefits of the palliative use of marijuana would likely outweigh the



health risks. Patients must be 18 or older and must be Connecticut residents. The law does not
protect patients with out-of-state ID cards.

The qualifying conditions in Connecticut are: cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Parkinson's
disease, multiple sclerosis, spinal cord damage causing intractable spasticity, epilepsy,
cachexia, wasting syndrome, Crohn's disease, PTSD, or a condition added by the Department of
Consumer Protection.

Patient Protections: Connecticut’s law provides that registered patients, registered caregivers,
dispensaries and their employees, producers and their employees, and physicians may not be
“subject to arrest or prosecution, penalized in any manner, including, but not limited to, being
subject to any civil penalty, or denied any right or privilege, including, but not limited to, being
subject to any disciplinary action” by a professional licensing board for acting in accordance
with the law.

The law also includes protections from discrimination by landlords, employers, and schools,
with an exception for if discrimination is required to obtain federal funding or to comply with
federal law. These civil protections are all based on one’s status as a patient or caregiver.

Patients cannot ingest marijuana anywhere in public, in a workplace, in any moving vehicle, in
the line of sight of a person under 18, or on any school or university grounds, including in dorm
rooms.

Possession Limits and Access: Connecticut’s law does not provide for home cultivation. It
provides for dispensaries, which will be licensed by the Department of Consumer Protection.
Only pharmacists can file applications for dispensaries. The draft rules would require the
department to allow at least one dispensary facility and would allow it to authorize more if
“additional dispensary facilities are desirable to assure access to marijuana for qualifying
patients.”

Dispensaries will only be allowed to obtain marijuana from licensed producers. The
Department of Consumer Protection will also decide how many producers to license, and the
number must be between no less than three and no more than 10. The draft rules seem to favor
a lower number of producers. The non-refundable application fee for producers must be at least
$25,000. The department has proposed an annual fee of $75,000 for producers. Dispensary
facility application fees would be $1,000, with their annual fees being $5,000.

The Department of Consumer Protection will decide how much usable marijuana patients can
possess, which will be a one-month supply. An eight member board of physicians will review
and recommend protocols to decide the amount that would be reasonably necessary for a one-
month supply, including for topical treatment. The board will also make recommendations on
whether to add qualifying conditions.

Primary caregivers can serve a single patient, unless they are close relatives or guardians to
each patient, and each patient can have only one caregiver. Caregivers cannot have convictions
for selling or manufacturing drugs. The need for a caregiver must be evaluated by the physician
and be included in a written certification.

Other: Connecticut’s law directs the Commissioner of Consumer Protection to submit
regulations to reclassify marijuana as a Schedule Il substance under state law.

Delaware — Gov. Jack Markell signed SB 17 on May 13, 2011. The bill is codified at Title 16,
Chapter 49A of the Delaware Code. Following a February 2012 letter from the U.S. attorney
for Delaware, Gov. Markell placed the dispensary portion of the bill on hold. Gov. Markell




announced on August 15, 2013 that he would restart the program, allowing a single pilot
dispensary, which could possess up to 150 plants and have up to 1,500 ounces of marijuana.

Qualifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must have a qualifying
condition and a physician’s statement that the patient is “likely to receive therapeutic or
palliative benefit” from the medical use of marijuana. The physician must be the patient’s
primary care physician or physician responsible for treating the patient’s qualifying condition.
Patients must be 18 or older. The qualifying conditions in Delaware are cancer,

HIV/AIDS, decompensated cirrhosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, agitation related to
Alzheimer’s disease, post-traumatic stress disorder, and conditions causing one or more of the
following: severe debilitating pain that has not responded to other treatments for more than
three months or for which other treatments produced serious side effects, intractable nausea,
seizures, or severe and persistent muscle spasms. The department of health and social services
can approve additional medical conditions. The department will also administer the ID card
program.

Patient Protections: The law provides that registered patients and caregivers abiding by the act
are "not subject to arrest, prosecution, or denial of any right or privilege, including but not
limited to civil penalty or disciplinary action ...” for doing so. It also prevents landlords,
employers, and schools from discriminating based on a person’s status as a caregiver or patient,
unless they would otherwise lose a federal monetary or licensing benefit. Employers generally
cannot penalize staff for testing positive for marijuana unless they used, possessed, or were
impaired by marijuana at work or during work hours. It provides some protection for child
custody and visitation rights and receiving organ donations.

Delaware honors visiting patients’ out-of-state registry identification cards for up to 30 days if
they have conditions that qualify in Delaware. However, patients must obtain a Delaware
registry card to obtain marijuana from a Delaware compassion center. The law has an
affirmative defense for unregistered patients with doctors’ recommendations, but it only applies
until the department begins issuing cards and between when a patient submits a valid
application and when the patient receives his or her ID card.

Possession Limits and Access: Delaware’s law allows a patient with a registry identification
card to possess six ounces at once and to obtain up to three ounces of processed marijuana
every 14 days. When patients or caregivers are out of their residences, marijuana must be stored
in an approved, sealed container obtained from a compassion center, unless the marijuana is
being administered or prepared for administration. Registered caregivers may possess up to six
ounces for each patient they assist.

Home cultivation is not allowed in Delaware. Patients are allowed to obtain marijuana from
state-registered non-profit compassion centers. The first pilot compassion center is expected to
be registered in 2014. Patients can have a single caregiver, and a caregiver can assist no more
than five patients. The law directed the health department to develop rules for compassion
centers’ oversight, record keeping, and security, and to set application and registration fees,
which (along with donations) must cover the costs of administering the program. It issued final
rules for the registry identification card program on June 1, 2012.

The department is also charged with selecting compassion centers, based on a scored,
competitive application process. Dispensaries must be at least 500 feet from schools. They must
cultivate their own marijuana, either at the retail site or at additional enclosed, locked
cultivation locations that must be registered with the department. Dispensaries can dispense no
more than three ounces of marijuana to a patient every 14 days. The department was supposed
to register three compassion centers by January 1, 2013 and three more by January 1, 2014.
Additional ones could also be approved if they are needed. However, as was mentioned, that



part of the law was put on hold. Now, a single center will be approved in 2014.

Hawaii — S.B. 862 was passed by the Hawaii Legislature in 2000. It was the first medical
marijuana bill to be passed legislatively. Its citation is Haw. Rev. Stat. § 329-121 et seq. The
rules are at HAR Chapter 23-202.

Quialifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must have a qualifying
condition and a statement from a Hawaii physician that the "potential benefits of the medical
use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks for the qualifying patient." Although
most states house their medical marijuana programs in their health departments, Hawaii’s is
administered by the state Department of Public Safety. The qualifying conditions in Hawaii are
cancer, HIV/AIDS, glaucoma, and conditions causing one or more of the following: severe
pain, cachexia or wasting, severe nausea, seizures, or severe and persistent muscle spasms. The
health department can approve additional conditions. A minor patient only qualifies with
parental consent and if the adult controls the dosage, frequency of use, and acquisition of
marijuana.

Protections, Access, and Possession Limits: Hawaii’s law allows a patient with a registry
identification card and his or her caregiver to collectively possess three ounces of processed
marijuana and cultivate three mature plants and four immature plants. Hawaii’s law does not
provide for dispensaries and a primary caregiver can only assist one patient at a time. There is
also a “choice of evils” defense patients can raise.

Illinois: Gov. Patrick Quinn signed HB 1 into law on August 1, 2013, after it was approved by
the General Assembly. The new law goes into effect on January 1, 2014, and the executive
branch will then have four months to craft rules.

Qualifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must have a qualifying
medical condition and a statement from an Illinois-licensed MD or DO who is caring for the
patient's condition. The physician must certify that the patient "is likely to receive therapeutic
or palliative benefit" from medical marijuana.

Restrictions on Who May Be a Patient: Minors cannot qualify as patients. Patients also
cannot not be active police officers, firefighters, correctional officers, probation officers, or bus
drivers. They cannot have a commercial driver’s license or a felony drug conviction.

Qualifying Medical Conditions: The qualifying conditions in Illinois are HIV/AIDS; hepatitis
C; amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS); Crohn's disease; agitation of Alzheimer’s disease;
cachexia/wasting syndrome; muscular dystrophy; severe fiboromyalgia; spinal cord disease;
Tarlov cysts; hydromyelia; syringomyelia; spinal cord injury; traumatic brain injury and post-
concussion syndrome; multiple sclerosis; Arnold Chiari malformation; Spinocerebellar Ataxia
(SCA); Parkinson’s disease; Tourette’s syndrome; Myoclonus; Dystonia; Reflex Sympathetic
Dystrophy (RSD); Causalgia; CRPS; Neurofibromatosis; Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating
Polyneuropathy; Sjogren’s syndrome; Lupus; Interstitial Cystitis; Myasthenia Gravis;
Hydrocephalus; nail patella syndrome; residual limb pain; or the treatment of these conditions.
The public health department may approve additional conditions.

Caregivers: Patients may have a single caregiver who may pick up medical marijuana for
them. Caregivers must be 21 or older and cannot have a disqualifying drug conviction. They
may only assist a single patient.

Patient Protections: Registered patients may not be arrested or prosecuted or face criminal or
other penalties, including property forfeiture for engaging in the medical use of marijuana in
compliance with the law. There are also protections against patients being discriminated against
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in medical care — such as organ transplants — and in reference to child custody. In addition,
landlords may not refuse to rent to a person solely due to his or her status as a registered patient
or caregiver unless doing so violates federal law on the part of the landlord. Landlords may
prohibit smoking medical marijuana on their premises. Similarly, schools and employers are
prohibited from discriminating based on patient status unless they face restrictions under
federal law. However, employers may continue to enforce drug-free workplace policies, and
they do not have to allow employees to possess marijuana at work or work while they are
impaired.

Possession Limits and Access: Illinois' law allows a patient or caregiver with a registry 1D
card to possess 2.5 ounces of processed marijuana. Patients and caregivers may not grow
marijuana. Instead, they will be allowed to obtain medical marijuana from one of up to 60 state-
regulated medical marijuana dispensaries, which may be for-profit. Dispensaries will be subject
to rules created by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. They will obtain
medical marijuana from one of up to 22 cultivation centers. Prospective cultivation centers will
have to submit detailed plans to the Department of Agriculture. All cultivation centers will have
24-hour surveillance that law enforcement can access. They will also be required to have
cannabis-tracking systems and perform weekly inventories. Grow centers will be required to
abide by department rules, including for labeling, safety, security, and record keeping. Centers
will also have to comply with local zoning laws and must be located at least 2,500 feet from
daycare centers, schools, and areas zoned for residential use.

Fees for both dispensaries and cultivation centers will be determined by the department.

Other: The law was created with a “sunset” provision, meaning that if the legislature does not
renew the program or create a new law, the program will cease to operate four years from the
date it goes into effect. Medical marijuana will be subject to a 7% privilege tax and a 1% sales
tax.

Maine — Question 2, a ballot initiative, passed with 61% of the vote in 1999. It was modified in
2002 by S.B. 611 and in 2009 by Question 5, an initiative that passed with 59% of the vote. It
was then amended by LD 1811 in 2010, by LD 1296 in 2011, and by LD 480, LD 1062, LD
1404, LD 1423, LD 1462, and LD 1531 in 2013. Its citation is Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit 22 § 2421
et seq. Rules are available at 10-144 C.M.R, Chapter 122.

Qualifying for the Program: Registry identification cards are voluntary for patients and for
caregivers who are members of their patients’ families or households. They are mandatory for
other caregivers. To qualify for protection from arrest, a patient must have a qualifying
condition and a statement from a physician with which the patient has a bona fide relationship.
The statement must be on tamper-resistant paper, is valid for no more than a year, and must
state that the patient is "likely to receive therapeutic or palliative benefit" from the medical use
of marijuana. A minor patient only qualifies with the consent of his or her parent or guardian,
and the adult must control the dosage, acquisition, and frequency of use of the marijuana.

The qualifying conditions in Maine are cancer, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral
sclerosis, nail patella, glaucoma, agitation related to Alzheimer’s disease, and conditions
causing one or more of the following: intractable pain, cachexia or wasting, severe nausea,
seizures, or severe and persistent muscle spasms. Beginning in mid-October 2013, post-
traumatic stress disorder, inflammatory bowel disease, and dyskinetic and spastic movement
will also qualify. A health department-created advisory panel can approve additional medical
conditions and make recommendations about what an adequate supply of marijuana would
be. The department of health also administers the ID card program.

Caregivers must be 21 or older and cannot have a disqualifying drug conviction. They can also
9



be hospice providers or nursing facilities, but those entities cannot grow for patients. They may
have a single employee.

Patient Protections: Maine’s law provides that those abiding by the act may not “be denied
any right or privilege or be subjected to arrest, prosecution, penalty or disciplinary action” for
those medical marijuana-related actions. It also generally prevents landlords and schools from
discriminating based on a person’s status as a caregiver or patient, though it allows landlords to
prevent cultivation and landlords and businesses to prevent smoking in their properties. It also
provides some protection for child custody and visitation rights. Maine protects patients from
states that allow medical marijuana if they have a written certification, the required
identification, and if Maine’s health department adds the other state’s law to a list.

Possession Limits and Access: Maine’s law allows a patient or caregiver with the required
documentation or registry 1D card to possess 2.5 ounces of processed marijuana per patient. A
total of six mature plants may be cultivated for each patient in an enclosed, locked location. The
patient can choose to cultivate and/or can designate either a caregiver or a dispensary to
cultivate for the patient, as long as the total amount of plants per patient does not exceed six
mature plants. Plants in other stages of harvest may also be cultivated. The law has an
affirmative defense for patients needing additional amounts of marijuana. Adult patients can
have a single caregiver, and a caregiver can assist no more than five patients. Caregivers can
receive reasonable monetary compensation. Collective cultivation by caregivers is expressly
forbidden, except that two patients or two caregivers may share an enclosed, locked facility if
they live together. Caregivers may donate excess marijuana to patients, other caregivers, or to
dispensaries. Beginning on October 3, 2013, they may also sell up to two pounds of marijuana
to dispensaries each year.

Maine’s law also provides for state-regulated not-for-profit dispensaries, of which there can be
no more than eight in the first year. As of August 2013, eight non-profit dispensaries have been
registered. The department charged $15,000 for each registration. In addition, each dispensary
employee must register with the department. The state health department developed rules for
dispensaries’ oversight, record keeping, and security, in addition to several specific
requirements from the law. Dispensaries must be at least 500 feet from schools, they must have
on-site parking, sufficient lighting, and electronic monitoring. Dispensaries must cultivate their
own marijuana, either at the retail site or a second enclosed, locked cultivation location that
must be registered with the department. Dispensaries can dispense no more than 2.5 ounces of
marijuana to a patient every 15 days. The department may determine the number and location
of dispensaries.

Maryland (partial law) — The Maryland General Assembly enacted and Gov. Martin O’Malley
signed a medical marijuana defense bill in 2010. The bill was codified at Md. Code, Crim. Law §
5-601, 5-619, and Health Occ. 814-404 (c). In 2013, the legislature and governor expanded the
defense bill and enacted a research-oriented law, which is codified at Md. Code, Health, §13-
3101, et seq. It goes into effect on October 1, 2013.

Quialifying for the Program: Maryland has two types of possible protection for patients: 1) an
affirmative defense and sentencing mitigation that can be raised in court after an arrest; and 2) a
research-oriented medical marijuana program that is not yet operational.

Regarding the affirmative defense, if a patient who has been diagnosed with a defined
debilitating medical condition by a physician with whom he or she has a bona-fide physician-
patient relationship, he or she may raise the defense in court. The defense only applies to
possession of up to an ounce of marijuana. To raise the defense, caregivers must meet a number
of requirements, including that they are immediate family members of the patient. The defense
is only available if the caregiver was designated by the patient prior to the arrest and the
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designation is in the patient’s medical record. If it is proven, the patient or caregiver will be
acquitted. The qualifying conditions for the defense are cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe
or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe and persistent muscle spasms, or any other
condition that is severe and resistant to conventional medicine. Regardless of the condition, to
qualify for the defense, a patient’s condition must be severe and resistant to conventional
medicine, and marijuana must be likely to provide the patient with relief.

The law also includes a “medical necessity” sentencing mitigation, which was first enacted in
2003 and allows the sentence to be reduced to $100 if proven. The list of conditions,
requirement that possession be limited to one ounce or less, and the requirement that the
patient’s condition must be severely resistant to conventional medicine appears not to apply to
the sentencing mitigation.

Patient Protections: Patients and caregivers who prove the affirmative defense will be spared
a conviction, but they will still be subject to an arrest and court proceedings. Patients who are
enrolled in the research-oriented program, which was enacted in 2013 and is not currently
operational, would be protected from arrest.

Possession Limits and Access: Under the research-oriented law, patients may possess the
amount provided by the academic medical centers — hospitals that perform federally approved
research and have medical residency programs. The defense law applies to up to one ounce and
does not include home cultivation or any means of access. The teaching hospital law would
allow patients to possess the amount of marijuana provided for by the program.

Under the research-oriented law, teaching hospitals may apply to an independent commission
to run an investigational use-type medical marijuana program. Those centers will then provide
marijuana to patients. Each program application must specify which medical conditions will be
treated, the treatment duration, the proper dosage, where marijuana will be obtained, sources of
funding, and a plan for monitoring data and outcomes, among other things. It is not clear if any
teaching hospitals will actually participate.

Academic medical centers also must specify how they would include or exclude patients and
how they would evaluate patients for addiction. Programs would initially be approved for one
year and could be extended. Each program must be approved by the academic medical center’s
institutional review board.

All marijuana provided by the academic medical centers must be obtained from either an in-
state grower licensed and regulated by the commission or from the federal government (which
is very unlikely to be willing to do so). An independent commission would set security and
manufacturing requirements for growers. The commission will license no more than XX
programs at a time and no more than five growers for each medical marijuana program it
licenses.

Other: Maryland’s governor could suspend the research-oriented law if there is a reasonable
chance the federal government could prosecute state employees.

Massachusetts — Question 3, a ballot initiative, passed with 63% of the vote in 2012. The
citation for the law is Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 94C § 1-2 to 1-17.

Qualifying for the Program: To qualify for protection from arrest, a patient generally must
have a registry identification card issued by the health department. To obtain a card, a patient
must have a qualifying condition and a statement from a physician with whom the patient has a
bona fide relationship. The qualifying conditions in Massachusetts are cancer, glaucoma,
HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn's disease, Parkinson’s disease,
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multiple sclerosis, and other debilitating conditions as determined in writing by a qualifying
patient’s physician. Until the department has fully implemented the law, a patient's written
certification will serve as his or her ID card.

Personal caregivers must be 21 or older and must also generally be registered with the health
department.

Patient Protections: Massachusetts’ law provides that "Any person meeting the requirements
under this law shall not be penalized under Massachusetts law in any manner, or denied any
right or privilege, for such actions." Patients, caregivers, and dispensary agents who present
their ID cards to law enforcement and possess a permissible amount of marijuana may not be
subject to arrest, prosecution, or civil penalty.

Massachusetts' law does not provide recognition for out-of-state 1D cards.

Possession Limits and Access: Massachusetts' law allows a patient or caregiver to possess a
60-day supply of marijuana. The health department’s draft rules define a presumptive 60-day
supply as 10 ounces, but physicians can certify that a greater amount is needed if they
document the rationale.

A patient with limited access to dispensaries may cultivate if he or she receives a hardship
registration allowing the patient or his or her caregiver to cultivate a 60-day supply of medical
marijuana. The department will issue cultivation registrations to patients whose access to
dispensaries is limited by financial hardship, the physical incapacity to access reasonable
transportation, or the lack of dispensaries reasonably close to — or that will deliver to — the
patient.

Patients may also obtain marijuana from state-regulated nonprofit dispensaries. Question 3
requires the department to issue registration certificates to qualified applicants wishing to
operate medical marijuana treatment centers within 90 days of receiving their applications. Up
to 35 centers may be registered by January 1, 2014. If the department determines 35 centers are
insufficient, it may decide to increase the number in 2014. At least one center must be located
in each county, and no more than five may locate in a single county. There is no clear timetable
for when treatment centers will be able to open and begin serving patients.

Michigan — Proposition 1, a ballot initiative, passed with 63% of the vote in 2008. In late 2012,
the Michigan Legislature made some additions and modifications to the act. Michigan’s medical
marijuana act is codified at MCL § 333.26421 et seq. Rules are at Rule 333.101 et seq.

Quialifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must have a qualifying
condition and a statement from a physician that the patient has a bona fide relationship with that
physician and that the patient is "likely to receive therapeutic or palliative benefit" from the
medical use of marijuana. The qualifying conditions in Michigan are cancer,

HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn's diseases, nail patella, glaucoma,
agitation related to Alzheimer’s disease, and conditions causing one or more of the following:
severe and chronic pain, cachexia or wasting, severe nausea, seizures, or severe and persistent
muscle spasms. The health department processes ID card applications and can approve
additional medical conditions. A minor patient only qualifies with two physician
recommendations, parental consent, and if the adult controls the dosage, frequency of use, and
acquisition of marijuana.

Patient Protections: Michigan’s law allows a patient or caregiver with a registry identification
card to possess 2.5 ounces of processed marijuana. It provides that those abiding by the act
cannot be subject to “arrest, prosecution, or penalty in any manner, or denied any right or
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privilege, including but not limited to civil penalty or disciplinary action by a business or
occupational or professional licensing board or bureau” for actions allowed by the law.
Michigan honors visiting patients’ out-of-state registry identification cards. If a patient applies
for an ID card but has not received a response within 20 days, their doctor's certification and
application materials function as an ID card. The law has an affirmative defense available to
patients and their caregivers whose physicians believe the patients are "likely to receive
therapeutic or palliative benefit" from medical marijuana if they possess "a quantity of
marihuana that was not more than was reasonably necessary to ensure the uninterrupted
availability" of medical marijuana.

Possession Limits and Access: A patient can choose to cultivate up to 12 plants in an
enclosed, locked area, or can designate a caregiver to do so for the patient. Patients can have a
single caregiver and caregivers can assist no more than five patients. Caregivers can receive
reasonable compensation. While Michigan law does not provide for dispensaries, several cities
have enacted ordinances recognizing, licensing, and regulating them.

Other: The legislature added a requirement that marijuana must be in a case in a trunk while it
is transported, or — if the vehicle has no trunk — it must be in a case that isn’t readily
accessible from inside the vehicle.

Montana — 1-148, a ballot initiative, passed with 62% of the vote in 2004. It was amended by
SB 325 in 2009, and it was replaced with a much more restrictive law, SB 423, in 2011. Some of
SB 423 went into effect on July 1, 2011 and some was enjoined in court. As of August 2013,
litigation is still ongoing. The law is codified at MCA § 50-46-301 et seq. The original law was
codified at MCA § 50-46-101 et seq.

Qualifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card under the revised law, a patient must
submit an extensive written certification form, completed by the patient’s physician that, among
other things, states that the patient has a qualifying condition. The qualifying conditions are
now: cachexia or wasting syndrome, intractable nausea or vomiting, epilepsy or intractable
seizure disorder, multiple sclerosis, Crohn’s disease, painful peripheral neuropathy, admittance
to hospice, a nervous system disease causing painful spasticity or spasms, conditions whose
symptoms severely adversely affect the patient’s health, cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, and
severe pain that significantly interferes with daily activities and for which there is objective
proof and is verified by an independent second physician. Patients must be Montana residents.
Patient ID cards under the original law are valid until they expire.

Under SB 423, physicians must describe all other attempts at treatment and that the treatments
have been unsuccessful. Physicians also have to state that they have a “reasonable degree of
certainty” that each patient would benefit from medical marijuana. A provision that is currently
enjoined provides that physicians will be investigated at their own expense by the medical
board if they make 25 or more recommendations in a 12-month period.

A minor patient only qualifies with parental consent and if the adult controls the dosage,
frequency of use, and acquisition of marijuana. They must also have two physicians’
recommendations. The health department is responsible for issuing ID cards and may approve
additional medical conditions.

Protections or lack there of: Montana’s law provides that those abiding by the act “may not
be arrested, prosecuted, or penalized in any manner or be denied any right or privilege,
including but not limited to civil penalty or disciplinary action by a professional licensing board
or the department of labor and industry™ for the medical use of marijuana in accordance with
the act.
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SB 423 lets landlords ban tenants who are patients from using medical marijuana and requires a
landlord’s written permission for cultivation. A provision that has been enjoined allows state
and local law enforcement to make unannounced inspections of caregivers registered premises
during business hours. SB 423 bans advertising of marijuana or related products, including on
the internet, but that part of the law is currently enjoined.

Previously, Montana honored visiting patients’ out-of-state registry identification cards and
included an affirmative defense for unregistered patients or those needing larger amounts of
marijuana. SB 423 eliminated both of those protections.

Possession Limits and Access: Montana’s revised law allows a registered patient or his or her
registered provider to possess four mature plants, 12 seedlings, and one ounce of usable
marijuana per patient. If a patient cultivates, his or her provider may not. Although the initial
law did not mention dispensaries, it also did not limit the number of patients a caregiver could
serve. Under 1-148, caregivers could receive reasonable compensation, and some cities and
counties enacted regulations on dispensaries. However, under parts of SB 423 that were
enjoined, providers could only assist up to three patients and could not receive any
compensation.

Nevada — Question 9, a constitutional amendment ballot initiative, passed first in 1998 and then
with 65% of the vote in 2000. It was implemented by AB 453 in 2001, which was revised by AB
130 in 2003, AB 519 in 2005, and AB 538 in 2009. In 2013, the legislature enacted S.B. 374,
which added a dispensary program. Question 9 is codified at Article 4, section 38 of the Nevada
Constitution. The statutory provisions are codified at Nev. Rev. Stat. 453A. Rules are at NAC
453A.

Quialifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card in Nevada, a patient must have a
qualifying condition and a statement from a Nevada physician who has responsibility for caring
for or treating the patient that marijuana "may mitigate the symptoms or effects" of their
condition. A minor patient only qualifies with parental consent and if the adult controls the
dosage, frequency of use, and acquisition of marijuana. The qualifying conditions in Nevada
are cancer, HIV/AIDS, glaucoma, and conditions causing one or more of the following: severe
pain, cachexia, severe nausea, seizures, or persistent muscle spasms. The department can
approve additional conditions. Nevada’s revised law contains reciprocity provisions, which
recognize patients from other medical marijuana states as long as the other state programs are
substantially similar to the requirements of Nevada law.

Nevada’s registered patients may have a single caregiver. Caregivers must have significant
responsibility for managing a qualifying patient's wellbeing and may serve only one patient.

Patient Protections: Registered patients are exempt from prosecution for the acts allowed
under Nevada law. Patients may also not be disciplined by a professional licensing board and
employers must “attempt to make reasonable accommodations for the medical needs” of
employees who are registered patients.

Patients with qualifying conditions may also assert an affirmative defense if they have been
advised by a physician that marijuana may mitigate their condition, even if they do not have an
ID card. This defense may also be raised by people assisting patients and for greater amounts of
marijuana if the amounts are “medically necessary as determined by the person's attending
physician."”

Possession Limits: Patients and their caregivers may collectively possess two and a half
ounces of marijuana. They can obtain that amount each 14-day period. Those patients or
caregivers who are allowed to grow may cultivate up to 12 plants.
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Access: The voter-enacted constitutional amendment directed lawmakers to enact a medical
marijuana law, including “authorization of appropriate methods for supply of the plant to
patients authorized to use it.” However, Nevada's law initially did not allow anyone to deliver
marijuana for compensation, including to qualified patients. It allowed patients and their
caregivers to cultivate, but did not allow dispensaries. In 2013, the legislature and governor
modified the law to allow dispensaries. The revised law also limits which patients can cultivate
marijuana. Under the revised law, patients who were already cultivating can continue to
cultivate until March 31, 2016. In addition, all patients may cultivate if they do not live near a
dispensary, if they cannot travel to one, or if the dispensaries near them do not have an
adequate supply of marijuana or of the strain that works for the patient.

There will be a total of up to 66 licensed and regulated dispensaries in the state. Clark County
may have up to 40 dispensaries. Washoe County may have 10. Carson City can have two, and
each of the other 14 counties can have one. In addition to dispensaries, the Health Division will
regulate cultivators, infused product manufacturers, and laboratories. All of the establishments
may be for-profit. Dispensaries must have a single, secure entrance for patrons. All cultivation
by cultivation centers must occur in an enclosed, locked facilitation that is registered with the
department. Marijuana must be tested and labeled, including with the concentration of THC and
weight. Medical marijuana businesses may not allow on-site marijuana consumption. Medical
marijuana businesses must also have inventory control systems, their staff must register with
the state, and they must enter information on patrons into an electronic verification system.
Businesses will also have to comply with local rules and those crafted by the Health Division.

Other: Medical marijuana sales will be subject to a 2% excise tax at the wholesale level, along
with a 2% excise tax at the retail level. Standard sales taxes also apply. Seventy-five percent of
the tax revenue will go to education and 25% to regulatory oversight.

New Hampshire: Gov. Maggie Hassan signed HB 573 into law on July 23, 2013, after it was
approved by the legislature. The new law went into effect immediately, but the health department
has a year to craft rules for the patient registry and 18 months for alternative treatment center
rules.

Qualifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must obtain a written
certification from a physician or an advanced practice registered nurse and send it in to the
Department of Health and Human Services. The provider must be primarily responsible for
treating the patient’s qualifying condition. Minors with qualifying serious medical conditions
may register if the parent or guardian responsible for their health care decisions submits written
certifications from two providers, one of which must be a pediatrician. The parent must also
serve as the patient’s caregiver and control the frequency of the patient’s marijuana use. Out-of-
state patients with a valid medical marijuana card from another state will be allowed to bring
their cannabis into New Hampshire and use it in the state. They must also have documentation
from their physicians that they have a condition that qualifies under New Hampshire law.

Qualifying Medical Conditions: The law allows patients to qualify if they have one of the
listed medical conditions and one of the listed qualifying symptoms. In addition, on a case-by-
case basis, the department may allow patients to register who do not have a listed medical
condition if their providers certify that they have a debilitating medical condition. The
qualifying conditions are cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, ALS, muscular dystrophy,
Crohn’s disease, Alzheimer’s, multiple sclerosis, chronic pancreatitis, spinal cord injury or
disease, traumatic brain injury, and injuries that significantly interfere with daily activities. The
qualifying symptoms are severely debilitating or terminal medical conditions or their treatments
that have produced elevated intraocular pressure, cachexia, chemotherapy-induced anorexia,
wasting syndrome, severe pain if it has not responded to other treatments or if treatments
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produced serious side effects, severe nausea, vomiting, seizures, or severe, persistent muscle
spasms.

Caregivers: Patients may have a single caregiver who may pick up medical marijuana for
them. Caregivers must be 21 or older and cannot have a felony conviction. Caregivers typically
may assist no more than five patients.

Patient Protections: Registered patients may not be arrested or prosecuted or face criminal or
other penalties for engaging in the medical use of marijuana in compliance with the law. The
law also offers protections against discrimination in child custody cases and in medical care —
such as organ transplants.

Possession Limits and Access: New Hampshire's law allows a patient with a registry 1D card
to obtain up to two ounces of processed marijuana every 10 days. Caregivers may possess that
amount for each patient they assist. Patients and caregivers may not grow marijuana. Instead,
they will be allowed to obtain medical marijuana from one of up to four state-regulated
alternative treatment centers (ATCs). ATCs will be non-profit and may not be located within
1,000 feet of the property of a drug-free zone or school. They must provide patients with
educational information on strains and dosage and must collect information patients voluntarily
provide on strains’ effectiveness and side effects. Staff must be at least 21, wear ATC-issued
badges, and cannot have any felony convictions. The law includes numerous additional
requirements, including for periodic inventories, staff training, reporting incidents, prohibiting
non-organic pesticides, and requiring recordkeeping. ATCs cannot possess more than either 80
mature plants and 80 ounces total, or three mature plants and six ounces per patient. The health
department — with input from an advisory council — will set additional rules, including for
electrical safety, security, sanitary requirements, advertising, hours of operations, personnel,
liability insurance, and labeling. Rules on security must include standards for lighting, physical
security, video security, alarms, measures to prevent loitering, and on-site parking

Other: Marijuana cannot be used on someone else’s property without the written permission of
the property owner or, in the case of leased property, without the permission of the tenant.
Marijuana cannot be smoked on leased premises if doing so would violate rental policies.
Marijuana cannot be smoked or vaporized in a public place, including a public bus, any other
public vehicle, a public park, a public beach, or a public field.

New Jersey — Gov. Jon Corzine signed S.B. 119 into law in early 2010. Its effective date was
delayed by S. 2105, which was also enacted in 2010. The law is codified at N.J. Stat. Ann.
C.24:61 et seq. Regulations are available at N.J.A.C 8:64.

Quialifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient will be required to have a
qualifying condition and a physician's certification authorizing the patient to apply to use
medical marijuana. The physician must be licensed in New Jersey and must be the patient's
primary care or hospice physician, or the physician responsible for treatment for the patient's
debilitating medical condition. The qualifying conditions in New Jersey are: amyotrophic
lateral sclerosis, multiple sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, inflammatory bowel disease, terminal
illness, conditions resistant to conventional treatments, seizure disorders, intractable skeletal
muscular spasticity, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, cancer, or, conditions accompanied by severe pain,
severe nausea, vomiting, or cachexia. The department of health and senior services administers
the ID card program and can approve additional qualifying conditions. A minor patient only
qualifies with parental consent and if the adult controls the dosage, frequency of use, and
acquisition of marijuana.

Patient Protections: New Jersey's law provides that patients, caregivers, and others acting in
accordance with the law "shall not be subject to any civil or administrative penalty, or denied
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any right or privilege, including, but not limited to, civil penalty or disciplinary action by a
professional licensing board, related to the medical use of marijuana." It also provides that the
medical marijuana authorization is an "exemption from criminal liability" and that it shall also
be an affirmative defense.

Possession Limits and Access: New Jersey's law does not allow for home cultivation but it
does provide for "alternative treatment centers" that are registered with the state to produce and
dispense medical marijuana to qualified patients and their caregivers. The department of health
and senior services decides how many centers to authorize. It registered the minimum number,
six, in March 2011. The first alternative treatment center opened in December 2012.

At least six of the dispensaries will have to be nonprofit. The department set the fee for
applications and has drafted regulations to monitor and oversee the dispensaries and to ensure
security and adequate record keeping for dispensing. Every two years, the department will
evaluate whether there are enough dispensaries in the state and whether the amount of
marijuana allowed is sufficient.

No more than two ounces can be dispensed to a patient in 30 days. Physicians must provide
written instructions, which can be for up to a 90-day supply, each time marijuana is dispensed.
The dispensing must happen within a month of the written instruction. Physicians also are
required to furnish information to the division of consumer affairs about their written
instructions.

Primary caregivers can serve a single patient. Caregivers and dispensary employees cannot
have a drug conviction unless they demonstrate rehabilitation as is provided for in the act or if
the conviction is a federal conviction for medical marijuana.

New Mexico — S.B. 523 was passed by the New Mexico legislature in 2007. Its citation is N.M.
Stat. Ann. § 26-2B-1 et seq. Rules are available at 7.34.2-7.34.4 NMAC.

Qualifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must have a qualifying
condition and a statement from a person licensed to prescribe drugs in New Mexico that "the
practitioner believes that the potential health benefits of the medical use of cannabis would
likely outweigh the health risks for the patient." The qualifying conditions in New Mexico are
severe chronic pain, painful peripheral neuropathy, inflammatory autoimmune-mediated
arthritis, intractable nausea/vomiting, severe anorexia/cachexia, hepatitis C receiving antiviral
treatment, Crohn’s disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, post-traumatic stress disorder,
amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, cancer, glaucoma, multiple sclerosis, spinal cord damage with
intractable spasticity, epilepsy, and HIVV/AIDS. Hospice patients also qualify. "Severe chronic
pain" only qualifies if the person's primary care physician and a specialist certify all standard
treatments have been tried and failed to provide adequate relief.

The health department administers the ID card program and it approved adding several of the
qualifying conditions. A minor patient only qualifies with parental consent and if the adult
controls the dosage, frequency of use, and acquisition of marijuana. The law required the health
department set up an advisory board with medical practitioners to make recommendations on
whether to add qualifying conditions and to recommend how much marijuana should be
allowed so that patients can possess an adequate supply.

Patient Protections: New Mexico's law provides that qualified patients "shall not be subject to
arrest, prosecution, or penalty in any manner for the possession of or the medical use of
cannabis if the quantity of cannabis does not exceed an adequate supply.”

Possession Limits and Access: Patients may possess up to six ounces of marijuana, and
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caregivers can possess this amount for each patient who has designated the caregiver. Patients
may also request permission to possess a larger supply. Though the law itself was silent on
home cultivation, by rule, the state health department has allowed patients to apply for a
separate personal cultivation license. If granted, they can cultivate up to four mature plants and
12 seedlings. Caregivers cannot produce for patients and patients can only produce marijuana
for themselves.

The law granted the health department broad discretion to develop rules to regulate licensed
nonprofit producers of medical marijuana. The health department developed rules and, as of
August 2013, 23 producers are licensed. It determines the number of producers based on factors
that include supply of marijuana to patients statewide and the safety of the public. The
department conducts an on-site visit. They also consider the applicants' plans for purity and
consistency of dose as well as testing, their skills and knowledge, and the board members'
experience.

To be producers, applicants must submit a great deal of information, including a $1,000 fee,
security plans, the names of persons with authority over the facility's policies, and a description
of packaging that will be used. Each producer’s board members must include at least one
physician and at least three registered patients. Producers may produce 150 total plants and
seedlings and supply marijuana to their patients. Producers cannot be located within 300 feet of
schools, churches, or daycare centers. Once a patient registers, the health department provides
patients with information on how to contact licensed producers. Annual registration fees range
from $5,000 to $30,000 for producers and vary based on how long the producers have been
operational.

Oregon — Measure 67, a ballot initiative, passed with 55% of the vote in 1998, and was
modified throughout the years. It is codified at Or. Rev. Stat. § 475.300 and rules are available at
OAR 333-008-0000. In 2013, the state legislature approved and Gov. John Kitzhaber signed HB
3640, which allows regulated dispensaries.

Qualifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must have a qualifying
condition and a statement from a physician who has primary responsibility for treating the
patient that marijuana may mitigate their symptoms. A minor patient only qualifies with the
consent of his or her parent or guardian and if the adult controls the dosage, acquisition, and
frequency of use of the marijuana. The qualifying conditions in Oregon are cancer,
HIV/AIDS, glaucoma, agitation related to Alzheimer’s disease, and conditions causing one or
more of the following: cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, or persistent muscle
spasms, including those that are characteristic of multiple sclerosis. The health department can
approve additional medical conditions.

Patient Protections: Registered patients and caregivers are exempted from the state’s
criminal laws for acting in accordance with the medical marijuana law. Patients may also
assert an affirmative defense if they have a qualifying condition and a physician has
recommended medical marijuana even with if they do not have a registry identification card.
In April 2010, the Oregon Supreme Court ruled in Emerald Steel v. BOLI that patients are not
protected from being penalized by their employers.

Possession Limits and Access: Patients can have one designated caregiver, who must have
“significant responsibility for managing the well-being” of the patient. Patients can reimburse
caregivers for the actual cost of supplies and utilities, but not for their labor. Oregon’s law
allows a patient with a registry identification card or a primary caregiver to possess 24 ounces
of processed marijuana and cultivate six mature plants and 18 immature plants for each patient
the caregiver cultivates for. Each grow site must be registered with the health department. The
law includes an advisory committee made of patients and advocates to advise the department.
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In August 2013, Gov. Kitzhaber signed a bill into law to create medical marijuana facilities
that will be allowed to transfer usable marijuana and immature marijuana plants to patients and
their designated primary caregivers. The facilities will not grow marijuana; they will obtain it
from patients, caregivers, or people responsible for grow sites. The legislation becomes
operative on March 1, 2014. Until then, medical marijuana facilities that are currently
operating will be exempted from certain criminal laws so long as they are operating in
accordance with the law.

Medical marijuana facilities cannot be located within 1,000 feet of elementary or secondary
schools and cannot be located within 1,000 feet of another facility. The Oregon Health
Authority will adopt rules related to security, which must require a security system, video
surveillance, an alarm system, and a safe. It will also set fees and adopt rules for testing.

Rhode Island — S. 710 was passed by the Rhode Island legislature in 2006 and amended by S.
791 in 2007, H. 5359 in 2009, S 2834 in 2010, and H 7888 in 2012. It is codified at R.I. Gen.
Laws Chapter 21-28.6. Regulations are at R21-28.6-MMP(5923).

Qualifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient must have a qualifying
condition and a statement from a prescriber who is licensed in Rhode Island or a physician
licensed in Massachusetts or Connecticut that the patient has a bona fide relationship with that
physician and that the “potential benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely
outweigh the health risks" for the patient. A minor patient only qualifies with parental consent
and if the adult controls the dosage, frequency of use, and acquisition of marijuana. The
qualifying conditions in Rhode Island are cancer, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, glaucoma, agitation
related to Alzheimer’s disease, and conditions causing one or more of the following: severe,
debilitating pain, cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe nausea, seizures, or persistent muscle
spasms. The health department administers the ID card program and may approve additional
qualifying conditions.

Patient Protections: Rhode Island’s law provides that cardholders abiding by the act “shall not
be subject to arrest, prosecution, or penalty in any manner, or denied any right or privilege,
including but not limited to civil penalty or disciplinary action by a business or occupational or
professional licensing board or bureau, for the medical use of marijuana.” It also explicitly
prevents landlords, employers, and schools from discriminating based on a person’s status as a
caregiver or patient. The law also provides that medical marijuana shall be considered a
treatment, not an illicit substance, for the purposes of medical care, such as qualification for an
organ transplant. Rhode Island honors visiting patients’ out-of-state registry identification
cards. The law has an affirmative defense for patients with doctors’ recommendations and
permissible amounts of marijuana.

Possession Limits and Access: Each patient can possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and can
cultivate up to 12 plants and 12 seedlings in an enclosed, locked area. Patients can also
designate up to two caregivers or compassion centers to cultivate for them. A caregiver can
assist no more than five patients. Caregivers can possess 2.5 ounces per patient they assist and
12 plants per patient, but their total cap is 24 plants and 5 ounces. Caregivers can receive
reimbursement for their costs associated with assisting a patient.

Rhode Island's law provides for up to three state-regulated not-for-profit compassion centers,
and the state approved three centers in March 2011 based on a competitive application scoring
process. However, Gov. Lincoln Chafee placed the compassion center program on hold after
U.S. attorneys in Rhode Island and other states said large-scale, commercial growers could be
prosecuted. In May 2012, Gov. Chafee and the legislature approved compromise legislation to
restart the program. The legislation capped the amount of plants a compassion center can grow
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at 150, with 99 mature, and the amount of usable marijuana at 1,500 ounces. In addition, the
amount of marijuana can’t exceed 2.5 ounces per patient. Caregivers and patients can sell
compassion centers their overages under the revised law. The first two compassion centers
opened in Spring 2013.

The state health department charges $5,000 annually for each registration and $250 for
applications. Each compassion center employee must register with the health department. In
2010, the department developed rules for compassion centers’ oversight, record keeping, and
security. Compassion centers may cultivate either at the retail site or a second cultivation
location that must be registered with the department. Dispensaries can dispense no more than
2.5 ounces of marijuana to a patient every 15 days.

Vermont — S. 76 was passed by the Vermont legislature in 2004. The law was expanded by S. 7
in 2007 and S. 17 in 2011. The law’s citation is Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 18 § 4472 et seq.

Qualifying for the Program: Vermont is one of two states where the department issuing ID
cards is the department of public safety. (The other state, Hawaii, will move its program to the
health department by 2015.) To qualify for an ID card, a patient must have a statement from a
Vermont, Massachusetts, New York, or New Hampshire-licensed physician, advance practice
nurse, or physician’s assistant who has treated the patient for at least six months that the patient
has had a qualifying medical condition. The qualifying conditions are cancer, multiple
sclerosis, or HIV/AIDS if the disease results in severe and intractable symptoms, or a chronic,
debilitating condition causing one or more of the following, which can not have responded to
reasonable medical efforts over a reasonable period of time: severe pain, cachexia, severe
nausea, or seizures. Patients must also be Vermont residents. A minor patient only qualifies if
his or her parent or guardian also signs the application.

Protections, Access, and Possession Limits: Vermont’s law allows a patient to choose to
cultivate up to two mature and seven immature plants or to designate either a caregiver or a
dispensary to cultivate for the patient. A patient with a registry identification card and his or her
caregiver may collectively possess two ounces of processed marijuana. Cultivation must occur
in a locked, indoor location. Caregivers must be 21 and have no drug-related convictions. They
can only assist one patient.

Pursuant to a law enacted on June 2, 2011, the department of public safety was directed to
approve four nonprofit dispensaries. In the first round of applications, only two applicants met
the standards, and they both opened in late Spring 2013. One more dispensary was approved,
but has not yet opened. Under the law, dispensaries are chosen based on a competitive process,
including factors like convenience to patients, the applicants’ experience, and their ability to
provide for patients. Each dispensary employee must register with the state, and they generally
cannot have drug convictions or convictions for violent felonies. Dispensaries must be at least
1,000 feet from schools. Municipalities can regulate their locations and operations and may also
ban them within the locality. The state’s department of public safety developed rules for
dispensaries’ oversight, record keeping, and security. Fees will include a $2,500 application
fee, a $20,000 registry fee for the first year, and a $30,000 annual fee in subsequent years.

A patient must designate the dispensary he or she wishes to utilize, though the patient can
change the designation. Dispensaries cannot deliver unless the legislature affirmatively allows
them to in the future, and they can only dispense by appointment. Dispensaries must cultivate
their own marijuana, either at the retail site or a second enclosed, locked cultivation location
that must be registered with the department. Dispensaries can dispense no more than two
ounces of marijuana every 30 days to a given patient. The law also included a survey of patients
and an oversight committee that will assess the effectiveness of the compassion centers and
security measures.
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Vermont's law does not include any protections for unregistered patients or out-of-state
patients.

Washington — Measure 692, a ballot initiative, passed with 59% of the vote in 1998. It was
modified by SB 6032 in 2007, SB 5798 in 2010, and SB 5073 in 2011. It is codified at Wash.
Rev. Code § 69.51A.010 et seqg. An administrative rule is available at WAC 246-75-010.

Qualifying under the Law: Washington is the only medical marijuana state without a registry
identification card program (not counting Maryland’s partial law). In 2011, Gov. Christine
Gregoire vetoed the sections of a bill, SB 5073, that included a patient and caregiver registry
and dispensary regulation and licensing. To qualify for protection under Washington’s law, a
patient must have a signed statement on tamper-resistant paper from a Washington-licensed
physician, physician assistant, naturopath, or advanced registered nurse practitioner who
advised the patient of marijuana’s risks and benefits and advised the patient that he or she “may
benefit from the medical use of marijuana.” Qualifying conditions include cancer,

HIV, multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, seizure and spasm disorders, intractable pain, glaucoma,
Crohn's disease, hepatitis C, and diseases causing nausea, vomiting, or appetite loss. Some of
those conditions only qualify if they have been unrelieved by standard medical treatments. The
health department’s Medical Quality Assurance Commission may also add additional
conditions and has done so. In Washington, the possession, acquisition, and cultivation of
marijuana by a minor patient is the parent or legal guardian’s responsibility.

Patient Protections: Washington’s medical marijuana law does not provide protection from
arrest. Instead, it provides an affirmative defense that patients and caregivers may raise in court.

In June 2011, the state Supreme Court ruled against a person who was fired for being a medical
marijuana patient in Roe v. Teletech Customer Care Management. The law that passed in 2011,
SB 5073, provides that an employer does not have to accommodate medical marijuana if it
establishes a drug-free workplace and that it also does not require employers to allow the on-
site medical use of marijuana. Medical marijuana cannot be the “sole disqualifying factor” for
an organ transplant unless it could cause rejection or organ failure. Washington’s law also
restricts when parental rights and residential time can be limited due to the medical use of
marijuana.

Access, and Possession Limits: Washington’s law allows a patient with valid documentation
and his or her designated provider to collectively possess 24 ounces of processed marijuana and
15 plants. A patient also has the ability to argue in court that more marijuana is needed. Up to
10 patients may form a collective garden, which may contain no more than 72 ounces and 45
plants. A person may only serve as a designated provider to one patient at a time and must wait
15 days between serving two different patients. Providers must be 18 or older and must be
designated by a patient in writing.

SB 5073 provides that localities may regulate dispensaries, but due to the sectional veto by
Gov. Gregoire, Washington law fails to provide any clear legal protections for them. However,
in November 2012, voters approved 1-502, allowing the regulated sales of marijuana to all
adults 21 and older — including for recreational use. Under the initiative, all adults 21 and
older may possess up to an ounce of marijuana.

Washington, District of Columbia — On November 3, 1998, 69% of D.C. voters approved
Initiative 59. Congress blocked the implementation of the law until December 2009. The D.C.
Council then put the law on hold temporarily and enacted amendments to it, B18-622. The
revised law went into effect in late July 2010, and regulations were issued on April 15, 2011. A
few modifications were made in 2011. The law is codified at District of Columbia Official Code
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§ 7-1671.13 et seq.

Qualifying for the Program: To qualify for an ID card, a patient will have to have a qualifying
condition and physician's recommendation that medical marijuana is necessary for the patient's
treatment. The physician must be licensed in D.C., have a bona fide relationship with the
patient, and have responsibility for ongoing treatment of the patient. The physician must review
other approved treatments before making the recommendations. The board of medicine may
audit physician recommendations and must audit recommendations for any physician who
provides more than 250 recommendations in a 12-month period. A minor patient only qualifies
with parental consent and if the adult controls the dosage, frequency of use, and acquisition of
marijuana.

The qualifying conditions in D.C. are cancer, HIV/AIDS, glaucoma, and conditions with severe
and persistent muscle spasms, such as multiple sclerosis. In addition, conditions treated with
chemotherapy, azidothymidine or protease inhibitors, and radiotherapy qualify. The health
department administers the 1D card program and can approve additional qualifying conditions
for which marijuana would be beneficial if the conditions are chronic or long lasting,
debilitating, and either cannot be treated by ordinary measures or marijuana would be
significantly less addictive than the ordinary treatment. It can also approve medical marijuana
for treatments whose side effects require medical marijuana treatment. A minor patient only
qualifies with parental consent and if the adult controls the dosage, frequency of use, and
acquisition of marijuana.

Patient Protections: Registered qualifying patients may possess and administer medical
marijuana, and caregivers can do so for the purpose of assisting a patient. The marijuana and
paraphernalia must be obtained from a registered dispensary. Medical marijuana can only be
administered in a patient's residence or a medical facility that permits its administration.
Marijuana cannot be used where its exposure would negatively affect a minor. Marijuana can
only be transported in a container or sealed package that has a label received from a dispensary.

The ordinance also provides an affirmative defense for an adult who assists a patient in
administering medical marijuana in their home or a permitted medical facility where the
caregiver was not reasonably available to assist.

Possession Limits and Access: A patient or caregiver can possess no more than two ounces in
a 30-day period, which must be obtained from a dispensary. However, the mayor may increase
the amount to up to four ounces. The law provides for regulated cultivation facilities and
dispensaries. The facilities and their staff are required to register with the mayor. Cultivation
facilities will be allowed to produce up to 95 marijuana plants and to sell them to dispensaries.
The ordinance allows for between five and eight dispensaries. The mayor set the number of
dispensaries at five and cultivation centers at 10.

On March 30, 2012, the District granted preliminary licenses to six cultivation centers, after
having developed standards for deciding who would be licensed. When selecting centers, it was
required to consider the security plan, staffing plan, product safety and labeling plan, the
suitability of the proposed facility, and input from neighborhood commissions. On April 12
2012, the District announced that four dispensaries had met minimum requirements to move
forward to the next stage. The first dispensary began serving patients in July 2013.

No employee with access to marijuana at a cultivation facility or dispensary can have a
misdemeanor for a drug-related offense or any felony conviction. Dispensaries and cultivation
centers cannot locate in residential districts or within 300 feet of schools or recreation centers.
The ordinance requires records to be kept on each transaction, the quantity of medical
marijuana stored, and how marijuana is disposed of. Police must be notified immediately of
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loss, theft, or destruction. Dispensaries may not operate between 9:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. Rules
also include requirements for signage, labeling, and security — which includes security
cameras. Rules include provisions to revoke or suspend a license if the law is violated and for
inspections. The dispensary selection criteria include the location’s convenience, the suitability
of the building, the staffing plan and knowledge, the security plan, the product safety and
labeling plan.

D.C.’s law also establishes an advisory committee to monitor other states' best practices,
scientific research, and the effectiveness of D.C.'s medical marijuana program. It also provides
for the committee to make recommendations to the Council, including whether home
cultivation should be allowed and, if so, how to implement it.

Other: The D.C. rules specify that the department will make an educational program on medical
marijuana and side effects for physicians and medical institutions. They also provide to allow
people or entities to apply to be a “medical marijuana certification provider,” which would
conduct education and training, including on medical marijuana’s effects, procedures for handling
and dispensing, the medical marijuana law, advertising, and security.
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Information on States with Medical Marijuana Laws

A review of medical marijuana program finances for selected states, prepared by the Marijuana
Policy Project (MPP). The full report that was issued in 2011 is available at:
http://www.mpp.org/assets/pdfs/library/State-by-State-Laws-Report-2011.pdf



http://www.mpp.org/assets/pdfs/library/State-by-State-Laws-Report-2011.pdf

Appendix U: State Medical Marijuana
Program Finances

With many states around the country facing serious budget shortfalls, one con-
cern frequently raised when debating the need for medical marijuana laws is the
cost to state governments of implementing and administering such laws. However,
data collected from states with functioning medical marijuana programs show
that such concerns are unfounded. Most states require the administering agency
to set fees for registry ID cards and dispensary registrations high enough to oft-
set administration costs, and in states where patients can obtain marijuana from
dispensaries, transactions are often subject to sales or excise taxes. Consequently,
no state medical marijuana program is currently facing significant budget deficits.
In fact, most are operating at a surplus, with some generating millions in badly
needed revenue.
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As of late 2011, eight states — Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Maine, New Jersey,
New Mexico, Rhode Island, and Vermont - and the District of Columbia have
laws that recognize dispensaries or other entities where patients can purchase
medical marijuana. Of these, only Colorado, Maine, and New Mexico have fully-
implemented systems with open dispensaries. A fourth state, California, does not
have a statewide regulatory structure but does have several dispensaries licensed
at the local level.

Of these, only California, Colorado, and New Mexico have readily available in-
formation on revenue generated through taxes. In California, the non-partisan
state Board of Equalization estimates that dispensaries generate $58-$105 mil-
lion in annual sales tax revenue.' In Colorado, for the fiscal year ending in June
2010, medical marijuana sales taxes brought in $2.2 million to state coffers,” and
between Boulder, Colorado Springs, Denver, and Fort Collins, an estimated $3.84
million in local sales taxes has already been collected in 2011.> In New Mexico,
sales by non-profit producers in the second quarter of 2011 (April - June) totaled
$744,079, generating $55,938 in gross receipts tax revenue for state and local gov-
ernments.* This projects to over $223,000 per year in gross receipts tax revenue.
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These states also bring in added revenue by assessing dispensaries application
and registration fees. Dispensaries are licensed at the local level in both Colorado
and California. In California, Oakland, which has licensed four medical mari-
juana dispensaries, provides a typical example. The fee structure is graduating
depending on how many patients the dispensaries serve and ranges from $5,000
(for under 500 patients) to $20,000 (for over 1,500 patients).” In Colorado, the
Department of Revenue collected at least $8.9 million in fees from July 2010
through March 2011 from medical cannabis businesses.® The state application fees
for medical marijuana centers are $7,500 for 300 or fewer patients, $12,500 for 301

! “Berkeley cannabis collectives slapped with huge tax bills,” Berkeleyside, February 3, 2011. <http://www.
berkeleyside.com/2011/02/03/berkeley-cannabis-collectives-slapped-with-huge-tax-bills>

2 “City reaps $209k in medical marijuana tax,” Coloradan.com, Nov. 6, 2010. <http://www.coloradoan.com/

article/20101106/NEWS01/11060341/1002/ CUSTOMERSERVICE02>

* “State Medical Marijuana Programs’ Financial Information, Marijuana Policy Project, available at http://www.
mpp.org/issues/medical-marijuana/.

Email communications with Dominick Zurlo, September 28, 2011.

> “Oakland approves plan to license medical marijuana farms,” Oakland Tribune, July 21, 2010. <http://www.
mercurynews.com/alameda-county/ci_15566683?nclick_check=1>

¢ “Oversight Office for Medical Pot is Well Off,” Denver Post, March 18, 2011. < http://www.denverpost.com/
news/marijuana/ci_17640484> U-1
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Appendix U: State Medical Marijuana Program Finances

to 500 patients, and $18,000 for those serving 501 or more patients. A cultivation
license is $1,250, and an infused products manufacturer license is $1,250.” New
Mexico has a similar graduated fee schedule, though the variance is based on how
long the non-profit producer has operated. The fee is $5,000 for those who have
been licensed less than a year, $10,000 for those licensed for more than one year,
$20,000 for more than two years, and $30,000 for more than three years. In Maine,
the Department of Human Services’ Licensing and Regulatory Services requires
all dispensary applicants to pay a $15,000 application fee, $14,000 of which is
refunded if they are not awarded a registration,® and the annual renewal fee is
$15,000.

Other states that are in the process of implementing dispensary systems will also
charge registration fees to dispensaries and similar entities. Application fees range
from $20,000 in New Jersey ($2,000 of which is non-refundable) to a $2,500 non-
refundable fee in Vermont. Registrations are similar to those in Colorado and New
Mexico. For example, the District of Columbia will charge dispensaries $10,000
annually for a registration, and cultivation centers would pay $5,000 annually,
while Vermont will charge $20,000 for the first year and $30,000 for subsequent
years.

These states also collect revenue through fees for registry ID cards for patients,
caregivers, and dispensary employees. Fees are generally around $100 for cards,
with some states — including Michigan, Oregon, Maine, and the District of
Columbia - reducing the fee for low-income patients. Through the first half of fis-
cal year 2011 (October-March 2011), these fees have already generated $4,860,783
in revenue in Michigan, while the program required only $687,634 to operate
during the same time frame.’

Expenses are generally minimal. Programs have reported expenses for database-
related software, for machines to make registry cards, and for staffing. Some
programs — especially ones with a few thousand patients or fewer — have been
able to use software included with Microsoft Office for their databases, and at least
one program shares the card-making machines with other health department pro-
grams. New Mexico’s program purchased a machine to make holographic cards,
which cost about $6,000-$8,000.

Most states employ only a handful of staffers. For example, New Mexico has two
full-time employees and one manager who also oversees three other programs,
while Alaska and Vermont’s programs each require less than one full-time em-
ployee’s time. Oregon and Michigan’s programs, which are each operating in the
black, employ 25 employees each. Some programs do not even need dedicated
staffers. In Rhode Island, for example, staffers are not designated for the medical
marijuana program, and instead work on all 35 licensure programs the health
department oversees.

For more information on state medical marijuana programs’ financial impact,
download our full report at http://www.mpp.org/reports/state-medical-mari-
juana.html.

7 <http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?blobcol=urldata&blobheader=application%2Fpdf&blobkey=id &blobtabl
e=MungoBlobs&blobwhere=1251643794376&ssbinary=true>

8 <http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/dlrs/rulemaking/adopted.shtml>

9 Report on the Amount Collected and Cost of Administering the Medical Marihuana Program, April 1, 2011.
Submitted by Michigan Department of Community Health to Michigan House and Senate Appropriations
Committees.
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Medical Marijuana: Review and Analysis of Federal and State Policies

Summary

Theissue before Congress is whether to continue the federal prosecution of medical marijuana
patients and their providers, in accordance with the federal Controlled Substances Act (CSA), or
whether to relax federal marijuana prohibition enough to permit the medicinal use of botanical
cannabis products when recommended by a physician, especially where permitted under state
law.

Fourteen states, mostly in the West, have enacted laws allowing the use of marijuana for medical
purposes, and many thousands of patients are seeking relief from a variety of serious illnesses by
smoking marijuana or using other herbal cannabis preparations.

Two bills relating to the therapeutic use of cannabis have been introduced in the 111™ Congress.
The Medical Marijuana Patient Protection Act (H.R. 2835), which would allow the medical use of
marijuana in states that permit its use with a doctor’s recommendation, was introduced on June
11, 2009, by Representative Barney Frank. The bill would move marijuana from Schedulel to
Schedule |l of the CSA and exempt from federal prosecution authorized patients and medical
marijuana providers who are acting in accordance with state laws. Also, the Truth in Trials Act
(H.R. 3939), a bill that would make it possible for defendants in federal court to reveal to juries
that their marijuana activity was medically related and legal under state law, was introduced on
October 27, 2009, by Representative Sam Farr.

For thefirst time since District of Columbia residents approved a medical marijuana ballot
initiative in 1998, arider blocking implementation of the initiative was naot attached to the D.C.
appropriations act for FY2010 (PL. 111-117), clearing the way for the creation of a medical
marijuana program for seriously ill patientsin the nation’s capital.

The Obama Administration Department of Justice, in October 2009, announced an end to federal
raids by the Drug Enforcement Administration of medical marijuana dispensaries that are
operating in “clear and unambiguous compliance with existing state laws.” This movefulfillsa
pledge to end such raids that was made by candidate Obama during the presidential campaign.

Claims and counterclaims about medical marijuana—much debated by journalists and academics,
policymakers at all levels of government, and interested citizens—include the following:
Marijuanais harmful and has no medical value marijuana effectively treats the symptoms of
certain diseases; smoking is an improper route of drug administration; marijuana should be
rescheduled to permit medical use; state medical marijuana laws send the wrong message and
lead to increased illicit drug use; the medical marijuana movement undermines the war on drugs;
patients should not be arrested for using medical marijuana; the federal government should allow
the states to experiment and should not interfere with state medical marijuana programs; medical
marijuana laws harm the federal drug approval process; the medical cannabis movement isa
cynical ploy to legalize marijuana and other drugs. With strong opinions being expressed on all
sides of this complex issue, the debate over medical marijuana does not appear to be approaching
resolution.

This report will be updated as legislative activity and other developments occur.
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Introduction: The Issue Before Congress

Theissue before Congress is whether to continue the federal prosecution of medical marijuana’
patients and their providers, in accordance with marijuana’s status as a Schedule | drug under the
Controlled Substances Act, or whether to relax federal marijuana prohibition enough to permit the
medicinal use of botanical cannabis? products when recommended by a physician, especially in
those states that have created medical marijuana programs under state law.

Two bills, versions of which have been introduced in prior Congresses, have been proposed again
in the 111™ Congress. The Medical Marijuana Patient Protection Act (H.R. 2835), which would
allow the medical use of marijuanain states that permit its use with a doctor’s recommendation,
was introduced on June 11, 2009, by Representative Barney Frank. The bill would also move
marijuana from Schedule| to Schedule Il of the CSA and exempt from federal prosecution
authorized patients and medical marijuana providers who are acting in accordance with state
laws. The second bill, the Truth in TrialsAct (H.R. 3939), introduced by Representative Sam Farr
on October 27, 2009, would make it possible for medical marijuana users and providers who are
being tried in federal court to reveal to juries that their marijuana activity was medically related
and legal under state law.

Background: Medical Marijuana Prior to 1937

The Cannabis sativa plant has been used for healing purposes throughout history. According to
written records from China and India, the use of marijuanato treat a wide range of ailments goes
back more than 2,000 years. Ancient texts from Africa, the Middle East, classical Greece, and the
Roman Empire also describe the use of cannabis to treat disease.

For most of American history, growing and using marijuana was legal under both federal law and
the laws of the individual states. By the 1840s, marijuana’s therapeutic potential began to be
recognized by some U.S. physicians. From 1850 to 1941 cannabis was included in the United
Sates Pharmacopoeia as arecognized medicinal.® By the end of 1936, however, all 48 states had
enacted laws to regulate marijuana.” Its decline in medicine was hastened by the development of
aspirin, morphine, and then other opium-derived drugs, al of which helped to replace marijuana
in the treatment of pain and other medical conditions in Western medicine.”

! The terms medical marijuana and medical cannabis are used interchangeably in this report to refer to marijuana
(scientific name: Cannabis sativa) and to marijuana use that qualifies for a medical use exception under the laws of
certain states and under the federal Investigational New Drug Compassi onate Access Program.

2 Theterms botanical cannabis, herbal cannabis, botanical marijuana, and crude marijuana, used interchangeably in
this report, signify the whole or parts of the natural marijuana plant and therapeutic products derived therefrom, as
opposed to drugs produced synthetically in the laboratory that replicate mol ecules found in the marijuana plant.

3 Gregg A. Bliz, “The Medical Use of Marijuana: The Politics of Medicine,” Hamline Journal of Public Law and
Policy, val. 13, spring 1992, p. 118.

4 Oakley Ray and Charles Ksir, Drugs, Society, and Human Behavior, 10" ed. (New Y ork: McGraw-Hill, 2004), p.
456.

5 Bill Zimmerman, Is Marijuana the Right Medicinefor You? A Factual Guide to Medical Uses of Marijuana (New
Canaan, CT: Keats Publishing, 1998), p. 19.
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Federal Medical Marijuana Policy

All three branches of the federal government play an important rolein formulating federal policy
on medical marijuana. Significant actions of each branch are highlighted here, beginning with the
legislative branch.

Congressional Actions

The Marihuana Tax Act of 1937¢

Spurred by spectacular accounts of marijuana’s harmful effects on its users, by the drug's alleged
connection to violent crime, and by a perception that state and local efforts to bring use of the
drug under control were not working, Congress enacted the Marihuana Tax Act of 1937.”
Promoted by Harry Anslinger, Commissioner of the recently established Federal Bureau of
Narcotics, the act imposed registration and reporting requirements and a tax on the growers,
sellers, and buyers of marijuana. Although the act did not prohibit marijuana outright, its effect
was the same. (Because marijuana was not included in the Harrison Narcotics Act in 1914, the
Marihuana Tax Act was the federal government’s first attempt to regulate marijuana.)

Dr. William C. Woodward, legislative counsel of the American Medical Association (AMA),
opposed the measure. In oral testimony before the House Ways and M eans Committee, he stated
that “there are evidently potentialities in the drug that should not be shut off by adverse
legislation. The medical profession and pharmacologists should be |eft to develop the use of this
drug as they seefit.”® Two months later, in a letter to the Senate Finance Committee, he again
argued against the act:

There is no evidence, however, that the medicinal use of these drugs [*cannabis and its
preparations and derivatives’] has caused or is causing cannabis addiction. As remedial
agents they are used to an inconsiderabl e extent, and the obvi ous purpose and effect of this
bill istoimpose so many restrictions on their medicinal useasto prevent such usealtogether.
Since the medicinal use of cannabis has not caused and is not causing addiction, the
prevention of the use of the drug for medicinal purposes can accomplish no good end
whatsoever. How far it may serve to deprive the public of the benefits of a drug that on
further research may prove to be of substantial value, it isimpossible to foresee.?

Despite the AM A’s opposition, the Marihuana Tax Act was approved, causing all medicinal
products containing marijuana to be withdrawn from the market and leading to marijuana’s

® In Spanish, the letter “j” carries the sound of “h” in English. This aternative spelling of marijuana (with an “h") was
formerly used by the federal government and is still used by some writers today.

"P.L. 75-238, 50 Stat. 551, August 2, 1937. In Leary v. United Sates (395 U.S. 6 (1968)), the Supreme Court ruled the
Marihuana Tax Act unconstitutional becauseit compelled self-incrimination, in violation of the Fifth Amendment.

8 P.L. 63-223, December 17, 1914, 38 Stat. 785. Thislaw was passed to implement the Hague Convention of 1912 and
created a federal tax on opium and coca |eaves and their derivatives.

‘u.s Congress, House Committee on Ways and Means, Taxation of Marihuana, hearings on H.R. 6385, 750 Cong., 1*
sess., May 4, 1937 (Washington: GPO, 1937), p. 114.

Pys Congress, Senate Committee on Finance, Taxation of Marihuana, hearing on H.R. 6906, 750 Cong., 1% sess.,,
July 12, 1937 (Washington: GPO, 1937), p. 33.
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removal, in 1941, from The National Formulary and the United Sates Phar macopoeia, in which
it had been listed for almost a century.

Controlled Substances Act (1970)

With increasing use of marijuana and other street drugs during the 1960s, notably by college and
high school students, federal drug-control laws came under scrutiny. In July 1969, President
Nixon asked Congress to enact legislation to combat rising levels of drug use™ Hearings were
held, different proposals were considered, and House and Senate conferees filed a conference
report in October 1970." The report was quickly adopted by voice vote in both chambers and was
signed into law as the Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-
513).

Included in the new law was the Controlled Substances Act (CSA),* which placed marijuana and
its derivativesin Schedule |, the most restrictive of five categories. Schedule | substances have“a
high potential for abuse,” “no currently accepted medical use in treatment in the United States,”
and “alack of accepted safety [standards] for use of the drug ... under medical supervision.”™
Other drugs used recreationally at the time also became Schedule | substances. These included
heroin, LSD, mescaline, peyote, and psilocybin. Drugs of abuse with recognized medical uses—
such as opium, cocaine, and amphetamine—were assigned to Schedules I1 through V, depending
on their potential for abuse.™ Despite its placement in Schedule |, marijuana use increased, as did
the number of health-care professionals and their patients who believed in the plant’s therapeutic
value.

The CSA does not distinguish between the medical and recreational use of marijuana. Under
federal statute, simple possession of marijuana for personal use, a misdemeanor, can bring up to
one year in federal prison and up to a$100,000 finefor afirst offense.’® Growing marijuanais
considered manufacturing a controlled substance, a felony.™” A single plant can bring an
individual up to five years in federal prison and up to a $250,000 fine for afirst offense.®

The CSA is not preempted by state medical marijuana laws, under the federal system of
government, nor are state medical marijuana laws preempted by the CSA. States can statutorily
create a medical use exception for botanical cannabis and its derivatives under their own, state-
level controlled substance laws. At the same time, federal agents can investigate, arrest, and
prosecute medical marijuana patients, caregivers, and providers in accordance with the federal

1 U.S. President, 1969-1974 (Nixon), “Specia Message to the Congress on Control of Narcotics and Dangerous
Drugs,” July 14, 1969, Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States 1969 (Washington: GPO, 1971), pp. 513-
518.

2ys Congress, Conference Committees, Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970,
conference report to accompany H.R. 18583, 91% Cong., 2™ sess., H.Rept. 91-1603 (Washington: GPO, 1970).

3 Title Il of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970, P.L. 91-513, October 27, 1970, 84
Stat. 1242, 21 U.S.C. 8801, et seq.

bid., Sec. 202(b)(1), 84 Stat. 1247, 21 U.S.C. §812(b)(1).
% bid., Sec. 202(c), 84 Stat. 1248.

'8 1bid., Sec. 404 (21 U.S.C. §844) and 18 U.S.C. §3571. Sec. 404 also calls for aminimum fine of $1,000, and Sec.
405 (21 U.S.C. 8844a) permitsa civil penaty of up to $10,000.

7 Sec, 102(15), (22) of the CSA (21 U.S.C. §802(15), (22)).
18 Sec. 401(b)(1)(D) of the CSA (21 U.S.C. §841(b)(1)(D)).
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Controlled Substances Act, even in those states where medical marijuana programs operatein
accordance with state law.

Anti-Medical Marijuana Legislation in the 105" Congress (1998)

In September 1998, the House debated and passed a resolution (H.J.Res. 117) declaring that
Congress supports the existing federal drug approval process for determining whether any drug,
including marijuana, is safe and effective and opposes efforts to circumvent this process by
legalizing marijuana, or any other Schedule | drug, for medicinal use without valid scientific
evidence and without approval of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). With the Senate not
acting on the resolution and adjournment approaching, this language was incorporated into the
FY 19?99 omnibus appropriations act under the heading “Not Legalizing Marijuana for Medicinal
Use”

In a separate amendment to the same act, Congress prevented the District of Columbia
government from counting ballots of a 1998 voter-approved initiative that would have allowed
the medical use of marijuana by persons suffering from serious diseases, including cancer and
HIV infection.® The amendment was challenged and overturned in District Court, the ballots
were counted, and the measure passed 69% to 31%. Nevertheless, despite further court
challenges, Congress continued to prohibit implementation of the initiative until the rider known
as the Barr Amendment® was dropped from the FY2010 D.C. appropriations act (H.R. 3288) in
the 111" Congress.

The Hinchey-Rohrabacher Amendment (2003-2007) 2

In the first session of the 108" Congress, in response to federal Drug Enforcement Administration
(DEA) raids on medical cannabis users and providersin California and other states that had
approved the medical use of marijuana if recommended by a physician, Representatives Hinchey
and Rohrabacher offered a bipartisan amendment to the FY 2004 Commerce, Justice, State
appropriations bill (H.R. 2799). The amendment would have prevented the Justice Department
from using appropriated funds to interfere with the implementation of medical cannabis lawsin
the nine states that had approved such use. The amendment was debated on the floor of the House

% Omnibus Consolidated and Emergency Supplemental Appropriations Act, 1999, P.L. 105-277, October 21, 1998,
112 Stat. 2681-760.

2 |hid., District of Columbia Appropriations Act, 1999, Sec. 171, 112 Stat. 2681-150.

2L “The Legalization of Marijuanafor Medica Treatment Initiative of 1998, also known as Initiative 59, approved by
the electors of the District of Columbia on November 3, 1998, shall not take effect.” (District of Columbia
Appropriations Act, 2006 (Division B of P.L. 109-115, Sec. 128 (b); 119 Stat. 2521.) This recurring provision of D.C.
appropriations actsis known asthe Barr Amendment becauseit was originally offered by Rep. Bob Barr. Since leaving
Congressin 2003, Barr changed his position and worked for a period of time in support of medica marijuanaasa
lobbyist for the Marijuana Policy Project. See his website http://www.bobbarr.org.

2 \When last considered in July 2007, the amendment stated: “None of the funds made availablein this Act to the
Department of Justice may be used, with respect to the States of Alaska, Cdifornia, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine,
Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington, to prevent such States from
implementing their own State laws that authorize the use, distribution, possession, or cultivation of medical marijuana.”
The wording of previous versions of the amendment was similar.
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on July 22, 2003. When brought to a vote on the following day, it was defeated 152 to 273 (61
votes short of passage).

The amendment was offered again in the second session of the 108" Congress. It was debated on
the House floor on July 7, 2004, during consideration of H.R. 4754, the Commerce, Justice, State
appropriations bill for FY2005. Thistime it would have applied to 10 states, with the recent
addition of Vermont to the list of states that had approved the use of medical cannabis. It was
again defeated by a similar margin, 148 to 268 (61 votes short of passage).?

The amendment was voted on again in the first session of the 109" Congress and was again
defeated, 161-264 (52 votes short of passage), on June 15, 2005. During floor debate on H.R.
2862, the FY 2006 Science, State, Justice, Commerce appropriations bill, a Member stated in
support of the amendment that her now-deceased mother had used marijuana to treat her
glaucoma. Opponents of the amendment argued, among other things, that its passage would
undermine efforts to convince young people that marijuana is a dangerous drug.”

Despite an extensive pre-vote lobbying effort by supporters, the amendment gained only two
votesin its favor over the previous year when it was debated and defeated, 163 to 259 (49 votes
short of passage), on June 28, 2006.%° The bill under consideration this time was H.R. 5672, the
FY 2007 Science, State, Justice, Commerce appropriations bill.

In the first session of the 110" Congress, on July 25, 2007, the amendment was proposed to H.R.
3093, the Commerce, Justice, Science appropriations bill for FY 2008. It was debated on the
House floor for thefifth timein as many years and was again rejected, 165 to 262 (49 votes short
of passage). The amendment’s supporters framed it as a states' rights issue:

A vote“yes’ on Hinchey-Rohrabacher isavoteto respect theintent of our Founding Fathers
and respect therights of our people at the State level to make the criminal law under which
they and their families will live. It reinforces rules surrounding the patient-doctor
relationship, and it is in contrast to emational posturing and Federal power grabs and
bureaucratic arrogance, which isredly at the heart of the opposition.?’

Opponents argued that smoked marijuana is not a safe and effective medicine and that its
approval would send the wrong message to young people.

Legislative Activity in the 110" Congress

Thefirst action on medical marijuana in the 110™ Congress occurred during consideration of
legislation to reauthorize existing FDA programs and expand the agency’s authority to ensure the
safety of prescription drugs, medical devices, and biologics. On April 18, 2007, at markup of the

3 « Amendment No. 1 offered by Mr. Hinchey,” Congressional Record, daily edition, vol. 149 (July 22, 2003), pp. H
7302-H7311 and vol. 149 (July 23, 2003), pp. H7354-H7355.

2« Amendment No. 6 Offered by Mr. Farr,” Congressional Record, daily edition, vol. 150 (July 7, 2004), pp. H5300-H
5306, H5320.

%« Amendment Offered by Mr. Hinchey,” Congressional Record, daily edition, vol. 151 (July 15, 2005), pp. H4519-H
4524, H4529.

%« Amendment Offered by Mr. Hinchey,” Congressional Record, daily edition, vol. 152 (June 28, 2006), pp. H4735-H
47309,

1« Amendment Offered by Mr. Hinchey,” Congressional Record, daily edition, vol. 153 (July 25, 2007), p. H8484.
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Prescription Drug User Fee Act (S. 1082), the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor,
and Pensions adopted, in an 11-9 vote, an amendment offered by Senator Coburn designed to shut
down state medical marijuana programs. The amendment stated:

The Secretary of Health and Human Services shall require that State-legalized medical
marijuana be subject to the full regulatory requirements of the Food and Drug
Administration, including arisk eval uation and mitigation strategy and al other requirements
of the Federa Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act regarding safe and effectivereviews, approva,
sale, marketing, and use of pharmaceuticals.

Herbal cannabis products are not, in fact, being marketed in the United States as pharmaceuticals,
nor are they being developed as investigational new drugs due largely to federal restrictions on
marijuana research. Because of this and other possibly complicating factors, the validity and
actual effect of this amendment, if it had been signed into law, would have been unclear and
would have been subject to legal interpretation and judicial review.” The bill, as amended,
cleared the Senate and was sent to the House on May 9. The Coburn Amendment, however, was
not included in the version of the FDA amendments act (H.R. 2900) that was approved by
Congress and enacted into law (P.L. 110-85) on September 27, 2007.

In another action on medical marijuana, the House Judiciary Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism,
and Homeland Security held an oversight hearing on DEA's regulation of medicine on July 12,
2007. A DEA official testified that his agency would * continue to enforce the law as it stands and
to investigate, indict, and arrest those who use the color of state law to possess and sell
marijuana.” A California medicinal cannabis patient and provider stated, “ The well-being of
thousands of seriously ill Americans backed by the opinion of the vast majority of their
countrymen demands that medical marijuana be freed from federal interference.” In his
introduction of the patient, the subcommittee chairman observed, “ Even if the law technically
gives DEA the authority to investigate medical marijuana users, it is worth questioning whether
targeting gravely ill peopleis the best use of federal resources.”

Two weeks later, on July 25, the whole House decided to continue to use federal resources against
medical marijuana users when it rejected the Hinchey-Rohrabacher amendment, 165-262, as
described above.

In the second session of the 110" Congress, on April 17, 2008, Representative Frank introduced
H.R. 5842, the Medical Marijuana Patient Protection Act, to provide for the medical use of
marijuana in accordance with the laws of the various states. Introduced with four original co-
sponsors—Representatives Farr, Hinchey, Paul, and Rohrabacher—the bill would have moved
marijuana from schedule | to schedule Il of the CSA and would have, within states with medical
marijuana programs, permitted

e aphysician to prescribe or recommend marijuana for medical use;
e anauthorized patient to obtain, possess, transport, manufacture, or use marijuana;

e anauthorized individual to obtain, possess, transport, or manufacture marijuana
for an authorized patient; and

% For alegal analysis of the amendment, see CRS Congressional Distribution Memorandum, “ Possible Legal Effects of
the Medical Marijuana Amendment to S. 1082,” by Vanessa Burrows and Brian Y eh.
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e apharmacy or other authorized entity to distribute medical marijuanato
authorized patients.

No provision of the Controlled Substances Act or the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act
would have been allowed to prohibit or otherwise restrict these activities in states that have
adopted medical marijuana programs. Also, the bill would not have affected any federal, state, or
local law regulating or prohibiting smoking in public. In hisintroductory statement,
Representative Frank said, “When doctors recommend the use of marijuana for their patients and
states are willing to permit it, | think it’'s wrong for the federal government to subject ether the
doctors or the patients to criminal prosecution.”® Although differently worded, H.R. 5842 had the
same intent as the States’ Rights to Medical Marijuana Act, versions of which had been
introduced in every Congress since the 105" in 1997. The bill was referred to the House
Committee on Energy and Commerce and saw no further action.

Medical Marijuana Measures in the 111" Congress

Bills have been introduced in recent Congresses to allow patients who appear to benefit from
medical cannabis to use it in accordance with the various regulatory schemes that have been
approved, since 1996, by the voters or legislatures of 14 states. This legidlative activity continues
in the 111™ Congress with the reintroduction of two bills that would serve to relax somewhat the
federal prohibition against the medical use of marijuana.

The Medical Marijuana Patient Protection Act (H.R. 2835), which would allow the medical use of
marijuana in states that permit its use with a doctor’s recommendation, was introduced on June
11, 2009, by Representative Barney Frank with 13 original cosponsors. The bill would move
marijuana from Schedule| to Schedule Il of the CSA and exempt from federal prosecution
authorized patients and medical marijuana providers who are acting in accordance with state
laws. Itswording isidentical to H.R. 5842 as introduced in the 110" Congress, and its provisions
are described more fully above. H.R. 2835 was referred to the House Committee on Energy and
Commerce, whereit awaits further action. (Versions of this bill have been introduced in every
Congress since 1997 but have not seen action beyond the committee referral process.)

The second hill, the Truth in TrialsAct (H.R. 3939), was introduced by Representative Sam Farr
on October 27, 2009. It would make it possible for medical marijuana users and providers who
arebeing tried in federal court to reveal to juries that their marijuana activity was medically
related and legal under state law. After the 2001 Supreme Court decision U.S. v. Oakland Buyers
Cooperative (discussed below), it was no longer permissible for medical marijuana defendantsin
federal court to introduce evidence showing that their marijuana-related activities were
undertaken for a valid medical purpose under state law.* H.R. 3939 would amend the Controlled
Substances Act to make an affirmative defense possible for persons who provide or use marijuana
in accordance with state medical marijuana laws. The bill also would limit the authority of federal
agents to seize marijuana authorized for medical use under state law and would provide for the

2 “Frank Introduces Legislation to Remove Federal Penalties on Personal MarijuanaUse,” press rel ease from the
office of Rep. Barney Frank, April 17, 2008.

% \When it was first introduced in the 108" Congress, the hill was called the Steve McWilliams Truth in Trials Act. It
was named after a Californian who took his own life while awaiting federa sentencing for marijuanatrafficking. At his
triad, it wasimpermissible to inform thejury that he was actually providing marijuanato serioudy ill patientsin San
Diego in compliance with state law.
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retention and return of seized plants pending resolution of a case involving medical marijuana.
Introduced with nine original co-sponsors, the bill was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary
and also to the Committee on Energy and Commerce.

For thefirst time since District of Columbia residents approved a medical marijuana ballot
initiativein 1998, arider blocking implementation of the initiative was not attached to the D.C.
appropriations act for FY2010 (H.R. 3288), signed into law on December 16, 2009 (PL. 111-
117), clearing the way for the creation of a medical marijuana program for seriously ill patientsin
the nation’s capital.

Executive Branch Actions and Policies

IND Compassionate Access Program (1978)

In 1975, aWashington, DC, resident was arrested for growing marijuana to treat his glaucoma.
He won his case by using the medical necessity defense,* forcing the government to find a way
to provide him with his medicine. In 1978, FDA created the Investigational New Drug (IND)
Compassionate Access Program,® allowing patients whose serious medical conditions could be
relieved only by marijuanato apply for and receive marijuana from the federal government. Over
the next 14 years, other patients, less than 100 in total, were admitted to the program for
conditions including chemotherapy-induced nausea and vomiting (emesis), glaucoma, spagticity,
and weight loss. Then, in 1992, in response to a large number of applications from AIDS patients
who sought to use medical cannabis to increase appetite and reverse wasting disease, the George
H.W. Bush Administration closed the program to all new applicants. Several previously approved
patients remain in the program today and continue to receive their monthly supply of
government-grown medical marijuana.

Approval of Marinol (1985)

Made by Unimed, Marinal is the trade name for dronabinol, a synthetic form of delta-9-
tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), one of the principal psychoactive components of botanical
marijuana. It was approved in May 1985 for nausea and vomiting associated with cancer
chemotherapy in patients who fail to respond to conventional antiemetic treatments. In December
1992, it was approved by FDA for the treatment of anorexia associated with weight lossin
patients with AIDS. Marketed as a capsule, Marinol was originally placed in Schedule 11.* In
July 1999, in response to a rescheduling petition from Unimed, it was moved administratively by
DEA to Schedule 11 to make it more widely available to patients.* The rescheduling was granted

3 The Common Law Doctrine of Necessity argues that the illegal act committed (in this case, growing marijuana) was
necessary to avert agreater harm (blindness).

%2 Despite the program’ s name, it was not aclinica trial to test the drug for eventual approval, but a means for the
government to provide medical marijuanato patients demonstrating necessity. Some have criticized the government for
its failure to study the safety and efficacy of the medica-grade marijuana it grew and distributed to this patient
population.

% U.S. Dept. of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration, “ Schedules of Controlled Substances: Rescheduling of

Synthetic Dronobinol in Sesame Oil and Encapsulation in Soft Gelatin Capsules From Schedule | to Schedulell;
Statement of Policy,” 51 Federal Register 17476, May 13, 1986.

% |bid., “Schedul es of Controlled Substances: Rescheduling of the Food and Drug Administration Approved Product
Containing Synthetic Dronabinol [(-)-delta nine-(trans)-Tetrahydrocannabinol] in Sesame Qil and Encapsulated in Soft
(continued...)
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after areview by DEA and the Department of Health and Human Services found little evidence of
illicit abuse of the drug. In Schedule 111, Marinol is now subject to fewer regulatory controls and
lesser criminal sanctions for illicit use.

Administrative Law Judge Ruling to Reschedule Marijuana (1988)

Congressional passage of the Controlled Substances Act in 1970 and its placement of marijuana
in Schedule | provoked controversy at the time because it strengthened the federal policy of
marijuana prohibition and forced medical marijuana users to buy marijuana of uncertain quality
on the black market at inflated prices, subjecting them to fines, arrest, court costs, property
forfeiture, incarceration, probation, and criminal records. The new bureaucratic controls on
Schedule | substances were also criticized because they would impede research on marijuana’s
therapeutic potential, thereby making its evaluation and rescheduling through the normal drug
approval process unlikely.

These concerns prompted a citizens' petition to the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs
(BNDD) in 1972 to reschedule marijuana and make it available by prescription. The petition was
summarily rejected.® This led to a long succession of appeals, hearing requests, and various court
proceedings. Finally, in 1988, after extensive public hearings on marijuana’s medicinal value,
Francis L. Young, the chief administrative law judge of the Drug Enforcement Administration
(the BNDD's successor agency), ruled on the petition, stating that “Marijuana, in its natural form,
is one of the safest therapeutically active substances known to man.”* Judge Young also wrote:

The evidence in this record clearly shows that marijuana has been accepted as capable of
relieving the distress of great numbers of very ill people, and doing so with safety under
medical supervision. It would be unreasonable, arbitrary and capriciousfor DEA to continue
to stand between those sufferersand the benefits of this substancein light of the evidencein
thisrecord.

Judge Young found that “the provisions of the [Controlled Substances| Act permit and require the
transfer of marijuana from schedule | to schedule 11,” which would recognize its medicinal value
and permit doctorsto prescribeit. The judge's nonbinding findings and recommendation were
soon rgected by the DEA Administrator because “ marijuana has not been demonstrated as
suitable for use as a medicine.”*” Subsequent rescheduling petitions also have been rejected, and
marijuana remains a Schedule | substance.

(...continued)
Gelatin Capsules From Schedule Il to Schedule 111,” 64 Federal Register 35928, July 2, 1999.

% |bid., Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, “Schedule of Controlled Substances: Petition to Remove Marijuana
or in the Alternative to Control Marijuanain Schedule V of the Controlled Substances Act,” 37 Federal Register
18097, September 7, 1972.

% hid., Drug Enforcement Administration, “In the Matter of Marijuana Rescheduling Petition, Docket No. 86-22,
Opinion and Recommended Ruling, Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Decision of Administrative Law Judge,”
Francis L. Young, Administrative Law Judge, September 6, 1988. This quote and the following two quotes are at pp.
58-59, 68, and 67, respectively. Thisopinion isonline at http://www.druglibrary.net/olse/MEDICAL/Y OUNG/
young.html.

% |bid., “Marijuana Scheduling Petition; Denia of Petition,” 54 Federal Register 53767 at 53768, December 29, 1989.

The petition denia was appea ed, eventudly resulting in yet another DEA denial to reschedule. See lbid., “Marijuana
Scheduling Petition; Denid of Petition; Remand,” 57 Federal Register 10499, March 26, 1992.
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NIH-Sponsored Workshop (1997)

NIH convened a scientific panel on medical marijuana composed of eight nonfederal expertsin
fields such as cancer treatment, infectious diseases, neurology, and ophthalmology. Over atwo-
day period in February, they analyzed available scientific information on the medical uses of
marijuana and concluded that “in order to evaluate various hypotheses concerning the potential
utility of marijuanain various therapeutic areas, more and better studies would be needed.”
Research would be justified, according to the panel, into certain conditions or diseases such as
pain, neurological and movement disorders, nausea of patients undergoing chemotherapy for
cancer, loss of appetite and weight related to AIDS, and glaucoma.®

Institute of Medicine Report (1999)

In January 1997, shortly after passage of the California and Arizona medical marijuana initiatives,
the Director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy (the federal drug czar) commissioned
the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academy of Sciencesto review the scientific
evidence on the potential health benefits and risks of marijuana and its constituent cannabinoids.
Begun in August 1997, IOM’s 257-page report, Marijuana and Medicine: Assessing the Science
Base, was released in March 1999.% A review of all existing studies of the therapeutic value of
cannabis, the IOM Report was also based on public hearings and consultations held around the
country with biomedical and social scientists and concerned citizens.

For the most part, the IOM Report straddled the fence and provided sound bites for both sides of
the medical marijuana debate. For example, “Until a nonsmoked rapid-onset cannabinoid drug
delivery system becomes available, we acknowledge that thereis no clear alternative for people
suffering from chronic conditions that might be reieved by smoking marijuana, such as pain or
AIDS-wasting” (p. 179) and “ Smoked marijuana is unlikely to be a safe medication for any
chronic medical condition” (p. 126). For another example, “Thereis no conclusive evidence that
marijuana causes cancer in humans, including cancers usually related to tobacco use’ (p. 119) and
“Numerous studies suggest that marijuana smokeis an important risk factor in the devel opment

of respiratory disease’ (p. 127).

The|OM Report did find more potential promisein synthetic cannabinoid drugs than in smoked
marijuana (p. 177):

Theaccumulated data suggest avariety of indications, particularly for painrdief, antiemes's,
and appetite stimulation. For patients such as those with AIDS or who are undergoing
chemotherapy, and who suffer ssimultaneoudly from severe pain, nausea, and appetite loss,
cannabinoid drugs might offer broad-spectrum rdief not found in any other single
medi cation.

In general, the report emphasized the need for well-formulated, scientific research into the
therapeutic effects of marijuana and its cannabinoid components on patients with specific disease

% National Institutes of Hedlth. The Ad Hoc Group of Experts. Workshop on the Medical Utility of Marijuana: Report
to the Director, August 1997. (Hereafter cited as NIH Workshop.)

3 Janet E. Joy, Stanley J. Watson, Jr., and John A. Benson, Jr., eds., Marijuana and Medicine: Assessing the Science
Base (Washington: National Academy Press, 1999). (Hereafter cited as the IOM Report.) http://www.nap.edu/books/
0309071550/html/
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conditions. To this end, the report recommended that clinical trials be conducted with the goal of
developing safe ddlivery systems.

Denial of Petition to Reschedule Marijuana (2001)

In response to a citizen’s petition to reschedule marijuana submitted to the DEA in 1995, DEA
asked the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) for a scientific and medical
evaluation of the abuse potential of marijuana and a scheduling recommendation. HHS concluded
that marijuana has a high potential for abuse, no currently accepted medical usein treatment in
the United States, and a lack of accepted safety for use under medical supervision. HHS therefore
recommended that marijuana remain in Schedule . In aletter to the petitioner dated March 20,
2001, DEA denied the petition.”

FDA Statement That Smoked Marijuana Is Not Medicine (2006)

On April 20, 2006, the FDA issued an interagency advisory restating the federal government’s
position that “smoked marijuana is harmful” and has not been approved “for any condition or
disease indication.” The one-page announcement did not refer to new research findings. Instead,

it was based on a “ past evaluation” by several agencies within HHS that “ concluded that no sound
scientific studies supported medical use of marijuana for treatment in the United States, and no
animal or human data supported the safety or efficacy of marijuana for general medical use”**

Media reaction to this pronouncement was largely negative, asserting that the FDA position on
medical marijuana was motivated by poalitics, not science, and ignored the findings of the 1999
Ingtitute of Medicine Report.”” In Congress, 24 House Members, led by Representative Hinchey,
sent a letter to the FDA acting commissioner requesting the scientific evidence behind the
agency’s evaluation of the medical efficacy of marijuanaand citing the FDA's IND
Compassionate Access Program as “an example of how the FDA could allow for the legal use of
adrug, such as medical marijuana, without going through the ‘well-controlled’ series of steps that
other drugs have to go through if there is a compassionate need.” *®

Administrative Law Judge Ruling to Grow Research Marijuana (2007-2009)

Since 1968, the only source of marijuana available for scientific research in the United States has

been tightly controlled by the federal government. Grown at the University of Mississippi under a
contract administered by the National Institute on Drug Abuse, the marijuanais difficult to obtain

even by scientists whose research protocols have been approved by the FDA. Not only isthe

Yyus Dept. of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration, “Notice of Denial of Petition,” 65 Federal Register 20038,
April 18, 2001.

“1 U.S. Food and Drug Administration, “Inter-Agency Advisory Regarding Claims That Smoked Marijuanals a
Medicine” pressreease, April 20, 2006, p. 1. Although not cited in the pressrelease, the “past evaluation” referred to
is apparently the 2001 denia of the petition to reschedul e marijuana discussed above.

2 See, for example, “ The Politics of Pot,” editorial, New York Times, April 22, 2006, p. A26, which calls the FDA
statement “disingenuous” and concludes: “It’s obviously easier and safer to issue a brief, dismissive statement than to
back research that might undermine the administration’s inflexible opposition to the medical use of marijuana.”

3 “Hinchey Leads Bipartisan House Coadlition In Calling For FDA To Explain Basd ess Anti-Medical Marijuana
Palicy,” pressrelease, April 27, 2006. (The press release, which indudes the full text of the letter, is available on Rep.
Hinchey' s website at http://www.house.gov/hinchey/newsroom/press_2006/042706medmarijuanafdaletter.html.)
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federal supply of marijuana largely inaccessible, but researchers also complain that it does not
meet the needs of research dueto itsinferior quality and lack of multiple strains.* Other Schedule
| substances—such as LSD, heroin, and MDM A (Ecstasy)—can be provided legally by private
U.S. laboratories or imported from abroad for research purposes, with federal permission. Only
marijuanais limited to a single, federally-controlled provider.

In responseto this situation, Dr. Lyle Craker, a professor of plant biology and director of the
medicinal plant program at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, applied in 2001 for a
DEA licenseto cultivate research-grade marijuana. The application was filed in association with
the Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies (M APS), a nonprofit drug research
organization headed by Dr. Rick Doblin, whose stated goal is

to break the government’ s monopoly on the supply of marijuanathat can be used in FDA-
approved research, thereby creating the proper conditions for a $5 million, 5 year drug
development effort designed to transform smoked and/or vaporized marijuanainto an FDA-
approved prescription medicine.*®

After being sued for “unreasonable delay” in the DC Circuit Court of Appeals, the DEA rejected
the Craker/MAPS application in December 2004 as not consistent with the public interest. Upon
appeal, nine days of hearings were held over a five-month period in 2005, at which researchers
testified that their requests for marijuana had been regjected, making it impossible to conduct their
FDA-approved research. On February 12, 2007, DEA's Administrative Law Judge Mary Ellen
Bittner found that “an inadequate supply” of marijuana is available for research and ruled that it
) would4lge in the public interest” to alow Dr. Craker to create the proposed marijuana production
facility.

Rulings by administrative law judges, however, are nonbinding and may be rejected by agency
heads, which happened in this case. In the closing days of the Bush Administration, on January 7,
2009, the DEA Deputy Administrator signed an order denying Dr. Craker’s application for a DEA
certificate of registration as a manufacturer of marijuana.*’ In response, Dr. Craker submitted to
DEA a Mation to Reconsider, which, if rgected, would trigger an appeal that has been docketed
by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit in Boston.®

4 Jessica Winter, “Weed Control: Research on the Medicina Benefits of MarijuanaMay Depend on Good
Gardening—and Some Say Uncle Sam, the Country’s Only Legal Grower of the Cannabis Plant, Isn’t Much of a Green
Thumb,” Boston Globe, May 28, 2006.

% “The UMass Amherst MMJ Production Facility Project,” on the MAPS website a http://www.maps.org/mmij/
mmjfacility.html. See the entry for February 8, 2005. (Numerous documents rel ated to the Craker/M APS application
arelinked here))

“us Dept. of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration, “In the Matter Lyle E. Craker, Ph.D., Docket No. 05-16,
Opinion and Recommended Ruling, Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Decision of Administrative Law
Judge,” Mary Ellen Bittner, Administrative Law Judge, February 12, 2007, p. 87. Thisopinionisonline at
http://www.maps.org/mmj/DEAlawsuit.html.

4" Department of Justice, “Lyle E. Craker; Denia of Application,” 74 Federal Register 2101-2133, January 14, 2009.

“8 The documents in this case, including the ones cited here, can be found at http://www.maps.org/mmi/
DEAlawsuit.html.
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DEA Enforcement Actions Against Medical Marijuana Providers

Most arrestsin the United States for marijuana possession are made by state and local police, not
the DEA. This means that patients and their caregivers in the states that permit medical marijuana
mostly go unprosecuted, because their own state’'s marijuana prohibition laws do not apply to
them and because federal law is not usually enforced against them.

Federal agents have, however, moved against medical cannabis growers and distributors in states
with medical marijuana programs. In recent years, especially during the George W. Bush
Administration, DEA agents conducted many raids of medical marijuana dispensaries, especially
in California, where the law states that marijuana providers can receive “ reasonable
compensation” on a nonprofit basis. The DEA does not provide statistics on its moves against
medical marijuana outlets because the agency does not distinguish between criminal, non-medical
marijuana trafficking organizations and locally licensed storefront dispensaries that are legal
under state law. They areall felony criminal operations under the federal Controlled Substances
Act. As apractical matter, however, the DEA reportedly was targeting larger, for-profit medical
marijuana providers who were engaged in “ nothing more than high-stakes drug dealing, complete
with the same high-rolling lifestyles.”* A few high-profile medical marijuana patients were also
being prosecuted under federal law.™

In July 2007, DEA's Los Angeles Field Division Office introduced a new enforcement tactic
against medical marijuana dispensaries in the city when it sent letters to the owners and managers
of buildings in which medical marijuana facilities were operating. The letters threatened the
property owners and managers with up to 20 yearsin federal prison for violating the so-called
“crack house statute,” a provision of the CSA enacted in 1986 that made it a federal offenseto
“knowingly and intentionally rent, lease, or make available for use, with or without
compensation, [a] building, room, or enclosure for the purpose of unlawfully manufacturing,
storing, distributing, or using a controlled substance.”** The DEA |etters also threatened the
landlords with seizure of their property under the CSA's asset forfeiture provisions.>

Inresponse, L.A. City Council members wrote a letter to DEA Administrator Karen Tandy in
Washington urging her to abandon this tactic and allow them to continue work on an ordinance to
regulate medical cannabis facilities “without federal interference.” They also unanimously
approved a resolution endorsing the Hinchey-Rohrabacher amendment, which would prohibit

9 Rone Tempest, “DEA Targets Larger Marijuana Providers,” Los Angeles Times, January 1, 2007.

0 These include medical marijuana activist and author Ed Rosenthal, whose first federa jury, in 2003, renounced its
guilty verdict whenit learned after thetria that he was legally hel ping patients under state law. He was retried and
reconvicted in 2007 but not re-sentenced because he had aready served his sentence of one day. See“* Guru of Ganja
Convicted on Marijuana Charges,” Associated Press, May 30, 2007.

*! Sec. 416 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. § 856) as amended by P.L. 99-570, Title |, sec. 1841(a),
October 27, 1986; 100 Stat. 3207-52. Actudlly, the crack house statute was amended in 2003 by the “rave act” (8§ 608
of P.L. 108-21, May 1, 2003; 117 Stat. 691), which broadened the language of the crack house statute to include
outdoor venues and other possible places where raves could be held by striking the words “ building, room, or
enclosure’ (which appear inthe DEA letter) and replacing them with “place.” This and other subtle but significant
changes in the language of the law were designed to penalize rave promoters and the owners and managers of the
venues where raves (al-night music festivals) occur at which Ecstasy (MDMA) and other club drugs might be used.
The July 2007 DEA letter cites the language of the pre-2003 version of the crack house statute rather than the provision
of law currently in force. This section of the CSA has aso been used by the DEA against fund-raising events put on by
drug law reform organizations.

%221 U.S.C. § 831(a)(7).

Congressional Research Service 13



Medical Marijuana: Review and Analysis of Federal and State Policies

such DEA actions and which was about to be debated in the House, as discussed above, An
editorial in the Los Angeles Times called the DEA threats to landlords a * deplorable new bullying
tactic.”>

In subsequent months, DEA expanded this enforcement mechanism to other parts of California,
including the Bay Area. In one lawsuit challenging theright of landlords to evict marijuana
dispensaries, a Los Angeles County Superior Court judge ruled, in April 2008, that federal law
preempts California’'s Compassionate Use Act. If theruling is affirmed on appesl, it would
threaten the future of medical marijuanain California and dsewhere.

DEA’s actions against medical marijuana growing and distribution operations have provoked
other lawsuits. In April 2003, for example, the city and county of Santa Cruz, CA, along with
seven medical marijuana patients, filed a lawsuit in San Jose federal district court in response to
DEA's earlier raid on the Wo/Men's Alliance for Medical Marijuana (WAMM). The court granted
the plaintiffs’ motion for a preliminary injunction, thereby allowing WAMM to resume growing
and producing marijuana medications for its approximately 250 member-patients with serious
illnesses, pending the final outcome of the case. The suit is said to be the first court challenge
brought by a local government against the federal war on drugs.

The Obama Administration and Medical Marijuana

During the presidential campaign, candidate Barack Obama stated several times his position that
moving against medical marijuana dispensaries that were operating in compliance with state laws
would not be a priority of his administration. Nevertheless, the continuation of such raids during
the early days of the ObamaAdministration created confusion regarding the medical marijuana
policies of the new government.55 In mid-March, Attorney General Eric H. Holder, Jr., stated that
such raids would cease.™

The new policy was finally formalized in a Justice Department memorandum to U.S. Attorneys
dated October 19, 2009.>” Noting that “ Congress has determined that marijuana is a dangerous
drug, and theillegal distribution and sale of marijuanais aserious crime,” the memo directs the
U.S. Attorneys in states with medical marijuana programs not to focus their investigative and
prosecutorial resources “on individuals whose actions are in clear and unambiguous compliance
with existing state laws providing for the medical use of marijuana.” The memo does not free
medical marijuana providers from federal scrutiny, especially in cases where “ state law is being
invoked as a pretext for the production or distribution of marijuana for purposes not authorized by
state law.” The memo specifically states that “ prosecution of commercial enterprises that
unlawfully market and sell marijuana for profit continues to be an enforcement priority of the
Department.” The new directive, however, can be expected to result in fewer federal operations
against medical marijuana providers than were conducted by the previous administration.

%3 “New Challenges for Medical Marijuana,” Los Angeles Times editoria, July 19, 2007.

% County of Santa Cruz v. Ashcroft, 314 F.Supp.2d 1000 (N.D.Cal. 2004); the decision, however, rests on the 9"
Circuit’sruling in Raich, subsequently reversed by the Supreme Court, as described below.

% Stephen Dinan and Ben Conery, “DEA Continues Pot Raids Obama Opposes,” Washington Times, February 5, 2009.

% David Johnston and Neil A. Lewis, “Obama Administration to Stop Raids on Medical Marijuana Dispensers,” New
York Times, March 19, 2009.

" The memorandum is available at http://bl ogs.usdoj.gov/bl og/archives/192.
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Medical Cannabis in the Courts: Major Cases

Because Congress and the executive branch have not acted to permit serioudly ill Americans to
use botanical marijuana medicinally, the issue has been considered by the judicial branch, with
mixed results. Three significant cases have been decided so far, and other court challenges are
moving through the judicial pipeine.®

U.S. v. Oakland Cannabis Buyers” Cooperative (2001)

The U.S. Department of Justice filed a civil suit in January 1998 to close six medical marijuana
distribution centersin northern California. A U.S. district court judge issued a temporary
injunction to close the centers, pending the outcome of the case. The Oakland Cannabis Buyers
Cooperative fought the injunction but was eventually forced to cease operations and appealed to
the Ninth Circuit Court of Appesals. At issue was whether a medical marijuana distributor can use
amedical necessity defense against federal marijuana distribution charges.™

The Ninth Circuit’s decision in September 1999 found, 3-0, that medical necessity isavalid
defense against federal marijuana trafficking chargesif atrial court finds that the patients to
whom the marijuana was distributed are seriougly ill, face imminent harm without marijuana, and
have no effective legal aternatives.* The Justice Department appeal ed to the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court held, 8-0, that “a medical necessity exception for marijuanais at odds with
the terms of the Controlled Substances Act” because “its provisions leave no doubt that the
defenseis unavailable.” ® This decision had no effect on state medical marijuana laws, which
continued to protect patients and primary caregivers from arrest by state and local law
enforcement agents in the states with medical marijuana programs.

Conant v. Walters (2002)

After the 1996 passage of California’'s medical marijuana initiative, the Clinton Administration
threatened to investigate doctors and revoke their licenses to prescribe controlled substances and
participate in Medicaid and Medicare if they recommended medical marijuana to patients under
the new state law. A group of California physicians and patients filed suit in federal court, early in
1997, claiming a constitutional free-speech right, in the context of the doctor-patient relationship,
to discuss the potential risks and benefits of the medical use of cannabis. A preiminary
injunction, issued in April 1997, prohibited federal officials from threatening or punishing
physicians for recommending marijuanato patients suffering from HIV/AIDS, cancer, glaucoma,
or seizures or muscle spasms associated with a chronic, debilitating condition.®” The court
subsequently made the injunction permanent in an unpublished opinion.

%8 For alegal analysis of the three Supreme Court cases mentioned here, see CRS Report RL31100, Marijuana for
Medical Purposes: The Supreme Court’s Decision in United States v. Oakland Cannabis Buyers' Cooperative and
Related Legal Issues, by Charles Doyle.

% The necessity defense arguesthat the illegal act committed (distribution of marijuanain this instance) was necessary
to avert a greater harm (withholding a helpful drug from serioudy ill patients).

190 F.3d 1109.
1532 U.S. 483 (2001) at 494 n. 7.
2 Conant v. McCaffrey, 172 F.R.D. 681 (N.D. Cdl. 1997).
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On appeal, the Ninth Circuit affirmed, in a 3-0 decision, the district court’s order entering a
permanent injunction. Thefederal government, the opinion states, “may not initiate an
investigation of a physician solely on the basis of arecommendation of marijuana within a bona
fide doctor-patient relationship, unless the government in good faith believes that it has
substantial evidence of criminal conduct.”® The Bush Administration appealed, but the Supreme
Court refused to take the case.

Gonzales v. Raich (2005)

In response to DEA agents' destruction of their medical marijuana plants, two patients and two
caregivers in California brought suit. They argued that applying the Controlled Substances Act to
a situation in which medical marijuana was being grown and consumed locally for no
remuneration in accordance with state law exceeded Congress’s constitutional authority under the
Commerce Clause, which allows the federal government to regulate interstate commerce. In
December 2003, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appealsin San Francisco agreed, ruling 2-1 that states
are free to adopt medical marijuana laws so long as the marijuana is not sold, transported across
statelines, or used for nonmedical purposes.** Federal appeal sent the case to the Supreme Court.

Theissue before the Supreme Court was whether the Controlled Substances Act, when applied to
the intrastate cultivation and possession of marijuana for personal use under state law, exceeds
Congress's power under the Commerce Clause. The Supreme Court, in June 2005, reversed the
Ninth Circuit’s decision and held, in a 6-3 decision, that Congress's power to regulate commerce
extends to purely local activities that are “part of an economic class of activities that have a
substantial effect on interstate commerce.”®

Raich does not invalidate state medical marijuana laws. The decision does mean, however, that
DEA may continue to enforce the CSA against medical marijuana patients and their caregivers,
even in states with medical marijuana programs.

Although Raich was not about the efficacy of medical marijuana or its listing in Schedulel, the
majority opinion stated in a footnote: “We acknowledge that evidence proffered by respondentsin
this case regarding the effective medical uses for marijuana, if found credible after trial, would
cast serious doubt on the accuracy of the findings that require marijuanato belisted in

Schedule 1.”® The majority opinion, in closing, notes that in the absence of judicial relief for
medical marijuana users there remains “the democratic process, in which the voices of voters
allied with these respondents may one day be heard in the halls of Congress.”®’

Thus, the Supreme Court reminds that Congress has the power to reschedule marijuana, thereby
recognizing that it has accepted medical usein treatment in the United States. Congress, however,
does not appear likely to do so. Neither does the executive branch, which could reschedule
marijuana through regulatory procedures authorized by the Controlled Substances Act. In the

& Conant v. Walters, 309 F.3d 629, 636 (9" Cir. 2002); the parties agreed that “a doctor who actually prescribes or
dispenses marijuanaviolates federa law,” ibid. a 634.

& Raich v. Ashcroft, 352 F.3d 1222 (9" Cir. 2003).
® Gonzalesv. Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195, 2205 (2005).

% |bid. at 2211 n. 37. For alega anaysis of this case, see CRS Report RS22167, Gonzales v. Raich: Congress's Power
Under the Commerce Clause to Regulate Medical Marijuana, by Todd B. Tatelman.

5 Ibid. at 2215.
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meantime, actions taken by state and local governments continue to raise the issue, as discussed
below.

Americans for Safe Access (ASA) Lawsuit Against HHS

Thefederal Data Quality Act of 2001 (DQA) requires the issuance of guidelines “for ensuring
and maximizing the quality, objectivity, utility, and integrity of information (including statistical
information) disseminated by Federal agencies’ and allows “ affected persons to seek and obtain
correction of information maintained and disseminated by the agency that does not comply with
the guidelines.”®

In October 2004, Americans for Safe Access (ASA), a California-based patient advocacy group,
formally petitioned HHS, under the DQA, to correct four erroneous statements about medical
marijuana made by HHS in its 2001 denial of the marijuana rescheduling petition discussed
above. Specifically, ASA requested that “there have been no studies that have scientifically
assessed the efficacy of marijuana for any medical condition” be replaced with “[a]dequate and
well-recognized studies show the efficacy of marijuanain the treatment of nausea, loss of
appetite, pain and spasticity”; that “it is clear that there is not a consensus of medical opinion
concerning medical applications of marijuana’ be replaced with “[t]hereis substantial consensus
among experts in the relevant disciplines that marijuana is effective in treating nausea, |oss of
appetite, pain and spasticity. It is accepted as medicine by qualified experts’; that “complete
scientific analysis of all the chemical components found in marijuana has not been conducted” be
replaced with “[t]he chemistry of marijuanais known and reproducible’; and that “ marijuana has
no currently accepted medical use in treatment in the United States” be replaced with
“[m]arijuana has a currently accepted usein treatment in the United States.” The petition claimed
that “HHS's statements about the lack of medical usefulness of marijuana harms these individuals
[ill persons across the United States] in that it contributes to denying them access to medicine
which will alleviate their suffering.”®

Were HHS to accept the ASA petition, the revised statements would set the preconditions for
placing marijuanain a schedule other than I. HHS denied the petition in 2005 and rejected ASA’s
subsequent appeal in 2006 on just those grounds: that HHS is already in the process of reviewing
arescheduling petition submitted to DEA in October 2002 and will be evaluating all of the
publicly available peer-reviewed literature on the medicinal efficacy of marijuanain that context.
In response, in February 2007, ASA filed suit in U.S. District Court for the Northern District of
Californiato force HHS to change the four statements, which the organization believes are not
science-based. The caseis pending.

State and Local Referenda and Legislation

In the face of federal intransigence on the issue, advocates of medical marijuana have turned to
the states in alargely successful effort, wherever it has been attempted, to enact laws that enable

8 p | . 106-554, 114 Stat. 2763A-153, 44 U.S.C. § 3516 note. For background on the DQA see CRS Report RL32532,
The Information Quality Act: OMB's Guidance and Initial Implementation, by Curtis W. Copeland.

® The original petition and all subsequent documents relating to the case can be found at
http://www.saf eaccessnow.org/arti cle.php?d=4401. See also Carolyn Marshall, “U.S. Is Sued Over Position on
Marijuana,” New York Times, February 22, 2007.
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patients to obtain and use botanical marijuana therapeutically in a legal and regulated manner,
even though such activity remainsillegal under federal law.

States Allowing Use of Medical Marijuana’

Fourteen states, covering about 27% of the U.S. population, have enacted laws to allow the use of
cannabis for medical purposes.” These states have removed state-level criminal penalties for the
cultivation, possession, and use of medical marijuana, if such use has been recommended by a
medical doctor. All of these states have in place, or are developing, programs to regulate the use
of medical marijuana by approved patients. Physicians in these states are immune from liability
and prosecution for discussing or recommending medical cannabis to their patients in accordance
with state law. Patients in state programs (except for New Mexico and New Jersey) may be
assisted by caregivers—persons who are authorized to help patients grow, acquire, and use the
drug.

Figure |.States With Medical Marijuana Programs

Vermont

Rhode
Island

Q New Jersey

Source: Map Resources. Adapted by CRS.

™ Theinformation in this and the following section is drawn largely from Sate-By-Sate Medical Marijuana Laws:
How to Removethe Threat of Arrest, Marijuana Policy Project, 2008, available at http://www.mpp.org/legid ation/state-
by-state-medi cal -marijuana-l aws.html. More recent information is from press reports.

™ Alaska (Stat. §11.71.090); Cdifornia (Cal.Health & Safety Code Ann. §11362.5 and §§11362.7 to 11362.83);
Colorado (Colo.Const. Art. XVI11 §14); Hawaii (Rev.Stat. §8329-121 to 329-128); Maine (Me.Rev.Stat.Ann. tit.22
81102 or 2382-B(5)); Michigan (MCL §8333.26421 to 26430); Montana (Mont.Code Ann. §850-46-101 to 50-46-210);
Nevada (Nev.Rev.Stat.Ann. §8453A.010 to 453A.400); New Jersey (N.J. Stat. §24:61); New Mexico (N.M. Stat. Ann.
§26-2B-1); Oregon (Ore.Rev.Stat. §8475.300 to 475.346); Rhode Island (RI ST §821 to 28.6-1); Vermont
(Vt.Stat.Ann. tit. 18, 884472 to 4474d); Washington (Wash.Rev.Code Ann. §869.51A.005 to 69.51A.902).
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Nine of the 14 states that have legalized medical marijuana are in the West: Alaska, California,
Colorado, Hawaii, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, and Washington. Of the 37 states
outside the West, Michigan plus four other states, all in the Northeast—Maine, New Jersey,
Rhode Island, and Vermont—have adopted medical cannabis statutes. Hawaii, New Jersey, New
Mexico, Rhode Island, and Vermont have the only programs created by acts of their state
legislatures. The medical marijuana programs in the other nine states were approved by the voters
in statewide referenda or ballot initiatives, beginning in 1996 with California. Since then, voters
have approved medical marijuana initiatives in every state where they have appeared on the ballot
with the exception of South Dakota, where a medical marijuana initiative was defeated in 2006 by
52% of the voters. Billsto create medical marijuana programs have been introduced in the
legislatures of additional states—Alabama, Arizona, Connecticut, Illinois, Maryland, Minnesota,
and New Hampshire, among others—and have received varying levels of consideration but have
so far not been enacted.

Effective state medical marijuana laws do not attempt to overturn or otherwise violate federal
laws that prohibit doctors from writing prescriptions for marijuana and pharmacies from
distributing it. In the 14 states with medical marijuana programs, doctors do not actually prescribe
marijuana, and the marijuana products used by patients are not distributed through pharmacies.
Rather, doctors recommend marijuanato their patients, and the cannabis products are grown by
patients or their caregivers, or they are obtained from cooperatives or other alternative
dispensaries. The state medical marijuana programs do, however, contravene the federal
prohibition of marijuana. Medical marijuana patients, their caregivers, and other marijuana
providers can, therefore, be arrested by federal law enforcement agents, and they can be
prosecuted under federal law.

Statistics on Medical Marijuana Users

Determining exactly how many patients use medical marijuana with state approval is difficult, but
the limited data available suggest the number isrising rapidly. According to a 2002 study
published in the Journal of Cannabis Therapeutics, an estimated 30,000 California patients and
another 5,000 patients in eight other states possessed a physician’s recommendations to use
cannabis medically.” The New England Journal of Medicine reported in August 2005 that an
estimated 115,000 people had obtained marijuana recommendations from doctors in the states
with programs.”

Although 115,000 people might have been approved medical marijuana users in 2005, the number
of patients who had actually registered was much lower. A July 2005 CRS tdephone survey of the
state programs revealed a total of 14,758 registered medical marijuana usersin eight states.”
(Maine and Washington do not maintain state registries, and Rhode Island, New Mexico,
Michigan, and New Jersey had not yet passed their laws.) This number vastly understated the
actual number of medical marijuana users, however, because California’s state registry wasin
pilot status, with only 70 patients so far registered.

2 Dae Gieringer, “The Acceptance of Medical Marijuanain the U.S.,” Journal of Cannabis Therapeutics, vol. 3, no. 1
(2003), pp. 53-67. The author later estimated that there were more than 100,000 medical marijuana patientsin
Californiaaone (persona communication dated April 30, 2004).

"3 Susan Okie, “Medical Marijuana and the Supreme Court,” New England Journal of Medicine, vol. 353, no. 7
(August 18, 2005), p. 649.

™ The telephone survey was conducted for this report by CRS summer intern Broocks Andrew Meade.
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More recently, an estimate published by Newsweek early in 2010 found a total of 369,634 usersin
the 13 states with established programs, with California’s estimated patient population of 253,800
alone accounting for 69% of the total.” (It remains necessary to estimate California’'s number
because registration is voluntary at both the state and county levels, and only a small fraction of
patients choose to register. There were fewer than 33,000 registered patients as of March 2010,
according to the state's medical marijuana program website.”)

A brief description of each state's medical marijuana program follows. The programs are
discussed in the order in which they were approved by voters or became law by actions of the
state legislatures.

California (1996)

Proposition 215, approved by 56% of the voters in November, removed the state’s criminal
penalties for medical marijuana use, possession, and cultivation by patients with the “written or
oral recommendation or approval of a physician” who has determined that the patient’s “ health
would benefit from medical marijuana.” Called the Compassionate Use Act, it legalized cannabis
for “the treatment of cancer, anorexia, AIDS, chronic pain, spasticity, glaucoma, arthritis,
migraine, or any other illness for which marijuana provides relief.” The law permits possession of
an amount sufficient for the patient’s “ personal medical purposes.” A second statute (Senate hill
420), passed in 2003, allows “ reasonable compensation” for medical marijuana caregivers and
states that the drug should be distributed on a nonprofit basis.

Oregon (1998)

Votersin November removed the state's criminal penalties for use, possession, and cultivation of
marijuana by patients whose physicians advise that marijuana “may mitigate the symptoms or
effects’ of a debilitating condition. The law, approved by 55% of Oregon voters, does not provide
for distribution of cannabis but allows up to seven plants per patient (changed to 24 plants by act
of the state legislaturein 2005). The state registry program is supported by patient fees. (In the
November 2004 dection, 58% of Oregon voters rejected a measure that would have expanded the
state's existing program.)

Alaska (1998)

Votersin November approved a ballot measure to remove state-level criminal penalties for
patients diagnosed by a physician as having a debilitating medical condition for which other
approved medications were considered. The measure was approved by 58% of the voters. In
1999, the state legislature created a mandatory state registry for medical cannabis users and
limited the amount a patient can legally possess to 1 ounce and six plants.

™ |an Yarett, “Back Story: How High Are You?,” Newsweek, February 15, 2010, p. 56.

" The California Department of Public Health Medical Marijuana Program homepage is available on the Web at
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MMP.

Congressional Research Service 20



Medical Marijuana: Review and Analysis of Federal and State Policies

Washington (1998)

Approved in November by 59% of the voters, the ballot initiative exempts from prosecution
patients who meet all qualifying criteria, possess no more marijuana than is necessary for their
own personal medical use (but no more than a 60-day supply), and present valid documentation to
investigating law enforcement officers. The state does not issue identification cards to patients.

Maine (1999)

Maine's ballot initiative, passed in November by 61% of the voters, puts the burden on the state
to provethat a patient’s medical use or possession is not authorized by statute. Patients with a
qualifying condition, authenticated by a physician, who have been “advised” by the physician that
they “might benefit” from medical cannabis, are permitted 1% ounces and six plants. Thereis no
stateregistry of patients.

Hawaii (2000)

In June, the Hawaii legislature approved a bill removing state-level criminal penalties for medical
cannabis use, possession, and cultivation of up to seven plants. A physician must certify that the
patient has a debilitating condition for which “the potential benefits of the medical use of
marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks.” This was the first state law permitting medical
cannabis use that was enacted by a legislature instead of by ballot initiative.

Colorado (2000)

A ballot initiative to amend the state constitution was approved by 54% of the votersin
November. The amendment provides that lawful medical cannabis users must be diagnosed by a
physician as having a debilitating condition and be “ advised” by the physician that the patient
“might benefit” from using the drug. A patient and the patient’s caregiver may possess 2 usable
ounces and six plants.

Nevada (2000)

To amend the state constitution by ballot initiative, a proposed amendment must be approved by
the voters in two separate elections. In November, 65% of Nevada voters passed for the second
time an amendment to exempt medical cannabis users from prosecution. Patients who have
“written documentation” from their physicians that marijuana may alleviate their health condition
may register with the state Department of Agriculture and receive an identification card that
exempts them from state prosecution for using medical marijuana.

Vermont (2004)

In May, Vermont became the second state to legalize medical cannabis by legislative action
instead of ballot initiative. Vermont patients are allowed to grow up to three marijuana plantsin a
locked room and to possess 2 ounces of manicured marijuana under the supervision of the
Department of Public Safety, which maintains a patient registry. The law went into effect without
the signature of the governor, who declined to sign it but also refused to veto it, despite pressure
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from Washington. A 2007 legislative act expanded dligibility for the program and increased to
nine the number of plants participants may grow.

Montana (2004)

In November, 62% of state voters passed I nitiative 148, allowing qualifying patients to use
marijuana under medical supervision. Eligible medical conditions include cancer, glaucoma,
HIV/AIDS, wasting syndrome, seizures, and severe or chronic pain. A doctor must certify that the
patient has a debilitating medical condition and that the benefits of using marijuana would likely
outweigh therisks. The patient may grow up to six plants and possess 1 ounce of dried marijuana.
The state public health department registers patients and caregivers.

Rhode Island (2006)

In January, the state legislature overrode the governor’s veto of a medical marijuana bill, allowing
patients to possess up to 12 plants or 2%z ounces to treat cancer, HIV/AIDS, and other chronic
ailments. The law included a sunset provision and was set to expire on July 1, 2007, unless
renewed by the legislature. The law was made permanent on June 21, 2007, after legislators voted
again to override the governor’s veto by a wide margin.

New Mexico (2007)

Passed by the legislature and signed into law by the governor in April, the Lynn and Erin
Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act went into effect on July 1, 2007. It requires the state's
Department of Health to set rules governing the distribution of medical cannabis to state-
authorized patients. Unlike most other state programs, patients and their caregivers cannot grow
their own marijuana; rather, it will be provided by state-licensed “ cannabis production facilities.”

Michigan (2008)

Approved by 63% of Michigan voters in the November 2008 presidential election, Proposal 1
permits physicians to approve marijuana use by registered patients with debilitating medical
conditions, including cancer, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, multiple sclerosis, glaucoma, and other
conditions approved by the state’'s Department of Community Health. Up to 12 plants can be
cultivated in an indoor, locked facility by the patient or a designated caregiver.

New Jersey (2010)

A bill passed by the legislature and signed by the governor allows for the regulated distribution of
marijuana by state-monitored dispensaries. Doctors may recommend up to 2 ounces monthly to
registered patients, who are not allowed to grow their own. Considered the most restrictive of the
state programs approved to date, the law restricts usage to a specific set of diseases including
cancer, AIDS, glaucoma, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, and other diseases involving
severe and chronic pain, severe nausea, Seizures, or severe and persistent muscle spasms.
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Other State and Local Medical Marijuana Laws

Arizona (1996)

Arizona's law,”” approved by 65% of the voters in November, permits marijuana prescriptions,

but thereis no active program in the state because federal law prohibits doctors from prescribing
marijuana. Patients cannot, therefore, obtain a valid prescription. (Other states’ laws allow doctors
to “recommend” rather than “ prescribe.”)

Maryland (2003)

Maryland’s General Assembly became the second state legislature, after Hawaii, to protect
medical cannabis patients from the threat of jail when it approved a hill, later signed by the
governor, providing that patients using marijuana preparations to treat the symptoms of illnesses
such as cancer, AIDS, and Crohn’s disease would be subject to no more than a $100 fine.® The
law falls short of full legalization and does not create a medical marijuana program, but it allows
for amedical necessity defense for people who use marijuana on their own for medical purposes.
If patients arrested for possession in Maryland can prove in court that they use cannabis for
legitimate medical needs, they escape the maximum penalty of one year in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Other State Laws

L aws favorable to medical marijuana have been enacted in 36 states since 1978.” Except for the
state laws mentioned above, however, these laws do not currently protect medical marijuana users
from state prosecution. Some laws, for example, allow patients to acquire and use cannabis
through therapeutic research programs, although none of these programs has been operational
since 1985, duein large part to federal opposition. Other state laws allow doctors to prescribe
marijuana or allow patients to possess marijuana if it has been obtained through a prescription,
but the federal Controlled Substances Act prevents these laws from being implemented. Several
states have placed marijuanain a controlled drug schedul e that recognizes its medical value. State
legislatures continue to consider medical marijuana bills, some favorable to its use by patients,
others not. In Michigan, a medical marijuana initiative will be presented to the voters on the
November 2008 ballot.

District of Columbia (1998)

In the nation’s capital, 69% of voters approved a medical cannabis initiative to allow patients a
“sufficient quantity” of marijuanato treat illness and to permit nonprofit marijuana suppliers. In
every year since then, however, Congress attached a rider to the D.C. appropriations act blocking
the Initiative 59 from taking effect, until Congress eliminated the ban in the FY2010 DC
appropriations act (H.R. 3288, which was signed into law in December 2009 (PL. 111-117). More
than 11 years after DC voters approved the medical marijuana measure, city officials were freeto

 Ariz.Rev.Stat. Ann. §13-3412.01(A).
8 Md. Crim.Code Ann. §5-601.

™ Sate-By-Sate Medical Marijuana Laws: How to Remove the Threat of Arrest, Marijuana Policy Project, 2008, p. 2
and Appendix A. The laws in some of these states have expired or been repeal ed.
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begin drafting legislation to create a medical marijuana program in the nation’s capital .2 Any law
passed by the DC Council and signed into law by the mayor would be subject to congressional
approval.

Local Measures

Medical cannabis measures have been adopted in several localities throughout the country. San
Diego isthe country’s largest city to do so. One day after the Supreme Court’s anti-marijuana
ruling in Gonzales v. Raich was issued, Alameda County in California approved an ordinanceto
regulate medical marijuana dispensaries, becoming the 17" locality in the state to do so.

Localities in nonmedical marijuana states have also acted. In November 2004, for example, voters
in Columbia, MO, and Ann Arbor, MI, approved medical cannabis measures. Since then, four
other Michigan cities, including Detroit, have done the same. Although largely symbolic, such
local laws can influence the priorities of local law enforcement officers and prosecutors.

Public Opinion on Medical Marijuana

Majorities of voters in nine states have now approved medical marijuana initiatives to protect
patients from arrest under state law. More broadly, national public opinion polls have consistently
favored access to medical marijuana by serioudly ill patients. ProCon.org, a nonprofit and
nonpartisan public education foundation, has identified 23 national public opinion polls that
asked questions about medical marijuana from 1995 to the present. Respondents in every pall
werein favor of medical marijuana by substantial margins, ranging from 60% to 85%.%

Among recent opinion surveys, a January 2010 ABC News/Washington Post poll found that more
than 8 in 10 Americans (81%) supported efforts to make marijuana legal for medical use, up from
69% in 1997. Given three choices as to who should be allowed to use it whereit is legal, 56% of
respondents chose the most lenient position of prescribing it “for any patient the doctor thinks it
could help.” Its use would berestricted to “ patients who have serious but not fatal illnesses’ by
21%, and another 21% would limit the drug “to patients who are terminally ill and near death.”
According to the pollsters analysis,

Medical marijuana ... receives majority support across the political and ideological
spectrum, from 68 percent of conservatives and 72 percent of Republicans as well as 85
percent of Democrats and independentsand about ninein 10 liberal sand moderates. Support
dipsto 69 percent among seniors, vs. 83 percent among all adults under age 65.2

The Journal of the American Medical Association analyzed public opinion on the War on Drugs
in a1998 article. The authors' observations concerning public attitudes toward medical marijuana
remain true today:

While opposing the use or legalization of marijuana for recreational purposes, the public
apparently does not want to deny very ill patients accessto apotentially hel pful drugtherapy

8 Tim Craig, “D.C. Council Proposes Legalization of Medical Marijuana,” Washington Post, January 20, 2010, p. B1.

8 The questions asked and the results obtained can be viewed at http://medical marijuana.procon.org/view.additional -
resource.phpesourcel D=151.

8 Gary Langer, “High Support for Medical Marijuana,” ABC News/Washington Post Poll, January 18, 2010.
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if prescribed by their physicians. The public’s support of marijuanafor medical purposesis
conditioned by their beief that marijuana would be used only in the trestment of serious
medical conditions®

In public opinion polls, then, the majority of Americans appear to hold that seriously ill or
terminal patients should be able to use marijuana if recommended by their doctors. Fourteen state
governments have created medical marijuana programs, either through ballot initiatives or the
legislative process. Many other state governments, however, along with the federal government,
remain opposed to the national majority in favor of medical marijuana.

Analysis of Arguments For and Against
Medical Marijuana

In the ongoing debate over cannabis as medicine, certain arguments are frequently made on both
sides of the issue. These arguments are briefly stated below and are analyzed in turn. CRS takes
no position on the claims or counterclaimsin this debate.

What follows is an attempt to analyze objectively the claims frequently made about the role that
herbal cannabis might or might not play in the treatment of certain diseases and about the possible
societal consequences should its role in the practice of modern medicine be expanded beyond the
places whereit is now permitted under state laws.

For thoseinterested in learning more about medical marijuana research findings, the Internet
offers two useful websites. The International Association for Cannabis as Medicine (IACM),
based in Germany, provides abundant information on the results of controlled clinical trials at
http://www.cannabis-med.org. Information on peer-reviewed, double-blind studies on both
animals and human subjects conducted since 1990 has been compiled by ProCon.org and is
available at http://www.medical marijuanaprocon.org.

Marijuana Is Harmful and Has No Medical Value

Suitable and superior medicines are currently available for treatment of all symptoms
alleged to be treatable by crude marijuana.
—Brief of the Drug Free America Foundation, et al., 2004%

Thefederal government—along with many state governments and private antidrug

organi zations—staunchly maintains that botanical marijuana is a dangerous drug without any
legitimate medical use. Marijuana intoxication can impair a person’s coordination and decision-
making skills and alter behavior. Chronic marijuana smoking can adversely affect the lungs, the
cardiovascular system, and possibly the immune and reproductive systems.®

8 Robert J. Blend on and John T. Y oung, “The Public and the War on lllicit Drugs,” Journal of the American Medical
Association, val. 279, no. 11 (March 18, 1998), p. 831.

8 Brief for the Drug Free America Foundation, Inc. et al. as Amici Curiae Supporting Petitionersat 13, Gonzalesv.
Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454). The amici curiae briefs filed in Raich contain a wedth of information and
arguments on both sides of the medical marijuana debate. They are avail able online at http://www.angeljustice.org.

% See, for example, “ Exposing the Myth of Medical Marijuana,” on the DEA website at http://www.usdoj.gov/dea!
(continued...)
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Of course, FDA's 1985 approval of Marinol proves that the principal psychoactive ingredient of
marijuana—THC—has therapeutic value. But that is not the issue in the medical marijuana
debate. Botanical marijuana remains a plant substance, an herb, and its opponents say it cannot
substitute for legitimate pharmaceuticals. Just because certain molecules found in marijuana
might have become approved medicines, they argue, does not make the unpollinated bud of the
female Cannabis sativa plant a safe and effective medicine. The Drug Free America Foundation
calls the medical use of crude marijuana *a step backward to the times of potions and herbal
remedies.”®

Thefederal government’s argument that marijuana has no medical valueis straightforward. A
drug, in order to meet the standard of the Controlled Substances Act as having a“ currently
accepted medical usein treatment in the United States,” must meet afive-part test:

(1) Thedrug's chemistry must be known and reproducible,

(2) there must be adequate safety studies,

(3) there must be adequate and well-controlled studies proving efficacy,
(4) the drug must be accepted by qualified experts, and

(5) the scientific evidence must be widely available.®

According to the DEA, botanical marijuana meets none of these requirements. First, marijuana’s
chemistry is neither fully known nor reproducible. Second, adequate safety studies have not been
done. Third, there are no adequate, well-controlled scientific studies proving marijuanais
effective for any medical condition. Fourth, marijuana is not accepted by even a significant
minority of experts qualified to evaluate drugs. Fifth, published scientific evidence concluding
that marijuana is safe and effective for usein humans does not exist.®®

The same DEA Final Order that set forth the five requirements for currently accepted medical use
also outlined scientific evidence that would be considered irrelevant by the DEA in establishing
currently accepted medical use. These include individual case reports, clinical data collected by
practitioners, studies conducted by persons not qualified by scientific training and experienceto
evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the substance at issue, and studies or reports so lacking in
detail as to preclude responsible scientific evaluation. Such information is inadequate for experts
to conclude responsibly and fairly that marijuana is safe and effective for use as medicine.® The
DEA and other federal drug control agencies can thereby disregard medical literature and opinion
that claim to show the therapeutic value of marijuana because they do not meet the government’s
standards of proof.

The official view of medical marijuanais complicated by the wider War on Drugs. It is difficult to
disentangle the medical use of locally grown marijuana for personal use from the overall policy
of marijuana prohibition, as the Supreme Court made clear in Raich. To make an exemption for
medical marijuana, the Court decided, “would undermine the orderly enforcement of the entire

(...continued)
ongoing/marijuanap.html.
® Ipid., at 25.

8 This test was first formulated by the DEA in 1992 in response to a marijuana rescheduling petition. See U.S.
Department of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration, “Marijuana Scheduling Petition; Denid of Petition;
Remand,” 57 Federal Register 10499, March 26, 1992, at 10506.

8 |bid., p. 10507.
% |bid., pp. 10506-10507.
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regulatory scheme ... The notion that California law has surgically excised a discrete activity that

is hermetically sealed off from the larger interstate marijuana market is a dubious proposition....
!190

It remains the paosition of the federal government, then, that the Schedule | substance marijuanais
harmful—not beneficial—to human health. Its use for any reason, including medicinal, should
continue to be prohibited and punished. Despite signs of a more tolerant public attitude toward
medical marijuana, its therapeutic benefits, if any, will continue to be officially unacknowledged
and largely unrealized in the United States so long as this position prevails at the federal level.

Marijuana Effectively Treats the Symptoms of Some Diseases

[1]t cannot seriously be contested that there exists a small but significant class of
individual s who suffer from painful chronic, degenerative, and terminal conditions, for
whom marijuana provides uniquely effective relief.

—Brief of the Leukemia& Lymphoma Society, et al., 2004

Proponents of medical marijuana point to a large body of studies from around the world that
support the therapeutic value of marijuanain treating a variety of disease-rdated problems,
including

e rdieving nausea,

increasing appetite,

e reducing muscle spasms and spasticity,
e rdieving chronic pain,

e reducing intraocular pressure, and

e rdieving anxiety.”

Given these properties, marijuana has been used successfully to treat the debilitating symptoms of
cancer and cancer chemotherapy,® AIDS, multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, glaucoma, anxiety, and
other serious illnesses.* As opponents of medical marijuana assert, existing FDA-approved
pharmaceuticals for these conditions are generally more effective than marijuana. Nevertheless,
asthe IOM Report acknowledged, the approved medicines do not work for everyone.® Many
medical marijuana users report trying cannabis only reluctantly and as a last resort after

% Gonzalesv. Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195, at 2212 and 2213 (2005).

! Brief for the Leukemia& Lymphoma Society, et al. as Amici Curiae Supporting Respondents at 4, Gonzales v.
Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454).

# Ipid., at 1-2.

% A 1990 survey of oncologists found that 54% of those with an opinion on medical marijuana favored the controlled
medical availability of marijuana and 44% had aready broken the law by suggesting at least once that a patient obtain

marijuanaillegaly. R. Doblin and M. Kleiman, “Marijuana as Antiemetic Medicine,” Journal of Clinical Oncology,
val. 9(1991), pp. 1314-1319.

% Thereis evidence that marijuana might also be useful in treating arthritis, migraine, menstrual cramps, & cohol and
opiate addiction, and depression and other mood disorders.

% |OM Report, pp. 3-4: “The effects of cannabinoids on the symptoms studied are generally modest, and in most cases
there are more effective medications. However, people vary in their responses to medications, and there will likely
always be a subpopulation of patients who do not respond well to other medications.”
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exhausting all other treatment modalities. A distinct subpopulation of patients now relies on
whole cannabis for a degree of relief that FDA-approved synthetic drugs do not provide.

Medical cannabis proponents claim that single-cannabinoid, synthetic pharmaceuticals like
Marinol are poor substitutes for the whole marijuana plant, which contains more than 400 known
chemical compounds, including about 60 active cannabinoids in addition to THC. They say that
scientists are along way from knowing for sure which ones, singly or in combination, provide
which therapeutic effects. Many patients have found that they benefit more from the whole plant
than from any synthetically produced chemical derivative.* Furthermore, the natural plant can be
grown easily and inexpensively, whereas Marinol and any other cannabis-based pharmaceuticals
that might be developed in the future will likely be expensive—prohibitively so for some
patients.”’

In recognition of the therapeutic benefits of botanical marijuana products, various associations of
health professionals have passed resolutions in support of medical cannabis. These include the
American Public Health Association, the American Nurses Association, and the California
Pharmacists Association. The New England Journal of Medicine has editorialized in favor of
patient access to marijuana.®® Other groups, such as the American Medical Association, are more
cautious. Their position is that not enough is known about botanical marijuana and that more
research is needed.

Therecent discovery of cannabinoid receptors in the human brain and immune system provides a
biological explanation for the claimed effectiveness of marijuana in relieving multiple disease
symptoms. The human body produces its own cannabis-like compounds, called
endocannabinoids, that react with the body’s cannabinoid receptors. Like the better known opiate
receptors, the cannabinoid receptors in the brain stem and spinal cord play arolein pain control.
Cannabinoid receptors, which are abundant in various parts of the human brain, also play arolein
controlling the vomiting reflex, appetite, emotional responses, motor skills, and memory
formation. It is the presence of these natural, endogenous cannabinoids in the human nervous and
immune systems that provides the basis for the therapeutic value of marijuana and that holds the
key, some scientists believe, to many promising drugs of the future.®

Thefederal government’s own IND Compassionate Access Program, which has provided
government-grown medical marijuana to a select group of patients since 1978, provides important
evidence that marijuana has medicinal value and can be used safdly. A scientist and organizer of
the California medical marijuanainitiative, along with two medical-doctor colleagues, has
written:

Nothing revealsthe contradictionsin federal policy toward marijuanamore clearly than the
fact that there are ill eight patients in the United States who receive a tin of marijuana
‘joints (cigarettes) every month from the federal government.... These eight people can

% Brief for the Leukemia& Lymphoma Society et d. as Amici Curiae Supporting Respondents at 18, Gonzales v.
Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454).

9 Marinol currently sells at retail for about $17 per pill.

% “Federal Foolishness and Marijuana,” New England Journal of Medicine, vol. 336, no. 5 (January 30, 1997), pp. 366-
367.

% For asummary of the growing body of research on endocannabinoids, see Roger A. Nicoll and Bradley N. Alger,
“The Brain's Own Marijuana,” Scientific American, December 2004, pp. 68-75, and Jean Marx, “Drugs Inspired by a
Drug,” Science, January 20, 2006, pp. 322-325.
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legally possess and use marijuana, at government expense and with government permission.
Y et hundreds of thousands of other patients can be fined and jailed under federal law for
doing exactly the same thing.'®

Smoking Is an Improper Route of Drug Administration

Can you think of any other untested, home-made, mind-altering medicine that you self-
dose, and that uses a burning carcinogen as a delivery vehicle?
—General Barry McCaffrey, U.S. Drug Czar, 1996-2000™"

That medical marijuanais smoked is probably the biggest obstacle preventing its wider
acceptance. Opponents of medical marijuana argue that smoking is a poor way to take a drug, that
inhaling smoke is an unprecedented drug delivery system, even though many approved
medications are marketed as inhalants. DEA Administrator Karen Tandy writes:

The scientific and medical communities have determined that smoked marijuanaisaheelth
danger, not acure. Thereis no medical evidence that smoking marijuana helps patients. In
fact, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved no medications that are
smoked, primarily because smoking is a poor way to deliver medicine. Morphine, for
examplehas proven to beamedically valuabledrug, but the FDA does not endorse smoking
opium or heroin.'%

Medical marijuana opponents argue that chronic marijuana smoking is harmful to the lungs, the
cardiovascular system, and possibly the immune and reproductive systems. These claims may be
overstated to help preserve marijuana prohibition. For example, neither epidemiological nor
aggregate clinical data show higher rates of lung cancer in people who smoke marijuana.’® The
other alleged harms also remain unproven. Even if smoking marijuanais proven harmful,
however, the immediate benefits of smoked marijuana could still outweigh the potential long-
term harms—especially for terminally ill patients.’®

The therapeutic value of smoked marijuana is supported by existing research and experience. For
example, the following statements appeared in the American Medical Association’s “Council on
Scientific Affairs Report 10—Medicinal Marijuana,”'® adopted by the AMA House of delegates
on December 9, 1997:

1% Bj|| Zimmerman, Is Marijuana the Right Medicine For You? A Factual Guideto Medical Uses of Marijuana (Keats
Publishing, New Canaan, CT: 1998), p. 25.

101 Barry R. McCaffrey, “We' re on a Perilous Path,” Newsweek, February 3, 1997, p. 27.

102 K aren Tandy, “Marijuana: The Myths Are Killing Us,” Police Chief Magazine, March 2005, available at
http://www.usdoj .gov/dea/pubs/pressrel/pr042605p.html.

1031 ynn Zimmer and John P. Morgan, Marijuana Myths Marijuana Facts (New Y ork: Lindesmith Center, 1997), p.
115.

104 Medicines do not have to be completely safe to be approved. In fact, no medicine is completdy safe; every drug has
toxicity concerns. All pharmaceuticals have potentially harmful side effects, and it would be startling, indeed, if
botanical marijuanawere found to be an exception. The IOM Report states that “except for the harms associated with
smoking, the adverse effects of marijuana use are within the range of effects tolerated for other medications.” (p. 5)

195 American Medical Association, Council on Scientific Affairs Report: Medical Marijuana (A-01), June 2001. An
unpaginated version of this document can be found on the Web at http://www.mfiles.org/Marijuana/medicina _use/
b2_ama csa report.html.
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e “Smoked marijuana was comparable to or more effective than oral THC
[Marinol], and considerably more effective than prochlorperazine or other
previous antiemetics in reducing nausea and emesis.” (p. 10)

e “Anecdotal, survey, and clinical data support the view that smoked marijuana and
oral THC provide symptomatic relief in some patients with spasticity associated
with multiple sclerosis (MS) or trauma.” (p. 13)

e “Smoked marijuana may benefit individual patients suffering from intermittent or
chronic pain.” (p. 15)

ThelOM Report expressed concerns about smoking (p. 126): “ Smoked marijuanais unlikely to
be a safe medication for any chronic medical condition.” Despite this concern, the [OM Report’s
authors were willing to recommend smoked marijuana under certain limited circumstances. For
example, the report states (p. 154):

Until the devel opment of rapid-onset antiemetic drug delivery systems, there will likely
remain a subpopulation of patients for whom standard antiemetic therapy isineffective and
who suffer from debilitating emesis. It is possible that the harmful effects of smoking
marijuana for a limited period of time might be outweighed by the antiemetic benefits of
marijuana, at least for patientsfor whom standard antiemetic therapy isineffective and who
suffer from debilitating emesis. Such patients should be evaluated on a case-by-case basis
and treated under close medical supervision.

The lOM Report makes anather exception for terminal cancer patients (p. 159):

Terminal cancer patients pose different issues. For those patients the medical harm
associated with smoking is of little consequence. For terminal patients suffering debilitating
pain or nausea and for whom all indicated medications have failed to provide relief, the
medical benefits of smoked marijuana might outweigh the harm.

Smoking can actually be a preferred drug delivery system for patients whose nausea prevents
them from taking anything orally. Such patients need to inhale their antiemitic drug. Other
patients prefer inhaling because the drug is absorbed much more quickly through the lungs, so
that the beneficial effects of the drug arefelt almost at once. This rapid onset also gives patients
more control over dosage. For a certain patient subpopulation, then, these advantages of
inhalation may prevail over both edible marijuana preparations and pharmaceutical drugs in pill
form, such as Marinal.

Moreover, medical marijuana advocates argue that there are ways to lessen the risks of smoking.
Any potential problems associated with smoking, they argue, can be reduced by using higher
potency marijuana, which means that less has to be inhaled to achieve the desired therapeutic
effect. Furthermore, marijuana does not have to be smoked to be used as medicine. It can be
cooked in various ways and eaten.'® Like Marinol, however, taking marijuana orally can be
difficult for patients suffering from nausea. Many patients are turning to vaporizers, which offer
the benefits of smoking—rapid action, ease of dose titration—without having to inhale smoke.
Vaporizers are devices that take advantage of the fact that cannabinoids vaporize at alower
temperature than that required for marijuanato burn. Vaporizers heat the plant matter enough for
the cannabinoids to be released as vapor without having to burn the marijuana preparation.

106 Cannabis preparations are al so used topically as oils and balms to soothe muscl es, tendons, and joints.
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Patients can thereby inhale the beneficial cannabinoids without also having to inhale the
potentially harmful by-products of marijuana combustion.®’

Marijuana Should Be Rescheduled To Permit Medical Use

[ T he administrative law judge concludes that the provisions of the [ Controlled
Substances] Act permit and require the transfer of marijuana from Schedule | to
Schedule I1. The Judge realizes that strong emotions are aroused on both sides of any
discussion concerning the use of marijuana. Nonethelessiit is essential for this Agency
[DEA], and its Administrator, calmly and dispassionately to review the evidence of
record, correctly apply the law, and act accordingly.

—FrancisL. Young, DEA Administrative Law Judge, 1988'%

Proponents of medical marijuana believe its placement in Schedule | of the CSA was an error
from the beginning. Cannabis is one of the safest therapeutically active substances known.’® No
one has ever died of an overdose. ™ Petitions to reschedule marijuana have been received by the
federal government, and rejected, ever since the original passage of the Controlled Substances
Act in 1970.

Rescheduling can be accomplished administratively or it can be done by an act of Congress.
Administratively, the federal Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) could find that
marijuana meets sufficient standards of safety and efficacy to warrant rescheduling. Even though
THC, the most prevalent cannabinoid in marijuana, was administratively moved to Schedule 111
in 1999, no signs exist that botanical marijuana will similarly be rescheduled by federal agency
ruling anytime soon.

An act of Congress to reschedule marijuana is only slightly less likely, although such legislation
has been introduced in recent Congresses including the 111™."* The Medical Marijuana Patient

Protection Act (H.R. 2835/Frank), which would move marijuana from Schedule | to Schedule I
of the Controlled Substances Act, has seen no action beyond committee referral 12

197 Several companies offer vaporizers for salein the United States, but their marketing is complicated by marijuana
prohibition and by laws prohibiting drug paraphernalia. The advantages of the vaporizer were brought to the attention
of the IOM pandl. The IOM Report, however, devoted only one sentence to such devices, despite its recommendation
for research into safe delivery systems. The IOM Report said, “Vaporization devices that permit inha ation of plant
cannabinoids without the carcinogenic combustion products found in smoke are under devel opment by severa groups;
such devices would a so require regulatory review by the FDA.” (p. 216)

108 .S, Dept. of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration, “In the Matter of Marijuana Rescheduling Petition, Docket
No. 86-22, Opinion and Recommended Ruling, Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Decision of Administrative
Law Judge,” Francis L. Young, Administrative Law Judge, September 6, 1988, p. 67. Thisopinion is online at
http://www.druglibrary.net/ol sen/MEDICAL/Y OUNG/young.html.

1% 1bid., pp. 58-59.
19 hid., p. 56.

M \When Congress directly schedules adrug, asit did marijuanain 1970, it is not bound by the criteriain section
202(b) of the CSA (21 U.S.C. 812(h)).

12 Congress could aso follow the lead of some states that have adua scheduling scheme for botanical marijuana
whereby itsrecreationa useis prohibited (Schedulel) but it is permitted when used for medicinal purposes (Schedules
11 or 111). Congress could achieve the same effect by leaving marijuanain Schedule | but removing criminal penaties
for the medical use of marijuana, commonly called decriminalization. Congress could a so opt for legalization by
removing marijuana from the CSA entirely and subjecting it to federal and state controls based on the tobacco or
alcohol regulatory models or by devising aregulatory scheme unique to marijuana. None of these options seem likely
(continued...)
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Schedule 11 substances have a high potential for abuse and may lead to severe psychological or
physical dependence but have a currently accepted medical use in treatment in the United States.
Cocaine, methamphetamine, morphine, and methadone are classified as Schedule 11 substances.
Many drug policy experts and laypersons alike believe that marijuana should also reside in
Schedulell.

Others think marijuana should be properly classified as a Schedule 111 substance, along with THC
and its synthetic version, Marinol. Substancesin Schedule 111 have less potential for abuse than
the drugsin Schedules | and 11, their abuse may lead to moderate or low physical dependence or
high psychological dependence, and they have a currently accepted medical usein treatment in
the United States.

Rescheduling seems to be supported by public opinion. A nationwide Gallup Poll conducted in
March 1999 found that 73% of American adults favored “making marijuana legally available for
doctors to prescribe in order to reduce pain and suffering.” An AARP poll of American adults age
45 and older conducted in mid-November 2004 found that 72% agreed that adults should be
allowed to legally use marijuana for medical purpaoses if recommended by a physician. A January
2010 ABC News/Washington Post poll found that more than 8 in 10 Americans (81%) supported
efforts to make marijuana legal for medical use™?

Few Members of Congress, however, publicly support the rescheduling option. The Medical
Marijuana Patient Protection Act (H.R. 2835), which would move marijuana from Schedule | to
Schedule |l of the Controlled Substances Act, as mentioned above, currently has 30 cosponsors.

State Medical Marijuana Laws Increase Illicit Drug Use

The natural extension of this myth [that marijuanais good medicing] isthat, if marijuana
ismedicine, it must also be safe for recreational use.
—Karen P. Tandy, DEA Administrator, 2005

It is the position of the federal government that to permit the use of medical marijuana affords the
drug a degree of legitimacy it does not deserve. America’s youth are especially vulnerable, it is
said, and state medical marijuana programs send the wrong message to our youth, many of whom
do not recognize the very real dangers of marijuana.

Studies show that the use of anillicit drug isinversely proportional to the perceived harm of that
drug. That is, the more harmful adrug is perceived to be, the fewer the number of people who
will try it."*> Opponents of medical marijuana argue that “ surveys show that perception of harm

(...continued)
given the current palitica climate in which both political parties support continued marijuana prohibition.

3 These and other pall results can be consulted at http://medi cal marijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcel D=
000148. This website states: “ Because the majority (98% or more) of the voter initiatives and polls we located were
favorable towards the medical use of marijuana, we contacted several organizations decidedly ‘ con’ to medical
marijuana—two of which were federal government agencies—and none knew of any voter initiatives or pollsthat were
‘con’ to medical marijuana.”

14 K aren Tandy, “Marijuana: The Myths Are Killing Us,” Police Chief Magazine, March 2005, available at
http://www.usdoj.gov/dea/pubs/pressrel/pr042605p.html.
15 Seg, for example, J.G. Bachman et ., “Explaining Recent Increasesin Students Marijuana Use: Impacts of

Perceived Risks and Disapproval, 1976 through 1996,” American Journal of Public Health, vol. 88 (1998), pp. 887-
(continued...)
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with respect to marijuana has been dropping off annually since the renewal of the driveto legalize
marijuana as medicine, which began in the early 1990s when legalization advocates first gained a
significant increase in funding and began planning the state ballot initiative drive to legalize crude
marijuana as medicine.” *'® They point to the 1999 National Household Survey on Drug Abuse
(NHSDA), which “reveals that those states which have passed medical marijuana laws have
among the highest levels of past-month marijuana use, of past-month other drug use, of drug
addiction, and of drug and alcohol addiction.”*"

Indeed, all 11 states that have passed medical marijuana laws ranked above the national average
in the percentage of persons 12 or older reporting past-month use of marijuanain 1999, as shown
in Table 2. It isat least possible, however, that this analysis confuses cause with effect. It is
logical to assume that the states with the highest prevalence of marijuana usage would be more
likely to approve medical marijuana programs, because the populations of those states would be
more knowledgeable of marijuana’s effects and more tolerant of its use.

It is also the case that California, the state with the largest and longest-running medical marijuana
program, ranked 34™ in the percentage of persons age 12-17 reporting marijuana use in the past
month during the period 2002-2003, as shown in Table 1. In fact, between 1999 and 2002-2003,
of the 10 states with active medical marijuana programs, five states (AK, HI, ME, MT, VT) rose
in the state rankings of past-month marijuana use by 12- to 17-year-olds and five states fell (CA,
CO, NV, OR, WA)."® Of the five states that had approved medical marijuana laws before 1999
(AK, AZ, CA, OR, WA), only Alaska's ranking rose between 1999 and 2002-2003, from 7" to 4™,
with 11.08% of youth reporting past-month marijuana use in 2002-2003 compared with 10.4% in
1999. No clear patterns are apparent in the state-level data. Clearly, more important factors are at
work in determining a stat€'s prevalence of recreational marijuana use than whether the state has
amedical marijuana program.

The IOM Report found no evidence for the supposition that state medical marijuana programs
lead to increased use of marijuana or other drugs (pp. 6-7):

Finally, thereisabroad social concern that sanctioning the medical use of marijuana might
increase its use among the general population. At this point there are no convincing datato
support this concern. The existing data are consistent with the idea that thiswould not be a
problem if the medical use of marijuanawereasclosely regulated as other medicationswith
abuse potential.... [ T]hisquestion isbeyond theissuesnormally considered for medical uses
of drugs and should not be a factor in evaluating the therapeutic potential of marijuana or
cannabinoids.

(...continued)
892.

18 Brief for the Drug Free America Foundation, Inc. et al. as Amici Curiae Supporting Petitioners at 26, Gonzales v.
Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454).

2 bid., at 27. The 1999 NHSDA was thefirst to include state-level estimates for various measures of drug use.
Unfortunately, comprehensive state-level data prior to 1999 are not available from other sources.

118 Care should be taken in comparing NHSDA data for 1999 with NSDUH data for 2002 and after, due to changesin
survey methodology made in 2002. The trend observations drawn here from these data should therefore be considered
suggestive rather than definitive.
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Table |.States Ranked by Percentage of Youth Age 12-17 Reporting Past-Month
Marijuana Use, 1999 and 2002-2003

1999 2002-2003
Rank State % Rank State %

| Delaware 13.9 | Vermont 13.32
2 Massachusetts 1.9 2 Montana 12.07
3 Nevada 1.6 3 New Hampshire 11.79
4 Montana 11.4 4 Alaska 11.08
5 Rhode Island 10.8 5 Rhode Island 10.86
6 New Hampshire 10.7 6 Maine 10.56
7 Alaska 10.4 7 Massachusetts 10.53
8 Colorado 10.3 8 New Mexico 10.35
9 Minnesota 9.9 9 Hawaii 10.23
9 Washington 9.9 10 Colorado 9.82
I Oregon 9.6 I Nevada 9.58
District of Columbia 9.6 12 South Dakota 9.57

12 lllinois 9.2 13 Delaware 941
12 New Mexico 9.2 14 Oregon 9.31
14 Maryland 8.8 15 Michigan 9.23
15 Indiana 8.7 16 Connecticut 9.22
16 Connecticut 8.6 17 Nebraska 9.13
17 Vermont 84 18 Washington 9.11
18 Hawaii 83 19 Minnesota 8.92
18 Wisconsin 83 20 New York 8.76
20 Michigan 7.8 21 Ohio 8.74
20 Wyoming 78 22 West Virginia 8.62
22 California 77 23 Florida 8.52
23 North Dakota 7.6 24 North Carolina 8.44
National 74 25 Virginia 843

24 South Carolina 74 26 Pennsylvania 8.18
27 Arizona 7.3 27 Kentucky 8.16
27 Arkansas 7.3 28 Oklahoma 8.13
27 New Jersey 7.3 National 8.03
28 Maine 72 29 Arkansas 797
29 West Virginia 7.1 30 Idaho 7.92
31 Ohio 6.9 31 Maryland 7.87
31 South Dakota 6.9 32 Arizona 7.74
33 New York 6.8 33 Wisconsin 7.71
33 North Carolina 6.8 34 California 7.66
34 Mississippi 6.7 35 lllinois 7.61
37 Kansas 6.6 36 North Dakota 7.58
37 Louisiana 6.6 37 Missouri 743
37 Missouri 6.6 District of Columbia 743
38 Georgia 6.4 38 Kansas 7.39
40 Oklahoma 6.3 39 Indiana 7.37
40 Pennsylvania 6.3 40 New Jersey 7.33
41 Florida 6.2 41 South Carolina 7.25
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1999 2002-2003
Rank State % Rank State %
43 Nebraska 6.1 42 Wyoming 7.14
43 Utah 6.1 43 lowa 7.10
45 Idaho 59 44 Louisiana 6.92
45 Virginia 59 45 Georgia 6.87
46 Texas 5.7 46 Texas 6.38
47 Alabama 5.6 47 Alabama 6.37
48 Kentucky 53 47 Tennessee 6.37
50 lowa 52 49 Mississippi 6.04
50 Tennessee 52 50 Utah 5.30

Sources: SAMHSA, Office of Applied Studies, National Household Survey on Drug Abuse, 1999, Table 3B, at
http://www.oas.samhsa.gov/ NHSDA/99StateTabs/tables2.htm. Rankings calculated by CRS. SAMHSA, Office of

Applied Studies, National Survey on Drug Use and Health, 2002 and 2003, Table B.3, at
http://www.oas.samhsa.gov/2k3State/appB.htm#tabB.3. Rankings calculated by CRS.

Table 2. States Ranked by Percentage of Persons 12 or Older Reporting Past-Month
Marijuana Use, 1999 and 2003-2004

1999 2003-2004

Rank State % Rank State %
| Maryland 79 | New Hampshire 10.23
2 Colorado 7.7 2 Alaska 9.78
3 Massachusetts 75 3 Vermont 9.77
4 Rhode Island 74 District of Columbia 9.60
5 Alaska 7.1 4 Rhode Island 9.56
District of Columbia 7.1 5 Montana 9.17

6 Woashington 6.8 6 Oregon 8.88
7 Oregon 6.6 7 Colorado 849
8 Delaware 6.5 8 Maine 7.95
8 New Mexico 6.5 9 Massachusetts 7.80
10 California 6.0 10 Nevada 7.62
I Montana 5.9 I Washington 741
I New Hampshire 59 12 New Mexico 7.37
13 Hawaii 5.8 13 New York 7.34
13 Maine 5.8 14 Michigan 7.20
15 Nevada 5.6 15 Hawaii 6.95
15 Wyoming 5.6 16 Connecticut 9.94
17 Vermont 54 17 Delaware 6.89
18 Michigan 53 18 Missouri 6.76
18 Minnesota 53 19 Florida 6.58
20 Arizona 52 20 California 6.50
21 Wisconsin 5.1 21 Ohio 6.49
22 Connecticut 5.0 22 Minnesota 6.37
22 Florida 5.0 National 6.18
22 New Jersey 5.0 23 Indiana 6.12
25 New York 49 24 Nebraska 5.97
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1999 2003-2004
Rank State % Rank State %

25 Utah 4.9 25 Virginia 5.96

National 49 26 North Carolina 5.89
27 lllinois 4.8 27 Louisiana 5.77
29 Missouri 4.7 28 Maryland 573
29 North Carolina 4.7 29 Arizona 5.68
30 Indiana 4.6 30 South Carolina 5.65
31 Pennsylvania 4.5 31 Pennsylvania 5.64
32 Ohio 43 32 Arkansas 5.63
34 Georgia 42 33 Kentucky 5.62
34 Idaho 4.2 34 lllinois 5.60
35 South Dakota 4.1 35 Oklahoma 5.58
36 Virginia 4.0 36 Wyoming 5.45
38 Nebraska 39 37 Wisconsin 5.40
38 North Dakota 39 38 North Dakota 5.35
39 South Carolina 38 39 South Dakota 5.24
40 Kansas 37 40 West Virginia 5.12
43 Kentucky 3.6 41 Idaho 5.09
43 Tennessee 3.6 42 New Jersey 5.05
43 West Virginia 3.6 43 Georgia 4.93
47 Arkansas 35 44 Kansas 491
47 Louisiana 35 45 lowa 4.90
47 Oklahoma 35 46 Texas 4.79
47 Texas 35 47 Mississippi 4.64
50 Alabama 33 48 Tennessee 4.59
50 lowa 33 49 Alabama 4.32
50 Mississippi 33 50 Utah 4.00

Sources: SAMHSA, Office of Applied Studies, National Household Survey on Drug Abuse, 1999, Table 3B, at
http://www.oas.samhsa.gov/NHSDA/99StateTabs/tables2.htm. Rankings calculated by CRS. SAMHSA, Office of

Applied Studies, National Survey on Drug Use and Health, 2002 and 2003, Table B.3, at
http://www.oas.samhsa.gov/2k3State/appB.htm#tabB.3. Rankings calculated by CRS.

The IOM Report further states (p. 126):

Even if therewere evidence that the medical use of marijuanawoul d decrease the perception
that it can beaharmful substance, thisisbeyond the scope of lawsregul ating the approval of
therapeutic drugs. Those laws concern scientific data related to the safety and efficacy of
drugsfor individual use; they do not address perceptionsor beliefs of the generd population.

ThelOM Report also found (p. 102): “No evidence suggests that the use of opiates or cocaine for
medical purposes has increased the perception that their illicit useis safe or acceptable.” Doctors
can prescribe cocaine, morphine, amphetamine, and methamphetamine, but thisis not seen as
weakening the War on Drugs. Why would doctors recommending medical marijuanato their

patients be any different?

The so-called “ Gateway Theory” of marijuana useis also cited to explain how medical marijuana

could increaseillicit drug use. With respect to the rationale behind the argument that marijuana

serves asa“ gateway” drug, the |lOM Report offered the following (p. 6):
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In the sensethat marijuana usetypically precedesrather than followsinitiation of other illicit
drug use, it isindeed a “gateway” drug. But because underage smoking and alcohol use
typically precede marijuana use, marijuanaisnot the most common, and israrely the first,
“gateway” to illicit drug use. There is no conclusive evidence that the drug effects of
marijuanaare causally linked to the subsequent abuse of other illicit drugs.

A statistical analysis of marijuana use by emergency room patients and arrestees in four states
with medical marijuana programs—California, Colorado, Oregon, and Washington—found no
statistically significant increase in recreational marijuana use among these two population
subgroups after medical marijuana was approved for use.*® Another study looked at adolescent
marijuana use and found decreases in youth usage in every state with a medical marijuana law.
Declines exceeding 50% were found in some age groups.'®

These studies are consistent with the findings of a 2002 report by the Government Accountability
Officethat concluded that state medical marijuana laws were operating as voters and legislators
intended and did not encourage drug use among the wider population.** Concerns that medical
cannabis laws send the wrong message to vul nerable groups such as adol escents seem to be
unfounded.

Medical Marijuana Undermines the War on Drugs

The DEA and its local and state counterparts routinely report that large-scale drug
traffickers hide behind and invoke Proposition 215, even when there is no evidence of
any medical claim. In fact, many large-scale marijuana cultivators and traffickers escape
state prosecution because of bogus medical marijuana claims. Prosecutors are reluctant
to charge these individual s because of the state of confusion that existsin California.
Therefore, high-level traffickers posing as ‘care-givers are ableto sdl illegal drugswith
impunity.

—* California Medical Marijuana Information,” DEA Web page'®

It is argued by many that state medical marijuana laws weaken the fight against drug abuse by
making thework of police officers more difficult. This undermining of law enforcement can
occur in at least three ways: by diverting medical marijuana into the recreational drug market, by
causing state and local law enforcement priorities to diverge from federal priorities, and by
complicating the job of law enforcement by forcing officers to distinguish medical users from
recreational users.

Diversion

Marijuana grown for medical purposes, according to DEA and other federal drug control
agencies, can be diverted into the larger, illegal marijuana market, thereby undermining law

19 Dennis M. Gorman and J. Charles Huber, Jr., “Do Medical Cannabis Laws Encourage Cannabis Use?’ International
Journal of Drug Palicy, vol. 18, no. 3 (May 2007), pp. 160-167.

120 K aren O’ Keefe, et al., “Marijuana Use by Y oung People: The Impact of State Medical Marijuana Laws,” updated
June 2008, available at http://www.mpp.org/research/teen-use-report.html. (New Mexico was excluded from the study
becauseit passed itslaw too recently.)

121 U.S. Generd Accounting Office, Marijuana: Early Experiences with Four Sates' Laws That Allow Use for Medical
Purposes, GAO-03-189, November 2002.

122 Available at http://www. usdoj .gov/dea/ongoing/cal i marijuanap.html .
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enforcement efforts to eliminate the marijuana market altogether. This point was emphasized by
the Department of Justice (DOJ) in its prepublication review of areport by the Government
Accountability Office (GAO) on medical marijuana. DOJ criticized the GAO draft report on the
grounds that the “report did not mention that state medical marijuana laws are routinely abused to
facilitate traditional illegal trafficking.” '

GAO responded that in their interviews with federal officials regarding the impact of state
medical marijuanalaws on their law enforcement efforts, “none of the federal officials we spoke
with provided information that abuse of medical marijuana laws was routinely occurring in any of
the states, including California.” ** The government also failed to establish this in the Raich case.
(It is of course possible that significant diversion istaking place yet remains undetected.)

Just as with many pharmaceuticals, some diversion is inevitable. Some would view this as an
acceptable cost of implementing a medical marijuana program. Every public policy hasits costs
and benefits. Depriving serioudly ill patients of their medical marijuanais seen by someasa
small priceto pay if doing so will help to protect America's youth from marijuana. Others balance
the harms and benefits of medical marijuana in the opposite direction. Legal analyst Stuart Taylor
Jr. recently wrote, “ As a matter of policy, Congress aswell as the states should legalize medical
marijuana, with strict regulatory controls. The proven benefits to some suffering patients
outweigh the potential costs of marijuana being diverted to illicit uses.”'#

Changed State and Local Law Enforcement Priorities

Following the passage of the California and Arizona medical marijuanainitiatives in 1996,

federal officials expressed concern that the measures would seriously affect the federal
government’s drug enforcement effort because federal drug policiesrely heavily on the state’'s
enforcement of their own drug laws to achieve federal objectives. For instance, in hearings before
the Senate Judiciary Committee, the head of the Drug Enforcement Administration stated:

| have alwaysfdlt ... that the federalization of crimeisvery difficult to carry out; that crime,
just in essence, is for the most part alocal problem and addressed very well locally, in my
experience. Wenow have asituation wherelocal law enforcement isunsure.... Thenumbers
of investigations that you would talk about that might be presently being conducted by the
[Arizonastate police] at the gram level would be beyond our capacity to conduct thosetypes
of individual investigati onswithout abandoning the major organized crimeinvestigations.*®

State medical marijuana laws arguably feed into the deprioritization movement, by which drug
reform advocates seek to influence state and local law enforcement to give alow priority to the
enforcement of marijuana laws. This movement to make simple marijuana possession the lowest
law enforcement priority has made inroads in such cities as San Francisco, Seettle, and Oakland,
but it extends beyond the medical marijuana states to college towns such as Ann Arbor, Ml,

12 U.S. Generd Accounting Office, Marijuana: Early Experiences with Four Sates’ Laws That Allow Use for Medical
Purposes, GAO-03-189, November 2002, p. 36.

24 1bid., p. 37.
125 Stuart Taylor, Jr., “Libera Drug Warriors! Conservative Pot-Coddlers!,” National Journal, June 11, 2005, p. 1738.

126 Tegtimony of Thomas A. Constantinein U.S. Congress, Senate Committee on the Judiciary, Prescription for
Addiction? The Arizona and California Medical Drug Use Initiatives, hearing, 104" Cong., 2™ sess,, December 2, 1996
(Washington: GPO, 1997), pp. 42-43, 45.
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Madison, WI, Columbia, MO, and Lawrence, KS.* Federal officials fear that jurisdictions that
“opt out” of marijuana enforcement “will quickly become a haven for drug traffickers.” '

Distinguishing Between Legal and Illegal Providers and Users

Police officers in medical marijuana states have complained about the difficulty of distinguishing
between legitimate patients and recreational marijuana smokers. According to the DEA:

Local and state law enforcement counterparts cannot distinguish between illegal marijuana
grows and grows that qualify as medical exemptions. Many self-designated medica
marijuana growers are, in fact, growing marijuana for illegal, “recreational” use.”

This reasoning is echoed in the Raich amici brief of Community Rights Counsel (p. 12):

Cresating an exception for medical use[of marijuana] could undermine enforcement efforts
by impaosing an often difficult burden on prosecutors of establishing theviolator’ ssubjective
motivation and intent beyond a reasonabl e doubt. Given that marijuana used in responseto
medical ailments is not readily distinguishable from marijuana used for other reasons,
Congressrationally concluded that the control of all useis necessary to addressthe national
market for controlled substances.

Patients and caregivers, on the other hand, have complained that their marijuana that is lawful
under state statute has been seized by police and not returned. In some cases, patients and
caregivers have been unexpectedly arrested by state or local police officers. A November 2002
GAO report on medical marijuana stated that “ Several law enforcement officials in California and
Oregon cited the inconsistency between federal and state law as a significant problem,
particularly regarding how seized marijuana is handled.”**

Thefailure of state and local law enforcement officers to observe state medical marijuana laws
has especially been a problem in California. The California Highway Patrol (CHP) has, on

numer ous occasions, arrested patients or confiscated their medical marijuana during routine
traffic stops. “ Although voters legalized medical marijuanain California nearly nine years ago,”
reports tf}gl Los Angeles Times, “police statewide have wrangled with activists over how to enforce
the law.”

Asaresult of alawsuit brought against the CHP by a patient advocacy group, CHP officers will
no longer seize patients' marijuana as long as they possess no more than 8 ounces and can show a
certified-user identification card or their physician’s written recommendation. The CHP's new

127 “Marijuana: Lawrence, Kansas, Ponders City Marijuana Ordinance—Impact of HEA Cited,” available at
http://stopthedrugwar.org/chroni cle/401/lawrence.shtml.

128 Brief for U.S. Representative Mark E. Souder et a. as Amici Curiae Supporting Petitioners at 20, Gonzalesv. Raich,
125 S.Ct. 2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454).

129 « CdiforniaMedical Marijuana Information,” available on DEA’swebsite at http://www.usdoj.gov/dealongoing/
calimarijuanap.html.

10 .S, Generd Accounting Office, Marijuana: Early Experiences with Four Sates' Laws That Allow Use for Medical
Purposes, GAO-03-189, November 2002, p. 64. GAO interviewed 37 law enforcement agencies and found that the
majority indicated that “ medical-marijuanalaws had not greatly affected their law enforcement activities.” (p. 4)

131 Eric Bailey, “CHP Revises Policy on Pot Seizures,” Los Angeles Times (national edition), August 28, 2005, p. A12.
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policy, announced in August 2005, will likely influence the behavior of other California law
enforcement agencies.

The Committee on Drugs and the Law of the Bar of the City of New York concluded its 1997
report “Marijuana Should be Medically Available” with this statement: “ The government can
effectively differentiate medical marijuana and recreational marijuana, asit has done with
cocaine. Theimage of the Federal authorities suppressing a valuable medicine to maintain the
rationale of the war on drugs only serves to discredit the government’s effort.”**

Patients Should Not Be Arrested for Using Medical Marijuana

Centuries of Anglo-American law stand against the imposition of criminal liability on
individuals for pursuing their own lifesaving pain relief and treatment.... Because the
experience of pain can be so subversive of dignity—and even of the will to live—ethics
and legal tradition recognize that individual s pursuing pain relief have special claimsto
non-interference.

—Brief of the Leukemia& Lymphoma Society, et al., 2004

Medical marijuana advocates beieve that seriously ill people should not be punished for acting in
accordance with the opinion of their physicians in a bona fide attempt to relieve their suffering,
especially when acting in accordance with state law. Even if marijuana were proven to be more
harmful than now appears, prison for severely ill patients is believed to be a worse alternative.
Patients have enough problems without having to fear the emotional and financial cost of arrest,
legal fees, prosecution, and a possible prison sentence.

The American public appearsto agree. The Institute of Medicine found that “ public support for
patient access to marijuana for medical use appears substantial; public opinion polls taken during
1997 and 1998 generally reported 60-70 percent of respondents in favor of allowing medical uses
of marijuana.”***

Thefederal penalty for possessing one marijuana cigarette—even for medical use—is up to one
year in prison and up to a $100,000 fine,™* and the penalty for growing a cannabis plant is up to
five years and up to a $250,000 fine."® That patients are willing to risk these severe penalties to
obtain the relief that marijuana provides appears to present strong evidence for the substance’'s
therapeutic effectiveness.

Although the Supreme Court ruled differently in Raich, the argument persists that medical
marijuana providers and patients are engaging in a class of activity totally different from those
persons trafficking in marijuana for recreational use and that patients should not be arrested for
using medical marijuanain accordance with the laws of the states in which they reside.

132 Committee on Drugs and the Law, “Marijuana Should be Medically Available,” Record of the Association of the
Bar of the City of New York, val. 52, no. 2 (March 1997), p. 238.

133 Brief for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society et d. as Amici Curiae Supporting Respondents at 1,2, Gonzalesv.
Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454).

34 10M Report, p. 18.

1% 21 U.S.C. §844 and 18 U.S.C. §3571. 21 U.S.C. §844 adso calls for aminimum fine of $1,000, and 21 U.S.C. §844a
permits acivil pendty of up to $10,000.

1321 U.S.C. §841(b)(1)(D).
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With its position affirmed by Raich, however, DEA continues to investigate—and sometimes raid
and shut down—medical marijuana distribution operations in California and other medical
marijuana states. DEA's position is that:

[Flederal law does not distinguish between crimes involving marijuana for claimed
“medical” purposes and crimes involving marijuana for any other purpose. DEA likewise
does not so distinguish in carrying out its duty to enforce the CSA and investigate possible
violations of the Act. Rather, consistent with the agency’ s mandate, DEA focuses on large-
scal etrafficking organizationsand other criminal enterprisesthat warrant federal scrutiny. If
investigating CSA violationsin thismanner |eadsthe agency to encounter persons engaged
in crimina activitiesinvolving marijuana, DEA does not alter its approach if such persons
claim at some point their crimes are “medically” justified. To do so would beto givelegal
effect to an excuse considered by the text of federal law and the United States Supreme
Court to be of no moment.**’

Because nearly all arrests and prosecutions for marijuana possession are handled by state and
local law enforcement officers, patients and caregivers in the medical marijuana states can, asa
practical matter, possess medical marijuana without fear of arrest and imprisonment. DEA
enforcement actions against medical marijuana dispensaries—as occurred in San Francisco
shortly after the Raich decision was announced™*—can, however, make it more difficult for
patients to obtain the drug. The situation that Grinspoon and Bakalar described in 1995 in the
Journal of the American Medical Association persists a decade later: * At present, the greatest
danger in medical use of marihuana s its illegality, which imposes much anxiety and expense on
suffering people, forces them to bargain with illicit drug dealers, and exposes them to the threat of
criminal prosecution.”**

The States Should Be Allowed to Experiment

Doctors, not the federal government, know what’s best for their patients. If a Sate
decidesto allow doctorsto recommend proven treatments for their patients, then the
federal government has no rightful place in the doctor’s office.

—Attorney Randy Barnett, 20044

Three States—California, Maryland, and Washington—filed an amici curiae brief supporting the
right of states to institute medical marijuana programs. Their brief argued, “In our federal system

States often serve as democracy’s laboratories, trying out new, or innovative solutions to society’s
il

The Raich case shows that the federal government has zero tolerance for state medical marijuana
programs. The Bush Administration appeal ed the decision of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

137 Communication from DEA Congressional Affairsto author dated September 27, 2005.

138 Stacy Finz, “19 Named in Medicina Pot Indictment, More than 9,300 Plants Were Seized in Raids,” San Francisco
Chronicle, June 24, 2005, p. B4.

19| ester Gringpoon and James B. Bakalar, “Marihuanaas Medicine: A Pleafor Reconsideration,” Journal of the
American Medical Association, val. 273, no. 23 (June 21, 1995), p. 1876.

10 Angel Wings Patient OutReach press release, November 29, 2004. Barnett represented Raich et al. in Supreme
Court ord argument on this date.

141 Brief for the States of California, Maryland, and Washington et a. as Amici Curiae Supporting Respondents at 3,
Gonzales v. Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454).
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to the Supreme Court, which reversed the Ninth Circuit and upheld the federal position against
the states. Framed as a Commerce Clause issue, the case became a battle for states’ rights against
the federal government.

The Raich case created unusual political alliances. Three southern states that are strongly opposed
to any marijuana use, medical or otherwise—Alabama, Louisiana, and Mississippi—filed an
amici curiae brief supporting California’'s medical marijuana users on the grounds of states

rights. Their brief argued

As Justice Brandeis famousdly remarked, “[i]t is one of the happy incidents of the federal
system that a single courageous State may, if its citizens choose, serve as alaboratory; and
try novel social and economic experiments without risk to the rest of the country.”**
Whether California and the other compassionate-use States are “courageous—or instead
profoundly misguided—is not the point. The point is that, as a sovereign member of the
federal union, Californiaisentitled to makefor itself the tough policy choicesthat affect its
citizens.'®

States’ rights advocates argue that authority to define criminal law and the power to make and
enforce laws protecting the health, safety, welfare, and morals reside at the state level and that a
state has theright to set these policies free of congressional interference.

For Justice O’ Connor, the Raich case exemplified “therole of States aslaboratories.” 14 ghe
wrate in her dissenting opinion:

If | were a California citizen, 1 would not have voted for the medical marijuana ballot
initiative; if | wereaCadifornialegidator | would not have supported the Compassionate Use
Act. But whatever the wisdom of California’s experiment with medical marijuana, the
federalism principles that have driven our Commerce Clause cases require that room for
experiment be protected in this case.'*

Medical Marijuana Laws Harm the Drug Approval Process

The current effortsto gain legal status of marijuana through ballot initiatives seriously
threaten the Food and Drug Administration statutorily authorized process of proving
safety and efficacy.

—Brief of the Drug Free America Foundation, et al., 2004

Although the individual states regulate the practice of medicine, the federal government has taken
primary responsibility for the regulation of medical products, especially those containing
controlled substances. Pharmaceutical drugs must be approved for use in the United States by the
Food and Drug Administration, an agency of the Department of Health and Human Services. The
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetics Act gives HHS and FDA the responsibility for determining

42 New Sate Ice Co. v. Ligbmann, 285 U.S. 262, 311 (1932) (Brandeis, J., dissenting).

43 Brief for the States of Alabama, Louisiana, and Mississippi et al. as Amici Curiae Supporting Respondents at 3,
Gonzales v. Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454).

1% Gonzales v. Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195, 2220 (2005) (O’ Connor, J., dissenting).
¥5 |bid. at 2229.

146 Brief for the Drug Free America Foundation, Inc. et al. as Amici Curiae Supporting Petitioners at 12, Gonzales v.
Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454).
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that drugs are safe and effective, arequirement that all medicines must meet before they can enter
interstate commerce and be made available for general medical use."” Clinical evaluation is
required regardless of whether the drug is synthetically produced or originates from a natural
botanical or animal source.

Opponents of medical marijuana say that the FDA's drug approval process should not be
circumvented. To permit states to decide which medical products can be made available for
therapeutic use, they say, would undercut this regulatory system. State medical marijuana
initiatives are seen as inconsistent with the federal government’s responsibility to protect the
public from unsafe, ineffective drugs.

The Bush Administration argued in its brief in the Raich case that “ excepting drug activity for
personal use or free distribution from the sweep of [federal drug laws] would discourage the
consumption of lawful controlled substances and would undermine Congress's intent to regulate
the drug market comprehensively to protect public health and safety.”**

Three prominent drug abuse experts argued in their amici brief:

This action by the state of California did not create a “novel social and economic
experiment,” but rather chaosin the scientific and medical communities. Furthermore, under
Court of Appeals ruling, such informa State systems could be replicated, and even
expanded, in amanner that puts at risk the critical protectionsso carefully crafted under the
national food and drug legislation of the 20" century.**°

The Food and Drug Administration itself has stated that

FDA is the sole Federal agency that approves drug products as safe and effective for
intended indications.... FDA’sdrug approval process requireswell-controlled clinical trials
that provide the necessary scientific data upon which FDA makesits approval and labeling
decisions.... Effortsthat seek to bypassthe FDA drug approval process would not servethe
interests of public health because they might expose patients to unsafe and ineffective drug
products. FDA has not approved smoked marijuana for any condition or disease
indication.™

The Drug Free America Raich brief eaborates further (pp. 12-13):

Theballot initiative-led |aws create an atmosphere of medicine by popular vote, rather than
the rigorous scientific and medical process that all medicines must undergo. Before the
development of modern pharmaceutical science, the field of medicine was fraught with
potions and herbal remedies. Many of those were absolutely useless, or conversely were
harmful to unsuspecting subjects. Thus evolved our current Food and Drug Administration
and drug scheduling processes, which Congress has authorized in order to create auniform
and reliable system of drug approval and regulation. This system is being intentionally
undermined by the legalization proponents through use of medical marijuana initiatives.

1721 U.S.C. §351-360
148 Brief for Petitionersat 11, Gonzalesv. Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195 (2002) (No. 03-1454).

149 Brief for Robert L. DuPont, M.D. et d. as Amici Curiae Supporting Petitioners at 19, Gonzalesv. Raich, 125 S.Ct.
2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454).

%0 .S, Food and Drug Administration, “ Inter-Agency Advisory Regarding Claims That Smoked Marijuanals a
Medicine” pressrelease, April 20, 2006, p. 1.
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The organizers of the medical marijuana state initiatives deny that it was their intent to undermine
the federal drug approval process. Rather, in their view, it became necessary for them to bypass
the FDA and go to the states because of the federal government’s resistance to marijuana research
reguests and rescheduling petitions.

Asfor the charge that politics should not play arolein the drug approval and controlled substance
scheduling processes, medical marijuana supporters point out that marijuana’s original listing as a
Schedule | substance in 1970 was itself a palitical act on the part of Congress.

Scientists on both sides of the issue say more research needs to be done, yet some researchers
charge that the federal government has all but shut down marijuana clinical trials for reasons
based on politics and ideology rather than science.™

In any case, asthe IOM Report pointed out, “although a drug is normally approved for medical
use only on proof of its ‘safety and efficacy,” patients with life-threatening conditions are
sometimes (under protocols for * compassionate use') allowed access to unapproved drugs whose
benefits and risks are uncertain.” *** This was the case with the FDA’s IND Compassionate Access
Program under which alimited number of patients are provided government-grown medical
marijuanato treat their serious medical conditions.

Some observers believe the pharmaceutical industry and some politicians oppose medical
marijuanato protect pharmaceutical industry profits. Because the whole marijuana plant cannot
be patented, research efforts must be focused on the development of synthetic cannabinoids such
asMarinol. But even if additional cannabinoid drugs are developed and marketed, some believe
that doctors and patients should still not be criminalized for recommending and using the natural
substance.

The New England Journal of Medicine has editorialized that

[A] federal policy that prohibits physicians from alleviating suffering by prescribing
marijuanafor serioudly ill patientsis misguided, heavy-handed, and inhumane. Marijuana
may have long-term adverse effects and its use may presage serious addictions, but neither
long-term side effectsnor addiction isarelevant issuein such patients. It isal so hypocritica
to forbid physicians to prescribe marijuana while permitting them to use morphine and
meperidine to relieve extreme dyspnea and pain. With both of these drugs the difference
between the dose that relieves symptoms and the dose that hastens death is very narrow; by
contrast, there is no risk of death from smoking marijuana. To demand evidence of
therapeutic efficacy is equally hypocritical. Thenoxious sensationsthat patients experience
are extremely difficult to quantify in controlled experiments. What really counts for a
therapy with thiskind of safety margin iswhether aserioudy ill patient feelsrelief asaresult
of theintervention, not whether a controlled trial “proves’ its efficacy.™

Some observers suggest that until the federal government relents and becomes more hospitable to
marijuana research proposals and more willing to consider moving marijuana to a less restrictive
schedule, the medical marijuana issue will continue to be fought at state and local levels of
governance. As one patient advocate has stated, “ As the months tick away, it will become more

151 Seg, for example, Lila Guterman, “The Dope on Medical Marijuana,” Chronicle of Higher Education, June 2, 2000,
p. A21.

52 10M Report, p. 14.
153 « Federal Foolishness and Marijuana,” New England Journal of Medicine, vol. 336, no. 5 (January 30, 1997), p. 366.
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and more obvious that we need to continue changing state laws until the federal government has
no choice but to change its inhumane medicinal marijuana laws.”*>

The Medical Marijuana Movement Is Politically Inspired

Advocates have tried to legalize marijuana in one form or another for three decades, and
the “ medical marijuana” concept is a Trojan Horse tactic towards the goal of
legalization.

—Brief of the Drug Free America Foundation, et al., 2004

Medical marijuana opponents see the movement to promote the use of medical marijuana asa
cynical attempt to subvert the Controlled Substances Act and legalize the recreational use of
marijuanafor all. They see it asadevious tactic in the more than 30-year effort by marijuana
proponents to bring an end to marijuana prohibition in the United States and elsewhere.

They point out that between 1972 and 1978, the National Organization for the Reform of
Marijuana Laws (NORML) successfully lobbied 11 state |egislatures to decriminalize the drug,
reducing penalties for possession in most cases to that of atraffic ticket. Also, in 1972, NORML
began the first of several unsuccessful attempts to petition DEA to reschedule marijuana from
Schedule | to Schedule |l on the grounds that crude marijuana had use in medicine.™®

Later, beginning with Californiain 1996, “drug legalizers’ pushed successfully for passage of
medical marijuana voter initiatives in several states, prompting then-Drug Czar Barry McCaffrey,
writing in Newsweek, to warn that “We're on a Perilous Path.” “1 think it's clear,” he wrote, “that
alot of the people arguing for the California proposition and others like it are pushing the
legalization of drugs, plain and simple.” >’

Isit cynical or smart for NORML and other drug reform organizations to simultaneously pursue
the separate goals of marijuana decriminalization for all, on the one hand, and marijuana
rescheduling for the seriously ill, on the other? It is not unusual for political activiststactically to
press for—and accept—half-measures in pursuit of a larger strategic goal. Pro-life activists work
to prohibit partial-birth abortions and to pass parental notification laws. Gay rights activists seek
limited domestic partner benefits as a stepping stone to full marriage equality. Thusis the tactic
used on both sides of the cultural dividein America, to the alarm of those opposed.

It is certainly true that the medical cannabis movement is an offshoot of the marijuana
legalization movement. Many individuals and organizations that support medical marijuana aso
support a broader program of drug law reform. It is also true, however, that many health

134 Chuck Thomas, quoted in “National Drug War Leaders Disregard Sciencein Medicinal Marijuana Debate,”
Marijuana Policy Project press release dated April 20, 1999, available a http://www.mpp.org/news/press-rel eases/
nati onal -drug-war-l eaders-di sregard-sci ence-i n-medi ci nal -marijua.html.

1% Brief for the Drug Free America Foundation, Inc. et al. as Amici Curiae Supporting Petitioners a 9, Gonzalesv.
Raich, 125 S.Ct. 2195 (2005) (No. 03-1454).

1% For example, the amici curiae brief of the Drug Free America Foundation et al. reveals this history to discredit the
medical marijuana movement (pp. 9-11). Actually, NORML and some other drug reform organizations are openin
acknowl edging that they support patient access to marijuana as a first step toward decriminalizing or legalizing
marijuanafor use by adultsin genera. See, for example, Joab Jackson, “Medical Marijuana: From the Fringe to the
Forefront,” Baltimore City Paper, March 28, 2002, available at http://www.alternet.org/drugreporter/12714.

%7 Barry R. McCaffrey, “We' re on a Perilous Path,” Newsweek, February 3, 1997, p. 27.
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professionals and other individuals who advocate medical access to marijuana do not support any
other changesin U.S. drug contral policy. In the same way, not everyonein favor of parental
notification laws supports banning abortions for everyone. And not every supporter of domestic
partner benefits believes in same-sex marriage.

In these hot-button issues, ideology and emotion often rule. Marijuana usersin general, and
medical marijuana users in particular, are demonized by some elements of American society. The
ideology of the* Drug Warriors’ intrudes on the science of medical marijuana, as pointed out by
Grinspoon and Bakalar in the Journal of the American Medical Association:

Advocates of medical use of marihuana are sometimes charged with usng medicine as a
wedge to open away for “recreational” use. The accusation isfalse as applied to itstarget,
but expressesin adigtorted form atruth about some opponents of medical marihuana: they
will not admit that it can be a safe and effective medicinelargely becausethey arestubbornly
committed to exaggerating its dangers when used for nonmedical purposes.*®

The authors of the IOM Report were aware of the possibility that larger ideological positions
could influence one's stand on the specific issue of patient access to medical marijuana when they
wrote that

[t isnot relevant to scientific validity whether an argument is put forth by someone who
believes that all marijuana use should be legal or by someone who believes that any
marijuana useis highly damaging to individual users and to society as awhole. (p. 14)

In other words, it is widely believed that science should rule when it comes to medical issues.
Both sides in the medical marijuana debate claim adherence to this principle. The House
Government Reform Committee's April 2004 hearing on medical marijuana was titled
“Marijuana and Medicine: The Need for a Science-Based Approach.” And medical marijuana
advocates plead with the federal government to permit scientific research on medical marijuana to
proceed.

Rescheduling marijuana and making it available for medical use and research is not necessarily a
step toward legalizing its recreational use. Such a move would put it on a par with cocaine,
methamphetamine, morphine, and methadone, all of which are Schedule 1 substances that are not
close to becoming legal for recreational use. Proponents of medical marijuana ask why marijuana
should be considered differently than these other schedul ed substances.

It is also arguable that marijuana should indeed be considered differently than cocaine,
methamphetamine, morphine, and methadone. Scientists note that marijuanais less harmful and
less addictive than these Schedule |1 substances. Acceptance of medical marijuana could in fact
pave the way for its more generalized use. Ethan Nadelmann, head of the Drug Policy Alliance,
has observed, “ As medical marijuana becomes more regulated and institutionalized in the West,
that may provide a model for how we ultimately make marijuana legal for all adults.”**® Medical
marijuana opponents have trumpeted his candor as proof of the hypaocrisy of those on the other
side of theissue. Others note, however, that his comment may be less hypocritical than astute.

198 |_ester Gri nspoon and James B. Bakalar, “Marihuana as Medicine: A Pleafor Reconsideration,” Journal of the
American Medical Association, val. 273, no. 23 (June 21, 1995), p. 1876.

% Quoted in MSNBC.com story, “Western States Back Medical Marijuana,” November 4, 2004, available at
http://msnbc.msn.com/id/6406453.
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Government Accountability Office Report

A review of early experiences in four states (Alaska, California, Hawaii, and Oregon) with
medical marijuana laws, released November 2002.
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@GAO

Accountablllty * Integrity * Reliability

United States General Accounting Office

Washington, DC 20548

November 1, 2002

The Honorable Mark Souder

Chairman, Subcommittee on Criminal Justice,
Drug Policy and Human Resources

Committee on Government Reform

House of Representatives

Dear Mr. Chairman:

A number of states have adopted laws that allow medical use of marijuana.
Federal law, however, does not recognize any accepted medical use for
marijuana and individuals remain subject to federal prosecution for
marijuana possession. Debate continues over the medical effectiveness of
marijuana, and over government policies surrounding medical use. A bill
introduced in the House of Representatives in July 2001 would modify the
federal classification of marijuana and allow doctors, in states with
medical marijuana laws, to recommend or prescribe marijuana.' As the
debate continues, so has interest in how state medical marijuana programs
are operating, and in the issues faced by federal and state law enforcement
officials in enforcing criminal marijuana provisions.*

This report responds to your request that we examine the implementation
of medical marijuana laws in selected states. We did not examine the
effectiveness of states’ or local jurisdictions efforts to administer their
programs and did not judge the validity of their approaches for
implementing states’ laws. As agreed with your staff, we selected Oregon,
Alaska, Hawaii, and California because they had medical marijuana laws in
effect for at least 6 months and, according to our preliminary work, some

'States’ Rights to Medical Marijuana Act, H.R. 2592, 107" Cong. (2001). Status as of August
5, 2002: Referred to House Energy and Commerce, Subcommittee on Health on July 31,
2001.

2Throughout this report, we use the phrase medical marijuana to describe marijuana use
that qualifies for a medical use exception under state law.
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data was available on patient and physician participation.’ For these
states, we are reporting on (1) their approach to implementing their
medical marijuana laws and how these approaches compare, and the
results of any state audits or reviews; (2) the number, age, gender, and
medical conditions of patients that have had doctors recommend
marijuana for medical use in each state; (3) how many doctors are known
to have recommended marijuana in each state, and what guidance is
available for making these recommendations; and (4) the perceptions of
federal and state law enforcement officials, and whether data are available
to show how the enforcement of state marijuana laws has been affected by
the introduction of these states’ medical marijuana laws.

In conducting our work, we examined applicable federal and state laws
and regulations and spoke with responsible program officials in Oregon,
Alaska, Hawaii, and California. In the four states, we obtained and
analyzed available information on program implementation, program
audits, and program participation by patients and doctors. We also met
with various federal, state, and local law enforcement officials—including
officials with the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and U.S.
Attorneys offices in Washington, D.C., and the four selected states—to
discuss data on arrests and prosecutions and views on the impact of the
state’s medical marijuana laws on their law enforcement efforts.

Results from our review of these states cannot be generalized to other
states with state medical marijuana laws, nor are they generalizable across
the states selected for review. Similarly, in California, the information
from the local jurisdictions we reviewed cannot be generalized to all local
jurisdictions in California. We conducted our review between September
2001 and June 2002 in accordance with generally accepted government
auditing standards. (Appendix I describes our scope and methodology in
greater detail.)

3According to United States v. Oakland Cannabis Buyers’ Cooperative, 532 U.S. 483,

502 n.4 (2001), eight states have enacted medical marijuana laws. We selected four of those
states based on the length of time the laws had been in place and the availability of data.
Two of the eight states, Nevada and Colorado, were not selected because their laws had
not been in place for at least 6 months when our review began. Also, at the time of our
review, two other states, Maine and Washington, did not have state registries to obtain
information on program registrants. Alaska, Oregon, and Hawaii have state registries and
had laws in place for at least 6 months. California’s law was enacted in1996. California does
not have a participant registry, but based on our preliminary work, some local registry
information was available.
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Results in Brief

State laws in Oregon, Alaska, Hawaii, and California allow medical use of
marijuana under specified conditions. All four states require a patient to
have a physician's recommendation to be eligible for medical marijuana
use. Alaska, Hawaii, and Oregon have established state-run registries for
patients and caregivers to document their eligibility to engage in medical
marijuana use; these states require physician documentation of a person’s
debilitating condition to register. Laws in these three states also establish
maximum allowable amounts of marijuana for medical purposes.
California's law does not establish a state-run registry or establish
maximum allowable amounts of marijuana. Some local California
jurisdictions have developed their own guidelines and voluntary registries.
Oregon has changed some verification practices and administrative
procedures as a result of a review of their medical marijuana program.

Relatively few people had registered to use marijuana for medical
purposes in Oregon, Hawaii, and Alaska. As of Spring 2002, about

2,450 people, or about 0.05 percent of the total population of the three
states combined, had registered as medical marijuana users. Statewide
figures for California are unknown. In Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii, over
70 percent of registrants were over 40 years of age or older, and in Hawaii
and Oregon, the two states where gender information is collected, about
70 percent of registrants were men. Data from Hawaii and Oregon also
showed that about 75 percent and more than 80 percent respectively, of
the physician recommendations were for severe pain and conditions
associated with muscle spasms, such as multiple sclerosis. Statewide
figures on gender and medical conditions were not available for Alaska or
California.

Hawaii and Oregon were the only two states that had data on the number
of physicians recommending marijuana. As of February 2002, less than one
percent of the approximately 5,700 physicians in Hawaii and three percent
of Oregon’s physicians out of about 12,900 had recommended marijuana to
their patients. Oregon also was the only state that maintained data on the
number of times individual physicians recommended marijuana—as of
February 2002, about 62 percent of the Oregon physicians recommending
marijuana made one recommendation. Professional medical associations
in all four states provided some guidance to physicians. The associations
caution physicians about the legal issues facing them, or give advice on
practices to follow and avoid. Most state medical board officials said they
would only become involved with physicians recommending marijuana in
cases where a complaint was filed against a physician for violating state
medical practice standards. California’s medical board provides informal
guidelines on making marijuana recommendations to their patients.
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Data were not readily available to measure how marijuana-related law
enforcement has been affected by the introduction of medical marijuana
laws. To assess the relationship between trends in marijuana-related law
enforcement activities and the passage of medical marijuana laws would
require a statistical analysis over time that included measures of law
enforcement activities, such as arrests, as well as data on other factors
that are not easily measured, such as changes in perceptions about
marijuana and shifts in law enforcement priorities. Officials from over half
of the 37 selected federal, state, and local law enforcement organizations
we interviewed in the four states said that the introduction of medical
marijuana laws had not greatly affected their law enforcement activities.
These officials indicated that they had not encountered situations
involving a medical marijuana defense or they had other drug priorities.
However, officials with some of the organizations told us that the laws in
their states had made it more difficult to prosecute marijuana cases where
medical use might be claimed; there was confusion over how to handle
seized marijuana; and that, in their view, the laws had softened public
attitudes toward marijuana.

In commenting on a draft of this report, the Department of Justice (DOJ)
said that we fully described the current status of the programs in the states
reviewed. However, DOJ stated that we failed to adequately address some
of the serious difficulties associated with such programs. Specifically, DOJ
commented that the report did not adequately address issues related to the
(1) inherent conflict between state laws permitting the use of marijuana
and federal laws that do not; (2) potential for facilitating illegal trafficking;
(3) impact of such laws on cooperation among federal, state, and local law
enforcement; and (4) lack of data on the medicinal value of marijuana.
DOJ further stated that our use of the phrase “medical marijuana”
implicitly accepts a premise that is contrary to existing federal law.

We disagree. We believe the report adequately addresses the issues within
the scope of our review. With respect to DOJ’s first issue, our report
describes how laws in the selected states and federal law treat the use of
marijuana—the opening paragraph of our report specifically states that
federal law does not recognize any accepted medical use of marijuana and
individuals remain subject to federal prosecution for marijuana possession
regardless of state medical marijuana laws. With regard to the second and
third issues raised by DOJ concerning the potential for facilitating illegal
trafficking and the impact on cooperation between federal, state, and local
law enforcement officials, respectively, we interviewed federal, state, and
local law enforcement officials about their perceptions concerning the
impact of state medical marijuana laws on their activities and our report
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Background

conveys the views and opinions of those officials. However, based on
comments from law enforcement officials on a draft section of this report,
we modified our report to discuss some of the issues law enforcement
faces when dealing with medical marijuana laws and seized marijuana.
Concerning the fourth issue—the lack of data on marijuana’s medical
value--our report discusses that a continuing debate exists over the
medical value of marijuana, but an analysis of the scientific aspects of this
debate was beyond the scope of our review.

Finally, we disagree with DOJ’s comment that our use of the phrase
medical marijuana accepts a premise contrary to federal law. The
introduction to our report specifically states that, throughout the report,
we use the phrase medical marijuana to describe marijuana use that
qualifies for a medical use exception under state law. Our detailed
response to DOJ’s comments is provided on pages 35 to 38 and we have
reprinted a copy of DOJ’s comments in appendix V.

The cannabis plant, commonly known as marijuana, is the most widely
used illicit drug in the United States. According to recent national survey
figures, over 75 percent of the 14 million illicit drug users 12 years or older
are estimated to have used marijuana alone or with other drugs in the
month prior to the survey.' Marijuana can be consumed in food or drinks,
but most commonly dried portions of the leaves and flowers are smoked.
Marijuana is widely used and the only major drug of abuse grown within
the United States borders, according to the Drug Enforcement
Administration.

Marijuana is a controlled substance under federal law and is classified in
the most restrictive of categories of drugs by the federal government. The
federal Controlled Substances Act of 1970 (CSA)’ places all federally
controlled substances into one of five “schedules,” depending on the
drug’s likelihood for abuse or dependence, and whether the drug has an
accepted medical use.’ Marijuana is classified under Schedule I, the
classification reserved for drugs that have been found by the federal

*U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Services Administration (SAMHSA), National Household Survey on Drug Abuse 2000.
Hashish is included by SAMHSA in the statistic for marijuana use.

’21 U.S.C. §§ 801 to 971.
57d. § 812(a), (b).
Td. § 812(¢), Schedule I (¢)(10).
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government to have a high abuse potential, a lack of accepted safety under
medical supervision, and no currently accepted medical use.® In contrast,
the other schedules are for drugs of varying addictive properties, but
found by the federal government to have a currently accepted medical
use.” The CSA does not allow Schedule I drugs to be dispensed upon a
prescription, unlike drugs in the other schedules.” In particular, the CSA
provides federal sanctions for possession, manufacture, distribution or
dispensing of Schedule I substances, including marijuana, except in the
context of a government-approved research project."

The potential medical value of marijuana has been a continuing debate.
For example, beginning in 1978, the federal government allowed the first
patient to use marijuana as medicine under the “Single Patient
Investigational New Drug” procedure, which allows treatment for
individual patients using drugs that have not been approved by the Food
and Drug Administration. An additional 12 patients were approved under
the procedure between 1978 and 1992. When the volume of applicants
tripled, the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services
(HHS) decided not to supply marijuana to any more patients. According to
Kuromiya v. United States, HHS concluded that the use of the single
patient Investigational New Drug procedure would not yield useful data to
resolve the remaining safety and effectiveness issues."”

®Schedule I includes drugs such as heroin, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD) and other
hallucinogenic substances. 21 C.F.R. 1308.11(c), (d).

°Id. § 812(0)(2)-(5).

7d. § 829. DEA rejected petitions in 1992 and 2001 to reschedule marijuana to schedule II.
See Notice of Denial of Petition, 66 Fed. Reg. 20038 (2001); Marijuana Scheduling Petition;

Denial of Petition; Remand, 57 Fed. Reg. 10499 (1992) (final order affirming the 1989 denial
after remand); Marijuana Scheduling Petition; Denial of Petition, 54 Fed. Reg. 53767 (1989).

U1d. § 823(f), 841(a)(1), 844.

2Gee 78 F. Supp. 2d 367 (E.D.Pa.1999). In the Kuromiya case, a group of approximately
160 plaintiffs raised an equal protection challenge to the administration of the “Single
Patient Investigational New Drug” program. The plaintiffs contended that they were
similarly situated to patients currently receiving marijuana under the program and that the
government acted unconstitutionally in denying them access to the same program. The
court concluded that the government had a rational basis for its decision not to supply
marijuana to the plaintiffs through this program and granted the government's motion for
summary judgment.
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In 1999, an Institute of Medicine study” commissioned by the White House
Office of National Drug Control Policy recognized both a potential
therapeutic value and potential harmful effects, particularly the harmful
effects from smoked marijuana. The study called for more research on the
physiological and psychological effects of marijuana and on better delivery
systems. A 2001 report by the American Medical Association’s Council on
Scientific Affairs also summarized the medical and scientific research in
this area, similarly calling for more research."

In May 1999, HHS released procedures allowing researchers not funded by
the National Institute of Health to obtain research-grade marijuana for
approved clinical studies. Sixteen proposals have been submitted for
research under these procedures, and seven of the proposals had been
approved as of May 2002.

Some states have passed laws that create a medical use exception to
otherwise applicable state marijuana sanctions. California was the first
state to pass such a law in 1996 when California voters passed a ballot
initiative, Proposition 215 (The Compassionate Use Act of 1996) that
removed certain state criminal penalties for the medical use of marijuana.”
Since then, voters in Oregon, Alaska, Colorado, Maine, Washington and
Nevada have passed medical marijuana initiatives, and Hawaii has enacted
a medical marijuana measure through its legislature. While state criminal
penalties do not apply to medical marijuana users defined by the state’s
statute, federal penalties remain, as determined by the Supreme Court in
United States v. Oakland Cannabis Buyers’ Cooperative." (Appendix II
provides more information on the Supreme Court’s decision.)

In California, Alaska, and Oregon, where voters passed medical marijuana
laws through ballot initiatives, each state provided an official ballot
pamphlet, which included the text of the proposed law and arguments

National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine, “Marijuana and Medicine: Assessing
the Science Base.” 1999.

“American Medical Association, Council on Scientific Affairs Report: Medical Marijuana
(A-01), June, 2001.

"The medical use exception in the states we reviewed allows growing or possessing
marijuana for the purpose of the patient’s personal medical use, and does not extend to
other state marijuana prohibitions such as distribution outside the patient-caregiver
relationship or any sale of marijuana.

19532 U.S. 483 (2001).
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Implementation in
Oregon, Alaska,
Hawaii, and California

from proponents and opponents. Opponents of the initiatives referred to
federal marijuana prohibitions, legal marijuana alternatives, and evidence
of the dangers of smoked marijuana. Proponents referred to supportive
studies and positive statements from medical personnel. In Hawaii, where
the state legislature enacted the medical marijuana measure, law
enforcement officials, advocacy groups, and medical professionals made
similar arguments for or against the proposed law during the legislative
process.

Oregon, Alaska, Hawaii, and California laws allow medical use of
marijuana under certain conditions. ' All four states require a patient to
have a physician’s recommendation to be eligible for medical marijuana.
Consistent with their laws, Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii also have
designated a state agency to administer patient registries—which
document a patient’s eligibility to use medical marijuana based on the
written certification of a licensed physician—and issue cards to identify
certified registrants. Also, laws in Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii establish
limits on the amounts of marijuana a patient is allowed to possess for
medical purposes. California does not provide for state implementation of
its law. In particular, California has not delegated authority to a state
agency or established a statewide patient registry. In addition, California
law does not prescribe a specific amount of marijuana that can be
possessed for medical purposes. In the absence of specific statutory
language, some local California jurisdictions have established their own
registries, physician certification requirements, and guidelines for
allowable marijuana amounts for medical purposes. Only Oregon has
reviewed its medical marijuana program, and as a result of that review, has
changed some of its procedures and practices, including verifying all
doctor recommendations.

States and Some Local
California Jurisdictions
Maintain Medical
Marijuana Registries

To document their eligibility to engage in medical marijuana use,
applicants in Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii must register with state agencies
charged with implementing provisions of the medical marijuana laws in
those states (hereinafter referred to as registry states). In Oregon, the
Department of Human Services is responsible, and in Alaska, the

""The states’ medical marijuana laws appear at Alaska Stat. Ann. 11.71.090, 17.37.010 to
17.37.080; Cal. Health & Safety Code Ann. 11362.5; Haw. Rev. Stat. 329-121 to 329-128; and
Ore. Rev. Stat. 475.300 to 475.346. Alaska’s Hawaii’s and Oregon’s administrative
regulations appear at Alaska Admin. Code, tit. 7, ch. 34; Haw. Admin. R., tit. 23, ch. 202; and
Ore. Admin. R., ch. 333, div. 8. There are no regulations under California’s law.
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Department of Health and Social Services. In Hawaii, the Narcotics
Enforcement Division within the Department of Public Safety is
responsible for the state’s medical marijuana registry. Applicants meeting
state requirements are entered into a registry maintained by each state. In
California, a number of counties have established voluntary registries to
certify eligibility under the state’ s medical marijuana law."

The three registry states, Oregon, Alaska and Hawaii, have similar registry
requirements. Potential registrants must supply written documentation by
a physician licensed in that state certifying that the person suffers from a
debilitating medical condition (as defined by the state statute) and in the
physician’s opinion would benefit from the use of marijuana. They also
must provide information on the name, address, and birth date of the
applicant (and of their caregiver, where one is specified) along with
identification to verify the personal information. In each state, registry
agencies must verify the information in the application based on
procedures set in that state’s statutes or regulations before issuing the
applicant a medical marijuana identification card. All three states allow
law enforcement officers to rely upon registry applications in lieu of
registry cards to determine whether a medical use exception applies.
Figure 1 provides an example of the registry card issued by Oregon.
(Appendix III provides examples of registry cards from Alaska and
Hawaii.)

®Under Alaska’s and Hawaii’s statutes, patients and caregivers must strictly comply with
the registration requirement in order to receive legal protection; unregistered persons may
not present a medical use defense to a marijuana prosecution in these states. See Alaska
Stat. Ann. 11.71.090; Haw. Rev. Stat. 329-125. Under Oregon’s statute, unregistered patients
who have substantially complied with the act may raise such a defense to a marijuana
prosecution, while registered persons are excepted from criminal charges, so long as they
meet the act’s quantity and use restrictions. See Ore. Rev. Stat. 475.306, 475.316, 475.319,
475.342. Because California’s law does not establish a state-run registry, a medical use
defense may be established by any individual meeting the act’s substantive requirements,
that is, patients whose doctors have recommended marijuana to treat an allowed medical
condition and their primary caregivers. See Cal. Health & Safety Code Ann. 11362.5; see also
People v. Mower, No. S094490, 2002 Cal. Lexis 4520 (July 18, 2002), in which the California
Supreme Court interprets California’s medical marijuana act.
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Figure 1: Example of Oregon’s Medical Marijuana Registry Card

Oregon Health Division : Oregon Health Division 503-731-8310
Medical Marijuana Program Medical Marijuana Program
Caregiver Information: DOB:../08/01/1950

JOHN P SMITH
222 GARDEN WAY'
PORTLAND, OR. 97222

Source: Oregon Department of Human Services.

Hawaii’s Department of Public Safety requires that doctors submit the
completed registry application to the state agency, and if approved, the
medical use certification is returned to the doctor for issuance to their
patient. By contrast, registry agencies in Oregon and Alaska require that
the registry card applicant submit the physician statement as part of the
application, and issue the card directly to the patient. Alaska allows
registry cards to be revoked if the registrant commits an offense involving
a controlled substance of any type, whereas Oregon and Hawaii allow
registry cards to be revoked only for marijuana-related offenses, such as
sale. Table 1 summarizes registry requirements and verification
procedures of the responsible agencies in each registry state as of July
2002.

Page 10 GAO-03-189 State Medical Marijuana Laws



|
Table 1: Registry Requirements and Verification Procedures in Oregon, Alaska and Hawaii, as of July 2002

Registry requirements Oregon Alaska Hawaii
Completed application form x* (submitted by ~ x (submitted by X (submitted by
applicant) applicant) physician)
Written physician documentation x " X ° x ¢
Applicant name, address and date of birth. Must include a copy of a X X X
current photographic identification card, such as license, or ID card
number
Primary caregiver name, address and date of birth. Must include a copy X X X
of a current photographic identification card, such as license, or ID card
number
Sworn caregiver statement on department form regarding lack of felony X
drug conviction, not on probation or parole, and over 21
Address of site where marijuana will be produced X X
Annual renewal for registry card X X X
Minors: parents declaration form and agreement to serve as minor’s x (must be X X
caregiver notarized)
Registration fee $150 $25 first time $25
$20 renewal

Registry Verification Procedures

Doctor has a valid license in state

Verification call or letter sent to doctor re: recommendation
Patient contacted to validate application information
Caregiver contacted to validate application information
Registry checked to assure caregiver only serves one patient

©

©
©
©

X X | X | X
X [ X | X | X

XX X | X | X

°A legible written statement with all the form information included will be accepted.

*Attending physician completes a state declaration form that the person has been diagnosed with a
debilitating medical condition and that the medical use of marijuana may mitigate the symptoms or
effects of the patient’s condition, or applicant provides medical records of debilitating condition signed
by physician that contains all information required on physician form.

‘Signed physician statement that the patient was examined within bona fide relationship and is
diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition, other medications were considered and that patient
might benefit from marijuana.

‘Signed statement that in the physician’s opinion, the qualifying patient has a debilitating medical
condition and the potential benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health
risks for the qualifying patient, OR medical records with same information.

*Agency officials verify when they believe it is appropriate.

Source: Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii medical marijuana state statutes, administrative rules and
program officials.

California’s statute does not establish a state registry or require that a
person or caregiver be registered to qualify for a medical use exception.
California’s law requires that medical use has been recommended by a
physician who has determined that the person’s health would benefit from
the use of marijuana for certain symptoms or conditions. The exception
applies based “upon the written or oral recommendation or approval of a
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physician.” After the medical marijuana law was passed, the California
Attorney General assembled a task force to discuss implementation issues
in light of the “ambiguities and significant omissions in the language of the
initiative.” The task force recommended a statewide registry be created
and administered by the Department of Health Services, among other
things, to clarify California’s law." However, a bill incorporating many of
the ideas agreed upon by the task force was not enacted by the California
legislature.”

Some California communities have created voluntary local registries to
provide medical marijuana users with registry cards to document that the
cardholder has met certain medical use requirements. Figure 2 provides
examples of patient and caregiver registry cards issued by San Francisco’s
Department of Public Health. (See the following section for a discussion of
caregivers.)

YOffice of the Attorney General, State of California, Department of Justice, Medical
Marijuana Task Force (July 12, 1999). Other recommendations included requiring that the
patient’s personal physician make the marijuana recommendation, and allowing
cooperative marijuana cultivation.

*California Senate Bill 187, 2001-2002 Reg. Sess. The bill was introduced by California
Senator Vasconcellos on February 7, 2001.
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Figure 2: Example of San Francisco’s Medical Marijuana Registry Cards

/ PEOLA \

7 :!,._,- City and County of San Francisco
2 Department of Public Health

Medical Cannabis Voluntary
Identification Card Program

PATIENT

Card No: sam ple

Issue Date:

Expires:

AN

:ur City and County of San Francisco
2o T, Department of Public Health

Medical Cannabis Voluntary
Identification Card Program

CAREGIVER

Card No: sample

Issue Date:

Expires:

_/

Source: San Francisco Department of Public Health.

According to a September 2000 letter by the California Attorney General,
medical marijuana policies have been created in some counties. Local
registries have been created in Humboldt, Mendocino, San Francisco, and
Sonoma counties. A medical marijuana registry in the city of Arcata,
located in Humboldt County, was discontinued, however, the Arcata
police department accepts registry cards from Humboldt County. A more
recent list of medical marijuana registries operated by a county or city was
not available, an official with the Attorney General’s office said, because
there is no requirement for counties or cities to report on provisions they
adopt regarding medical use of marijuana. At least two counties have since
approved development of county medical marijuana registries, in San
Diego in November 2001, and in Del Norte, in April 2002. Several cannabis
buyers’ clubs, or cannabis cooperatives may have also established
voluntary registries of their members.
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(Appendix III provides additional discussion on state registry procedures
in Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii, procedures in selected California county
registries, and examples of registry cards.)

Medical Marijuana Patient
Primary Caregivers

Laws in Oregon, Alaska, Hawaii, and California allow medical marijuana
users to designate a primary caregiver. To qualify as a caregiver in the
registry states, persons must be part of the state registry and be issued
medical marijuana cards. Registered caregivers may assist registrants in
their medical use of marijuana without violating state criminal laws for
possession or cultivation of marijuana, within the allowed medical use
amounts. Alaska allows registrants to designate a primary and alternate
caregiver. Both must submit a sworn statement that they are at least

21 years old, have not been convicted of a felony drug offense, and are not
currently on probation or parole. In Hawaii and Alaska, caregivers can
serve only one patient at a time. Alaska, however, allows exceptions for
patients related to the caregiver by blood or marriage, or with agency
approval, such as circumstances where a patient resides in a licensed
hospice program. Oregon does not specify a limit to the number of
patients one caregiver may serve. Table 2 provides information on
definitions and caregiver provisions in Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii.
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Table 2: Definition and Provisions Regarding Caregivers in Oregon, Alaska and Hawaii

Oregon

Alaska

Hawaii

Definition of Caregiver

“Designated primary caregiver”
means an individual eighteen years
of age or older who has significant
responsibility for managing the well-
being of a person who has been
diagnosed with a debilitating
medical condition and who is
designated as such on that person’s
application for a registry
identification card or in other written
notification to the division.
Designated primary caregiver does
not include the person’s attending
physician.

“Primary caregiver” means a
person listed as a primary
caregiver (in the state medical
use registry) and in physical
possession of a caregiver
registry identification card:
“primary caregiver” also
includes an alternate caregiver
when the alternate caregiver is
in physical possession of the
caregiver registry identification
card. “Alternate caregiver”
means a person who is listed
as an alternate caregiver (in
the state medical use registry).

“Primary caregiver’ means
a person, other than the
qualifying patient and the
qualifying patient’s
physician, who is eighteen
years of age or older, and
who has agreed to
undertake responsibility for
managing the well-being of
the qualifying patient with
respect to the medical use
of marijuana.

Limit to number of caregivers 1 2 (a primary and an alternate) 1
per patient
Limit to number of patients per Not specified 1 1
caregiver (exceptions may be granted by
state agency)
Criminal record restriction on Not specified Yes Not specified

serving as caregiver

Source: Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii medical marijuana statutes and administrative rules.

California’s statute also allows qualified medical marijuana users to
designate a primary caregiver. The statue defines “primary caregiver” to
mean “the individual designated by the person exempted under this
section who has consistently assumed responsibility for the housing,
health or safety of that person.” There is no requirement that the
patient—caregiver relationship be registered or otherwise documented, nor
is there a specified limit to the number of patients that can designate a

particular caregiver.

Physician
Recommendation
Requirements

In all four states, patients must obtain a physician’s diagnosis that he or
she suffers from a medical condition eligible for marijuana use under that
state’s statute, and a physician recommendation for the use of marijuana.
California does not have a requirement that the diagnosis or
recommendation be documented, as the other states do. In the registry
states, patients must supply written documentation of their physician’s
medical determination and marijuana recommendation in their registry
applications. This documentation must conform with program
requirements, reflecting that the physician made his or her

Page 15

GAO-03-189 State Medical Marijuana Laws



recommendation in the context of a bona fide physician-patient
relationship.

California’s law does not require patients to submit documentation of a
physician’s determination or recommendation to any state entity, nor does
it specify particular examination requirements. According to California’s
law, marijuana may be used for medical purposes “where that medical use
is deemed appropriate and has been recommended by a physician who has
determined that the person’s health would benefit from the use of
marijuana” in treating certain medical conditions; such recommendations
may be oral or written.

The physician certification form adopted by Hawaii’s Department of
Public Safety calls for doctors recommending marijuana to a patient to
certify that “I have primary responsibility for the care and treatment of the
named patient and based on my professional opinion and having
completed a medical examination and/or full assessment of my patient’s
medical history and current medical condition in the course of a bona fide
physician-patient relationship have issued this written certificate.”
Similarly in Alaska, the recommending physician signs a statement that
they personally examined the patient on a specific date, and that the
examination took place in the context of a bona fide physician-patient
relationship.

Under Oregon’s medical marijuana law, the patient’s attending physician
must supply physician documentation. Oregon’s administrative rules
defining “attending physician” were amended in March 2002 to more fully
describe the conditions for meeting the definition. To qualify, the
physician must have established a physician-patient relationship with the
patient and must diagnose the patient with a debilitating condition in the
context of that relationship.” Agency officials stated that they changed the
definition of an attending physician in light of information that one doctor
responsible for many medical marijuana recommendations had not

*'As provided in Ore. Admin. R. 333-008-0010, an attending physician is “a physician who
has established a physician/patient relationship with the patient, is licensed under ORS
chapter 677, and who, with respect to a patient diagnosed with a debilitating medical
condition: (a) Is primarily responsible for the care and treatment of the patient; (b) Is
primarily responsible for recognized, medical specialty care and treatment of the patient;
(c) Has been asked to consult and treat the patient by the patient’s primary care physician;
or (d) Has reviewed a patient’s medical records at the patient’s request, has conducted a
thorough physical examination of the patient, has provided a treatment plan and/or follow-
up care, and has documented these activities in a patient file. “
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followed standard physician-patient practices, such as keeping written
patient records. (See physician section.) Under its regulations, the
Department of Human Services will contact each physician making a
medical marijuana recommendation to assure that the physician is an
“attending physician” and, with patient approval, the department may
review the physician’s patient file in connection with this inquiry.

Qualifying State The laws in all four states we reviewed identify medical conditions™ for

Conditions for Use of which marijuana may be used for medical purposes. Table 3 displays the

Medical Marijuana allowed medical conditions for which marijuana may be used in each
state. (See appendix IV for descriptions from general medical sources of
the allowable conditions identified by the state laws.)

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Table 3: Allowable Conditions for Medical Marijuana Use in Four States

Conditions® Oregon Alaska Hawaii California
Cancer X X X X
Glaucoma X X X X
HIV positive status X X X

AIDS X X X X
Cachexia X X X

Wasting syndrome X

Anorexia X
Epilepsy and other seizure disorders X X

Multiple sclerosis and other disorders characterized by persistent muscle spasticity X X X X
Crohn'’s disease X

Alzheimer’s disease X

Arthritis X
Migraine X
Severe pain X X X

Chronic pain X
Severe nausea X X X

Any other illness for which marijuana provides relief’ X

’Oregon’s, Alaska’s, and Hawaii's medical marijuana statutes use the term “debilitating medical
condition” to encompass the conditions eligible for medical marijuana use. California’s statute does
not use this term, but simply lists the eligible conditions.

*Callifornia’s statute does not define “any other iliness for which marijuana provides relief.”

22 . .. . ey .
For simplicity, we use the general term medical “condition” to encompass, diseases,
symptoms, and medical conditions.
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Source: California, Oregon, Alaska and Hawaii medical marijuana statutes and Oregon administrative
rules.

Allowable Amounts of
Marijuana for Medical Use

Statutes in Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii define the maximum amount of
marijuana and the number of plants that an individual registrant and their

caregiver may possess under medical marijuana laws, while California’s
statute does not provide such definitions. Oregon and Hawaii regulations
also provide definitions of marijuana plant maturity. Table 4 provides the
definitions of quantity and maturity for each registry state.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Table 4: Permissible Amounts of Medical Marijuana and Plant Maturity in Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii

Oregon

Alaska

Hawaii

Allowable amount

A patient and a designated
primary caregiver may not
individually or collectively
possess more than three mature
plants, four immature marijuana
plants, and one ounce of usable
marijuana per each mature
plant, if present at a location at
which marijuana is produced,
including any residence
associated with that location.

If not at a location where
marijuana is produced, including
any residence associated with
that location, the allowable
amount is one ounce of usable
marijuana.’

A patient, primary caregiver or
alternate caregiver may not possess
in the aggregate more than one
ounce of marijuana in usable form;
and six marijuana plants, with no
more than three mature and
flowering plants producing usable
marijuana at any one time.

“Adequate Supply” means an amount
of marijuana jointly possessed between
the qualifying patient and the primary
caregiver that is not more than is
reasonably necessary to assure the
uninterrupted availability of marijuana
for the express purpose of alleviating
the symptoms or effects of a qualifying
patient’s debilitating medical condition;
provided that the “adequate supply”
jointly possessed by the qualifying
patient and the primary caregiver not
exceed three mature marijuana plants,
four immature marijuana plants, and
one ounce of usable marijuana per
each mature plant.

Plant maturity

“Mature plant” means the
following: A marijuana plant
shall be considered mature
when male or female flower
buds are readily observed on
the plant by unaided visual
examination. Until this sexual

differentiation has taken place, a

marijuana plant will be
considered immature.

Not specified

“Immature marijuana plant” means a
marijuana plant, whether male or
female, that has not yet flowered and
which does not yet have buds that are
readily observed by unaided visual
examination. “Mature plant” means a
marijuana plant, whether male or
female, that has flowered and which
has buds that are readily observed by
unaided visual examination.

°Registered patients and caregivers in Oregon who exceed the act’s quantity restrictions are not
immune from prosecution, but may establish an “affirmative defense” in a marijuana prosecution that
the greater amount is medically necessary to mitigate the symptoms or effects of the patient’s
debilitating medical condition. Ore. Rev. Stat. 475.306(2).

Source: Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii medical marijuana statutes and administrative rules.

California’s statute does not specify an amount of marijuana allowable
under medical use provisions; however, some local jurisdictions have
established their own guidelines. The statute’s criminal exemption is for
“personal medical purposes” but does not define an amount appropriate
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for personal medical purposes. The California Attorney General’s medical
marijuana task force debated establishing an allowable amount but could
not come to a consensus on this issue, proposing that the Department of
Health Services determine an appropriate amount. Participants did agree
that the amount of marijuana a patient may possess might well depend on
the type and severity of illness. They concluded that an appropriate
amount of marijuana was ultimately a medical issue, better analyzed and
decided by medical professionals. In the absence of state specified
amounts, a number of the state’s 58 counties and some cities have
informally established maximum allowable amounts of marijuana for
medical purposes. According to the September 2000 summary by the
California Attorney General’s office, the amount of marijuana an individual
patient and their caregiver were allowed to have varied, with a two-plant
limit in one area, and a 48 plant (indoors, with mature flowers) limit in
another area. In May 2002, Del Norte County raised their limit from

6 plants to 99 plants per individual patient.

Safety and Public Use
Restrictions

California, Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii prohibit medical marijuana use in
specific situations relating to safety or public use. Patients or caregivers
who violate these prohibitions are subject to state marijuana sanctions
and, in the registry states, may also forfeit their registry cards.” Table 5
reflects the various states’ safety or public use restrictions.

¥ Alaska’s statute provides a one-year suspension from using or obtaining a registry card,
Oregon’s statute provides up to a 6-month suspension from using or obtaining a registry
card; Hawaii’s rules provide for revocation of the registry certificate for an indefinite time.
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Table 5: Safety and Public Use Restrictions in Oregon, Alaska, Hawaii and California

Oregon Alaska Hawaii California

Safety
restrictions

Oregon’s medical
marijuana statute
prohibits driving under the
influence of marijuana.

Alaska’s medical marijuana
statute prohibits medical
use of marijuana that
endangers the health or
well-being of any person.

Hawaii’'s medical marijuana
statute prohibits medical
use of marijuana that
endangers the health or
well-being of another
person.

California’s medical
marijuana statute
provides that, “Nothing in
this section shall be
construed to supersede
legislation prohibiting
persons from engaging in
conduct that endangers
others, nor to condone
the diversion of
marijuana for nonmedical
purposes.”

Public use
restrictions

Oregon’s medical
marijuana statute
prohibits patients and
caregivers from engaging
in the medical use of
marijuana in public places
as defined in Ore. Rev.
Stat. 161.015,% or in public
view or in a correctional
facility as defined in Ore.
Rev. Stat. 162.135(2) or
youth correction facility as
defined in Ore. Rev. Stat
162.135(6).

Alaska’s medical marijuana
law prohibits the medical
use of marijuana in plain
view of, or in a place open
to, the general public. The
law also states that medical
marijuana use need not be

accommodated in any place

of employment; in any
correctional facility, medical
facility, or facility monitored

Hawaii’'s medical marijuana

statute prohibits the medical
use of marijuana in a school

bus, public bus, or any
moving vehicle; in the
workplace of one’s
employment; on any school

grounds; at any public park,

public beach, public

recreation center, recreation

or youth center; or other

by the Alaska Department of place open to the public.

Administration; on or within
500 feet of school grounds;
at or within 500 feet of a
recreation or youth center;
or on a school bus.

(not specified)

°As defined in Ore. Rev. Stat. 161.015, a public place means a place to which the general public has
access including, but not limited to, hallways, lobbies and other parts of apartment houses and hotels
not constituting rooms or apartments designed for actual residence, and highways, streets, schools,

places of amusement, parks, playgrounds and premises used in connection with public passenger
transportation.

Source: California, Oregon, Alaska and Hawaii state statutes.

Management Review
Results in Oregon Program

Changes

Oregon was the only state of the four we reviewed to have conducted a
management review of their state’s medical marijuana program.* The

Oregon Department of Human Services conducted the review after
concerns arose that a doctor’s signature for marijuana recommendations
had been forged. The review team reported a number of program areas
needing improvement, and proposed a corrective plan of action. Most of

#«Oregon’s Medical Marijuana Program: A Management Review” Oregon Department of
Human Services, June 11, 2001.
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Few Registrants, Most
with Severe Pain or
Muscle Spasms

the actions had been completed, as of May 2002. Lack of verification of
physician signature was a key problem identified by the team. All
physician signatures are now verified. A number of other team findings
had to do with program management and staffing. The Program Manager
was replaced, additional staff was added, and their roles were clarified,
according to officials. Another area of recommendation was the
processing of applications and database management, such as how to
handle incomplete applications, handling of voided applications, edit
checks for data entry, and reducing the application backlog. As of May
2002, some action items were still open, such as computer “flags” for
problem patient numbers or database checks on patients and caregivers at
the same address.

A relatively small number of people are registered as medical marijuana
users in Oregon, Hawaii, and Alaska. In those states, most registrants were
over 40 years old. Severe pain and muscle spasms (spasticity) were the
most common medical conditions for which marijuana was recommended
in the states where data was gathered.

Small Number of Medical
Marijuana Registrants

Relatively few people are registered as medical marijuana users in Alaska,
Hawaii and Oregon. In these states, registry data showed that the number
of participants registered was below 0.05 percent or less of the total
population of each respective state. Data doesn’t exist to identify the total
population of people with medical conditions that might qualify for
marijuana use because not all the conditions specified in the state’s laws
are diseases for which population data is available. For example, a
debilitating condition of “severe pain” may be a symptom for a number of
specific medical conditions, such as a back injury, however not all patients
with back injury suffer severe pain. Table 6 shows the number of patients
registered in Oregon, Hawaii, and Alaska, at the time of our review as
compared to the total population from the U.S. Census Bureau population
projections for 2002.
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_______________________________________________________________________________________|]
Table 6: Medical Marijuana Registrants in Oregon, Hawaii, and Alaska, by Projected
2002 State Population

Percent of registrants

State State population  Number of registrants by state population
Oregon 3,488,000 1,691 0.05
Hawaii 1,289,000 573 0.04
Alaska 672,000 190 0.03
Totals 5,449,000 2,454 0.05

Note: Oregon data as of February 2002, Alaska and Hawaii data as of April 2002.

Source: Oregon, Hawaii, and Alaska state medical marijuana registries and U.S. Bureau of the
Census population projections for 2002.

There is no statewide data on participants in California because the
medical marijuana law does not provide for a state registry. We obtained
information from four county registries in San Francisco, Humboldt,
Mendocino and Sonoma counties.” In each of these registries,
participation was 0.5 percent or less than the respective county’s
population. However, because the local registries are voluntary it is
unknown how many people in those jurisdictions have received medical
recommendations from their doctors for marijuana but have not
registered.

Table 7 shows the number of patients registered in four California
counties and as a percent of the population for those counties, since each
registry was established.

25 . . . . ..

“Sonoma County does not maintain a “registry” of approved medical marijuana users, but
is included because it does have records of county patients whose doctors have
recommended marijuana using Sonoma County Medical Association peer review process.
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_______________________________________________________________________________________|]
Table 7: Registrants in Four California Counties by County Population

Percent of
registrants by
County Number of county
Registrant source population registrants population
San Francisco Department of 793,729 3551 0.44
Public Health
Sonoma County Medical 468,754 435 0.09
Association
Humboldt County 127,754 182 0.14
Department of Public Health
Mendocino County 87,273 430 0.49

Note: San Francisco and Sonoma county data as of July 2002, Humboldt county data as of January
2002, and Mendocino county data as of April 2002.

Sources: California State Association of Counties (as of January 2002), and California medical
marijuana county registries.

Medical Marijuana
Registrant Demographics

Most medical marijuana registrants in Hawaii and Oregon—the states
where both gender and age data were available—were males over 40 years
old. Hawaii and Oregon were the only states that provided gender
information; in both cases approximately 70 percent of registrants were
men. In Alaska, Hawaii, and Oregon state records showed that over

70 percent of all registrants in each state were 40 years of age or older.
Only in one state was there a person under the age of 18 registered as a
medical marijuana user. Table 8 shows the distribution of registrants by
age in the registry states.

_______________________________________________________________________________________|]
Table 8: Registrant Age in Alaska, Hawaii and Oregon

(Percent in each age category)

Age Alaska Hawaii Oregon
Under 18 1 (1%) 0 0
19-29 10 (5%) 16 (3%) 145 (9%)
30-39 42 (22%) 70 (12%) 247 (15%)
40-49 84 (44%) 197 (34%) 613 (36%)
50-59 42 (22%) 216 (38%) 550 (33%)
Over 60 11 (6%) 74 (13%) 136 (8%)
Total 190 573 1691

Note: Oregon data as of February 2002, Alaska and Hawaii data as of April 2002.

Source: Medical Marijuana registries in Alaska, Hawaii and Oregon.
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In California, none of the local jurisdictions we met with kept information
on participants’ gender, and only Sonoma County Medical Association
provided information on their registrants’ age. The age of medical
association registrants was similar to participants in the state registries,
only slightly younger. Over 60 percent of participants that have had their
records reviewed by medical associations were 40 years or older.

Medical Marijuana
Registrant Conditions

Most medical marijuana recommendations in states where data are
collected have been made for applicants with severe pain or muscle
spasticity as their medical condition. Conditions allowed by the states’
medical marijuana laws ranged from illnesses such as cancer and AIDS, to
symptoms, such as severe pain. Information is not collected on the
conditions for which marijuana has been recommended in Alaska or
California. However, data from Hawaii‘s registry showed that the majority
of recommendations have been made for the condition of severe pain or
the condition of muscle spasticity. Likewise, data from Oregon’s registry
showed that, 84 percent of recommendations were for the condition of
severe pain or for muscle spasticity. Table 9 shows the number and
percentage of patients registered by types of conditions in Oregon and
Hawaii.
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Table 9: Registrant Conditions in Oregon and Hawaii

Oregon Hawaii
Number of Number of
recommendations Percent with recommendations Percent with
per condition condition per condition condition
Cancer 43 3 9 2
Glaucoma 31 2 10 2
HIV positive status or AIDS 47 3 66 12
Cachexia 18 1 - -
Cachexia or wasting syndrome - - 9 2
Epilepsy and other seizure disorders 43 3 5 1
Multiple Sclerosis and other disorders
characterized by persistent muscle
spasms, or spasticity 459 28 240 43
Alzheimer’s disease 1 Under 1 - -
Severe pain 915 56 172 31
Severe nausea 83 5 12 2
Severe nausea/severe pain - - 31 6
Total 1640° 554°

Note: Oregon data as of February 2002, Hawaii data as of March 2002.

®Information on 51 cases not available.

*The number of registrants for Hawaii differs in tables 8 and 9 due to differences in the reporting
dates.

Source: Oregon and Hawaii medical marijuana registries.

On the basis of records from the Oregon registry, we reviewed the
information provided by doctors for additional insight into the conditions
for which registrants use marijuana. The Oregon registry keeps track of
secondary conditions in cases where the recommending doctor specified
more than one condition. We examined the pool of secondary conditions
associated with severe pain® and muscle spasms,” the two largest
condition categories. About 40 percent of those with severe pain reported
muscle spasms, migraines, arthritis, or nausea as a secondary medical
condition. The most common secondary conditions reported by those with

%0f the 915 registrants that reported severe pain as their primary condition, over half
reported only one secondary condition, some included up to five secondary conditions. The
percentages reported here include those with only one secondary condition.

0f the 459 registrants that reported spasms as a primary condition over 40 percent
reported only one secondary condition, some included up to four secondary conditions.
The percentages reported here include those with only one secondary condition.
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Few Physicians Make
Marijuana
Recommendations;
Some Guidance
Available

spasms were pain, multiple sclerosis, and fibromyalgia,*® accounting for
37 percent of the secondary conditions for spasms. A variety of other
secondary conditions were identified in the Oregon data, such as acid
reflux, asthma, chronic fatigue syndrome, hepatitis C, and lupus.

In the two states, Hawaii and Oregon, where data on physicians is
maintained, few physicians have made medical marijuana
recommendations. Of the pool of recommending physicians in Oregon,
most physicians made only one to two recommendations. Over half of the
medical organizations we contacted provide written guidance for
physicians considering recommending marijuana.

Low Physician
Participation

Only a small percentage of physicians in Hawaii and Oregon were
identified by state registries as having made recommendations for their
patients to use marijuana as medicine. These two states maintain
information on recommending physicians in their registry records. No
information was available on physician participation in California and
Alaska. In Hawaii, at the time of our review, there were 5,673 physicians
licensed by the state’s medical board. Of that number, 44 (0.78 percent)
physicians had recommended marijuana to at least one of their patients
since the legislation was passed in June 2000. In Oregon, at the time of our
review, 435 (3 percent) of the 12,926 licensed physicians in the state had
participated in the medical marijuana program since May 1999.

Both Hawaii and Oregon’s medical marijuana registration programs are
relatively new, which may account for the low level of participation by
physicians in both states. Oregon’s program has operated for a year longer
than Hawaii’s, however physician participation overall is low in both
states. A Hawaii medical association official told us that he believes
physicians consider a number of factors when deciding whether to
recommend marijuana as medicine, such as the legal implications of
recommending marijuana, lack of conclusive research results on the
drug’s medical efficacy, and a doctor’s own philosophical stance on the
use of marijuana as medicine.

28I*‘ibromyalgi:au Chronic pain, stiffness, and tenderness of muscles, tendons, and joints
without detectable inflammation. Fatigue and sleep disorders are common in fibromyalgia
patients.

Page 26 GAO-03-189 State Medical Marijuana Laws



The lower federal courts are divided in terms of whether doctors can
make medical marijuana recommendations without facing federal
enforcement action, including the revocation of doctors’ DEA registrations
that allow them to write prescriptions for federally controlled substances.
In one case, the district court for the Northern District of California held
that the federal government could not revoke doctors’ registrations,
stating that the de-registration policy raised “grave constitutional doubts”
concerning doctors’ exercise of free speech rights in making medical
marijuana recommendations.” In the other case considering this issue, the
district court for the District of Columbia ruled that the federal
government could revoke doctors’ registrations, stating that “[e]ven
though state law may allow for the prescription or recommendation of
medicinal marijuana within its borders, to do so is still a violation of
federal law under the CSA,” and “there are no First Amendment
protections for speech that is used ‘as an integral part of conduct in
violation of a valid criminal statute.””

Oregon is the only state we reviewed which has registry records that
identify recommendations by doctor. Few Oregon physicians made
recommendations to use medical marijuana to more than two patients.
According to registry data, 82 percent of the participating physicians made
one or two recommendations, and 18 percent made three or more
recommendations. Table 10 shows a breakdown of the frequency by which
physicians made marijuana recommendations.

¥See Conant v. McCaffrey, No. C-97-00139, 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 13024 at *19 (N.D. Cal.
Sept. 7, 2000) (permanent injunction granted); see also Conant v. McCaffrey, 172 F.R.D.
681 (N.D. Cal. 1997) (preliminary injunction granted). On October 29, 2002, the Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed, finding that the district court convincingly explained
how the government’s professed enforcement policy threatened to interfere with doctors’
First Amendment rights. See Conant v. Walters, No. 00-17222, 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS 22942
at *2 (9" Cir. Oct. 29, 2002)

See Pearson v. McCaffrey, 139 F. Supp. 2d 113, 121 (D.D.C. 2001).
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_______________________________________________________________________________________|]
Table 10: Number of Marijuana Recommendations Made by Oregon Physicians, as
of February 2002

Percentage of

Number of Number of physicians recommending
recommendations making recommendations physicians
1 269 61.8
2 87 20.0
3 33 7.6
4 22 5.1
5 8 1.8
6 2 0.5
7 2 0.5
9 2 0.5
10 1 0.2
11 1 0.2
12 1 0.2
13 2 0.5
14 1 0.2
18 1 0.2
23 1 0.2
38 1 0.2
823 1 0.2

Source: Oregon Department of Human Services.

State or law enforcement officials in Oregon, California, and Hawaii
indicated that they were each aware of a particular physician in their state
that had recommended marijuana to many patients.” In Alaska, a state
official knew of no physician that had made many recommendations. In
Oregon and California the state medical boards have had formal
complaints filed against these physicians for alleged violations of the
states’ Medical Practices Acts, which establish physician standards for
medical care. The complaints charge the physicians with unprofessional
conduct violations such as failure to conduct a medical examination,
failure to maintain adequate and accurate records, and failure to confer
with other medical care providers. In Oregon, the physician

31Program officials in the registry states verify that a physician recommendation has been
made in accordance with program requirements, and that the physician is licensed; they are
not authorized to determine whether a doctor’s recommendation is medically appropriate.
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recommending marijuana to over 800 patients was disciplined.” The
California case was still pending. At the time of our review, there was no
medical practice complaint filed against the Hawaiian doctor known to
have made many marijuana recommendations.

Physician Guidance for In all four states, professional medical associations provide some guidance
i i ii for physicians in regards to recommending marijuana to patients. State
akKing vledica. driyjuana
Recommendations medical boards, in general, have limited involvement in providing this type

of guidance. Table 11 indicates the type of guidance available from these
medical organizations in each state.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Table 11: Doctor Guidance Provided by Selected State Medical Organizations

State Medical Organizations Guidance provided Description

Oregon State Board of Medical No

Examiners

Oregon Medical Association Yes The association has a document informing members of the

legal issues facing doctors and advising them on doctor-
patient discussions and documentation concerning the use of
marijuana for medicine, and actions to avoid.

Alaska State Medical Board No

Alaska Medical Association Yes Those inquiring about recommending marijuana are directed to
seek legal counsel.

Hawaii State Board of Medical No

Examiners

Hawaii Medical Association Yes Those inquiring about recommending marijuana are informed

of the association’s official position against medical marijuana
and advised of the legal implications involved.

Medical State Board of California Yes The board has a document that describes the standards
physicians recommending marijuana should apply to their
practice and advises them on how to best protect themselves.

California Medical Association Yes The association provides a document covering the legal issues
facing doctors, doctor-patient discussions and documentation
concerning the use of marijuana for medicine, actions to avoid,
and other topics under the law that may be of concern to
physicians.

Note: Guidance provided as of the time of our review.

Source: State Medical Boards and Medical Associations in Oregon, Alaska, Hawaii, and Oregon.

The guidance to physicians considering recommending marijuana to a
patient in Oregon, for example, includes avoiding engaging in any

®The April 2002 order by the Oregon Board of Medical Examiners reprimanded the
physician, fined him $5,000, suspended his license for 90 days, and specified conditions
under which any future marijuana recommendations would be made, and other disciplinary
actions.
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Difficult to Measure
the Impact of State
Medical Marijuana
Laws on Law
Enforcement
Activities

discussions with a patient on how to obtain marijuana, and to avoid
providing a patient with any written documentation other than that in the
patient’s medical records. The medical association also advises physicians
to clearly document in a patient’s medical records conversations that take
place between the physician and patient about the use of marijuana as
medicine. Oregon’s medical association notes that until the federal
government advises whether it considers a physician’s medical marijuana
recommendation in a patient chart to violate federal law, no physician is
fully protected from federal enforcement action.

Most of the state medical board officials we contacted stated that the
medical boards do not provide guidance for physicians on recommending
marijuana to patients. The medical boards do become involved with
physicians making marijuana recommendations if a complaint for violating
state medical practices is filed against them. Once a complaint is filed, the
boards investigate a physician’s practice. Any subsequent action occurs if
the allegations against a doctor included violations of the statutes
regulating physician conduct.

California medical board’s informal guidance states that physicians
recommending marijuana to their patients should apply the accepted
standards of medical responsibility such as the physical examination of
the patient, development of a treatment plan, and discussion of side
effects. In addition, the board warns physicians that their best legal
protection is by documenting how they arrived at their decision to
recommend marijuana as well as any actions taken for the patient.

Data are not readily available to show whether the introduction of medical
marijuana laws have affected marijuana-related law enforcement
activities. Assessing such a relationship would require a statistical analysis
over time that included measures of law enforcement activities, such as
arrests, as well as other measures that may influence law enforcement
activities. It may be difficult to identify the relevant measures because
crime is a sociological phenomena influenced by a variety of factors.”
Local law enforcement officials we spoke with about trends in marijuana
law enforcement noted several factors, other than medical marijuana laws,
important in assessing trends. These factors included changes in general
perceptions about marijuana, shifts in funding for various law

33According to the FBI introduction to users of Uniform Crime Report data.
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enforcement activities, shifts in local law enforcement priorities from one
drug to another, or changes in emphasis from drugs to other areas, such as
terrorism. Demographics might also be a factor.

The limited availability of data on marijuana-related law enforcement
activity illustrates some of the difficulties in doing a statistically valid
trend analysis. To fully assess the relationship between the passage of
state’s medical marijuana laws and law enforcement, one would need data
on marijuana related arrests or prosecutions over some period of time,
and preferably an extended period of time. Although state-by-state data on
marijuana-related arrests is available from the FBI Uniform Crime Reports
(UCR), at the time of our review, only data up to the year 2000 was
available. Yearly data would be insufficient for analytic purposes since the
passage of the medical marijuana initiatives or law in three of the states—
Oregon (November 1998), Alaska (November 1998), and Hawaii (June
2000)—is too recent to permit a rigorous appraisal of trends in arrests and
changes in them.” Furthermore, although California’s law took effect
during 1996 providing a longer period of data, it is also important to note
that the FBI cautions about UCR data comparisons between time periods
because of variations in year-to-year reporting by agencies.”

Similar data limitations would occur using marijuana prosecutions as a
measure of trends in law enforcement activity. Data on marijuana
prosecutions are not collected or aggregated at the federal level by state.
At the state level, for the four states we reviewed, the format for collecting
the data, or time period covered also had limitations. For example in
California, the state maintains “disposition” data that includes
prosecutions, but reflects only the most serious offenses, so that
marijuana possession that was classified as a misdemeanor would not be
captured if the defendant was also charged with possession of other drugs,
or was involved with theft or other non-misdemeanor crimes. Further, the
data is grouped by the year of final disposition, not when the offense

*Programs to implement the laws in Oregon, Alaska and Hawaii were developed somewhat
later. Alaska’s registry was established in June 1999, Oregon’s program began operating in
May 1999, and Hawaii issued its first card in January 2001.

As described in the methodology section of UCR’s annual publication, Crime in the
United States (2000) UCR excludes trend statistics if the reporting units have not provided
comparable data for the periods under consideration, or when it is ascertained that unusual
fluctuations, such as improved record keeping or annexations are involved. Although most
law enforcement agencies submit crime reports to the UCR program, data are sometimes
not received for complete annual periods. If data on other factors was available for
California to analyze the relationship of its medical marijuana law and arrests, one would
also need to assess the comparability of arrest data from different time periods.
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occurred. Hawaii does not have statewide prosecution data. At the time of
our review, prosecution data from Oregon’s statewide Law Enforcement
Data System was only available for 1999 and 2000.

Perceptions of Officials
with Selected Law
Enforcement
Organizations Regarding
the Impact of Medical
Marijuana Laws

We interviewed officials from 37 selected federal, state, and local law
enforcement organizations in the four states to obtain their views on the
effect, if any, state medical marijuana laws had on their law enforcement
activities. Officials representing 21 of the organizations we contacted
indicated that medical marijuana laws had had little impact on their law
enforcement activities for a variety of reasons, including very few or no
encounters involving medical marijuana registry cards or claims of a
medical marijuana defense. For example:

e The police department on one Hawaiian island had never been
presented a medical marijuana registry card, and only 15 registrants
lived on the island.

» In Alaska, a top official for the State Troopers Drug Unit had never
encountered a medical marijuana registry card in support of claimed
medical use.

e In Oregon, one district attorney reported having less than 10 cases
since the law was passed where the defendant presented a medical
marijuana defense.”

* In Los Angeles County, an official in the District Attorney’s office
stated that only three medical marijuana cases have been filed in the
last two years in the Central Branch office, two of the cases involving
the same person.

Some of the federal law enforcement officials we interviewed indicated
that the introduction of medical marijuana laws has had little impact on
their operations. Senior Department of Justice officials said that the
Department’s overall policy is to enforce all laws regarding controlled
substances, however they do have limited resources. Further, the federal
process of using a case-by-case review of potential marijuana prosecutions
has not changed as a consequence of the states’ medical marijuana laws.
These officials said that U.S. Attorneys have their own criteria or
guidelines for which cases to prosecute that are based on the
Department’s overall strategies and objectives.

®The District Attorney noted that they had won these cases because the defendants were
not operating within the parameters of the state medical marijuana law.
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Law enforcement officials in the selected states also told us that, given the
range of drug issues, other illicit drug concerns, such as rampant
methamphetamine abuse or large-scale marijuana production are higher
priorities than concerns about abuse of medical marijuana. In at least one
instance, this emphasis was said to reflect community concerns—in
Hawaii, one prosecuting attorney estimated that one-third to one-half of
the murders and most hostage situations in the county involved
methamphetamines. He said businesses ask why law enforcement is
bothering with marijuana when they have methamphetamines to deal with.

Although many of the officials with other organizations we contacted did
not clearly indicate whether medical marijuana laws had, or had not, had
major impact on their activities, officials with two organizations said that
medical marijuana laws had become a problem from their perspective.
Specifically, an official with the Oregon State Police Drug Enforcement
Section said that during 2000 and 2001, there were 14 cases in which the
suspects had substantial quantities of processed or growing marijuana and
were arrested for distribution of marijuana for profit, yet were able to
obtain medical marijuana registry cards after their arrests. Because the
same two defense attorneys represented all the suspects, the police
official expressed his view that the suspects might have been referred to
the same doctor, causing the official to speculate about the validity of the
recommendations. In Northern California—an area where substantial
amounts of marijuana are grown”—officials with the Humboldt County
Drug Task Force™® told us that they have encountered growers claiming to
be caregivers for multiple medical marijuana patients. With a limit of 10
plants per person established by the Humboldt County District Attorney,
growers can have hundreds of plants officials said, and no documentation
to support their medical use claims is required.”

Over one-third of officials from the 37 law enforcement organizations told
us that they believe that the introduction of medical marijuana laws have,
or could make it, more difficult to pursue or prosecute some marijuana

37According to the senior DEA official for the area, three northern counties are the source
region for much of the domestically produced marijuana in the United States, and this
production is a major contributor to the local economies.

*®Headed by a Commander from the California Bureau of Narcotics and staffed by officers
from local law enforcement.

“The 10 plant limit can be exceeded if the grower claims to grow 10 plants for patient A, 10
plants for patient B, and so on. Documentation of caregiver status is not required under the
state’s law.
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cases. In California, some local law enforcement officials said that their
state’s medical marijuana law makes them question whether it is worth
pursuing some criminal marijuana cases because of concerns about
whether they can effectively prosecute (e.g., with no statutory limit on the
number of marijuana plants allowed for medical use, the amount
consistent with a patient’s personal medical purposes is open to
interpretation). In Oregon, Hawaii, and Alaska where specific plant limits
have been established, some law enforcement officials and district
attorneys said that they were less likely to pursue marijuana cases that
could be argued as falling under medical use provisions. For example, one
Oregon District Attorney stated that because they have limited resources
the District Attorneys might not prosecute a case where someone is sick,
has an amount of marijuana within the medical use limit, and would
probably be approved for a card if they did apply. Officers in Hawaii
reported reluctance of a judge to issue a search warrant until detectives
were certain that cultivated marijuana was not being grown for medical
use, or that the growth was over the 25-plant limit qualifying for felony
charges.

Less concrete, but of concern to law enforcement officials were the more
subtle consequences attributed to the passage of state medical marijuana
laws. Officials in over one-fourth of the 37 law enforcement organizations
we interviewed indicated they believe there has been a general softening
in public attitude toward marijuana, or public perception that marijuana is
no longer illegal. For example, state troopers in Alaska said that they
believe that the law has desensitized the public to the issue of marijuana,
reflected in fewer calls to report illegal marijuana activities than they once
received. Hawaiian officers stated that it is their view that Hawaii's law
may send the wrong message because people may believe that the drug is
safe or legal.

Several law enforcement officials in California and Oregon cited the
inconsistency between federal and state law as a significant problem,
particularly regarding how seized marijuana is handled. According to a
California Attorney General official, state and local law enforcement
officials are frequently faced with this issue if the court or prosecutor
concludes that marijuana seized during an arrest was legally possessed
under California law, and law enforcement is ordered to return the
marijuana. To return it puts officials in violation of federal law for
dispensing a Schedule I narcotic, according to the California State Sheriffs
Association, and in direct violation of the court order if they don’t return
it. The same issue has arisen in Portland, Oregon, officials said, when the
Portland police seized 2.5 grams of marijuana from an individual. After the
state dismissed charges, the court ordered the return of the marijuana to

b
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Agency Comments
and Our Evaluation

the individual, who was a registered medical marijuana user. The city of
Portland appealed the court order on grounds that its police officers could
not return the seized marijuana without violating federal law, but the
Oregon court of appeals rejected this argument in Oregon v. Kama.”
Oregon officials said that DEA then obtained a federal court order to seize
the marijuana from the Portland police department. The Department of
Justice stated in comments on a draft of this report that they believe
conflicts between federal and non-federal law enforcement over the
handling of seized marijuana has been and will continue to be a problem.

Law enforcement officials in all four states identified areas of their
medical marijuana laws that can hamper their marijuana enforcement
activities because the law could be clearer or provide better control. In
California, key issues were lack of a definable amount of marijuana for
medical use, and no systematic way to identify who qualifies for the
exemption. In Oregon, officers were concerned about individuals
registering as medical marijuana users after they have been arrested, and
timely law enforcement access to the registry information. Officials with
about one-fourth of the law enforcement organizations in Hawaii,
California and Oregon shared the concern about the degree of latitude
given to physicians in qualifying patients for medical use.

We provided a copy of a draft of this report to the Department of Justice
for review and comment. In a September 27, 2002 letter, DOJ’s Acting
United States Assistant Attorney General for Administration commented
on the draft. DOJ’s comments are summarized below and presented in
their entirety in appendix V.

In its comments, DOJ noted that the report fully described the current
status of the programs in the states reviewed. However, DOJ stated that
the report failed to adequately address some of the serious difficulties
associated with such programs. Specifically, according to DOJ, the report

39 P.3d 866 (Or. Ct. App. 2002); rev. den. 47 P.3d 484 (Or. S. Ct. 2002). In Kama, the city
argued that, because marijuana is a Schedule I controlled substance, its police officers
would commit the federal crime of delivering a controlled substance if they returned seized
marijuana. The court of appeals disagreed, reasoning that the federal Controlled
Substances Act, 21 U.S.C. 885(d), confers immunity on state or local law enforcement
officials “lawfully engaged in the enforcement of any law or municipal ordinance relating to
controlled substances." The court concluded that, because the officers were required to
return the seized marijuana under Oregon’s medical marijuana act, Or. Rev. Stat.
475.323(2), federal law granted them immunity for doing so.
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does not adequately address, through any considered analysis, issues
related to the (1) inherent conflict between state laws permitting the use
of marijuana and federal laws that do not; (2) potential for facilitating
illegal trafficking; (3) impact of such laws on cooperation among federal,
state, and local law enforcement; and (4) lack of data on the medicinal
value of marijuana. DOJ further stated that our use of the phrase “medical
marijuana” implicitly accepts a premise that is contrary to existing federal
law.

In regard to the first issue—state laws that permit the use of marijuana
and federal laws that do not—DOJ pointed out that the most fundamental
problem with the report is that it failed to emphasize that there is no
federally recognized medicinal use of marijuana and thus possession or
use of this substance is a federal crime. We disagree, and believe that we
have clearly described federal law on the use of marijuana. On page 1 of
our report, we specifically state that federal law does not recognize any
accepted medical use for marijuana and individuals remain subject to
federal prosecution for marijuana possession regardless of state medical
marijuana laws.

In other comments about state and federal laws, DOJ also pointed out that
our report failed to mention that state medical marijuana laws undermine
(1) the closed system of distribution for controlled substances under the
Controlled Substances Act and (2) the federal government’s obligations
under international drug control treaties which, according to DOJ, prohibit
the cultivation of marijuana except by persons licensed by, and under the
direct supervision of, the federal government. As discussed in our report,
the legal framework for our work was the Supreme Court’s opinion in
United States v. Oakland Cannabis Buyers Cooperative, 532 U.S. 483
(2001) which held that the federal government can enforce marijuana
prohibitions without regard to a medical necessity defense, even in states
with medical marijuana laws. During our review, we saw no reason to
expand our analysis beyond that set forth in the Supreme Court’s decision.
This is especially true since the scope of our work was to examine how
the selected states were implementing their medical marijuana laws—not
the issues raised in DOJ comments.

Regarding the second issue concerning the potential for illegal trafficking,
DOJ commented that our report did not mention that state medical
marijuana laws are routinely being abused to facilitate traditional illegal
trafficking. DOJ also highlighted the lack of guidance provided by the
California state government to implement its medical marijuana law as
contributing to the problem in California. Our report discusses the views
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of law enforcement officials representing 37 organizations in the four
states—including federal officials—regarding the impact of state medical
marijuana laws on their law enforcement efforts. Our report presented the
views they conveyed to us. Thus, in those instances where law
enforcement officials, including representatives of DEA and U.S.
Attorneys’ offices, discussed what they considered instances of abuse or
potential abuse, we discussed it in our report. During our review, none of
the federal officials we spoke with provided information to support a
statement that abuse of medical marijuana laws was routinely occurring in
any of the states, including California. DOJ further asserted that we should
include information on the “underlying criminal arena,” on homicides
related to marijuana cultivation, and on illegal marijuana production and
diversion. These issues were beyond the scope of our work.

In regard to its third comment pertaining to cooperation among federal,
state, and local law enforcement officials, DOJ stated that our report did
not reflect DEA’s experience—a worsening of relations between federal,
state, and local law enforcement. DOJ’s comments provided specific
examples of incidents involving conflicts between DEA and non-federal
law enforcement officials, but these examples were not provided to us
during our fieldwork. In comments on a summary of law enforcement
opinions, some of the non-federal law enforcement officials we
interviewed also stated we should discuss the conflict between state
medical marijuana laws and federal laws as it related to seized marijuana.’
We modified our draft to include a discussion of these concerns, and have
likewise included DOJ’s comment. It is also important to note, however,
that contrary to DOJ’s suggestion, our report included a discussion about
the concerns of the law enforcement officials regarding a “softening” of
the public perception about marijuana. Finally, DOJ’s point that Oregon’s
medical marijuana law negatively impacts federal seized asset sharing was
an issue outside the scope of our review.

1

In regard to the fourth issue—Ilack of data on the medicinal value of
marijuana—DOJ stated that our discussion of the debate over the medical
value of marijuana is inadequate and does not present an accurate picture.
We believe our report adequately discusses that a continuing debate
exists. The overall objective of our review was to examine the
implementation of state medical marijuana laws, and an analysis of the

-\ summary of law enforcement opinions was sent to those we spoke with for their
comments.
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scientific aspects of the medical marijuana debate was beyond the scope
of our work. We do, however, footnote various studies so that readers can
access additional information on the studies if they desire.

Finally, we disagree with DOJ’s comment that our use of the term medical
marijuana accepts a premise contrary to federal law, given that we
specifically defined the term in relation to state, not federal, law. As
mentioned earlier, our report specifically states that federal law does not
recognize any accepted medical use for marijuana and individuals remain
subject to federal prosecution for marijuana possession regardless of state
medical marijuana laws. Furthermore, the introduction to the report
clearly points out that, throughout the report, we use the phrase medical
marijuana to describe marijuana use that qualifies for a medical use
exception under state law.

DOJ also provided technical comments, which we have included in this
report, where appropriate. In addition, as mentioned earlier, some of the
representatives of state law enforcement organizations provided
comments on the section of the report dealing with their perceptions, and
we have made changes to the report, where appropriate.

As agreed with your office, unless you publicly announce the contents of
this report earlier, we plan no further distribution until 30 days from the
report date. At that time, we will send copies of this report to the Ranking
Minority Member, Subcommittee on Criminal Justice, Drug Policy and
Human Resources, and the Chairman and Ranking Minority Member,
House Committee on Government Reform; the Chairman and Ranking
Minority Member of the House Judiciary Committee; the Chairman and
Ranking Minority Member of the Senate Judiciary Committee; the Attorney
General; and the Director, Office of Management and Budget. We will also
make copies available to others on request. In addition, the report will be
available at no charge on the GAO Web site at http://www.gao.gov.
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If you or your staff have any questions on this report, please contact me or
John Mortin on (202) 512 -8777. Key contributors are acknowledged in
appendix V.

Sincerely yours,

Paul Jones
Director, Justice Issues
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Appendix I: Objectives, Scope, and

Methodology

Objectives

Scope and
Methodology: State
Selection and Data

Our overall objectives were to provide fact-based information on how
selected states implement laws that create a medical use exception to
specified state marijuana prohibitions, and to document the impact of
those laws on law enforcement efforts. Specifically, for selected states,
our objectives were to provide information on (1) their approach to
implementing their medical marijuana laws and how they compare, and
the results of any state audits or reviews, (2) the number of patients that
have had doctors recommend marijuana for medical use in each state, for
what medical conditions, and by age and gender characteristics, (3) how
many doctors are known to have recommended marijuana in each, and
what guidance is available for making these recommendations, and

(4) perceptions of federal and state law enforcement officials, and whether
data are available to show how law enforcement activities have been
affected by the exceptions provided by these states’ medical marijuana
laws.

We conducted our review between September 2001 and June 2002 in
accordance with generally accepted government auditing standards.

Eight states have enacted medical marijuana statutes.' We selected four of
those states based on the length of time the laws had been in place, the
availability of data, and congressional interest. Two of the eight states,
Nevada and Colorado, were not selected because their laws had not been
in place for at least 6 months when our review began. Another two states,
Maine and Washington, were not selected because they do not have state
registries to obtain information on program registrants. Alaska, Oregon
and Hawaii do have state registries and had laws in place for at least

6 months. California’s law was enacted in 1996; however, the state does
not have a participant registry. We included it because some local registry
information was available, and the requestor specifically requested
information on California and Oregon. Our sample consists of these four
states: California, Oregon, Alaska, and Hawaii.

We conducted on-site data collection and interviews with senior officials
at state registries in Oregon and Hawaii, county offices in selected
California counties, and the senior official in Alaska by phone and email.
We examined applicable federal and state laws and regulations and

"These eight states were identified in the Supreme Court’s decision in United States v.
Oakland Cannabis Buyers’ Cooperative, 532 U.S. 483, 502 n.4 (2001).
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obtained and analyzed available information on program implementation,
program audits, and program participation by patients and doctors.

Data Reliability

Scope and
Methodology: Law
Enforcement
Opinions

State and California county officials voluntarily supplied data on medical
marijuana program registrants and some provided data on physician
participation. Officials did not provide names to protect participants’
confidentiality. We reviewed the data for reasonableness and followed up
with appropriate individuals about any questions concerning the data.
Given the confidentiality of the information, we could not check the data
back to source documents. We also interviewed knowledgeable state and
county officials to learn how the data was collected and processed, and to
gain a full understanding of the data. We determined the data was reliable
enough for the limited purposes of this report. However, the data only
reflects those that have registered with state and county programs. No
estimate is available on the number of medical marijuana users that have
not registered with a program. Additionally, data from the three state
registries are not representative of participation in other states for which
we did not collect data. Similarly, data from select California counties only
reflect each county, not other counties where we did not conduct audit
work.

We used a nonprobability sample to select law enforcement
representatives to provide examples of the policies, procedures,
experiences, and opinions of law enforcement regarding state medical
marijuana laws. Our selection of these law enforcement representatives
was not designed to enable us to project their responses to others, in this
case, other law enforcement officials. Feedback was requested from
officials at law enforcement organizations we visited, and incorporated
where appropriate.

We discussed state medical marijuana laws with federal, state and local
law enforcement officials in the states of California, Hawaii, Oregon and
Alaska. On-site interviews were conducted in all but Alaska.” Federal
officials in each state included representatives from the office of the U.S.
Attorney and the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). The specific

®As a result of phone discussions with law enforcement officials in Alaska, and the low
number of registrants in Alaska’s medical marijuana program, we decided that interviews
could be conducted by email and phone.

Page 41 GAO-03-189 State Medical Marijuana Laws



Appendix I: Objectives, Scope, and
Methodology

U.S. Attorney and DEA office and officials we met with were selected by
the Department of Justice as the most knowledgeable on the subject. For a
statewide perspective, we interviewed representatives from the Attorney
General’s office and at least one statewide association in California and
Oregon representing law enforcement officials. This included
representatives from the following:

Oregon Attorney General

Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police
California Attorney General

California District Attorney Association
California State Sheriff’'s Association
Hawaii Attorney General

Hawaii Department of Public Safety
Alaska Attorney General

Alaska State Troopers

For a local law enforcement perspective, we interviewed district attorney
and local police department officials. Selection was judgmental and based
on a number of factors, including: suggestions by federal or state officials,
jurisdictions where trips were planned to interview state medical
marijuana registry program officials or state officials, or large portions of
the state population were covered by the department. Local law
enforcement representatives included the following:

Marion County Oregon District Attorney

Portland Oregon District Attorney

Portland Oregon Bureau of Police

Oregon State Police

Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police (Dallas Oregon Police Chief
participated)

Clackamus County Oregon Sheriff’s Office

Los Angeles California District Attorney

Los Angeles California Police Department

San Bernardino California Police Department

Orange California Police Department

Eureka California Police Department/ Humboldt (state) Drug Task Force
Arcata California Police Department

San Francisco California Police Department

Hawaii County Hawaii Prosecuting Attorney

Honolulu County Hawaii Prosecuting Attorney

Hawaii County Hawaii Police Department

Honolulu Hawaii Police Department
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Maui Hawaii Police Department
Anchorage Alaska District Attorney
Anchorage Alaska Police Department
Juneau Alaska Police Department

We requested comments from DOJ on a draft of this report in August 2002.
The comments are discussed near the end of the letter and are reprinted as
appendix V. DOJ also provided technical comments on the draft of this
report and we incorporated DOJ’s comments where appropriate. In
addition, we requested comments from the law enforcement officials we
interviewed pertaining to the section of this report dealing with their
perceptions and included their comments where appropriate. Finally, we
verified the information we obtained on the implementation of state
medical marijuana laws with the officials we contacted during our review.
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Appendix II: The Supreme Court’s Decision in
Unaited States v. Oakland Cannabis Buyers’
Cooperative

Under the federal Controlled Substances Act of 1970 (CSA), marijuana is
classified as a Schedule I controlled substance, a classification reserved

for drugs found by the federal government to have no currently accepted
medical use. 21 U.S.C. 812(c), Schedule I (¢)(10).

Consistent with this classification system, the CSA does not allow
Schedule I drugs to be dispensed upon a prescription, unlike drugs in the
less restrictive drug schedules. Id. 829. In particular, the CSA prohibits all
possession, manufacture, distribution or dispensing of Schedule I
substances, including marijuana, except in the context of a government-
approved research project. Id. 823(f), 841(a)(1), 844.

Some states have passed laws that create a medical use exception to
otherwise applicable state marijuana sanctions. California was the first
state to pass such a law, when, in 1996, California voters passed a ballot
initiative, Proposition 215, which removed certain state criminal penalties
for the medical use of marijuana.

In the wake of Proposition 215, various cannabis clubs formed in
California to provide marijuana to patients whose physicians had
recommended such treatment. In 1998, the United States sued to enjoin
one of these clubs, the Oakland Cannabis Buyers’ Cooperative, from
cultivating and distributing marijuana. The United States argued that,
whether or not the Cooperative’s actions were legal under California law,
they violated the CSA. Following lower court proceedings, the U.S.
Supreme Court granted the government’s petition for a writ of certiorari to
review whether the CSA permitted the distribution of marijuana to
patients who could establish “medical necessity.” United States v.
Oakland Cannabis Buyers’ Cooperative, 532 U.S. 483 (2001).

Although the tension between California’s Proposition 215 and the broad
federal prohibition on marijuana was the backdrop for the Oakland
Cannabis case, the legal issue addressed by the Supreme Court did not
involve the constitutionality of either the federal or state statute. Rather,
the Court confined its analysis to an interpretation of the CSA and whether
there was a medical necessity defense to the Act’s marijuana prohibitions.
The Court held that there was not. While observing that the CSA did not
expressly abolish the defense, the Court stated that the statutory scheme
left no doubt that the defense was unavailable for marijuana. Because
marijuana appeared in Schedule I, it reflected a determination that
marijuana had no currently accepted medical use for purposes of the CSA.
The Court concluded that a medical necessity defense could not apply
under the CSA to a drug determined to have no medical use.
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Cooperative

The Oakland Cannabis case upheld the federal government’s power to
enforce federal marijuana prohibitions without regard to a claim of
medical necessity. Thus, while California (and other states) exempt
certain medical marijuana users and their designated caregivers from state
sanctions, these individuals remain subject to federal sanctions for
marijuana use.
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Oregon, Al
Counties

: Medical Marijuana Registries in
aska, Hawaii, and Select California

Oregon

Alaska

How states implemented registry requirements in the three registry states,
such as which agency administers the registry or the number of staff to
manage it, varied in some ways and were similar in other ways. Similarly,
the county-based registries in California had some differences and
commonalities.

In Oregon, the Department of Human Services is designated to maintain
the state medical marijuana registry. A staff of six is responsible for
reviewing and verifying incoming applications and renewals, including
following up on those that are incomplete, and input and update of the
database. Recommending physicians are sent, and must respond to a
verification letter for the application to be approved. By statute in Oregon,
an applicant can be denied a card for only two reasons—submitting
incomplete or false information. According to the State Public Health
Officer, the scope of the Department of Human Services responsibility is
to see to that there is a written determination of the patient’s condition by
a legitimate doctor, and includes an attending physician recommendation
that the patient might benefit from using marijuana. He stated that the
staff does not question a doctor’s recommendation for medical marijuana
use. The law is clear, he said. It is up to the physician to decide what is
best.

The Oregon Department of Human Services also considers the addition of
new conditions to the list of those acceptable for medical use of
marijuana, as authorized by Oregon’s medical marijuana statute. At the
time of our review, only one of the eight petitions that had been reviewed
by the Department had been approved—agitation due to Alzheimer’s
disease. Most of the petitioned conditions have had a psychological basis,
the State Public Health Officer said.

Alaska’s statute designates the Department of Health and Social Services
to manage the state medical marijuana registry. The full time equivalent of
one half-time person is responsible for registry duties, including checking
applications for accuracy and completeness and entering the information
into the registry. The physician’s license is checked for approval to
practice in Alaska, and if a caregiver is designated the registry is checked
to assure they are only listed as a caregiver for one person unless
otherwise approved by the Department. Patients, physicians and
caregivers are also contacted to verify information as appropriate. If all
Alaska statutory requirements are met, a medical marijuana registry
identification card is issued (see fig. 4). Registry cards are denied in Alaska
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Hawaii

if the application is not complete, the patient is not otherwise qualified to
be registered, or if the information in the application is found to be false.

. __________________________________________________________________________________|]
Figure 3: Example of Alaska's Medical Marijuana Certification Card

BFS STATE OF ALASKA ¥

Parient Medical Marijuana r.a...c,',a“ GM;GHN QPUBLIC

Suate ID Number 9999999 . State ID Number 9999999
Daceof Binh 010148 Registry Addeess 1000 ANYSTREET
5 APT26
Patient Card ANYCITY  AK 999999999
Name  JOHN M ALASKAN o -~ DuwofBinh _ 01-0149
Dase of Exvirarien 07-12.00
AddreR 1008 SEFTRERT, r i Sncondary SUSAN M ALASKAN
ART 26 State 10 Number 9999999

ANYCITY AK 999999959 NQOOODOOUO Address 1000 ANYSTREET
] APT 26

ANYCITY AK 999999999
Date of Bisth 01-01-50

WARNING: ITIS IILECAL TC DUFLICATE TS CARDS
VOIDUF LAMINATED .

The above-named patient is registered with the Department of Health and Social Services as a person who has a debilitating medical
condition that the patient may address with medical ise of marijuana.

TO REMOVE CARD » CAREFULLY SEPARATE FORM

Source: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services.

Alaska’s statute allows the Department to add debilitating medical
conditions to the approved list for use of marijuana. A procedure for
requesting new conditions is outlined in state regulations. To date, there
have been no requests to consider new conditions and none have been
added.

The medical marijuana law passed by the Hawaiian legislature designates
the state Department of Public Safety to administer the Hawaiian medical
marijuana registry. One person within Public Safety’s Narcotics
Enforcement Division staffs the registry. This person is responsible for
reviewing and approving applications and renewals as complete, inputting
applicant information into the database, and responding to any law
enforcement inquiries. Verification procedures in Hawaii are similar to
those followed in other states. See figure 4 for an example of Hawaii’s
registry card.
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|
Figure 4: Example of Hawaii's Medical Marijuana Registry Card

State of Hawaii
Department of Public Safety
Narcotics Enforcement Division
Medical Marijuana Registry
Patient Identification Certificate

Patient: ALOHA, LEI
789 Malihini Street
Honolulu, HI 96816

DOB: 12/31/2000
Patient ID No.: 123-12-1234

Caregiver: PALANI KING
567 Date Street

Honolulu, HI 96870
Caregiver ID No.: H0006789
Location of Marijuana:

Physician:  JOHN A APPLEWAY, md

Physician's Signature

Expiration Date: 1/31/2003

Registration No.: M.JIS0000

Division Administrator

WARNING: IT IS ILLEGAL TO DUPLICATE THIS CARD
ILAW 0225 (12-00)

Source: State of Hawaii Department of Public Safety.
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Appendix III: Medical Marijuana Registries in
Oregon, Alaska, Hawaii, and Select California
Counties

Registration application requirements and procedures for the voluntary
California registries we reviewed were unique to each county, but shared
some procedures with the programs established in the registry states.

In Humboldt County, the patient must submit an application and physician
recommendation to the county Department of Health and Human Services,
with a $40.00 fee. Applicants are interviewed, photographed, and their
county residency documents are checked during an in-person interview.
To protect the confidentiality of doctors, after the physician
recommendation has been verified, the physician portion of the
application is detached and shredded. Applications are denied if the
patient is not a county resident, the physician is not licensed in California,
or there is not a therapeutic relationship between the patient and
physician.

The San Francisco Medical Cannabis ID Card Program applications are
made available through the city’s Department of Public Health, where the
registry is maintained, and also from clinics, doctor’s offices and medical
cannabis organizations that have requested them. Applicants must bring a
physician’s statement form, or form documenting that an oral
recommendation was received, medical records release form, proof of
identification and residence in San Francisco and the fee. For an applicant
the fee is $25.00, plus $25.00 for each primary caregiver, up to a maximum
of three caregivers. Registry cards are valid for up to 2 years, based on a
physician’s recommendation. After verifying the application documents to
its satisfaction, the Department returns the entire application package to
the applicant, and issues cards to the applicant and caregivers. The
department does not copy the materials, or keep the name of registrants.
Information kept on file is limited to the serial number of the cards issued,
the serial number of the identification card submitted, the date the registry
card was issued, and when it expires.

The Mendocino County Public Heath Department and the Sheriff’s office
jointly run the County Pre-identification Program for county residents. The
Health Department accepts the applicant’s Medical Marijuana
Authorization forms, which includes patient and caregiver information,
and a section for the physician to complete. The physician section requires
checking “yes” or “no” to a recommendation, and the expiration length for
the recommendation in months, years or for the patient’s lifetime. No
condition information is requested. After verifying the physician
recommendation, that section is destroyed, and the approved
authorization sheet is sent to the Sheriff’s office. The Sheriff’s office
interviews registrants and caregivers, requiring that they sign a declaration
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as to the caregiver’s role in patient care. Program identification cards with
photographs of patients and caregivers are issued by the Sheriff’s office.

In Sonoma County, the Sonoma County Medical Association, in
conjunction with the Sonoma County District Attorney, developed a
voluntary process for the medical association to provide peer review of
individuals’ medical records and physician recommendations for medical
use of marijuana. Based on the review, the patient’s physician is sent a
determination regarding whether the patient’s case met criteria
established regarding the patient-physician relationship, whether
marijuana was approved of, and whether the condition is within the
California state code allowing medical marijuana use. Upon receiving the
determination from their doctor, patients decide whether to voluntarily
submit the results to the District Attorney for distribution to the
appropriate police department or to the sheriff’s office. According to the
medical association director, some patients will go through the process
but prefer to keep the letter themselves rather than have their name in a
law enforcement database.
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Conditions under State Medical Marijuana
Laws

Medical marijuana laws in California, Oregon, Hawaii and Alaska identify
medical conditions or symptoms eligible for medical marijuana use, but do
not specifically define the conditions or symptoms. The following
descriptions are based on definitions in the Merriam Webster Medical
Dictionary and selected other sources.

Alzheimer’s Disease: Alzheimer’s is a brain disease that usually starts in
late middle or old age. It is characterized as a memory loss for recent
events spreading to memories for more distant events and progressing
over the course of five to ten years to a profound intellectual decline
characterized by impaired thought and speech and finally complete
helplessness.

Anorexia: Anorexia is a lack, or severe loss of appetite, especially when
prolonged. Many patients develop anorexia as a secondary condition to
other diseases.

AIDS: Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome is a severe disorder caused
by the human immunodeficiency virus, resulting in a defect in the cells
responsible for immune response that is manifested by increased
susceptibility to infections and to certain rare cancers.

Arthritis: Arthritis refers to the inflammation of joints, usually
accompanied by pain, swelling, and stiffness.

Cachexia: Cachexia is a general physical wasting and malnutrition usually
associated with chronic disease, such as AIDS or cancer.

Cancer: Cancer is an abnormal growth that tends to grow uncontrolled
and spread to other areas of the body. It can involve any tissue of the body
and can have many different forms in each body area. Cancer is a group of
more than 100 different diseases. Most cancers are named for the type of
cell or the organ in which they begin.

Crohn’s Disease: Crohn’s disease is a serious inflammatory disease of the
gastrointestinal tract, it predominates in parts of the small and large
intestine causing diarrhea, abdominal pain, nausea, fever, and at times loss
of appetite and subsequent weight loss.

Epilepsy: Epilepsy is a disorder marked by disturbed electrical rhythms of

the central nervous system and typically manifested by convulsive attacks,
usually with clouding of consciousness.
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Glaucoma: Glaucoma is a disease of the eye marked by increased
pressure within the eyeball that can result in damage to the part of the eye
referred to as the blind spot and if untreated leads to gradual loss of
vision.

HIV: Human Immunodeficiency Virus is a virus that reduces the number of
the cells in the immune system that helps the body fight infection and
certain rare cancers, and causes acquired immune deficiency syndrome
(AIDS).

Migraine: A migraine is a severe recurring headache, usually affecting
only one side of the head, characterized by sharp pain and often
accompanied by nausea, vomiting, and visual disturbances.

Multiple Sclerosis: Multiple Sclerosis is a disease of the central nervous
system marked by patches of hardened tissue in the brain or the spinal
cord causing muscular weakness, loss of coordination, speech and visual
disturbances, and associated with partial or complete paralysis and jerking
muscle tremor.

Nausea: Nausea refers to a stomach distress with distaste for food and an
urge to vomit. Severe Nausea refers to nausea of a great degree.

Pain: Pain refers to an unpleasant sensation that can range from mild,
localized discomfort to agony. Pain has both physical and emotional
components. The physical part of pain results from nerve stimulation. Pain
may be contained to a discrete area, as in an injury, or it can be more
diffuse, as in disorders that are characterized as causing pain, stiffness,
and tenderness of the muscles, tendons, and joints. Severe pain refers to
pain causing great discomfort or distress. Chronic pain is often described
as pain that lasts six months or more and marked by slowly progressing
seriousness.

Spasticity: Spasticity is a condition in which certain muscles are
continuously contracted. This contraction causes stiffness or tightness of
the muscles and may interfere with gait, movement, and speech.
Symptoms may include increased muscle tone, a series of rapid muscle
contractions, exaggerated deep tendon reflexes, muscle spasms,
involuntary crossing of the legs, and fixed joints. The degree of spasticity
varies from mild muscle stiffness to severe, painful, and uncontrollable
muscle spasms.
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Wasting Syndrome: A condition characterized by loss of ten percent of
normal weight without obvious cause. The weight loss is largely the result
of depletion of the protein in lean body mass and represents a metabolic
derangement frequent during AIDS.
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of Justice

U.S. Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

SEP 27 2002

Mr. Paul Jones

Director

Justice Issues

U.S. General Accounting Office
441 G Street, NW

Washington, DC 20548

Dear Mr. Jones:

On August 26, 2002, the General Accounting Office (GAO) provided the Department of Justice (DOJ)
copies of its draft report entitled “MEDICAL MARIJUANA: Early Experiences With Four States’ Laws.”
While we note that the report fully describes the current status of the programs in the states reviewed,
we are concerned that it fails to adequately address some of the serious difficulties associated with such
programs. The DOJ believes the report does not adequately address, through any considered analysis,
issues related to the 1) inherent conflict between state laws permitting the use of marijuana and federal
faws that do not; 2} potentiaf for facifitating ilfegaf trafficking; 3) impact of such laws on cooperation
among federal, state, and local law enforcement; and 4) lack of data on the medicinal value of
marijuana. Further, the GAO’s continued use of the term “medical marijuana” implicitly accepts the
fact that there is a 1) proven medicinal value to marijuana and 2) legitimate exception to federal law for
this use. Neither of these premises are true. Finally, we note that the GAO fails to consider what the
existence of state “medical marijuana” laws communicates. We believe such laws send society the
wrong message.

Conflict Between Laws

The most fundamental problem with the draft GAO report is that it fails to emphasize the fact that there
is no federally recognized medicinal use of marijuana and thus possession or use of this substance is a
federal crime. Further, the GAO fails to even mention that state laws purporting to approve marijuana
for medical use undermine the closed system of distribution for controlled substances established by the
Controlled Substances Act (CSA). The time-proven safeguards that have made the medical drug
supply in the United States the safest in the world are lacking. State medical marijuana legislation does
not and could not require the cultivators and distributors of marijuana to comply with the federal
requirement that all manufacturers and distributors of Schedule I controlled Substances be registered
with the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). The registration process and record-keeping
requirements established by federal law and administered by DEA are critical components of DEA's
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effort to restrict abuse of marijuana and other controlled substances. In this regard, there is no analysis
nor comparison of state controls of marijuana subject to state “medical marijuana” laws with federal

and state controls of other prescribed medicines covered by the CSA. The regulation of the production
and distribution of prescribed medicines is a critical component in preventing the diversion of controlled
substances that are properly prescribed for medical use. A comparison of DEA's controls of other
legitimately prescribed controlled substances would highlight the lack of proper oversight of marijuana
as a “medicine.”

The registration process is also an important aspect of the United States Government's implementation
of international drug control treaties. These treaties obligate the federal government to prohibit the
cultivation of marijuana except by persons licensed by, and under the direct supervision of, the federal
government. The treaties also obligate the federal government to control the distribution of marijuana.
This is required even if the federal government determines that marijuana has an accepted medical use.
Any state legislation purporting to authorize medical use of marijuana is inconsistent with the CSA as
none of these state laws require the cultivation of marijuana that is federally licensed and supervised by
the federal government. These state laws undermine the ability of the federal government to meet its
obligations under international law. The GAO Draft Report makes no mention of this critical issue.

Abuse of State Laws to facilitate Illegal Drug Trafficking

The GAO Draft Report does not mention that state “medical marijuana” laws are routinely being

abused to facilitate traditional illegal marijuana trafficking and use. Information acquired by DEA during
its investigations of cannabis clubs would provide specific examples of this abuse. The report focuses
exclusively on so-called medical use of marijuana and omits any mention of the abuse of state “medical
marijuana” laws. The report fails to reflect the underlying criminal arena in which marijuana is produced
and consumed and the significant profitability that drives the marijuana market. Because of that factor,
there is a blurred line between medical and illegal commercial markets. Further, some U.S. Attorney’s
Offices have indicated that in their district violent crimes associated with marijuana cultivation (such as
homicides) create significant law enforcement and social issues. Without addressing the illegal
production and diversion of marijuana, the GAO Draft Report provides an incomplete analysis of the
impact of the “medical” marijuana laws on the enforcement of drug control laws.

The passage of Proposition 215 in California and similar legislation in other states has created
unfortunate circumstances for state and local law enforcement officers. The state initiatives also have
provided legal loopholes for drug dealers and marijuana cultivators to avoid arrest and prosecution.
This is due in part to California state government’s lack of guidance as to the implementation of the law
and their seeming unwillingness to enforce state drug laws against traffickers who claim to be involved
with marijuana under the state “medical marijuana” law. Further, those counties that have taken a
public position on proposition 215 have contributed to the dilemma now being experienced by state and
local law enforcement. The vague guidelines established throughout the counties in California sends a
message to many that anyone who has a "recommendation” from a doctor is permitted to grow and
possess certain (varying) amounts of marijuana.
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Impact on Law Enforcement Operations and Cooperation

The GAO Draft Report states that "[s]ome of the federal law enforcement officials we interviewed
indicated that the introduction of state “medical marijuana” laws has had little impact on their
operations." This statement does not accurately reflect DEA's experience in addressing state “medical
marijuana” laws. One of the major effects of the states legislation is the worsening of relations between
federal, state, and local law enforcement.

As a result of these circumstances the most significant issue that now appears to be occurring is the
recognizable rift that the laws have created between state and local law enforcement and federal drug
agents, who are mandated to enforce the federal law. There have been and undoubtedly will continue
to be instances that occur in the affected states where local officers working joint investigations with
DEA have been ordered or instructed not to seize contraband plants and/or marijuana by their district
attorney or state’s attorney office. In some cases, DEA has been required to obtain Federal warrants
to seize marijuana being held by local police agencies to prevent the return of the marijuana to persons
pursuant to State court orders. This conflict has lead to several heated incidences on the West Coast.

For example, in one recent case, where federal agents were cooperating with local officers to serve a
state search warrant at a residence, the District Attorney of Butte County, California, advised a Butte
County detective to arrest a DEA Special Agent if the agent confiscated six marijuana plants that were
found during the operation. The District Attorney asserted that under California's “medical marijuana”
law the plants were lawfully possessed; however, such possession violates federal law. The plants

were seized and submitted to the DEA laboratory for destruction without incident only after
negotiations between the U.S. Attorney, the District Attorney, and DEA representatives to resolve the
issue. In another instance, the Oakland Police Department referred to the DEA a shooting incident
involving the theft of a pound of marijuana because the city of Oakland prohibits its officers from
pursuing any investigation of marijuana that may be claimed to be subject to the state “medical
marijuana” law. In this instance the “victim” of the robbery was a marijuana recipient under the state
“medical marijuana” law who was attempting to sell the marijuana he had to his robbers. Such conflicts
over individual mandates have required frequent intervention by DEA's Office of Chief Counsel and the
DOJ due to the clear lack of a coordinated drug law enforcement policy.

Because state and local law enforcement cannot work on certain marijuana cases under these laws,
federal seized asset sharing has been negatively impacted. In the state of Oregon, the state legislation
prevents the federal government from sharing seized assets directly with state/local law enforcement
entities in cases involving asset seizure without criminal prosecution initiated following marijuana grow
seizures.

It is much more difficult for federal and state officials to prosecute marijuana cases where medicinal use
can be claimed. There is growing local sentiment that because of these laws, federal law enforcement
resources should not be devoted to marijuana prosecutions. This sentiment also manifests itself in jury
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trials where prosecutors have jury nullification concerns (as a result of softened public attitudes towards
marijuana).

In these states, the perception that marijuana is accepted by the public has significantly impacted law
enforcement. According to Oregon State Police authorities, outlaw motorcycle gang members are now
applying for marijuana caregiver status, believing that this will officially authorize their marijuana grow
operations. Marijuana grow operations have always presented problems to law enforcement, and
marijuana potentially subject to state “medical marijuana” laws only serve to further confuse the general
public on this drug. Public perception on this issue appears to be further softened as a result of strong
marketing strategies by pro-legalization/medicinal use advocates. Groups supporting the legalization of
marijuana in Alaska are now preparing new proposals to legalize all marijuana. The public confusion on
this issue can be demonstrated by the fact that the voters in these states approved the medical use of
marijuana but do not allow use in public places (Oregon) or in medical facilities, or nearby school
grounds, recreation centers or youth centers (Alaska). This sends a mixed message to the public as no
other medicines are restricted in this way.

Marijuana As Medicine

The GAO Draft Report's discussion of the debate over the medical value of marijuana is inadequate
and does not present an accurate picture. The draft states that "[t]he potential medical value of
marijuana has been a continuing debate." It fails to mention, however, that smoked marijuana has never
been approved as medicine by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and has never been proven
safe and effective in sound scientific studies. Further, at its 2001 Annual Meeting, the American
Medical Association (AMA)adopted the following as its policy on the medicinal use of marijuana:

“The AMA calls for further adequate and well-controlled studies of marijuana and related
cannabinoids in patients who have serious conditions for which preclinical, anecdotal, or
controlled evidence suggests possible efficacy and the application of such results to the
understanding and treatment of disease; (2) The AMA recommends that marijuana be retained
in Schedule I of the Controlled Substances Act pending the outcome of such studies. (3) The
AMA urges the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to implement administrative procedures to
facilitate grant applications and the conduct of well-designed clinical research into the medical
utility of marijuana. . . . (4) The AMA believes that the NIH should use its resources and
influence to support the development of a smoke-free inhaled delivery system for marijuana or
delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) to reduce the health hazards associated with the
combustion and inhalation of marijuana.”

We also believe the GAO Draft Report should at least reference DEA final orders concerning petitions
to reschedule marijuana published in 1992 and 2001. These reports contain a comprehensive
explanation of the scientific and legal bases for keeping marijuana in Schedule 1.
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In addition, the GAO Draft Report fails to mention that medical "marijuana" is legally available in the
prescription drug Marinol. A pharmaceutical product, Marinol is widely available by prescription. It
comes in the form of a pill and is also being studied by researchers for suitability via other delivery
methods, such as an inhaler or patch, The active ingredient in Marinol is synthetic THC, which has been
found to relieve the nausea and vomiting associated with chemotherapy for cancer patients and to assist
with loss of appetite with AIDS patients. Unlike smoked marijuana—which contains more than 400
different chemicals, including most of the hazardous chemicals found in tobacco smoke—Marinol has
been studied and approved by the medical community and the FDA. Information about Marinol is
necessary to understand the debate over medical use of marijuana.

There is no mention in the report on the prescription of Marinol in these states, or more specifically the
doctors identified in the study, as compared to doctors not prescribing marijuana under state “medical
marijuana” laws versus their prescriptions authored for Marinol, if any. Although the information
concerning the prescription of Marinol may not yet be available, it would be available through a longer
term study by DEA Office of Diversion Control. It would be informative to determine if Marinol is sold
in any quantity to pharmacies in these states by distributors for the manufacturer, both before and after
state “medical marijuana” legislation was passed.

As noted by the above comments, we believe that the report falls short by not adequately addressing
these significant issues. [urge you will consider our concerns in preparing the final GAO report on this
important subject. If you have any questions regarding the Department’s comments, you may contact
Vickie L. Sloan, Director, Audit Liaison Office, on (202) 514-0469.

Sincerely,

Robert F. Diegelman
Acting Assistant Attorney General
for Administration
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An article published in the Journal of Drug Policy Analysis that analyzed the medical conditions
of medical marijuana users in California in 2006, released January 2011.
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Abstract

While 15 states and the District of Columbia provide allowances for medical marijuana, little
is known about the individuals who seek a physician’s recommendation to use marijuana. This
study provides descriptive information about 1,655 applicants in California who sought a
physician’s recommendation for medical marijuana, the conditions for which they sought
treatment, and the diagnoses made by the physicians. It presents a systematic analysis of physician
records and questionnaires obtained from consecutive applicants seen during a three-month period
at nine medical marijuana specialty practices operating throughout the state. The analysis yields
insights that may be useful for future research on medical marijuana and marijuana policy,
including: 1) very few of those who sought a recommendation had cancer, HIV/AIDS, glaucoma,
or multiple sclerosis; 2) most applicants presented with chronic pain, mental health conditions, or
insomnia; and 3) half of the applicants reported using marijuana as a substitute for prescription
drugs.
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l. INTRODUCTION

As of December 2010, 15 states and the District of Columbia provide allowances
for medical marijuana (National Conference of State Legislatures, 2010)." There
is a small literature about whether these laws influence the overall demand for
marijuana (Gorman and Charles, 2007; Pacula et al., 2010), and a tremendous
amount of discussion about how medicinal marijuana is distributed, especially in
California (see e.g., Hoeffel, 2010a; 2010b). What remains largely missing from
the literature and policy discussions is a good understanding of the individuals
who seek a medical allowance for marijuana.

This paper helps fill this gap by systematically evaluating the
characteristics, ailments, and medical histories of a large group of applicants who
sought a medicinal marijuana recommendation. Data were collected from
medical charts and doctor interviews with 1,655 individuals seen in June, July and
August of 2006 from nine medical marijuana specialty practices dispersed
throughout California. The results provide some interesting insights as to the
characteristics of those seeking medicinal allowances nearly a decade after the
policy was introduced in California.

The remainder of this paper is organized as follows. In Section 2 we
briefly review the literature on the therapeutic value of cannabinoids, provide
details of the specific allowances provided for within California state law, and
review previously published surveys of populations of medical marijuana users.
In Section 3 we discuss the methods that were used in the current study, including
our data collection procedures, and in Section 4 we present our results. A general
discussion of these findings and the limitations of our study are presented in
Section 5.

Il. BACKGROUND AND LITERATURE REVIEW
Research on the Therapeutic Value of Cannabinoids

Cannabinoids are compounds found in the cannabis plant (phytocannabinoids), in
animals (endocannabinoids), and synthesized in laboratories (e.g., THC
analogues, cannabinoid receptor agonists) (Pertwee, 2006). Cannabinoid
receptors are found in all animals; in humans, cannabinoid receptors are
concentrated in the brain but are also found in other parts of the body.

The use of cannabis as a medicine originated thousands of years ago.
After being introduced to the West in the mid-nineteenth century, cannabis-based

! This excludes Maryland. While Maryland does allow those arrested for marijuana possession to
use a medical necessity defense, those found to be using for medical purposes are still convicted
and can be fined up to $100.
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medicines were popular through the early decades of the twentieth century
(Grinspoon, 2005; Zuardi, 2006). The virtual disappearance of cannabis-based
medicines by the mid-1900s was due to the introduction of new pharmaceuticals
(e.g., aspirin, chloral hydrate, barbiturates) for the same conditions, such as pain,
migraines, menstrual cramps, and sedation, as well as the legal restrictions
associated with the 1937 Marihuana Tax Act (Fankhauser, 2002; Grinspoon,
2005).

The Institute of Medicine’s (IOM) 1999 report Marijuana and Medicine:
Assessing the Science Base, concluded: “Scientific data indicate the potential
therapeutic value of cannabinoid drugs, primarily THC, for pain relief, control of
nausea and vomiting, and appetite stimulation; smoked marijuana, however, is a
crude THC delivery system that also delivers harmful substances” (4). The report
further noted that, “For the most part, the logical categories for the medical use of
marijuana are not based on particular diseases but on symptoms...[that] can be
caused by various diseases or even by treatments for diseases” (I0OM, 1999; pp.
137-138). Based on these findings, the panel recommended that “clinical trials of
cannabinoid drugs for symptom management should be conducted with the goal
of developing rapid-onset, reliable, and safe delivery systems” (4). In addition to
focusing on pain relief, control of nausea and vomiting, and appetite stimulation,
the 10M report also recommended that clinical trials focus on the suitability of
cannabinoid drugs to address anxiety reduction and sedation.

Reviews published since the IOM report also highlight the potential
therapeutic value of cannabinoid drugs; however, few of the studies focus on
inhaled marijuana. A review of 72 randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled
studies from 1975 to 2004 that evaluated the therapeutic effects of cannabinoids
concludes: “Cannabinoids present an interesting therapeutic potential as
antiemetics, appetite stimulants in debilitating diseases (cancer and AIDS),
analgesics, and in the treatment of multiple sclerosis, spinal cord injuries,
Tourette's syndrome, epilepsy and glaucoma” (Ben Amar, 2006). A more recent
review focusing on clinical studies published from 2005 to 2009 (Hazekamp and
Grotenhermen, 2010) concluded that cannabinoids have “therapeutic potential
mainly as analgesics in chronic neuropathic pain, appetite stimulants in
debilitating diseases (cancer and AIDS), as well as in the treatment of multiple
sclerosis.” For both reviews, a minority of the trials evaluated inhaled marijuana
(six and eight studies, respectively). The others used a synthetic THC isomer or
analog for oral administration, or plant extract in oral or sublingual preparations.

2 Hazekamp and Grotenhermen included recent studies of nabilone, a prescription drug that is a
THC analog. Skrabek et al. (2008) performed a randomized, controlled trial to assess the benefit of
nabilone on pain reduction and quality of life improvement in patients with fibromyalgia. They
found significant decreases in pain and anxiety. Similarly, Ware et al. (2010) concluded that
nabilone “is effective in improving sleep in patients with fibromyalgia and is well tolerated.”
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In February 2010, the Center for Medicinal Cannabis Research (CMCR) at
the University of California San Diego submitted a report to the Legislature and
Governor of California describing five completed clinical trials with inhaled
marijuana (Grant et al., 2010). Four demonstrated pain relief effects in conditions
secondary to injury or disease of the nervous system (Abrams et al., 2007,
Wallace et al., 2007; Wilsey et al., 2008; Ellis et al., 2009), and one suggested a
reduction of spasticity in multiple sclerosis (Corey-Bloom et al., 2008).

Medicinal Marijuana in California

In California, patients with a physician’s recommendation, along with their
designated caregivers and recommending physicians, are exempted from state
criminal laws against marijuana. Although provision and use remain illegal under
federal law, U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder made a statement in March 2009
suggesting that the federal government would not target those who complied with
state medical marijuana laws. This was made more official in an October 2009
memo to U.S. Attorneys which noted: “As a general matter, pursuit of these
priorities should not focus federal resources in your States on individuals whose
actions are in clear and unambiguous compliance with existing state laws
providing for the medical use of marijuana.”

The California medical marijuana law, passed through voter referendum
(Proposition 215) in 1996, permits the use of marijuana for “cancer, anorexia,
AIDS, chronic pain, spasticity, glaucoma, arthritis, migraine, or any other illness
for which marijuana provides relief.” California Senate Bill 420, signed into law
on October 12, 2003, named additional ailments such as severe nausea, cachexia,
seizures, and persistent muscle spasms (regardless of whether they are associated
with multiple sclerosis). In an effort to provide better guidance to law
enforcement agencies, SB 420 allowed patients and primary caregivers to possess
up to six mature plants (or 12 immature plants) and eight ounces of marijuana;
however, it granted local governments the authority to establish larger maximum
quantities.

Many of the early studies about medicinal marijuana users in California
focused on individuals with HIV or AIDS (e.g., Harris et al., 2000; Sidney, 2001;
de Jong et al., 2005; Prentiss et al., 2004). Based on analyses of several
unpublished surveys of clients entering cannabis buyer clubs in the San Francisco
Bay Area, Gieringer (2002) found that the share of clients that were AIDS and
cancer patients declined after the passage of Proposition 215. More recent
research in California shows that medicinal marijuana patients are largely men

Finally, in a more recent observational study (Bestard and Toth, 2010), nabilone was found to be
as effective as gabapentin, a first line medication for peripheral neuropathy, in measures of pain,
sleep, depression and anxiety.
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who present with pain and/or emotional/mental health concerns (O’Connell and
Bou-Matar, 2007; Reiman, 2007; Reiman, 2009). An informal survey of several
California medical marijuana specialty physicians revealed that more than 95% of
the patients of each physician were already “self-medicating” prior to the receipt
of their recommendation, leading Mikuriya et al. (2007) to conclude that the
physicians were really “approving” the medical use of marijuana as opposed to
“recommending” it.

I11.  DATA AND METHODS

The data used in this study come from medical records of 1,745 applicants
consecutively presenting to nine MediCann clinics located in large and small
cities throughout California.> The sample is based on visits in June, July, and
August 2006, roughly ten years after the original law was enacted. Medical
charts were reviewed and data entered within a few weeks of the visit. Our final
sample excludes 90 individuals who are either missing diagnosis information
(N=35) or did not report using marijuana before seeking a recommendation
(N=55).* There are no statistically significant differences in terms of age,
race/ethnicity, and gender between those included and excluded in the analysis
sample.

We drew on consecutive visits from all nine clinics in hopes of
approximating a representative sample of applicants seeking recommendations at
these medical marijuana specialty practices. The sample is not generalizable to all
individuals applying for a medical marijuana recommendation as it only
represents those individuals selecting this particular network of physicians.

In general, the MediCann policy was to provide a 12-month
recommendation to those with an acceptable medical condition who had
supporting medical record documentation.” Those without medical record
documentation received a provisional three-month recommendation conditional
upon them providing the MediCann physician with a copy of the relevant
supporting medical record, or, if not currently under the care of a medical
professional, seeking care and providing those records. Applicants were only
denied if they did not report having an eligible medical condition or if they

® Since 2006, MediCann has expanded to 21 locations throughout California.

* While in many ways the applicants who report not using marijuana prior to seeking this
recommendation are perhaps the most interesting, there are an insufficient number of these
individuals in our sample for robust comparisons.

® Qualifying patients would be given a recommendation and would be reassessed periodically to
review the course of treatment and any new information about their health, as well as to monitor
response to treatment as indicated by a decrease in symptoms, an increase in level of function, or
an improvement in quality of life.
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refused to be under the care of a medical professional. For our sample the denial
rate was less than 2%.

MediCann’s medical records include two standard forms specifically
created for MediCann. One form is filled out by the applicant and includes
demographic information, medical history, and marijuana use history. The
second form is filled out by the evaluating physician and contains clinical
information related to the health problem and symptoms for which the applicant is
seeking help. Clinic physicians relied on medical histories, physical exams, and
the supporting medical documents when they assigned diagnoses. The supporting
medical documents included laboratory and radiological evaluations to validate
applicant claims of use of marijuana for relief of symptoms due to a medical
condition. Over two-thirds of applicants (67.8%) brought medical record
documentation with them at the time of the visits analyzed in our study.

In light of the limited information on this population of interest, we
examine simple means or sample proportions for several variables of interest,
including patient characteristics and stated therapeutic needs, physician diagnoses,
and medical history. Results are provided for the entire sample and then broken
down by gender.

IV. RESULTS
Applicant Characteristics

Applicant demographic information is shown in Table 1 both for the full sample
and by gender, since almost 73% of the applicants seeking a recommendation
were male. This is not much different than the share of those in the 2006 National
Household Survey on Drug Use and Health who reported purchasing marijuana in
the previous month (70%). Female applicants seeking recommendations were, on
average, older and more likely than men to be African American, have some
college education, have Medicaid (Medi-Cal) health insurance, or to be
unemployed and disabled (19.5% of women reported being unemployed due to
disability). In general, those seeking recommendations were insured (73.0%
currently insured, of whom 24.2% were covered through Medicare or Medicaid),
have at least a high school degree (only 8.8% had less than a high school degree),
and were generally employed (68.7%).

As for the age distribution, at least half of the population that sought
medical recommendations through this physician group was over the age of 35.
For comparison, the median age category for those 18 and older in the 2006
NSDUH who reported purchasing marijuana in the previous month was 26-29
years.
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Table 1. Characteristics of applicants seeking physician recommendations
for medical marijuana

All Females | Males | P-value
N=1655 | N=452 | N=1203
Male 72.7% - - -
White 58.5% | 60.0% | 58.0% 0.477
Hispanic 145% | 13.1% 15.0% 0.305
Black 10.9% | 14.2% 9.7% 0.010
Native American/Asian 6.9% 5.3% 7.6% 0.108
Mixed race or other 8.9% 8.0% 9.3% 0.393
12-18 years old 0.2% 0.0% 0.2% 0.288
18-24 years old 17.8% | 12.6% 19.8% 0.001
25-34years old 27.9% | 26.8% | 28.3% 0.546
35-44 years old 21.8% | 19.9% | 22.5% 0.251
45-54 years old 19.3% | 26.1% 16.8% 0.000
55+ years old 13.0% | 14.6% 12.4% 0.232
Not a high school graduate | 8.8% 8.6% 8.9% 0.866
High school graduate 42.5% 35.7% 45.1% 0.001
Some college 27.1% 31.0% 25.6% 0.031
College graduate 21.6% 24.7% 20.4% 0.064
Employed 68.7% | 60.4% | 71.8% 0.000
Disabled 155% | 19.5% 14% 0.006
Previous military service 10.5% 2.1% 13.6% 0.000
Currently insured 73.0% | 782% | 71.1% 0.004
Workers’ compensation 3.5% 2.9% 3.7% 0.394
Medicare 9.2% 11.9% 8.2% 0.020
Medi-Cal 15.0% | 21.7% 12.6% 0.000
Private 424% | 41.4% | 42.7% 0.619
Veterans Administration 3.2% 2.0% 3.7% 0.086

Notes: Missing employment/disability data for 3 applicants, insurance information for 13
applicants, education information for 51 applicants, and military information for 86 applicants.
Education variables denote highest level obtained. P-values below 0.05 are printed in italics.
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Table 2. Self report of therapeutic benefits of medical marijuana

All Females | Males | P-value
N=1655 | N=452 | N=1203
To relieve:
Pain 82.6% 82.7% 82.5% 0.924
Spasms 41.3% 44.2% 40.1% 0.132
Headache 40.8% | 49.3% 37.6% 0.000
Anxiety 38.1% 51.1% 33.3% 0.000
Nausea 27.7% | 44.9% 21.3% 0.000
Depression 26.1% 35.4% 22.6% 0.000
Cramps 19.0% 33.4% 13.5% 0.000
Panic 16.9% 27.2% 13.1% 0.000
Diarrhea 4.8% 4.9% 4.7% 0.913
Itching 2.7% 1.1% 3.3% 0.013
To improve:
Sleep 70.6% 69.0% 71.2% 0.397
Relaxation 55.6% 60.2% 53.9% 0.023
Appetite 38.0% 35.0% 39.2% 0.117
Focus 23.3% 19.7% 24.6% 0.035
Energy 15.5% 17.7% 14.7% 0.135
To prevent:
Anger 22.7% 21.9% 22.9% 0.653
Medication side effects 22.6% 27.0% 20.9% 0.009
Involuntary movements 6.2% 7.3% 5.8% 0.266
Seizure 3.0% 3.8% 2.7% 0.239
As a substitute for:
Prescription medicine 50.8% 51.1% 50.7% 0.885
Alcohol 13.2% 11.3% 13.9% 0.164

Note: P-values below 0.05 are printed in italics.
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Applicants’ Self Reports of the Therapeutic Benefits of Marijuana

In light of the IOM’s argument that *“the logical categories for the medical use of
marijuana are not based on particular diseases but on symptoms” (IOM; pp. 137-
138), we examined the self-reported therapeutic benefit received from marijuana
and the symptoms it helped relieve.  Applicants were asked: “Which of the
following best describe the therapeutic benefit you receive from medicinal
cannabis? (Check the most important reasons you use cannabis.)” The results are
presented in Table 2.

Applicants most frequently reported using medical marijuana for pain
relief (82.6%), improved sleep (70.6%), and relaxation (55.6%). The next most
frequently reported benefits included relief of muscle spasms (41.3%), headache
(40.8%), relief of anxiety (38.1%), improved appetite (38.0%), relief of nausea
and vomiting (27.7%), and relief of depression (26.1%). Half the applicants
(50.8%) reported using marijuana as a substitute for prescription medication and
13.2% reported using marijuana as a substitute for alcohol.

Interestingly, women were statistically more likely than men to report that
they used marijuana to relieve most of the indications listed, including headaches,
anxiety, nausea, depression, panic, and medication side-effects. The only
indication for which men were more likely than women to report use of marijuana
was to help with focus (24.6% and 19.7%, respectively).

Physician Diagnoses

Table 3 presents the highest frequency diagnoses made by MediCann physicians
and the diagnoses specifically listed in the Compassionate Use Act. Recall that
treating physicians make their diagnoses based on a review of the applicant’s
history, the medical records from treating physicians (in two-thirds of the cases),
and on their own physical examination. Evaluating physicians were then asked
to “circle only diagnoses related to patient’s medicinal marijuana use” from a list
of 162 diagnoses.

In general, chronic pain disorders were the most common diagnoses made
by physicians, with nearly 60 percent (58.2%) of applicants being diagnosed with
some sort of musculoskeletal or neuropathic chronic pain condition. Low back
pain was diagnosed for over one quarter (26.2%) of patients seen during this three
month period, with lumbar and cervical degenerative disc disease (together
21.8%) and arthritis (18%) the next most common diagnoses in the chronic pain
group. Mental health disorders were the next largest group of diagnoses made
(22.9%), followed closely by sleep disorders (21.3%). Diagnoses in the grouping
“neurological disorders,” including migraine and other headache, were made in
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16.6% of applicants. Only 3% of the applicants were diagnosed with either cancer
or HIV/AIDS.

Table 3. High frequency diagnoses and diagnoses listed in Proposition 215
and SB 420

All Females | Males | P-value
N= N= N=
1655 452 1203
Musculoskeletal and neuropathic chronic pain
Low back pain 26.2% | 20.4% | 28.4% 0.001
Arthritis 18.0% | 17.0% | 18.4% | 0.529
Lumbar degenerative disc disease 156% | 16.6% | 15.3% 0.518
Muscle spasm 11.7% 9.5% 12.5% 0.095
Cervicalgia 8.9% 11.7% 7.9% 0.015
Cervical degenerative disc disease 6.2% 6.2% 6.2% 0.976
Peripheral neuropathy 5.8% 8.8% 4.7% 0.001
Fibromyalgia 1.6% 4.0% 0.7% 0.000
Spasticity 0.2% 0.0% 0.2% 0.288
Any of these chronic pain ICDs 58.2% | 57.3% | 58.5% 0.654
Mental disorders
Anxiety disorders 18.7% | 285% | 15.0% 0.000
Depression 9.3% 14.2% 7.5% 0.000
Bipolar disorder 2.5% 4.9% 1.7% 0.000
Attention deficit disorder 3.1% 2.0% 3.6% 0.100
Any of these mental disorder ICDs 22.9% | 33.6% | 18.9% | 0.000
Sleep disorders
Persistent insomnia 13.5% | 13.9% | 13.4% 0.769
Insomnia due to pain 8.0% 8.4% 7.9% 0.734
Any of these sleep disorder ICDs 21.3% | 21.9% | 21.1% | 0.727
Gastrointestinal disorders
Nausea and vomiting 7.4% 9.5% 6.6% 0.041
Anorexia 4.6% 4.4% 4.7% 0.842
Abdominal pain 2.9% 4.9% 2.2% 0.004
Gastritis and GERD 2.5% 4.0% 1.9% 0.016
Irritable bowel syndrome 1.1% 0.4% 1.3% 0.121
Any of these gastrointestinal disorder ICDs | 13.3% | 16.6% | 12.1% 0.015
Neurologic disorders
Migraine headache 9.2% 16.2% 6.7% 0.000
Other headache 6.5% 6.6% 6.5% 0.910
Seizure 1.4% 1.5% 1.3% 0.735
Multiple sclerosis 0.6% 1.1% 0.4% 0.106
Any of these neurologic disorder ICDs 16.6% | 24.8% | 13.5% 0.000
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Gynecologic disorders
Dysmenorrhea 7.7%
Endometriosis 1.8%
Any of these gynecologic disorder ICDs 9.3%

Other
HIV/AIDS 1.6% 0.9% 1.9% 0.142
Cancer 1.5% 2.4% 1.1% 0.040
Glaucoma 1.3% 1.1% 1.3% 0.717

Note: Does not include all ICD9s, and excludes those that were written in. P-values below 0.05
are printed in italics.

Previous Treatments Reported by Applicants

Because self-reported information was collected from applicants and most
provided medical documentation from their treating physician, it was possible to
consider the extent to which previous therapies had been used to cope with or
treat the primary symptoms for which they were seeking a medical allowance. In
Table 4 we provide a list of therapies or approaches that were previously tried or
currently being used. Almost half of the applicants (47.6%) reported taking
prescription medication at the time of their evaluation, and nearly 4 out of 5
(79.5%) reported having taken prescription medication in the past for their
problems. As chronic pain was the leading diagnosis for which marijuana was
being recommended, we were curious to see what percent of applicants had used
opioids or opiate medication to deal with their problem. On the physician
evaluation form, evaluating physicians were asked to check yes or no if the
applicant was currently using or had used in the past opioids or opiate medication
prescribed by another physician for their chronic pain. Evaluating physicians
determined that almost half of all applicants (48.0%) experiencing chronic pain
either currently or in the past had been prescribed opioids or opiate medication.

Non-prescription therapies tried by applicants seeking medicinal
marijuana allowances included physical therapy (48.6%), chiropractic services
(37.2%), surgery (21.9%), psychological counseling (20.7%), and acupuncture
(19.6%). Thus, these data do not suggest that applicants immediately seek
marijuana recommendations as the first strategy to deal with their symptoms. In
many cases, these individuals tried more traditional forms of medicine first.

http://www.bepress.com/jdpalvol4/issl/artl 10
DOI: 10.2202/1941-2851.1017



Nunberg et al.: Applicants Presenting to a Medical Marijuana Specialty Practice

Table 4. Previous treatments and physician recommendations for additional
treatment

All Females Males P-value
N=1655 | N=452 | N=1203

Other treatment modalities applicants tried for medical conditions

Current prescription medication 47.6% 57.1% 44.2% 0.000
1-2 prescriptions 36.7% 36.1% 37.0% 0.727
3-5 prescriptions 4.4% 9.1% 2.7% 0.000
6+ prescriptions 6.5% 11.9% 4.5% 0.000

Previous prescription medication 79.5% 86.5% 76.8% 0.000

Past or current Rx for opioids for pain | 48.0% 52.3% 46.4% 0.040

Physical therapy 48.6% 54.4% 46.5% 0.004

Chiropractic 37.2% 42.3% 35.2% 0.009

Surgery 21.9% 22.3% 21.8% 0.804

Psychological counseling 20.7% 33.4% 16.0% 0.000

Acupuncture 19.6% 26.8% 16.9% 0.000

Therapeutic injection 15.0% 21.5% 12.6% 0.000

Other types of treatment 8.6% 11.1% 7.7% 0.032

Referrals for further evaluation and treatment

Primary care provider 22.4% 22.6% 22.3% 0.900
Medical specialist 16.2% 16.2% 16.2% 0.977
Physical therapy 8.2% 7.1% 8.6% 0.327
Chiropractor 6.5% 3.8% 7.5% 0.006
Psychological counseling 5.6% 7.1% 5.0% 0.098
Acupuncture 1.8% 2.2% 1.6% 0.382
Homeopathy 0.2% 0.2% 0.2% 0.815
Biofeedback 0.1% 0.0% 0.1% 0.540

Note: P-values below 0.05 are printed in italics.
V. DISCUSSION

This study provides descriptive information from 1,655 applicants who sought to
obtain a physician’s recommendation for medical marijuana in California, the
conditions for which they sought treatment, and the diagnoses made by the
physicians. The most common diagnoses reported were for chronic pain, mental
health conditions (primarily anxiety and depression), and sleep disorders
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(insomnia). For physicians who make medical marijuana recommendations, the
risk of being deceived is not dissimilar to the risk of deception faced by those who
prescribe oxycodone and other painkillers; however, those prescribing the latter
can limit the number of pills and refills.® For medical marijuana, existing laws and
policies only allow physicians to make recommendations, they cannot control the
number of purchases, what is purchased (e.g., % THC or other cannabinoid
content), where it is purchased, or the route of administration (e.g., inhale smoke
or vapor, ingest an edible, apply topically).

The majority of applicants reported that they tried other therapies,
including prescription drugs, to manage their symptoms prior to seeking the
medicinal allowance. Fifty percent of the sample reported that they used
marijuana as a substitute for prescription medicine. This is consistent with other
studies (e.g., Reiman, 2007; 2009) and raises important questions about the
specific drugs they are replacing. Future research with this population should
focus on previous and concurrent prescription medication use to examine claims
that marijuana enables people to reduce or eliminate their use of prescription
medications. These data could also be useful for understanding whether there
could be cost-savings or quality of life gains associated with substituting certain
prescription medicines with marijuana.

This also raises the issue about whether the legalization of marijuana for
non-medicinal purposes would influence the consumption of prescription drugs.
Not only would full-scale legalization increase the availability and reduce the
price of marijuana (Kilmer et al., 2010), but the reduced stigma may increase the
likelihood that some individuals try it for medicinal purposes. It could also be the
case that doctors may be more willing to discuss marijuana use with patients if it
was not prohibited.

Less than 5% of the applicants in our sample were diagnosed with
HIV/AIDS, cancer, or glaucoma. While these were not the only diseases and
conditions discussed when Proposition 215 was on the ballot, they did receive a
lot of attention. This low figure is not surprising; we would expect the number of
applicants presenting with HIV/AIDS, cancer, or glaucoma to be relatively low
compared to the number presenting with pain, anxiety, and insomnia, due to the
relative prevalence of these conditions in the general population. However, it is
also important to note that many of those receiving recommendations did so for
conditions other than those listed by the IOM.

Finally, the age profile observed in the sample of applicants is intriguing,
especially when compared with those who report purchasing marijuana in the
previous month in the 2006 NSDUH. One should not assume the larger median
age for these applicants is statistically meaningful given sampling differences and

® However, doctors prescribing oxycodone cannot prevent patients from crushing the pill to
deactivate the time-release functionality and then snorting or injecting it.
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the fact that our sample is drawn exclusively from California. However, if these
age differences appear in future studies, it could offer important insight about age-
related risk aversion and/or age-specific access to distribution networks—each
with different policy implications. Thus, future work should explore the
robustness of these differences and consider their implications for policy.

We conclude by reminding readers that we did not examine a randomly-
selected representative sample of all individuals in California seeking a medical
recommendation for the use of marijuana. We were merely able to collect data
from a sample of individuals who presented themselves within a three month
window to a group of doctors that they most likely expected would be willing to
provide them with a recommendation. The applicants receiving recommendations
from these doctors may differ from those in the general population in important
ways that we are unable to know. As applicants receiving physician
recommendations are not required by law to register with county or state health
officials, we have no way of knowing the extent to which the population served
by this particular physician group might differ from that served by other medical
marijuana specialists or by primary care physicians. Knowledge about the number
and type of individuals that receive recommendations from other specialists or
from primary care physicians would improve our understanding of medical
marijuana users in California.

Since California law allows for medical marijuana use for any “illness for
which marijuana provides relief,” we have an enormous opportunity to further our
understanding of the risks and benefits of marijuana with careful questioning of
some of the thousands of patients willing to discuss their use of marijuana.
Detailed information about the doses, frequency, methods, and forms of
marijuana consumed, as well as information about past and present alcohol, illicit
drug, and prescription medication consumption would be of great interest.
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Registrant Characteristics by State

A summary of medical marijuana registrants and conditions by state by the New York City
Comptroller’s Office published in August 2013. The full report is available at:
http://comptroller.nyc.gov/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/RegMarij Summary 8-29b.pdf
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APPENDIX: METHODOLOGY

There are approximately 1,030,887 registered medical marijuana patients (MMP) in the U.S. We arrived at this
number using a combination of state-reported MMP registry data and estimates when those were unavailable.
The Comptroller's office located 2012 or 2013 registry data that was reported by state agencies in eight states:
Arizona, Colorado, Hawaii, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, and Rhode Island. California and Washington do
not have registries, and so these numbers were estimated by ProCon.org, a non-partisan nonprofit research group
that attempts to present balanced information on controversial issues. For the remaining states, we were unable to
find state-reported data and relied upon ProCon.org for numbers of medical marijuana patients, which were current
as of December 2012.%

STATES THAT LEGALIZED MEDICAL MARIJUANA

State Year Population Rggi?:ﬁ;‘:d
California 1996 38,041,430 553,684
Alaska 1998 731,449 1,246
Oregon 1998 3,899,353 55,937
Washington 1998 6,897,012 99,943
Maine 1999 1,329,192 16,444
Colorado 2000 5,187,582 106,817
Hawaii 2000 1,392,313 11,183
Nevada 2000 2,758,931 4,173
Montana 2004 1,005,141 7,099
Vermont 2004 626,011 559
Rhode Island 2006 1,050,292 4,849
New Mexico 2007 2,085,538 8,188
Michigan 2008 9,883,360 124,131
Arizona 2010 6,553,255 36,634
Subtotal 81,440,859 1,030,887
DC 2010 632,323 N/A
New Jersey 2010 8,864,590 N/A
Delaware 2011 917,092 N/A
Connecticut 2012 3,590,347 N/A
Massachusetts 2012 6,646,144 N/A
lllinois 2013 12,875,255 N/A
New Hampshire 2013 1,320,718 N/A
20 States + D.C. TOTALS 116,287,328 1,030,887

Source: Census Bureau; ProCon.org; Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, Monthly Report, 2013; Colorado
Department of Health; Hawaii Department of Public Safety, Annual 2012 Report; Michigan Department
of Health; Montana Marijuana Program May 2013 Registry Information; Nevada Health Division, Medical

Marijuana Program; Oregon Health Authority; and Rhode Island Department of Health.
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49 ProCon.org, “Medical Marijuana, How Many People in the United States Use Medical Marijuana,” last updated December 2012,
http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.answers.php?question|D=001199, accessed on August 20, 2013.
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Although medical marijuana legislation has passed in 20 states and the District of Columbia, our analysis includes only
14 states. We excluded D.C., New Hampshire, lllinois, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Delaware, and New Jersey, largely
because they are new programs that have few or no patients. Delaware and New Jersey, which ProCon.org reports
have 21 and 239 MMP respectively, are excluded because, as previously noted, their programs have experienced
significant hurdles, greatly limiting the number of people who can access medical marijuana. New Hampshire and
lllinois just passed medical marijuana in 2013. Connecticut and Massachusetts passed their laws in 2012. D.C. legalized
medical marijuana in 2010, but its first medical marijuana patient just received the drug in July 2013.%°

According to the Census Bureau 2012 population estimates, there are 81,440,859 people living in the 14 states we
examined. To estimate the MMP population in NYC if medical marijuana were to be legalized, we created a ratio of
MMPs to the general population in those 14 states: 1,030,887/81,440,859 = 1.27 percent. Applying this rate to the
City's estimated 8,336,697 residents yields 105,527 New Yorkers that would likely register for medical marijuana today.

ESTIMATING NYC’S POTENTIAL MEDICAL MARIJUANA
PATIENTS (MMPS)

14 states

Total Population 81,440,859
MMPs 1,030,887
Rate 1.27%
NYC

Total Population 8,336,697
MMP Estimate 105,527

Certain states provide detailed reporting of registered medical marijuana patients by condition. The table below
presents the number of patients registered to receive medical marijuana for each recognized condition in Arizona,
Colorado, Hawaii, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, and Rhode Island. For each state, we include each condition’s
share of that state's registered MMPs. For instance, in Colorado, 93.7 percent of MMPs are registered for chronic pain.
The eight states generally report the same categories, although Montana lumps all cancer, glaucoma, and HIV/AIDS
patients into single category.

50 DeBonis, Mike, “D.C. Records its First Pot Deal in at least 75 Years,” D.C. Politics, July 29, 2013. http://www.washingtonpost.com/ ‘e‘““'"ll.%
local/dc-politics/dc-records-its-first-legal-pot-deal-in-at-least-75-years/2013/07/29/17521b42-f889-11e2-b018-5b8251f0c56e_story.html, § A
accessed on August 21, 2013. w -
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NUMBER OF REGISTERED MEDICAL MARIJUANA PATIENTS FOR REPORTED CONDITIONS AND

SHARE OF STATE’S PATIENTS REPORTING EACH CONDITION L
Arizona Colorado Hawaii Michigan Montana Nevada Oregon Rhode Island sII\::.e NYC

Chronic or severe 5, 35| 8959 100,112| 93.7% | 6,817 90.7% 79,313 66.0% | 4,503| 63.4% 3.808| 91.3% 54,342 97.1% | 3,504  72.3% 83.0% 87,594

pain

:‘I’r"‘ﬁ:!;:gﬁg‘f) 543 1.5%| 15,664 147%| 156 2.1%| 22,250 18.5%| 118 1.7%| 924| 22.1% 14,990 26.8%| 1,393| 28.7% 14.5% 15311
Severe Nausea 357 1.0%| 11,216 105%| 132| 1.8% 9,084| 7.6%| 908 12.8%| 719 17.2% 8,310 14.9% 858 17.7%| 10.4% 10,996
Cancer 696 1.9%| 2,843 27%| 152| 2.0% 2526 2.1% 143| 3.4%| 2,332 4.2%| 354| 7.3% 3.4%| 3,555

Seizures/epilepsy 255 0.7% 1,824 1.7% 48 0.6%| 1,414 1.2% 207 2.9% 100 2.4%| 1,362| 2.4% 125 2.6%| 1.8% 1,919

‘Slglzsc}l:?ne 40| 0.1% 1,137 1.1% 46| 0.6% 1,273 1.1% 405| 5.7% 145| 3.5%| 1,063 1.9% 265 55%| 2.4%| 2,558
(Cachexia)

HIV/AIDS 186, 0.5% 638 0.6% 72| 1.0% 556| 0.5% 57 1.4% 690 1.2% 146 3.0% 1.2%| 1,227
Glaucoma 324, 0.9% 1,070 1.0% 92 1.2%| 1,112] 0.9% 77 1.8% 911 1.6% 85 1.8%| 1.3%| 1,396
Hepatitis C 655 1.8% 1,617, 1.3% 291 6.0%| 3.0% 3,213
Other** 7,539 0 3,649 2,593 1,858 56 1,023 21.1%

TOTAL PATIENTS 36,634 106,817 11,183 124,131 7,099 4,173 55,937 4,849 105,527

Sources: Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, Monthly Report, 2013; Colorado Department of Health; Hawaii Department of Public Safety, Annual 2012 Report;
Michigan Department of Health; Montana Marijuana Program May 2013 Registry Information; Nevada Health Division, Medical Marijuana Program;
Oregon Health Authority; and Rhode Island Department of Health.

* “MS" means multiple sclerosis

** “Other” includes illnesses that were not reported in all states, such as Alzheimer’s, Crohn’s Disease, painful peripheral neuropathy, Central Nervous
System disorder with pain, Admittance to hospice, ALS, Nail Patela, and a category for “Two or More Condlitions.” For Rhode Island, “other” also includes
diagnoses that were not entered in the license system.

ADDITONAL NOTES: Michigan’s total number of patients in FY2012 was not reported outright. The report shows that adding patients by county yields
124,131 non-minor patients, but adding patients by condition yields 120,121. We use the lower count to calculate percentages in the table, but present the
124,131 as the total number of patients in this table and to calculate total MMPs in the 14 states. Similarly, in Hawaii, the reported total of 11,183 is higher
than the sum of the reported conditions (11,164). The Annual Report that presents this information makes no attempt to explain the difference.

Some reporting differences among state are worth noting. Arizona and Hawaii report the number of people registered
with multiple conditions (7,338 and 3,648, respectively), but do not distribute them among the different categories.
Therefore, we calculated the share of MMPs registered for each condition without including the patients with two or
more conditions. For instance, in Arizona, 88.9 percent of registered patients for which conditions are reported have
chronic pain, or 26,039 divided by 29,095, which is the sum of patients in each category listed. Colorado, Montana,
Nevada, Oregon, and Rhode Island do not separate out the number of patients registered for multiple conditions, so
we were able to determine the share of patients for each condition by dividing by the total number of patients. These
states count each patient under multiple conditions if they are registered for more than one, so the total number of
patients is less than the sum of all conditions. Michigan only appears to report each patient once.

On the right side of the table we present an average across the eight states for the share that each condition comprises
of the MMP population. We then apply these average rates to our estimate of patients who would register for medical
marijuana in NYC: 105,527. These rough estimates suggest that more than 87,000 New Yorkers suffering from chronic
pain and more than 15,000 New Yorkers with muscle spasms, including multiple sclerosis, could benefit from medical
marijuana.
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Senate Bill 1250 from the 2013 legislative session is not directly related to the petition initiative.
The detailed provisions of the bill may differ in material respects from the petition initiative

language. The bill is included for background information only.
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Medical Cannabis; Creating the "Cathy Jordan Medical Cannabis Act"; authorizing a qualifying patient to possess and administer medical cannabis, and possess

and use paraphernalia for a specified purpose; requiring a qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver to present to a law enforcement officer a registry

identification card to confirm that the person is authorized to

possess, use, or administer medical cannabis or paraphernalia; requiring a qualifying patient or

the patient’s caregiver to possess, use, or administer only medical cannabis that is obtained from a dispensary or medical cannabis farm, etc.
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A bill to be entitled
An act relating to medical cannabis; creating part III
of ch. 499, F.S.; creating s. 499.801, F.S.; providing
a short title; creating s. 499.802, F.S.; providing
legislative findings; creating s. 499.803, F.S.;
providing a legislative purpose; creating s. 499.804,
F.S.; providing definitions; creating s. 499.805,
F.S.; authorizing a qualifying patient to possess and
administer medical cannabis, and possess and use
paraphernalia for a specified purpose; authorizing the
patient’s caregiver to possess and administer medical
cannabis to a qualifying patient and to possess and
use paraphernalia for a specified purpose; providing
that a registry identification card, or its
equivalent, which is issued from another jurisdiction
has the same force and effect as a registry
identification card issued by the Department of
Health; requiring a qualifying patient or the
patient’s caregiver to present to a law enforcement
officer a registry identification card to confirm that
the person is authorized to possess, use, or
administer medical cannabis or paraphernalia;
requiring a qualifying patient or the patient’s
caregiver to possess, use, or administer only medical
cannabis that is obtained from a dispensary or medical
cannabis farm; authorizing a qualifying patient who is
a minor to possess, use, or administer medical
cannabis only if the parent or legal guardian signs a

written statement; providing requirements for the
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written statement; providing a procedure to change the
patient’s designation of a caregiver; providing a
procedure for replacing a lost registry identification
card; providing that a registration form to obtain a
registry identification card is deemed valid if the
Department of Health fails to issue or deny the
registration form within a specified number of days;
authorizing the department to revoke a cardholder’s
registry identification card; creating s. 499.80¢,
F.S.; providing restrictions for the use of medical
cannabis; requiring a person who wishes to be a
qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver to
register with the department; providing the maximum
amount of medical cannabis which a qualifying patient
or the patient’s caregiver may possess; prohibiting
medical cannabis from being administered in a public
place or at a dispensary; authorizing medical cannabis
to be administered in certain medical treatment
facilities; requiring a qualifying patient or the
patient’s caregiver to transport medical cannabis in a
labeled container or sealed package; providing that
the act does not allow a person to undertake a task
under the influence of medical cannabis when doing so
constitutes negligence or malpractice; providing that
the use of medical cannabis does not create a defense
to certain offenses; providing that evidence of a
person’s voluntary intoxication that results from the
use of medical cannabis is not admissible for certain

reasons; authorizing a person or entity to provide
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information about the existence or operation of a
medical cannabis farm or dispensary to another person;
prohibiting a law enforcement officer from further
stopping or detaining a person if the law enforcement
officer determines that the person is in compliance
with the use of medical cannabis or paraphernalia;
creating s. 499.807, F.S.; authorizing a physician to
recommend use of medical cannabis under certain
circumstances; requiring the physician to sign a
written recommendation if he or she recommends the use
of medical cannabis; providing requirements for the
written recommendation; providing that a physician is
not subject to penalty, arrest, prosecution or
disciplinary proceedings or denial of a right or
privilege for advising a qualifying patient about the
use of medical cannabis, recommending the use of
medical cannabis, providing a written recommendation
for a patient’s medical use of cannabis, or stating
that, in the physician’s professional opinion, the
potential benefits of medical cannabis would likely
outweigh the health risks for a patient; prohibiting a
physician from having a professional office located at
a medical cannabis farm or dispensary or receiving
financial compensation from a medical cannabis farm or
dispensary or its directors, officers, members,
incorporators, agents, or employees; creating s.
499.808, F.S.; requiring the Department of Business
and Professional Regulation to regulate the permitting

and licensure of medical cannabis farms and
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88 dispensaries; requiring each medical cannabis farm to
89 apply for permitting and each dispensary to apply for
90 licensure with the Department of Business and

91 Professional Regulation before manufacturing,

92 cultivating, dispensing, possessing, or distributing
93 medical cannabis, or manufacturing, possessing, using,
94 or distributing paraphernalia; creating s. 499.809,

95 F.S.; authorizing a dispensary or medical cannabis

96 farm to possess, cultivate, manufacture, or possess

97 medical cannabis and to manufacture, purchase,

98 possess, and distribute paraphernalia for a specified
99 purpose; authorizing a dispensary to dispense to a
100 qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver medical
101 cannabis and distribute paraphernalia; authorizing a
102 qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver to
103 obtain medical cannabis and paraphernalia from a
104 dispensary under certain circumstances; prohibiting a
105 dispensary from directly dispensing to a qualifying
106 patient or through the patient’s caregiver more than
107 specified amount of medical cannabis, mature marijuana
108 plants, immature marijuana plants, or marijuana plant
109 seedlings within a specified time period; requiring
110 each medical cannabis farm and dispensary to implement
111 a security plan; requiring the Department of Business
112 and Professional Regulation to develop educational
113 materials that a dispensary must distribute to a
114 qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver;
115 prohibiting a director, officer, member, incorporator,
116 agent, or employee of a medical cannabis farm or
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117 dispensary from having certain felony convictions;
118 providing that a person who violates or has violated
119 the act may not be a director, officer, member,
120 incorporator, agent, or employee of a medical cannabis
121 farm or dispensary; requiring the Department of
122 Business and Professional Regulation to revoke the
123 permit or license of the medical cannabis farm or
124 dispensary until the convicted or formerly convicted
125 person is no longer a director, officer, member,
126 incorporator, agent, or employee of the medical
127 cannabis farm or dispensary; creating s. 499.810,
128 F.S.; providing that certain qualifying patients,
129 their caregivers, nurse practitioners, registered
130 nurses, pharmacists, and other persons are not subject
131 to arrest, prosecution, penalty, or denial of any
132 right or privilege regarding the medical use of
133 medical cannabis under certain circumstances;
134 prohibiting a school, employer, or property owner from
135 refusing to enroll, employ, or lease to or penalize a
136 person who is a cardholder; providing that a
137 presumption is created when a qualifying patient or
138 the patient’s caregiver is engaged in the authorized
139 use of medical cannabis; authorizing the use of
140 evidence to rebut that presumption; authorizing the
141 patient’s caregiver to be reimbursed for certain
142 costs; providing that such reimbursement is not the
143 sale of a controlled substance; providing that certain
144 interests or rights to property related to the medical
145 use of cannabis may not be forfeited under the Florida
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146 Contraband Forfeiture Act; providing that a qualifying
147 patient’s medical use of cannabis is the equivalent to
148 the authorized use of any other medication used at the
149 direction of a physician; providing that such use does
150 not constitute the use of an illicit drug under s.
151 893.03, F.S.; providing for affirmative defenses;
152 authorizing the clerk of the court to assess a fee for
153 dismissal of a case in certain circumstances;
154 authorizing a qualifying patient to operate, navigate,
155 or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle,
156 aircraft or vessel under certain circumstances;
157 providing that a person who makes a fraudulent
158 representation to a law enforcement officer relating
159 to activities involving medical cannabis or
160 paraphernalia is subject to a criminal fine in
161 addition to other penalties under law; creating s.
162 499.811, F.S.; providing additional defenses to a
163 prosecution involving cannabis; authorizing a person
164 to assert the medical purpose for using cannabis in a
165 motion to dismiss; providing that certain interests or
166 rights to property related to a qualifying patient’s
167 use of cannabis for medical purposes may not be
168 forfeited under the Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act
169 under certain circumstances; providing that a person
170 who cultivates, manufactures, possesses, administers,
171 dispenses, distributes, or uses cannabis, or
172 manufactures, possesses, distributes, or uses
173 paraphernalia, in a manner not authorized by this act
174 is subject to criminal prosecution and sanctions under
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175 the Florida Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and
176 Control Act; creating s. 499.812, F.S.; providing that
177 the act does not require a governmental, private, or
178 other health insurance provider or health care
179 services plan to cover, or prohibit it from covering,
180 a claim for reimbursement for the use of medical
181 cannabis; creating s. 499.813, F.S.; prohibiting an
182 employer, laboratory, employee assistance program, and
183 alcohol and drug rehabilitation program and their
184 agents from releasing certain information without a
185 written consent; providing requirements for the
186 written consent; prohibiting information regarding a
187 qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver from
188 being released or used in a criminal proceeding;
189 providing that such information is inadmissible as
190 evidence; authorizing the Department of Health and its
191 employees to have access to information regarding a
192 qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver under
193 certain circumstances; creating s. 499.814, F.S.;
194 requiring the Department of Health, the Department of
195 Business and Professional Regulation, and the
196 Department of Revenue to adopt rules by a specified
197 date; requiring the fees collected by the departments
198 to be applied first to the cost of administering the
199 act; authorizing a state resident to commence an
200 action in a court of competent jurisdiction if the
201 departments fail to adopt rules by a specified date;
202 creating part XVII of ch. 468, F.S.; creating s.
203 468.901, F.S.; providing a purpose; creating s.
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204 468.902, F.S.; providing legislative findings and
205 intent; creating s. 468.903, F.S.; providing
206 definitions; creating s. 468.904, F.S.; requiring the
207 Department of Business and Professional Regulation to
208 adopt certain rules; establishing the medical cannabis
209 section within the Department of Business and
210 Professional Regulation; requiring the medical
211 cannabis section of the department to require medical
212 cannabis farms and dispensaries to maintain certain
213 records and information; requiring the medical
214 cannabis section of the department to develop
215 education materials, conduct inspections, and revoke
216 or suspend licenses or permits; requiring the medical
217 cannabis section of the department to adopt rules;
218 creating s. 468.905, F.S.; authorizing a medical
219 cannabis farm to possess, cultivate, and manufacture
220 medical cannabis, medical cannabis-based products, and
221 marijuana plants for wholesale in this state;
222 requiring a medical cannabis farm to be registered
223 with the department before possessing, manufacturing,
224 cultivating, and wholesaling medical cannabis, medical
225 cannabis-based products, or marijuana plants;
226 requiring agricultural classification for land used as
227 a medical cannabis farm; prohibiting a medical
228 cannabis farm from conducting retail sales or
229 transactions; requiring a medical cannabis farm to
230 implement a security plan and maintain procedures in
231 which medical cannabis-based products are accessible
232 only to authorized personnel; providing that the
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233 active ingredient in all medical cannabis-based
234 products cultivated, manufactured, and wholesaled to a
235 licensed dispensary in this state must be wholly
236 derived from marijuana plants cultivated and grown in
237 this state, except for marijuana seeds and seedlings;
238 providing that a medical cannabis farm is provided
239 certain protections and is not deemed a public
240 nuisance solely because its farm product includes
241 production of marijuana; creating s. 468.906, F.S.;
242 authorizing a dispensary to dispense and sell to a
243 qualifying patient or patient’s caregiver medical
244 cannabis, medical cannabis-based products, marijuana
245 plants, and medical cannabis-related paraphernalia and
246 to manufacture, purchase, possess, and distribute
247 medical cannabis-related paraphernalia; requiring each
248 dispensary to be registered with the department before
249 possessing, purchasing, or retailing medical cannabis,
250 medical cannabis-based products, marijuana plants, or
251 medical cannabis-related paraphernalia; prohibiting a
252 dispensary from conducting wholesale sales or
253 transactions; authorizing a dispensary to retail to a
254 qualifying patient or patient’s caregiver medical
255 cannabis, medical cannabis-based products, marijuana
256 plants, or medical cannabis-related paraphernalia if
257 the qualifying patient or patient’s caregiver meets
258 certain conditions; requiring a dispensary to purchase
259 its medical cannabis-based products from a medical
260 cannabis farm that has a department-issued permit;
261 prohibiting a dispensary from dispensing a certain
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262 amount of medical cannabis and marijuana plant
263 seedlings to a qualifying patient or caregiver within
264 a certain time period; requiring a dispensary to
265 maintain certain records for a specified number of
266 years; requiring a dispensary to make available
267 educational materials; requiring a dispensary to
268 prohibit a qualifying patient or patient’s caregiver
269 from using or administering any form of medical
270 cannabis while on the property of the dispensary;
271 creating s. 468.907, F.S.; prohibiting a person from
272 engaging in the business of a medical cannabis farm
273 except in conformity with part XVII of ch. 468, F.S.;
274 providing factors for standards for qualifying for a
275 permit or for renewing a permit to operate a medical
276 cannabis farm; requiring the department to establish
277 permitting fees; providing maximum amounts for the
278 fees; requiring a person who cultivates, manufactures,
279 or wholesales medical cannabis, medical cannabis-based
280 products, or marijuana plant products at one or more
281 locations to possess a current valid permit for each
282 location; authorizing an applicant for a permit to
283 operate a medical cannabis farm to commence an action
284 in a court of competent jurisdiction to compel the
285 Department of Business and Professional Regulation to
286 perform certain actions if the department fails to
287 adopt rules by a specified date; creating s. 468.908,
288 F.S.; prohibiting a person from operating a dispensary
289 in this state except in conformity with part XVII of
290 ch. 468, F.S.; providing factors for standards for
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291 qualifying for a license or for renewing a license to
292 operate a dispensary; requiring the Department of
293 Business and Professional Regulation to establish by
294 rule licensure fees; providing maximum amounts for the
295 fees; requiring a person who conducts the wholesale
296 purchase or retail sale of any form of medical
297 cannabis products at more than one location to possess
298 a current valid license for each location; authorizing
299 an applicant for a license to operate a dispensary to
300 commence an action in a court of competent
301 jurisdiction to compel the department to perform
302 certain actions if the department fails to adopt rules
303 by a specified date; creating s. 468.909, F.S.;
304 requiring the department to prescribe application
305 forms; providing requirements for submitting an
306 application for a license or a permit; authorizing the
307 department to require an applicant to furnish other
308 information or data; creating s. 468.910, F.S.;
309 providing requirements for licenses and permits;
310 authorizing the department to include other
311 information on a license or permit; providing that a
312 license or permit may not be issued, renewed, or
313 allowed to remain in effect for certain circumstances;
314 prohibiting a person from knowingly submitting
315 information or presenting to the department a false,
316 fictitious, or misrepresented application,
317 identification, document, information, statement, or
318 data intended or likely to deceive the department in
319 order to obtain a license or permit; authorizing the
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320 department to adopt rules regarding persons who
321 legally possess medical cannabis for the purpose of
322 teaching, research, or testing in a laboratory
323 setting; authorizing the department to issue letters
324 of exemption; providing that a person who violates or
325 has violated any provision of this part may not be a
326 director, officer, member, incorporator, agent, or
327 employee of a medical cannabis farm or dispensary;
328 providing that any prior authorization of such person
329 shall be immediately revoked; requiring the department
330 to suspend the license or permit of the medical
331 cannabis farm or dispensary until the person is
332 removed from the position of director, officer,
333 member, incorporator, agent, or employee; creating s.
334 468.911, F.S.; providing that certain terms may be
335 used to designate a medical cannabis farm that has a
336 department-issued permit or a licensed dispensary;
337 requiring for conspicuous display of a license or
338 permit; providing specified dates for validity and
339 expiration of licenses and permits; providing
340 application procedures for obtaining initial licenses
341 and permits and renewal of licenses and permits;
342 providing the fee structure for reactivating an
343 inactive license or permit; creating s. 468.912, F.S.;
344 requiring the reporting of a loss, theft, or
345 unexplained shortage of medical cannabis product to
346 the local law enforcement agency and the department;
347 requiring any sheriff, police department, or law
348 enforcement officer in this state to give immediate
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349 notice to the department of a theft, illegal use, or
350 illegal possession of medical cannabis and to forward
351 a copy of his or her final written report to the
352 department; requiring an investigating law enforcement
353 agency to forward a copy of its written report to the
354 department; requiring the department to retain the
355 reports; creating s. 468.913, F.S.; providing
356 procedures for the issuance of a cease and desist
357 order; creating s. 468.914, F.S.; authorizing the
358 department to impose administrative fines for
359 violations for part XVII of ch. 468, F.S., and
360 applicable department rules; providing procedures for
361 payment of administrative fines; providing that all
362 fines, monetary penalties, and costs received by the
363 department in connection with this part shall be
364 deposited in the Professional Regulation Trust Fund of
365 the Department of Business and Professional
366 Regulation; creating s. 468.915, F.S.; authorizing the
367 department to seek injunctive relief and to apply for
368 temporary and permanent orders for certain violations;
369 creating s. 468.916, F.S.; providing circumstances
370 that warrant immediate suspension of a license or
371 permit; requiring the department to enter an order
372 revoking or suspending all licenses or permits of a
373 licensee or permittee under certain circumstances;
374 providing requirements for an order of suspension and
375 an order of revocation; providing for application of
376 an order of revocation or suspension to a newly issued
377 permit or license; providing that a person whose
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permit or license has been suspended or revoked may
not be issued a new permit or license under any other
name or company name until the expiration of the
suspension or revocation; creating s. 468.917, F.S.;
providing that all hearings and review of orders from
the department must be conducted in accordance with
ch. 120, F.S.; creating s. 468.918, F.S.; providing
for criminal penalties; creating s. 468.919, F.S.;
prohibiting a county or municipality from creating or
imposing an ordinance or rule that is more restrictive
than the provisions contained in this part and the
applicable department rules; creating s. 468.920,
F.S.; providing that all fees collected for licenses
and permits are deposited in the Professional
Regulation Trust Fund; providing that all moneys
collected and deposited in the Professional Regulation
Trust Fund must be used by the department in the
administration of part XVII of ch. 468, F.S.;
requiring the department to maintain a separate
account in the Professional Regulation Trust Fund for
the Drugs, Devices, and Cosmetics program; amending
ss. 812.14, 893.03, 893.13, 893.1351, 893.145, and
921.0022, F.S.; conforming provisions to changes made
by the act; providing for severability; providing an

effective date.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

Section 1. Part III of chapter 499, Florida Statutes,
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407 consisting of sections 499.801, 499.802, 499.803, 499.804,
408 499.805, 499.806, 499.807, 499.808, 499.809, 499.810, 499.811,
409 499.812, 499.813, and 499.814, is created to read:
410 499.801 Short title.—This part may be cited as the “Cathy
411 Jordan Medical Cannabis Act.”

412 499,802 Legislative findings.—The Legislature finds that:

413 (1) Modern medical research has discovered beneficial uses

414 for cannabis in treating or alleviating pain, nausea, and other

415 symptoms associated with certain qualifying medical conditions,

416| as indicated by the National Academy of Sciences’ Institute of

417| Medicine (IOM) in its report dated March 1999, cited by the

418| United States Department of Health and Human Services, that

419| “there is substantial consensus among experts in the relevant

420| disciplines on the scientific evidence about potential medical

421 uses of marijuana.”

422 (2) The prohibition against the use of cannabis has been in

423| effect for 75 years and is rooted in outdated scientific

424 evidence that does not make a reasonable distinction between its

425 recreational use and beneficial medicinal use.

426 (3) This state leads the southeast region of the United

427 States in farm income, and the second largest industry in the

428 state is agriculture. In 2011, this state ranked first in the

429| TUnited States in the value of production of oranges and

430| grapefruit; first in value of production of fresh-market snap

431| Dbeans, cucumbers for fresh market, bell peppers, squash, sweet

432 corn, fresh-market tomatoes, and watermelons; and second in

433 value of production of cucumbers for pickles, strawberries,

434 tangerines, and sugarcane for sugar and seed.

435 499.803 Legislative purpose.—
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(1) The purpose of this act is to make a distinction

between the medical and nonmedical use of cannabis and to

protect patients who have qualifying medical conditions, their

physicians, and their caregivers from arrest, criminal

prosecution, property forfeiture, and other penalties if such

patients engage in the medical use of cannabis. Compassionate

medicinal use of cannabis will also reduce state law enforcement

costs, including, but not limited to, state prison costs, local

jail costs, felony prosecution costs, court and probation costs,

costs associated with felony and misdemeanor arrests, and

alternative treatment costs by reducing the incidence of arrest

and prosecution of nonviolent medicinal cannabis and traffickers

in the state.

(2) The economic impact of this act is expected to create

jobs, generate tax revenue, revitalize vacant farmlands, add to

the sale of farming machinery and supplies, and generate

occupancy of vacant commercial real estate. This economic impact

can be accomplished using this state’s existing infrastructure

without the need for new appropriations.

(3) The Legislature enacts this part pursuant to its police

power to enact legislation for the protection of the health of

its residents, as reserved to the state in the Tenth Amendment

to the United States Constitution.

499.804 Definitions.—As used in this part, unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise, the term:

(1) “Administer” or “administration” means the direct

introduction of medical cannabis, whether by inhalation,

ingestion, vaporization, topical application, or other means

onto or into the body of a person.
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465 (2) “Bona fide physician-patient relationship” means a

466| relationship between a physician and patient in which the

467| physician:

468 (a) Has completed a full assessment of the patient’s

469| medical history and current medical condition, including a

470| personal physical examination; and

471 (b) Has responsibility for the ongoing care and treatment

472 of the patient.

473 (3) “Cannabis” has the same meaning as provided in s.
474 893.02.
475 (4) “Cardholder” means a qualifying patient, or the

476| patient’s caregiver, who has been issued and possesses a valid

477 registry identification card. The department shall adopt rules

478 that establish eligibility requirements for a cardholder.

479 (5) “Department” means the Department of Health.

480 (6) “Dispensary” means a facility operated by an

481 organization or business that is licensed under the Department

482 of Business and Professional Regulation pursuant to ss. 499.808

483 and 499.809 from or at which medical cannabis is possessed and

484| dispensed and paraphernalia is possessed and distributed to a

485 qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver.

486 (7) “Dispense” means to distribute medical cannabis to a

487 qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver in accordance with

488 this part and department rule.

489 (8) “Distribute” means the actual, constructive, or

490 attempted transfer from one person to another.

491 (9) “Manufacture” means the production, preparation,

492| propagation, compounding, conversion, or processing of cannabis

493| and marijuana, directly or indirectly, by extraction from
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494| substances of natural origin, or independently by means of

495 chemical synthesis, or by a combination of extraction and

496 chemical synthesis, and includes the packaging or repackaging of

497 the substance and the labeling or relabeling of its container.

498 (10) “Marijuana” means a pistillate hemp plant with the

499 scientific name of Cannabis sativa whose dried leaves and

500| flowering tops yield the psychoactive ingredient

501 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), which can be ingested, vaporized,

502 smoked, sprayed, applied topically, or manufactured as a

503 component ingredient in food, drink, or pill, or in hemp oil

504 form, to produce an intoxicating or physiological healing

505 effect.

506 (11) “Mature marijuana plant” means a female marijuana

507| plant that has flowers or buds that are readily observable in an

508 unaided visual examination.

509 (12) “Medical cannabis” means any part of the cannabis

510| plant used as a physician-recommended form of medical or herbal

511 therapy, or a synthetic form of specific cannabinoids such as

512 tetrahydrocannabinol, which is used as a physician-recommended

513 form of medicine and is cultivated, manufactured, possessed,

514 distributed, dispensed, obtained, consumed, smoked, eaten,

515 digested, vaporized, or otherwise administered in accordance

516| with this part and the rules adopted pursuant to s. 499.814. The

517 term does not include a controlled substance listed in Schedule

518 II, Schedule III, Schedule IV, or Schedule V of s. 893.03.

519 (13) “Medical cannabis farm” means land that:

520 (a) Has received a current agricultural classification

521| pursuant to s. 193.461 by the county property appraiser, a value

522 adjustment board, a court of competent jurisdiction, or the
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523| board of county commissioners of the county in which the land is

524 situated, before application for a permit to use the land to

525 cultivate marijuana plants is granted, as defined in this

526 section; and

527 (b) Is or will be used primarily for bona fide agricultural

528| purposes.
529 (14) “Medical treatment facility” means:

530 (a) A facility that provides human medical diagnostic

531 services as its primary purpose;

532 (b) A facility that provides nonsurgical human medical

533 treatment; or

534 (c) The practice of medicine in which the patient is

535| admitted to and discharged from a facility, including a

536| hospital, within the same working day or for a duration of days.
537

538 The term does not include a facility that exists for the primary

539| purpose of performing terminations of pregnancies or an office

540| maintained by a dentist or endodontist for the practice of

541 dentistry or endodontics.

542 (15) “Medical use” means the acquisition, possession,

543 cultivation, manufacture, use, delivery, transfer, or

544 transportation of cannabis or paraphernalia relating to the

545| consumption of cannabis to treat a qualifying medical condition

546| and the symptoms associated with that condition or to alleviate

547 the side effects of a qualifying medical treatment.

548 (16) “Minor” means a person under 18 years of age.
549 (17) “Paraphernalia” means:
550 (a) Objects and electronic devices, including vaporizers,

551 which are used, intended for use, or designed for use in
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preparing, storing, ingesting, inhaling, spraying, applying, or

otherwise introducing medical cannabis into the human body; and

(b) Kits, objects, devices, or equipment used, intended for

use, or designed for use in planting, propagating,

manufacturing, cultivating, growing, harvesting, processing, or

preparing medical cannabis.

(18) “Patient’s caregiver” or “caregiver” means a person

who:

(a) Is designated by a qualifying patient and registered

with the department as the person authorized, on the qualifying

patient’s behalf, to possess, obtain from a dispensary,

dispense, and assist in the administration of medical cannabis;

and

(b) Is at least 18 years of age.

(19) “Physician” means a person who is licensed under

chapter 458 or chapter 459 and who holds a valid federal

controlled substance registry number.

(20) “Qualifying medical condition” means:

(a) Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) or positive

status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV);

(b) Alzheimer’s disease or agitation of Alzheimer’s

disease;
(c) Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS);
(d) Anorexia;
(e) Cachexia;
(f) Cancer;
(g) Chronic debilitating pain;
(h) Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with

objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity;
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581 (i) Decompensated cirrhosis;
582 (j) Epilepsy and other disorders characterized by seizures;
583 (k) Fibromyalgia;
584 (1) Glaucoma;
585 (m) Hepatitis C;
586 (n) Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease;
587 (o) Multiple sclerosis and other disorders characterized by

588| muscle spasticity;

589 (p) Muscular dystrophy;

590 (q) Nail-patella syndrome;

591 (r) Persistent nausea or severe vomiting;

592 (s) Neuroborreliosis;

593 (t) Organ transplantation;

594 (u) Painful peripheral neuropathy;

595 (v) Parkinson’s disease;

596 (w) Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD),; or

597 (x) Terminal illness, if the physician has determined a
598| prognosis of less than 12 months of life.

599 (21) “Qualifying medical treatment” means:

600 (a) Chemotherapy;

601 (b) Radiotherapy;

602 (c) The use of azidothymidine or protease inhibitors; or
603 (d) Treatment of a qualifying medical condition as defined

004 in this section.

605 (22) “Qualifying patient” means a person who is a resident

606 of this state and registered with the department as a person who

607| has been diagnosed by a physician as having a qualifying medical

608 condition or undergoing a qualifying medical treatment.

609 (23) “Registry identification card” means a nontransferable
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610| document issued by the department which identifies a person as a

611| qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver.

612 499.805 Medical cannabis usage.—

613 (1) Notwithstanding any provision of law, a qualifying

614| patient may possess and administer medical cannabis and possess

615| and use paraphernalia in accordance with this part and

616| department rule only for treatment of a qualifying medical

617 condition or the side effects of a qualifying medical treatment

618 and only after obtaining a signed, written recommendation from a

619| physician in accordance with s. 499.807, and a nontransferable

620 registry identification card from the department.

621 (2) Notwithstanding any provision of law, a patient’s

622| caregiver may possess and administer medical cannabis to a

623| qualifying patient and possess and use paraphernalia for the

624 sole purpose of assisting in the administration of medical

625| cannabis to the patient in accordance with this part and

626| department rule.

627 (3) A registry identification card, or its equivalent,

628 which is issued under the laws of another state, district,

629| territory, commonwealth, or insular possession of the United

630 States which allow the use of medical cannabis by a visiting

631 qualifying patient or allow a person to assist with a visiting

632| qualifying patient’s medical use of cannabis, has the same force

633 and effect as a registry identification card issued by the

634 department.

635 (4) A qualifying patient, or the patient’s caregiver,

636 shall, upon demand, present to a law enforcement officer his or

637 her registry identification card to confirm that he or she is

638 authorized to possess, use, or administer medical cannabis or
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639| paraphernalia.

640 (5) A qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver shall

641| possess, use, or administer only medical cannabis obtained from

642 a dispensary or medical cannabis farm that is issued a license

643 or permit from the Department of Business and Profession

644| Regulation.

645 (6) A qualifying patient who is a minor may possess, use,

646| or administer medical cannabis only if the parent or legal

647 guardian of the minor has signed a written statement affirming

648 that the parent or legal guardian:

649 (a) Understands the minor’s qualifying medical condition or

650| qualifying medical treatment;

651 (b) Understands the potential benefits and potential

652 adverse effects of the use of medical cannabis, generally and

653 specifically, in the case of the minor;

654 (c) Consents to the use of medical cannabis for the

655| treatment of the minor’s qualifying medical condition or

656| treatment of the side effects of the minor’s qualifying medical

657 treatment; and

658 (d) Consents to the designation of, or designates, an

659 authorized person to serve as the patient’s caregiver and to

660 control the acquisition, possession, dosage, and frequency of

661| use of medical cannabis by the qualifying patient.

662 (7) If a qualifying patient who possesses a registry

663 identification card changes his or her designation of a

664 caregiver, the department shall notify the patient’s current

665 caregiver within 10 days after the department has issued a

666 registry identification card to the patient’s new caregiver. The

667| patient’s current caregiver’s registry identification card
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668| expires 10 days after notification by the department.

669 (8) If a cardholder loses his or her registry

670 identification card, he or she shall notify the department and

671 submit a $25 fee within 10 days after reporting the lost card.

672| Within 5 days after being notified, the department shall issue a

673| new registry identification card to the cardholder.

674 (9) If the department fails to act upon a request for a

675| registry identification card within 35 days after receiving the

676 registration form, the card is deemed granted, and the copy of

677 the registration form is deemed a valid registry identification
678 card.
679 (10) If the department determines that a cardholder

680 willfully violates this part, the department may revoke the

681 cardholder’s identification card.

682 499,806 Restrictions on the use of medicinal cannabis.—

683 (1) A person who seeks designation as a qualifying patient

684 or the patient’s caregiver must register with the department.

685 (2) The maximum amount of medical cannabis which a

686| qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver may possess at any

687| given time 1s 4 ounces of dried medical cannabis, eight mature

688| marijuana plants, or eight immature marijuana plants. However,

689 the department, by rule, may increase the quantity of dried

690| medical cannabis which may be possessed. The department shall

691 adopt by rule limits on medical cannabis in a form other than

092 the dried form.

093 (3) Medical cannabis may not be administered by or to a

694 qualifying patient in a public place or at a dispensary. Medical

695| cannabis may be administered at a medical treatment facility, if

696| allowed by the facility, if a qualifying patient is receiving
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697| medical care for a qualifying medical condition or treatment.

698 (4) A qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver shall

699 transport medical cannabis in a labeled container or sealed

700| package in a manner and method established by rule.

701 (5) This part does not allow a person to undertake a task

702| under the influence of medical cannabis when doing so

703| constitutes professional negligence or professional malpractice.

704 (6) The medical use of cannabis as authorized by this part

705 and by department rule does not create a defense to an offense

706| proscribed by law which is not otherwise excepted in this

707 chapter or in chapter 468. Evidence of a person’s voluntary

708 intoxication from use of medical cannabis 1s not admissible in a

709| Jjudicial proceeding to show that the person lacked the specific

710 intent to commit an offense or to show that the person was

711 insane at the time of the offense, except when the consumption

712| was pursuant to a lawful prescription issued to the person by a

713| physician.

714 (7) Notwithstanding any provision of law, a person oOr

715| entity may provide information about the existence or operations

716| of a medical cannabis farm or dispensary to another person

717| pursuant to this part.

718 (8) A qualifying patient, the patient’s caregiver, or an

719| employee of a medical cannabis farm or a dispensary who is

720 stopped by a law enforcement officer upon reasonable suspicion

721 or probable cause that he or she is in possession of cannabis

722| may not be further detained or arrested on this basis alone, if

723| the law enforcement officer determines that the person is in

724 compliance with this part and department rule.

725 499.807 Physicians; recommendations.—
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726 (1) A physician may recommend the use of medical cannabis

727 to a qualifying patient if the physician:

728 (a) Is in a bona fide physician-patient relationship with

729 the qualifying patient; and

730 (b) Makes the recommendation based upon the physician’s

731 assessment of the qualifying patient’s medical history, current

732| medical condition, and a review of other approved medications

733| and treatments that might provide the qualifying patient with

734 relief from a qualifying medical condition, its symptoms, or the

735 side effects of a qualifying medical treatment.

736 (2) If a physician recommends to a qualifying patient the

737| use of medical cannabis, the physician shall sign a written

738 recommendation that must include:

739 (a) A statement that the qualifying patient may use medical

740 cannabis;

741 (b) The physician’s medical license number; and

742 (c) A statement that the use of medical cannabis is

743 necessary:

744 1. For the treatment of a qualifying medical condition or

745 the side effects of a qualifying medical treatment; or

746 2. To lessen the side effects of a qualifying medical
7477 treatment.

748 (3) A physician’s recommendation is wvalid only if it is

749| written on a form prescribed by the department.

750 (4) A physician is not subject to arrest, prosecution, or

751| penalty, including, but not limited to, civil penalty or

752| disciplinary action by the department or by any other business,

753 occupational, or professional licensing board or bureau, or

754| denial of any right or privilege, solely for advising a patient
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755 about the use of medical cannabis, recommending the medical use

756| of cannabis in accordance with this part and department rule,

757| providing a written recommendation in accordance with this

758 section, or stating that, in the physician’s professional

759 opinion, the potential benefits of medical cannabis would likely

760| outweigh the health risks for a patient.

761 (5) A physician who recommends the use of medical cannabis

762| to a qualifying patient may not have a professional office

763 located at a medical cannabis farm or dispensary or receive

764 financial compensation from a medical cannabis farm or

765 dispensary, or a director, officer, member, incorporator, agent,

766| or employee of a medical cannabis farm or dispensary.

767 499,808 Licensure of dispensaries and medical cannabis

768 farms.—

769 (1) The Department of Business and Professional Regulation

770 shall regulate the permitting of medical cannabis farms and the

771 licensing of dispensaries in accordance with part XVII of

772 chapter 468, in order to regulate the manufacture, cultivation,

773 possession, wholesale distribution, and delivery of medical

774 cannabis and the manufacture, possession, purchase, sale, and

775| use of paraphernalia by medical cannabis farms and dispensaries.

776 (2) Each medical cannabis farm shall apply for permitting

777 and each dispensary shall apply for licensure with the Medical

778| Cannabis Licensing Board within the Department of Business and

779| Professional Regulation before manufacturing, cultivating,

780 dispensing, possessing, or distributing medical cannabis, or

781| manufacturing, possessing, using, or distributing paraphernalia.

782 499.809 Medical cannabis farms and dispensaries.—

783 (1) Notwithstanding any provision of law, a dispensary may
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784| possess medical cannabis for the purpose of dispensing the

785| medical cannabis to a qualifying patient or the patient’s

786 caregiver and may manufacture, purchase, possess, distribute,

787 and use paraphernalia in accordance with this part, part XVII of

788 chapter 468, and department rule.

789 (2) Notwithstanding any provision of law, a medical

790 cannabis farm may cultivate, manufacture, and possess medical

791 cannabis for the purpose of distribution to a dispensary and may

792| manufacture, purchase, possess, and use paraphernalia in

793| accordance with this part, part XVII of chapter 468, and

794 department rule.

795 (3) A dispensary may dispense medical cannabis and

796| distribute paraphernalia to a qualifying patient or the

797| patient’s caregiver, and a qualifying patient or the patient’s

798 caregiver may obtain medical cannabis and paraphernalia from a

799| dispensary only if the qualifying patient or the patient’s

800 caregiver:

801 (a) Is registered to receive medical cannabis from that

802 dispensary;

803 (b) Has been issued a valid registry identification card

804 from the department; and

805 (c) Is in possession of the registry identification card at

806 the time and place of purchase.

807 (4) A dispensary may not directly dispense within a 30-day

808| period:

809 (a) More than 4 ounces of dried medical cannabis, eight

810| mature marijuana plants, or eight immature marijuana plants to a

811| qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver.

812 (b) More than 6 marijuana plant seedlings to a qualifying
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813| patient or 18 marijuana plant seedlings to the patient’s

814 caregiver.

815 (5) Each medical cannabis farm and dispensary shall

816 implement a security plan to prevent the theft or diversion of

817| medical cannabis, including maintaining all medical cannabis in

818| a secure, locked room that is accessible only by authorized

819| persons.

820 (6) The Department of Business and Professional Regulation

821 shall develop educational materials regarding potential harmful

822 drug interaction which a dispensary shall reqularly distribute

823 to a qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver.

824 (7) A director, officer, member, incorporator, agent, or

825| employee of a medical cannabis farm or dispensary may not have:

826 (a) A drug-related felony conviction; or

827 (b) A nondrug-related felony conviction for which the

828| person has not been pardoned or has not had his or her civil

829| rights restored.

830 (8) A person found to have violated this part may not be a

831 director, officer, member, incorporator, agent, or employee of a

832| medical cannabis farm or dispensary. The Department of Business

833| and Professional Regulation shall immediately revoke the permit

834 or license of the medical cannabis farm or dispensary until the

835 person is no longer a director, officer, member, incorporator,

836 agent, or employee of the medical cannabis farm or dispensary.

837 499.810 Arrest and prosecution.—

838 (1) (a) A qualifying patient who has in his or her

839| possession a valid registry identification card is not subject

840 to arrest, prosecution, or penalty, including, but not limited

841 to, civil penalty or disciplinary action by a business,
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842 occupational, or professional licensing board or bureau, and may

843| not be denied any right or privilege, for the use of medical

844 cannabis if the qualifying patient possesses an amount of

845 cannabis which does not exceed eight mature marijuana plants,

846| eight immature marijuana plants, 4 ounces of dried medical

847| cannabis, or a measure of an end-product containing

848| tetrahydrocannabinol and cannabinoids in an amount to be

849| determined by department rule.

850 (b) A patient’s caregiver who has in his or her possession

851 a valid registry identification card is not subject to arrest,

852 prosecution, or penalty, including, but not limited to, civil

853| penalty or disciplinary action by a business, occupational,

854| professional licensing board or bureau, and may not be denied

855| any right or privilege, for assisting a qualifying patient to

856| whom he or she is connected through the department’s

857 registration process with the medical use of cannabis if the

858| patient’s caregiver possesses an amount of cannabis which does

859| not exceed 4 ounces of dried medical cannabis, eight mature

860| marijuana plants, or eight immature marijuana plants for each

861| gqualifying patient to whom he or she is connected through the

862 department’s registration process.

863 (c) A nurse practitioner, registered nurse, or pharmacist

864 is not subject to arrest, prosecution, or penalty, including,

865| but not limited to, civil penalty or disciplinary action by a

866| Dbusiness, occupational, or professional licensing board or

867| bureau, and may not be denied any right or privilege, solely for

868 discussing with a patient the benefits or health risks of

869 medical cannabis or its interaction with other substances.

870 (d) A person is not subject to arrest or prosecution for
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871| constructive possession, conspiracy, aiding and abetting, being

872 an accessory, or other offense for being in the presence or

873| wvicinity of the medical use of cannabis as allowed under this

874| part or for assisting a qualifying patient in using or

875 administering medical cannabis as the patient’s caregiver.

876 (2) A school, employer, or property owner may not refuse to

877| enroll, employ, or lease to or otherwise penalize a person

878 solely for his or her status as a cardholder.

879 (3) A presumption is created that a qualifying patient or

880 the patient’s caregiver is engaged in the authorized use of

881| medical cannabis if the qualifying patient or the patient’s

882 caregiver 1s in possession of:

883 (a) A valid registry identification card; and

884 (b) An amount of cannabis or marijuana which does not

885 exceed the amount allowed under this section.

886 (4) A presumption of the authorized use or possession of

887| medical cannabis under this section may be rebutted by evidence

888 that the conduct related to medical cannabis was not intended to

889 treat a qualifying medical condition or the symptoms associated

890 with that condition or to alleviate the side effects of a

891| qualifying medical treatment.

892 (5) The patient’s caregiver may be reimbursed for actual

893 costs associated with assisting a qualifying patient’s medical

894 use of cannabis. This reimbursement does not constitute the sale

895 of a controlled substance.

896 (6) For the purposes of medical care, a qualifying

897| patient’s authorized medical use of cannabis or marijuana shall

898| Dbe considered the equivalent of the authorized use of other

899| medication used at the direction of a physician. Such use does

Page 31 of 133
CODING: Words strieken are deletions; words underlined are additions.




Florida Senate - 2013 SB 1250

27-00511B-13 20131250

900| not constitute the use of an illicit drug under s. 893.03.

901 (7) A qualifying patient may operate, navigate, or be in

902 actual physical control of a motor vehicle, aircraft, or vessel

903| while being in possession of a legal limit of medical cannabis

904 or paraphernalia if a qualifying patient’s hair specimen taken

905| at the time of the alleged violation of state law does not test

906| positive for marijuana in excess of 10 pg/l10 mg of hair specimen

907 when tested in a manner consistent with s. 112.0455(13) (b)1l., or

908| does not test positive for marijuana metabolites in excess of 1

909| pg/10 mg of hair specimen (Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol-0-

910 carboxylic acid) when tested in a manner consistent with s.
911| 112.0455(13) (b) 2.

912 (8) A person who cultivates, manufactures, possesses,

913 administers, dispenses, distributes, or uses cannabis, or

914 manufactures, possesses, distributes, or uses paraphernalia, in

915 a manner not authorized by this part, part XVII of chapter 468,

916| or by department rule is subject to criminal prosecution and

917 sanctions under chapter 893.

918 (9) A person who makes a fraudulent representation to a law

919| enforcement officer of any fact or circumstance relating to the

920 person’s cultivation, manufacture, possession, administration,

921 dispensing, distribution, or use of medical cannabis, or

922| possession or use of paraphernalia, to avoid arrest or

923| prosecution is subject to a criminal fine not to exceed $1,000.

924 The imposition of the fine is in addition to penalties that may

925| otherwise apply for the making of a false statement or for the

926 cultivation, manufacture, possession, administration,

927 dispensing, distribution, or use of medical cannabis or

928| possession or use of paraphernalia.
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929 499.811 Defenses.—
930 (1) The following circumstances may be raised as an

931 affirmative defense to a criminal charge of possession or

932 distribution of cannabis or marijuana, or possession with intent

933 to distribute cannabis or marijuana:

934 (a) The person charged with the offense is in possession of

935| a wvalid registry identification card;

936 (b) The person charged with the offense is 18 years of age
937 or older; and

938 (c)1l. The possession or distribution, or possession with

939 intent to distribute, does not occur in a public place;

940 2. The possession or distribution, or possession with

941 intent to distribute, occurs at a medical facility that allows

942 the medical use of cannabis; or

943 3. The possession, distribution, or intent to distribute,

944 occurs in a medical cannabis farm or dispensary.

945 (2) The following circumstances may be raised as an

946 affirmative defense to a criminal charge of possession, use, Or

947 administration of a legal amount of medical cannabis or

948| paraphernalia by a cardholder who:

949 (a) Upon demand by a law enforcement officer, is unable to

950| present to the law enforcement officer a registry identification

951 card to confirm that the cardholder is authorized to possess,

952 use, or administer legal limits of medical cannabis or

953| paraphernalia; and

954 (b) Before, or at the time of, the cardholder’s court

955 appearance, produces in court or to the clerk of the court in

956| which the charge is pending his or her registry identification

957 card that was valid at the time of the cardholder’s arrest.
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958

959 The clerk of the court may dismiss such case before the

960 cardholder’s appearance in court and may assess a dismissal fee
961 of $25.
962 (3) Except as provided in subsections (1) and (2), a

963| qualifying patient and the patient’s caregiver may assert the

964| medical purpose for using cannabis as a defense to any

965| prosecution involving cannabis, and such defense is presumed

966 valid where the evidence shows that:

967 (a) The qualifying patient’s physician has stated that, in

968 the physician’s professional opinion, after having completed a

969| full assessment of the patient’s medical history and current

970| medical condition made in the course of a bona fide physician-

971| patient relationship, the potential benefits of using medical

972 cannabis would likely outweigh the health risks for the

973 qualifying patient; and

974 (b) The qualifying patient and the patient’s caregiver, if

975 any, were collectively in possession of a quantity of cannabis

976 or marijuana which was not more than what is allowed under this

977| part to ensure the uninterrupted availability of cannabis for

978 the purpose of alleviating the side effects of the qualifying

979| patient’s qualifying medical treatment or treating the

980 qualifying patient’s qualifying medical condition or the

981 symptoms associated with the qualifying medical condition.

982 (4) A person may assert the medical purpose for using

983| cannabis in a motion to dismiss, and the charges shall be

984 dismissed following an evidentiary hearing if the person

985| presents the evidence specified in subsection (3).

986 (5) The Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act, contained in ss.
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987 932.701-932.706, does not apply to any interest in or right to

988| property that is possessed, owned, or used in connection with

989 the medical use of cannabis, or acts incidental to such use.

990 499.812 Insurance.—This part does not require a

991 governmental, private, or other health insurance provider or

992| health care services plan to cover, or prohibit it from

993| covering, a claim for reimbursement for the use of medical

994 cannabis.

995 499.813 Confidentiality.—

996 (1) An employer, laboratory, employee assistance program,

997 alcohol and drug rehabilitation program, and their agents may

998| not release information obtained pursuant to this part without a

999| written consent form signed voluntarily by the qualifying

1000| patient or the patient’s caregiver, unless such release is

1001 compelled by a hearing officer or a court of competent

1002 jurisdiction pursuant to an appeal taken under this part, or

1003| where deemed appropriate by a business, professional, or

1004 occupational licensing board in a related disciplinary

1005| proceeding. The consent form must contain, at a minimum:

1006 (a) The name of the person who is authorized to obtain the

1007 information.

1008 (b) The purpose of the disclosure.

1009 (c) The precise information to be disclosed.

1010 (d) The duration of the consent.

1011 (e) The signature of the person authorizing release of the

1012 information.

1013 (2) Information regarding a qualifying patient or the

1014| patient’s caregiver may not be released or used in a criminal

1015| proceeding against the qualifying patient or the patient’s
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1016| caregiver. Information released contrary to this section is

1017 inadmissible as evidence in a criminal proceeding.

1018 (3) This section does not prohibit the department or its

1019| employees and agents from obtaining access to information

1020 regarding a qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver if the

1021 department or its employees and agents consult with legal

1022 counsel in connection with actions brought under or related to

1023| this part or where the information is relevant to the

1024 department’s defense in a civil or administrative proceeding.
1025 499,814 Rules.—

1026 (1) (a) By October 1, 2013, the department shall adopt rules
1027| to:
1028 1. Create a registration form, a procedure, and eligibility

1029| requirements to obtain and renew a registry identification card

1030 for a qualifying patient and the patient’s caregiver. The

1031 department shall, by rule, establish registration and renewal

1032 fees that generate revenues sufficient to offset all expenses of

1033 implementing and administering this part.

1034 2. Adopt manufacturing practices with which medical

1035 cannabis farms and dispensaries must comply in order to ensure

1036 that medical cannabis sold by medical cannabis farms and

1037 dispensaries is of pharmaceutical grade.

1038 3. Ensure that the labeling on medical cannabis sold by

1039| medical cannabis farms and dispensaries provides sufficient

1040 information for qualifying patients to be able to make informed

1041 choices about grades and forms of medical cannabis.

1042 (b) The department may adopt rules to inspect and audit

1043| medical cannabis farms and dispensaries to ensure compliance

1044 with department rule.
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1045 (2) By October 1, 2013, the Department of Business and

1046| Professional Regulation shall adopt rules that:

1047 (a) Create an application form and a procedure for

1048 obtaining a permit to own or operate a medical cannabis farm.

1049 (b) Create an application form and a procedure for

1050| obtaining a license to own or operate a dispensary.

1051 (c) Determine the licensing and permitting fees to own or

1052 operate a dispensary or medical cannabis farm.

1053 (d) Determine the appropriate signage, outdoor lighting,

1054 security system, security plan, and theft prevention plan for

1055| medical cannabis farms and dispensaries.

10506 (e) Determine the hours during which medical cannabis farms

1057 and dispensaries may operate.

1058 (f) Establish the inspection and audit procedures for

1059| medical cannabis farms and dispensaries to ensure compliance

1060| with the rules of the Department of Business and Professional

1061 Regulation.

1062 (3) By October 1, 2013, the Department of Revenue shall

1063 adopt rules that govern the manner in which:

1064 (a) Medical cannabis farms are subject to taxation and

1065| reporting for the wholesale distribution of medical cannabis.

1066 (b) Dispensaries are subject to taxation and reporting for

1067 the retail distribution of medical cannabis.

1068 (4) The fees collected by the Department of Health, the

1069| Department of Business and Professional Regulation, and the

1070 Department of Revenue pursuant to this part shall be applied

1071 first toward the cost of administering this part.
1072 (5) If the Department of Health, the Department of Business

1073 and Professional Regulation, or the Department of Revenue fails
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1074 to adopt rules to administer this part by November 1, 2013, a

1075| resident of this state may commence an action in a court of

1076 competent jurisdiction to compel performance of the actions

1077| mandated pursuant to this section.

1078 Section 2. Part XVII of chapter 468, Florida Statutes,

1079 consisting of sections 468.901, 468.902, 468.903, 468.904,

1080 468.905, 468.906, 468.907, 468.908, 468.909, 468.910, 468.911,
1081 468.912, 468.913, 468.914, 468.915, 468.916, 468.917, 468.918,
1082 468.919, and 468.920, is created to read:

1083 468.901 Purpose.—The purpose of this part is to provide for

1084 consumer protection by regulating the cultivation,

1085| manufacturing, wholesaling, and retailing of medical cannabis,

1086| medical cannabis-based products, marijuana plants, and medical

1087| cannabis-related paraphernalia in the state in order to:

1088 (1) Safeguard the public health, safety, and welfare.

1089 (2) Protect the public from being misled by unscrupulous

1090 and unauthorized persons or criminal activity.

1091 (3) Ensure the highest degree of reqgulatory conduct on the

1092| part of directors, officers, members, agents, and employees of

1093| medical cannabis farms and dispensaries.

1094 (4) Ensure the availability of high quality and controlled

1095 distribution and use of medical cannabis, medical cannabis-based

1096| products, and marijuana plants in the state for the benefit of

1097| persons in need of such products.

1098 468.902 Legislative findings and intent.—
1099 (1) The Legislature finds that:
1100 (a) Although federal law currently prohibits any use of

1101 marijuana and cannabis, the laws of Alaska, Arizona, California,

1102 Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts,
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1103 Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode

1104 Island, Vermont, Washington, and the District of Columbia allow

1105 the medical use of cannabis and the cultivation of marijuana.

1106 The State of Florida joins in this effort for the health and

1107| welfare of its residents through enacting the Cathy Jordan

1108| Medical Cannabis Act and creating license and permit regulations

1109| in this part.

1110 (b) Medical cannabis-based products offer a substantial

1111 benefit to the health, safety, and welfare of the residents of
1112 this state, and it is the intent of the Legislature that this

1113| part be liberally construed to make these benefits available to

1114 the residents of this state.

1115 (c) The states are not required to enforce federal law or

1116| prosecute people for engaging in activities prohibited by

1117 federal law. Therefore, compliance with this part does not put

1118 this state in violation of federal law.

1119 (2) The Tenth Amendment of the United States Constitution

1120| provides that powers not delegated to the federal government by

1121 the federal constitution, nor prohibited to the states, are

1122 reserved to the states or the people. The Legislature may,

1123 therefore, enact this part pursuant to its police power to enact

1124 legislation for the protection of the health of its residents.

1125 (3) The provisions of this part are cumulative and do not

1126 repeal or affect any powers, duties, or authority of the

1127 department under any other law of this state, except with

1128 respect to the regulation of medical cannabis as provided in

1129 this part. If the provisions of this part conflict with any

1130 other such law, the provisions of this part shall control.

1131 468.903 Definitions.—As used in this part, unless the
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1132 context clearly indicates otherwise, the term:

1133 (1) “Cannabis” has the same meaning as provided in s.
1134| 893.02.

1135 (2) “Department” means the Department of Business and

1136 Professional Regulation.

1137 (3) “Dispensary” means a facility operated by an

1138| organization or business that is licensed under the Department

1139| of Business and Professional Regulation pursuant to ss. 499.808

1140 and 499.809 from or at which medical cannabis is possessed and

1141| dispensed and paraphernalia is possessed and distributed to a

1142| qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver.

1143 (4) “Dispense” means to distribute medical cannabis to a

1144| qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver in accordance with

1145| this part and department rule.

11406 (5) “Distribute” means the actual, constructive, or

1147 attempted transfer from one person to another.

1148 (6) “Manufacture” means the production, preparation,

1149| propagation, compounding, conversion, or processing of cannabis

1150 and marijuana, directly or indirectly, by extraction from

1151 substances of natural origin, or independently by means of

1152 chemical synthesis, or by a combination of extraction and

1153| chemical synthesis, and includes the packaging or repackaging of

1154 the substance and the labeling or relabeling of its container.

1155 (7) “Marijuana” means a pistillate hemp plant with the

1156 scientific name of Cannabis sativa whose dried leaves and

1157 flowering tops yield the psychoactive ingredient

1158 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), which can be ingested, wvaporized,

1159 smoked, sprayed, applied topically, or manufactured as a

1160 component ingredient in food, drink, or pill, or in hemp o0il
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1161 form, to produce an intoxicating or physiological healing
1162| effect.

1163 (8) “Marijuana plant” means a marijuana plant at any stage

1164 of its growth, including seedling and seed.

1165 (9) “Medical cannabis” means any part of the cannabis plant

1166| used as a physician-recommended form of medical or herbal

1167| therapy, or a synthetic form of specific cannabinoids such as

1168 tetrahydrocannabinol, which is used as a physician-recommended

1169 form of medicine and is cultivated, manufactured, possessed,

1170 distributed, dispensed, obtained, consumed, smoked, eaten,

1171| digested, vaporized, or otherwise administered in accordance

1172 with part III of chapter 499 and the rules adopted pursuant to

1173 s. 499.814. The term does not include a controlled substance
1174 listed in Schedule II, Schedule III, Schedule IV, or Schedule V
1175 of s. 893.03.

1176 (10) “Medical cannabis farm” means land that:

1177 (a) Has received a current agricultural classification

1178| pursuant to s. 193.461 by the county property appraiser, a value

1179 adjustment board, a court of competent jurisdiction, or the

1180| board of county commissioners of the county in which the land is

1181 situated, before application for a permit to use the land to

1182 cultivate marijuana is granted, as defined in this section; and

1183 (b) Is or will be used primarily for bona fide agricultural

1184 purposes.

1185 (11) “Medical use” means the acquisition, possession,

1186 cultivation, manufacture, use, delivery, transfer, or

1187 transportation of cannabis or paraphernalia relating to the

1188 consumption of cannabis to treat a qualifying medical condition

1189| and the symptoms associated with that condition or to alleviate

Page 41 of 133
CODING: Words strieken are deletions; words underlined are additions.




Florida Senate - 2013 SB 1250

27-00511B-13 20131250
1190 the side effects of a qualifying medical treatment.
1191 (12) “Paraphernalia” means:
1192 (a) Objects and electronic devices, including vaporizers,

1193 which are used, intended for use, or designed for use in

1194| preparing, storing, ingesting, inhaling, spraying, applying, or

1195| otherwise introducing medical cannabis into the human body; and

1196 (b) Kits, objects, devices, or equipment used, intended for

1197| wuse, or designed for use in planting, propagating,

1198 manufacturing, cultivating, growing, harvesting, processing, or

1199| preparing medical cannabis.

1200 (13) “Patient’s caregiver” or “caregiver” means a person
1201| who:
1202 (a) Is designated by a qualifying patient and registered

1203| with the Department of Health as the person authorized, on the

1204| qualifying patient’s behalf, to possess, obtain from a

1205| dispensary, dispense, and assist in the administration of

1206 medical cannabis; and

1207 (b) Is at least 18 years of age.

1208 (14) “Qualifying patient” means a person who is a resident

1209 of this state and registered with the Department of Health as a

1210| person who has been diagnosed by a physician as having a

1211 qualifying medical condition or undergoing a qualifying medical

1212 treatment.

1213 (15) “Registry identification card” means a nontransferable

1214| document issued by the Department of Health which identifies a

1215| person as a qualifying patient or the patient’s caregiver.

1216 468.904 The medical cannabis section of the department.-—

1217 (1) The department shall adopt rules necessary to the

1218 administer this section. The department shall establish rules
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that are reasonably necessary to protect the health, welfare,

and safety of the public and persons who possess, cultivate,

manufacture, wholesale, and retail medical cannabis, medical

cannabis-based products, marijuana plants, and medical cannabis-

related paraphernalia, and shall provide application forms and

procedures, recordkeeping requirements, and security

requirements. The rules must be in substantial conformity with

generally accepted standards of safety concerning such subject

matter.

(2) There 1s established the medical cannabis section of

the department which regulates the manufacture, cultivation,

distribution, dispensing, purchase, delivery, sale, and

possession of medical cannabis and the manufacture, possession,

purchase, sale, and use of paraphernalia related to medical

cannabis. The medical cannabis section of the department is

responsible for the licensure and permitting of each medical

cannabis farm and dispensary in the state. The medical cannabis

section of the department shall require the registration and

approval of registration of each director, officer, and agent of

each medical cannabis farm or dispensary in this state.

(3) The medical cannabis section of the department shall,

subject to department rule, require each medical cannabis farm

and dispensary to maintain true, complete, and current records

of the name, address, home telephone number, and date of birth

of each director, officer, and agent.

(4) The medical cannabis section of the department shall,

subject to department rule, require each medical cannabis farm

and dispensary to maintain true, complete, and current records

of each transaction at a medical cannabis farm or dispensary,
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1248 including:
1249 (a) The quantity of medical cannabis distributed or

1250 dispensed for each transaction;

1251 (b) A continuous inventory of the quantity of medical

1252 cannabis, medical cannabis-based products, and marijuana plants

1253| at the medical cannabis farm or dispensary;

1254 (c) Records of the disposal and disposal method used for

1255| any medical cannabis, medical cannabis-based product, marijuana

1256| plant’s active ingredient or product, or marijuana plant that

1257 was manufactured, cultivated, or acquired but not sold or

1258 inventoried; and

1259 (d) Any other information required by the department.

1260 (5) The medical cannabis section of the department shall,

1261 subject to department rule:

1262 (a) Develop and make available to each medical cannabis

1263 farm, dispensary, and the general public, educational materials

1264 about potential harmful drug interactions that could occur from

1265| wusing medical cannabis concurrently with other medical

1266 treatments, and the importance of informing public and private

1267| hospitals, health care providers, pharmacists, and duly licensed

1268| dispensaries in this state of the use of medical cannabis to

1269| help avoid harmful drug interactions;

1270 (b) Conduct announced and unannounced inspections of

1271| medical cannabis farms and dispensaries; and

1272 (c) Revoke or suspend the registration, license, or permit

1273 of a person if the department determines that the person has

1274 violated department rule, this part, or part III of chapter 499.
1275 468.905 Medical cannabis farms.—

1276 (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a medical
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1277 cannabis farm may possess, cultivate, and manufacture medical

1278 cannabis, medical cannabis-based products, and marijuana plants

1279 for wholesale in this state for the purpose of distribution to

1280 duly licensed medical cannabis dispensaries in the state in

1281 accordance with the department rule and part III of chapter 499.

1282 (2) Each medical cannabis farm must be registered with the

1283| department before possessing, manufacturing, cultivating, and

1284| wholesaling medical cannabis, medical cannabis-based products,

1285 or marijuana plants.

1286 (3) A person who applies to the department for a permit to

1287 operate a medical cannabis farm must primarily use the land in

1288| which the farm will be located for bona fide agricultural

1289| purposes and obtain the agricultural classification pursuant to

1290 s. 193.461 from the county property appraiser, a value

1291 adjustment board, a court of competent jurisdiction, or the

1292| board of county commissioners of the county in which the land is

1293 situated, before applying for a medical cannabis farm permit.

1294 (4) A medical cannabis farm may not conduct retail sales or

1295 transactions.

1296 (5) Each medical cannabis farm shall implement a security

1297| plan to prevent the theft or diversion of all medical cannabis-

1298| Dbased products and raw ingredients, including all marijuana

1299| plants; derivatives of marijuana plants; seedlings and seeds,

1300| whether in ground or not in ground, whether visible or not

1301 visible to the public.

1302 (6) Each medical cannabis farm shall maintain procedures

1303| under which all medical cannabis-based products and raw

1304 ingredients, including all marijuana plants; derivatives of

1305| marijuana plants; seedlings and seeds, whether in ground or not
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1306| in ground, whether visible or not visible to the public, are

1307| accessible only to authorized personnel.

1308 (7) The active ingredient in all medical cannabis-based

1309 products cultivated, manufactured, and wholesaled to a licensed

1310 dispensary in this state must be wholly derived from marijuana

1311| plants cultivated and grown in this state, except for marijuana

1312 seeds and seedlings.

1313 (8) A medical cannabis farm is subject to the protections

1314 of s. 823.14 and is not deemed a public nuisance solely because

1315 its farm product includes the production of marijuana or any

1316| product derived from the marijuana plant.

1317 468.906 Medical cannabis dispensaries.—

1318 (1) Notwithstanding any other law of this state, a

1319| dispensary may dispense and sell to a qualifying patient or the

1320| patient’s caregiver medical cannabis, medical cannabis-based

1321| products, marijuana plants, and medical cannabis-related

1322 paraphernalia and may manufacture, purchase, possess, and

1323 distribute medical cannabis-related paraphernalia in accordance

1324 with department rule and part III of chapter 499.

1325 (2) Each dispensary must be registered with the department

1326| before possessing, purchasing, or retailing medical cannabis,

1327| medical cannabis-based products, marijuana plants, or medical

1328 cannabis related paraphernalia.

1329 (3) A dispensary may not conduct wholesale sales or

1330 transactions.

1331 (4) A dispensary may retail to a qualifying patient or

1332| patient’s caregiver medical cannabis, medical cannabis-based

1333| products, marijuana plants, or medical cannabis-related

1334| paraphernalia if the qualifying patient or patient’s caregiver:
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1335 (a) Has been issued a valid registry identification card

1336 from the Department of Health; and

1337 (b) Is in possession of the registry identification card at

1338 the time and place of purchase.

1339 (5) All medical cannabis-based products sold by, at, or

1340 through a licensed dispensary shall be purchased from a medical

1341 cannabis farm that has a valid, department-issued permit.

1342 (6) A dispensary may not directly dispense within a 30-day
1343| period:

1344 (a) More than 4 ounces of dried medical cannabis to a

1345| qualifying patient or through the patient’s caregiver.

1346 (b) More than 6 marijuana plant seedlings to a qualifying

1347| patient or 18 marijuana plant seedlings to the patient’s

1348 caregiver.

1349 (7) A dispensary shall maintain true, complete, and current

1350 records of the name and registry card identification number of

1351| each qualifying patient and patient’s caregiver who purchases a

1352| medical cannabis-related product, except for medical cannabis-

1353 related paraphernalia, subject to the confidentiality

1354 limitations in part III of chapter 499. The records maintained

1355| under this paragraph shall be retained for 3 years and must
1356| include:

1357 (a) The amount paid for the medical cannabis, medical

1358 cannabis-based product, or marijuana plant transaction; and

1359 (b) The registry identification card number of each

1360 recipient of each medical cannabis, medical cannabis-based

1361| product, or marijuana plant transaction, subject to the

1362 confidentiality limitations in part III of chapter 499.

1363 (8) Each dispensary shall make available to each qualifying
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1364| patient and patient’s caregiver educational materials regarding

1365| potential harmful drug interactions which were developed and

1366| provided by the medical cannabis section of the department.

1367 (9) Each dispensary shall strictly prohibit a qualifying

1368| patient or patient’s caregiver from using or administering any

1369| form of medical cannabis while on the property of the

1370| dispensary. A person who violates this subsection subjects the

1371| dispensary to penalties prescribed by department rule and part
1372 ITI of chapter 499.
1373 468.907 Medical cannabis farm permit.—

1374 (1) A person may not engage in business as a medical

1375| cannabis farm in this state except in conformity with this part.

1376 (2) Permit qualification standards by which a person who

1377 applies for a permit to operate a medical cannabis farm will be

1378| evaluated to determine acceptance of the person’s application

1379| for registration and permitting and renewal of registration and

1380| permitting, must include the following factors:

1381 (a) Knowledge of state and federal law relating to medical

1382 cannabis.

1383 (b) Suitability of the proposed facility.
1384 (c) Proposed staffing plan.
1385 (d) Proposed security plan that has been assessed by the

1386| local law enforcement agency of the county or municipality in

1387 which the medical cannabis farm is located.

1388 (e) Proposed cultivation plan.

1389 (f) Proposed manufacturing plan.

1390 (g) Proposed storage and inventory control plan.
1391 (h) Proposed labeling plan.

1392 (i) Proposed product safety plan.
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1393 (3) The department shall establish by rule the annual fees

1394 for a medical cannabis farm permit. The fees may not exceed the

1395 following amounts:

1396 (a) Medical cannabis farm application fee, $2,500.
1397 (b) Medical cannabis farm initial permit fee, $20,000.
1398 (c) Medical cannabis farm application fee for renewing a

1399 permit, $1,000.

1400 (d) Medical cannabis farm renewal permit fee, $15,000.

1401 (4) A person who cultivates, manufactures, or wholesales

1402| medical cannabis, medical cannabis-based products, or marijuana

1403| plant products at one or more locations must possess a current

1404| wvalid permit for each location.

1405 (5) If the department fails to adopt rules to administer

1406 this section before November 1, 2013, a medical cannabis farm

1407 applicant may commence an action in a court of competent

1408 jurisdiction to compel the department to perform the actions

1409| mandated pursuant to this section.

1410 468.908 Dispensary license.—

1411 (1) A person or entity may not operate a dispensary in this

1412 state except in conformity with the provisions of this part.

1413 (2) License qualification standards by which a person who

1414 applies for a license to operate a dispensary will be evaluated

1415 to determine acceptance of the person’s application for

1416| registration and licensing and renewal of registration and

1417 licensing, must include the following factors:

1418 (a) Knowledge of state and federal law relating to medical

1419 cannabis.

1420 (b) Suitability of the proposed facility.

1421 (c) Proposed staffing plan.
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1422 (d) Proposed security plan that has been assessed by the

1423| dispensary’s municipal police department.

1424 (e) Proposed retail plan.

1425 (f) Proposed marketing plan.

1426 (g) Proposed storage and inventory control plan.

1427 (h) Proposed labeling plan.

1428 (i) Proposed product safety plan.

1429 (3) The department shall establish by rule the annual fees

1430 for a dispensary license. The fees may not exceed the following

1431 amounts:

1432 (a) Dispensary application fee, $1,000.

1433 (b) Dispensary initial license fee, $10,000.

1434 (c) Dispensary renewal license application fee, $500.

1435 (d) Dispensary renewal license fee, $7,500.

1436 (4) A person who conducts the wholesale purchase or retail

1437 sale of any form of medical cannabis products at or from more

1438 than one location must possess a current valid license for each

1439 location.
1440 (5) If the department fails to adopt rules to administer

1441 this section by November 1, 2013, an applicant to operate a

1442 dispensary may commence an action in a court of competent

1443 jurisdiction to compel the department to perform the actions

1444| mandated pursuant to this section.

1445 468.909 Forms for applications for licenses and permits.—

1446 (1) The department shall prescribe the application forms

1447 for obtaining a permit to operate a medical cannabis farm and a

1448 license to operate a dispensary.

1449 (2) Each application for a license or permit required by

1450 this part must be filed in writing with the department. Each
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1451 application must require, as a minimum, the full name, date of

1452| Dbirth, place of birth, social security number, physical

1453 description of the applicant, residence address and telephone

1454 number, and business address and telephone number of the

1455 applicant. Each application must be accompanied by an accurate

1456 and current photograph of the applicant and a complete set of

1457 fingerprints of the applicant taken by an authorized law

1458| enforcement agency; however, a set of fingerprints is not

1459 required if the applicant has possessed a valid license or

1460| permit under this part during the previous licensing or

1461| permitting year and such license or permit has not lapsed or

1462| Dbeen suspended or revoked. If fingerprints are required, the

1463| department shall submit the set of fingerprints to the

1464 Department of Law Enforcement for state processing. If the

1465 application does not require a set of fingerprints, the

1466| department shall submit the name and other identifying data to

1467 the Department of Law Enforcement for processing. Each

1468 application must be in a form to provide the data and other

1469 information set forth in this subsection, must be sworn to by

1470 the applicant or, if the applicant is a corporation, by each

1471 officer and director of the corporation. The officers and

1472 directors applying on behalf of a corporation shall provide all

1473 the data and other information required. This section does not

1474 exclude electronic filing of the application.

1475 (3) The department may require an applicant to furnish

1476 other information or data not required by this section if the

1477 information or data is deemed necessary by the department.

1478 468.910 Issuance of licenses and permits; prohibitions.—

1479 (1) Each license and permit issued by the department in
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accordance with this part must set forth, at a minimum, the full

name, date of birth, and physical description of the licensee or

permittee and have permanently affixed an accurate and current

photograph of the licensee or permittee. A license or permit

issued to a corporation must set forth the full name, date of

birth, and physical description of the chief executive officer

and have permanently affixed an accurate and current photograph

of the chief executive officer. FEach license and permit must

also contain a license or permit number.

(2) The department may include other data or information on

the license or permit if deemed appropriate.

(3) A license or permit may not be issued, renewed, or

allowed to remain 1in effect for:

(a) A corporation or entity that has a corporate officer

who is under 18 years of age; or

(b) A person who has been convicted in this state or any

other state or federal jurisdiction for the following offenses:

1. A drug-related felony.

2. A nondrug-related felony conviction for which the person

has not been pardoned or has not had his or her civil rights

restored.

(4) A license or permit may not be issued, renewed, or

allowed to remain in effect for a person who has been

adjudicated mentally incompetent and has not had his or her

civil rights restored.

(5) A person may not knowingly withhold information or

present to the department a false, fictitious, or misrepresented

application, identification, document, information, statement,

or data intended or likely to deceive the department for
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1509| obtaining a license or permit.

1510 (6) The department may adopt rules regarding persons who

1511 legally possess medical cannabis for the purpose of teaching,

1512 research, or testing and issue letters of exemption to

1513 facilitate the lawful possession of medical cannabis for those

1514| persons.

1515 (7) A person who violates or has violated any provision of

1516 this part may not be a director, officer, member, incorporator,

1517 agent, or employee of a medical cannabis farm or dispensary. Any

1518| prior authorization of such person shall be immediately revoked,

1519 and the department shall suspend the license or permit of the

1520| medical cannabis farm or dispensary until the person is removed

1521 from the position of director, officer, member, incorporator,

1522 agent, or employee.

1523 468.911 License and permit to be displayed.—

1524 (1) A medical cannabis farm that has a department-issued

1525| permit may use the terms “medical cannabis farm” or “permitted

44

1526| medical cannabis farm,” in connection with the permittee’s name

1527 or place of business, to denote permitting under this part.

1528 (2) A licensed dispensary may use the terms “dispensary,”

1529 “licensed dispensary,” or “licensed medical cannabis

4

1530 dispensary,” in connection with the licensee’s name or place of

1531 business, to denote licensure under this part.

1532 (3) Each person who is issued a license or permit under

1533 this part must keep such license or permit conspicuously

1534| displayed in his or her office, place of business, or place of

1535 employment and, whenever required, shall exhibit such license or

1536| permit to any member or authorized representative of the

1537 department.
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(4) A license or permit that is issued by the department is

valid beginning on October 1 of the year for which it is issued

and expires on September 30 in the following year.

(5) A medical cannabis farm that has a department-issued

permit or a licensed dispensary shall renew its permit or

license before its expiration date. If a renewal application and

fee are not filed by the expiration date, the license or permit

may be reinstated only if the licensee or permittee pays, within

30 days after the date of expiration, a delingquent fee that must

not exceed $750 for a medical cannabis farm and $500 for a

dispensary, plus the required renewal fee. If a licensee or

permittee fails to comply with the renewal requirements of this

part, the department may seize all medical cannabis products and

dispose of them in any manner deemed appropriate by the

department by November 1 of the year the license or permit

expires. Any funds collected from the disposal shall be placed

in the Professional Requlation Trust Fund.

(6) The fee structure for reactivation of an inactive

license or permit, except when renewed within 30 days after the

date of expiration, is the same as for an initial permit or

license, including the application fee.

468.912 Reports of theft, illegal use, or illegal

possession.—

(1) A licensee or permittee who incurs a loss, theft, or

unexplained shortage of a medical cannabis product, or who has

knowledge of a loss, theft, or unexplained shortage of a medical

cannabis product, shall, within 12 hours after the discovery,

report such loss, theft, or unexplained shortage to the county

sheriff or police chief of the jurisdiction in which the loss,
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1567 theft, or unexplained shortage occurred. This loss, theft, or

1568 unexplained shortage shall also be reported to the department by

1569 the close of the next business day following the discovery.

1570 (2) Any sheriff, police department, or law enforcement

1571 officer in this state shall give immediate notice to the

1572| department of any theft, illegal use, or illegal possession of

1573| medical cannabis which involves a person and forward a copy of

1574 his or her final written police report to the department.

1575 (3) A law enforcement agency that investigates the causes

1576 and circumstances of a loss, theft, or unexplained shortage of

1577 medical cannabis shall forward a copy of its final written

1578 report to the department. The department shall retain these

1579| reports in the files of the affected licensee or permittee.

1580 468.913 Procedure for cease and desist orders.—If the

1581 department determines that a provision of this part or

1582 applicable department rule has been violated, the department

1583 shall issue to the person charged with the violation an order

1584 requiring the person to cease and desist from such violation or

1585 shall impose an administrative fine, or both.

1586 468.914 Administrative fines.—

1587 (1) If a person violates this part or department rule

1588 adopted pursuant to this part or violates a cease and desist

1589 order issued by the department, the department may impose an

1590 administrative fine, not to exceed $5,000 for each violation per

1591| day, or may suspend or revoke the license or permit issued to

1592 the person, or both. Each day that the violation continues

1593 constitutes a separate violation, and each separate violation is

1594 subject to a separate fine. The department shall allow the

1595 licensee or permittee a reasonable period, not to exceed 30
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1596| days, to pay to the department the amount of the imposed fine.

1597 If the licensee or permittee fails to pay the fine in its

1598 entirety to the department at its office in Tallahassee within

1599 30 days, the department shall revoke the person’s license or

1600| permit. The issuance of administrative fines under this

1601| paragraph does not waive the state’s right to pursue any

1602 additional penalties for the violation.

1603 (2) All fines, monetary penalties, and costs received by

1604 the department in connection with this part shall be deposited

1605 in the Professional Regulation Trust Fund.

1606 468.915 Injunctive relief.—In addition to the penalties and

1607| other enforcement provisions of this part, if a person who is

1608| engaged in any of the activities covered by this part violates a

1609| provision of this part, a department rule adopted pursuant

1610 thereto, or any cease and desist order as provided by this part,

1611 the department may seek injunctive relief in the Circuit Court

1612 of Leon County and may apply for temporary and permanent orders

1613 as the department deems necessary to restrain such person from

1614| engaging in any activities of this part until such person

1615 complies with this part, the department rules adopted pursuant

1616| thereto, and the orders of the department as authorized by this
1617 part.

1618 468.916 Suspension or revocation of license or permit.—

1619 (1) A licensee or permittee who knowingly makes or files a

1620 report that is false, intentionally or negligently fails to file

1621 a report or record required by state law, or willfully impedes

1622 or obstructs such filing or induces another person to do so, is

1623 subject to immediate suspension of his or her license or permit.

1624 (2) A licensee or permittee who pays or receives, directly
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1625 or indirectly, a commission, bonus, kickback, or rebate to or

1626| from, or engages in any split-fee arrangement in any form with a

1627| physician, organization, agency, or person, for patients

1628 referred to a provider of health care goods and services,

1629 including, but not limited to, a hospital, nursing home,

1630 clinical laboratory, ambulatory surgical center, or pharmacy, is

1631 subject to immediate suspension of his or her license or permit.

1632 (3) A violation of any provision of this part, any rule

1633| adopted pursuant thereto, or any cease and desist order issued

1634| by the department by a licensee or permittee as provided in this

1635| part is cause for revocation or suspension of all licenses or

1636| permits held by the licensee or permittee after the department

1637| has determined the licensee or permittee to be guilty of such

1638| wviolation.
1639 (4) If the department finds the licensee or permittee to be

1640 guilty of such violation as provided in subsection (3), it shall

1641| enter an order suspending or revoking the license or permit of

1642 the person charged.

1643 (a) An order of suspension must state the period of time of

1644 the suspension, which period must not exceed 1 year from the

1645 date of the order.

1646 (b) An order of revocation may be entered for a period not

1647 to exceed 5 years. The order affects the revocation of all

1648 licenses or permits held by the person. During such period, a

1649 license or permit may not be issued to the person.
1650

1651 If, during the period between the beginning of a proceeding to

1652 revoke or suspend a license or permit and the entry of an order

1653 of suspension or revocation by the department, a new license or
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permit has been issued to the person, any order of suspension or

revocation shall operate effectively with respect to the new

license or permit held by such person.

(5) A person whose permit or license has been suspended or

revoked may not be issued a new permit or license under any

other name or company name until the expiration of the

suspension or revocation.

(6) The provisions of this section are cumulative and do

not affect any other lawful remedy available to the state,

including administrative fines and injunction relief.

468.917 Conduct of hearings; review of orders of the

department.—All hearings shall be conducted in accordance with

chapter 120. All review of orders of the department shall be in

accordance with chapter 120.

468.918 Penalties.—

(1) A person who knowingly withholds information or

presents to the department a false, fictitious, or

misrepresented application, identification, document,

information, statement, or data intended or likely to deceive

the department for the purpose of obtaining a license or permit

commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as
provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

(2) A person who knowingly withholds information or makes a

false or fictitious entry or misrepresentation upon any invoice,

receipt, sales ticket, sales slip, or account of inventories

commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as

provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

(3) A licensee who knowingly fails to maintain written

accounts of inventories or records of sales or transfers commits
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1683| a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s.
1684| 775.082 or s. 775.083.

1685 (4) A permittee who knowingly fails to maintain written

1686 inventories and records commits a misdemeanor of the first

1687 degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

1688 (5) A licensee or permittee who fails to report the loss,

1689| theft, or unexplained shortage of medical cannabis commits a

1690| misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s.
1691 775.082 or s. 775.083.

1692 468.919 County and municipal ordinances.—A county or

1693| municipality in this state may not create or impose an ordinance

1694| or rule pertaining to medical cannabis which is more restrictive

1695| than the provisions contained in this part and the applicable

1696| department rules.

1697 468.920 Deposit of fees.—All fees collected for licenses

1698 and permits required by this part shall be deposited in the

1699 Professional Regulation Trust Fund, and all moneys collected

1700 under this part and deposited in the Professional Regulation

1701 Trust Fund shall be used by the department in the administration

1702 of this part. The department shall maintain a separate account

1703 in the Professional Requlation Trust Fund for the Drugs,

1704 Devices, and Cosmetics program.

1705 Section 3. Subsection (6) of section 812.14, Florida

1706 Statutes, is amended to read:

1707 812.14 Trespass and larceny with relation to utility
1708 fixtures; theft of utility services.—

1709 (6) It is prima facie evidence of a person’s intent to
1710| wviolate subsection (5) 1if:

1711 (a) A controlled substance and materials for manufacturing
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1712 the controlled substance intended for sale or distribution to
1713| another were found in a dwelling or structure;
1714 (b) Except as provided in this chapter, chapter 468, or

1715 chapter 499, and notwithstanding s. 893.13, the dwelling or

1716 structure has been visibly modified to accommodate the use of
1717| equipment to grow marijuana indoors, including, but not limited
1718 to, the installation of equipment to provide additional air
1719| conditioning, equipment to provide high-wattage lighting, or
1720 equipment for hydroponic cultivation; and

1721 (c) The person or entity that owned, leased, or subleased
1722 the dwelling or structure knew of, or did so under such

1723| circumstances as would induce a reasonable person to believe in,
1724 the presence of a controlled substance and materials for

1725| manufacturing a controlled substance in the dwelling or

1726 structure, regardless of whether the person or entity was

1727 involved in the manufacture or sale of a controlled substance or
1728| was in actual possession of the dwelling or structure.

1729 Section 4. Paragraph (c) of subsection (1) of section

1730 893.03, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:

1731 893.03 Standards and schedules.—The substances enumerated
1732 in this section are controlled by this chapter. The controlled
1733 substances listed or to be listed in Schedules I, II, III, 1V,
1734 and V are included by whatever official, common, usual,

1735| chemical, or trade name designated. The provisions of this

1736| section shall not be construed to include within any of the
1737 schedules contained in this section any excluded drugs listed
1738 within the purview of 21 C.F.R. s. 1308.22, styled “Excluded
1739| Substances”; 21 C.F.R. s. 1308.24, styled “Exempt Chemical

1740 Preparations”; 21 C.F.R. s. 1308.32, styled “Exempted
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1741 Prescription Products”; or 21 C.F.R. s. 1308.34, styled “Exempt
1742| Anabolic Steroid Products.”
1743 (1) SCHEDULE I.—A substance in Schedule I has a high
1744 potential for abuse and has no currently accepted medical use in
1745 treatment in the United States and in its use under medical
1746 supervision does not meet accepted safety standards. The
1747 following substances are controlled in Schedule I:
1748 (c) Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in
1749 another schedule, any material, compound, mixture, or
1750| preparation that contains any quantity of the following
1751| hallucinogenic substances or that contains any of their salts,
1752 isomers, and salts of isomers, if the existence of such salts,
1753 isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific

1754 chemical designation:

1755 1. Alpha-ethyltryptamine.

1756 2. 2-Amino-4-methyl-5-phenyl-2-oxazoline (4-

1757| methylaminorex) .

1758 3. 2-Amino-5-phenyl-2-oxazoline (Aminorex).

1759 4. 4-Bromo-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine.

1760 5. 4-Bromo-2, 5-dimethoxyphenethylamine.

1761 6. Bufotenine.

1762 7. Cannabis, except as exempted in chapters 468 and 499.
1763 8. Cathinone.

1764 9. Diethyltryptamine.

1765 10. 2,5-Dimethoxyamphetamine.

1766 11. 2,5-Dimethoxy-4-ethylamphetamine (DOET) .

1767 12. Dimethyltryptamine.

1768 13. N-Ethyl-l-phenylcyclohexylamine (PCE) (Ethylamine

1769 analog of phencyclidine).
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1770 14. N-Ethyl-3-piperidyl benzilate.
1771 15. N-ethylamphetamine.
1772 16. Fenethylline.
1773 17. N-Hydroxy-3,4-methylenedioxyamphetamine.
1774 18. Ibogaine.
1775 19. Lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD).
1776 20. Mescaline.
1777 21. Methcathinone.
1778 22. b-Methoxy-3,4-methylenedioxyamphetamine.
1779 23. 4-methoxyamphetamine.
1780 24. 4-methoxymethamphetamine.
1781 25. 4-Methyl-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine.
1782 26. 3,4-Methylenedioxy-N-ethylamphetamine.
1783 27. 3,4-Methylenedioxyamphetamine.
1784 28. N-Methyl-3-piperidyl benzilate.
1785 29. N,N-dimethylamphetamine.
1786 30. Parahexyl.
1787 31. Peyote.
1788 32. N-(l1-Phenylcyclohexyl)-pyrrolidine (PCPY) (Pyrrolidine
1789 analog of phencyclidine).
1790 33. Psilocybin.
1791 34. Psilocyn.
1792 35. Salvia divinorum, except for any drug product approved
1793| by the United States Food and Drug Administration which contains
1794 Salvia divinorum or its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and
1795 salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, if the existence of such
1796 isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the
1797 specific chemical designation.
1798 36. Salvinorin A, except for any drug product approved by
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the United States Food and Drug Administration which contains
Salvinorin A or its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of
isomers, esters, and ethers, i1f the existence of such isomers,
esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the specific
chemical designation.

37. Tetrahydrocannabinols, except as exempted in chapters
468 and 499.

38. 1-[1-(2-Thienyl)-cyclohexyl]-piperidine (TCP)
(Thiophene analog of phencyclidine).

39. 3,4,5-Trimethoxyamphetamine.

40. 3,4-Methylenedioxymethcathinone.

41. 3,4-Methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV) .

42. Methylmethcathinone.

43. Methoxymethcathinone.

44 . Fluoromethcathinone.

45. Methylethcathinone.

46. 2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-5-(2-methyloctan-2-
yl)phenol, also known as CP 47,497 and its dimethyloctyl (C8)
homologue.

47. (6aR,10aR)-9- (hydroxymethyl) -6, 6-dimethyl-3-(2-
methyloctan-2-yl)-6a,7,10,10a-tetrahydrobenzo [c]chromen-1-01,
also known as HU-210.

48. 1-Pentyl-3-(l-naphthoyl)indole, also known as JWH-018.

49. 1-Butyl-3-(l-naphthoyl)indole, also known as JWH-073.

50. 1-[2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl]-3-(l-naphthoyl) indole, also
known as JWH-200.

51. BZP (Benzylpiperazine).

52. Fluorophenylpiperazine.

53. Methylphenylpiperazine.
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1828 54, Chlorophenylpiperazine.
1829 55. Methoxyphenylpiperazine.
1830 56. DBZP (1,4-dibenzylpiperazine).
1831 57. TFMPP (3-Trifluoromethylphenylpiperazine).
1832 58. MBDB (Methylbenzodioxolylbutanamine) .
1833 59. 5-Hydroxy-alpha-methyltryptamine.
1834 60. 5-Hydroxy-N-methyltryptamine.
1835 61. 5-Methoxy-N-methyl-N-isopropyltryptamine.
1836 62. 5-Methoxy-alpha-methyltryptamine.
1837 63. Methyltryptamine.
1838 64. 5-Methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine.
1839 65. 5-Methyl-N,N-dimethyltryptamine.
1840 66. Tyramine (4-Hydroxyphenethylamine).
1841 67. 5-Methoxy-N,N-Diisopropyltryptamine.
1842 68. DiPT (N,N-Diisopropyltryptamine).
1843 69. DPT (N,N-Dipropyltryptamine).
1844 70. 4-Hydroxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine.
1845 71. N,N-Diallyl-5-Methoxytryptamine.
1846 72. DOI (4-Iodo-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine) .
1847 73. DOC (4-Chloro-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine) .
1848 74. 2C-E (4-Ethyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine) .
1849 75. 2C-T-4 (2,5-Dimethoxy-4-isopropylthiophenethylamine).
1850 76. 2C-C (4-Chloro-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine) .
1851 77. 2C-T (2,5-Dimethoxy-4-methylthiophenethylamine) .
1852 78. 2C-T-2 (2,5-Dimethoxy-4-ethylthiophenethylamine).
1853 79. 2C-T-7 (2,5-Dimethoxy-4-(n)-propylthiophenethylamine).
1854 80. 2C-I (4-Iodo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine).
1855 81. Butylone (beta-keto-N-methylbenzodioxolylpropylamine) .
1856 82. Ethcathinone.
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1857 83. Ethylone (3,4-methylenedioxy-N-ethylcathinone).
1858 84. Naphyrone (naphthylpyrovalerone).
1859 85. N-N-Dimethyl-3,4-methylenedioxycathinone.
1860 86. N-N-Diethyl-3,4-methylenedioxycathinone.
1861 87. 3,4-methylenedioxy-propiophenone.
1862 88. 2-Bromo-3,4-Methylenedioxypropiophenone.
1863 89. 3,4-methylenedioxy-propiophenone-2-oxime.
1864 90. N-Acetyl-3,4-methylenedioxycathinone.
1865 91. N-Acetyl-N-Methyl-3,4-Methylenedioxycathinone.
1866 92. N-Acetyl-N-Ethyl-3,4-Methylenedioxycathinone.
1867 93. Bromomethcathinone.
1868 94 . Buphedrone (alpha-methylamino-butyrophenone).
1869 95. Eutylone (beta-Keto-Ethylbenzodioxolylbutanamine).
1870 96. Dimethylcathinone.
1871 97. Dimethylmethcathinone.
1872 98. Pentylone (beta-Keto-Methylbenzodioxolylpentanamine).
1873 99. (MDPPP) 3,4-Methylenedioxy-alpha-
1874| pyrrolidinopropiophenone.
1875 100. (MDPBP) 3,4-Methylenedioxy-alpha-
1876| pyrrolidinobutiophenone.
1877 101. Methoxy-alpha-pyrrolidinopropiophenone (MOPPP) .
1878 102. Methyl-alpha-pyrrolidinohexiophenone (MPHP).
1879 103. Benocyclidine (BCP) or
1880| benzothiophenylcyclohexylpiperidine (BTCP).
1881 104. Fluoromethylaminobutyrophenone (F-MABP).
1882 105. Methoxypyrrolidinobutyrophenone (MeO-PBP).
1883 106. Ethyl-pyrrolidinobutyrophenone (Et-PBP).
1884 107. 3-Methyl-4-Methoxymethcathinone (3-Me-4-MeO-MCAT).
1885 108. Methylethylaminobutyrophenone (Me-EABP).
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109. Methylamino-butyrophenone (MABP) .

110. Pyrrolidinopropiophenone (PPP).

111. Pyrrolidinobutiophenone (PBP).

112. Pyrrolidinovalerophenone (PVP).

113. Methyl-alpha-pyrrolidinopropiophenone (MPPP).

114. JwH-007
115. JWH-015

(l1-pentyl-2-methyl-3-(l-naphthoyl) indole) .
(2-Methyl-1-propyl-1H-indol-3-yl)-1-

naphthalenylmethanone) .

116. JWH-019
yl)methanone) .
117. JWH-020
118. JWH-072
yl)methanone) .
119. JWH-081
yl)methanone) .
120. JWH-122
121. JWH-133

(Naphthalen-1-yl-(1l-hexylindol-3-

(l1-heptyl-3-(l-naphthoyl)indole) .
(Naphthalen-1-yl-(l-propyl-1H-indol-3-

(A-methoxynaphthalen-1-yl-(l-pentylindol-3-

(1-Pentyl-3-(4-methyl-1-naphthoyl)indole) .
((6aR,10aR)-3-(1,1-Dimethylbutyl)-6a,7,10,10a-

tetrahydro-6,6,9-trimethyl-6H-dibenzo[b,d]pyran)) .

122. JWH-175
indole) .

123. JWH-201

124. JWH-203
yl)ethanone) .

125. JWH-210
yl)methanone) .

126. JWH-250
yl)ethanone) .

127. JWH-251
yl)ethanone) .

(3- (naphthalen-1-ylmethyl)-1-pentyl-1H-

(l-pentyl-3- (4-methoxyphenylacetyl) indole) .
(2-(2-chlorophenyl)-1-(l-pentylindol-3-

(4-ethylnaphthalen-1-yl-(l-pentylindol-3-

(2- (2-methoxyphenyl) -1- (1l-pentylindol-3-

(2= (2-methylphenyl)-1-(l-pentyl-1H-indol-3-
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1915 128. JWH-302 (l-pentyl-3-(3-methoxyphenylacetyl)indole).
1916 129. JWH-398 (l-pentyl-3-(4-chloro-l-naphthoyl)indole).
1917 130. HU-211 ((6aS,10aS)-9- (Hydroxymethyl)-6, 6-dimethyl-3-

1918 (2-methyloctan-2-yl)-6a,7,10,10a-tetrahydrobenzo[c]chromen-1-
1919 ol).

1920 131. HU-308 ([ (1R,2R,5R)-2-[2,6-dimethoxy-4-(2-methyloctan-
1921 2-yl)phenyl]-7,7-dimethyl-4-bicyclo[3.1.1]hept-3-enyl]

1922 methanol) .

1923 132. HU-331 (3-hydroxy-2-[ (1R, 6R)-3-methyl-6-(1-

1924 methylethenyl)-2-cyclohexen-1-yl]-5-pentyl-2,5-cyclohexadiene-
1925 1,4-dione) .

1926 133. CB-13 (Naphthalen-1-yl-(4-pentyloxynaphthalen-1-
1927 yl)methanone) .

1928 134. CB-25 (N-cyclopropyl-11-(3-hydroxy-5-pentylphenoxy) -
1929| undecanamide) .

1930 135. CB-52 (N-cyclopropyl-11-(2-hexyl-5-hydroxyphenoxy) -
1931| undecanamide).

1932 136. CP 55,940 (2-[(1R,2R,5R)-5-hydroxy-2-(3-

1933| hydroxypropyl)cyclohexyl]-5-(2-methyloctan-2-yl)phenol).

1934 137. AM-694 (1-[(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indol-3-yl]-(2-

1935 iodophenyl)methanone) .

1936 138. AM-2201 (1-[(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indol-3-yl]-

1937 (naphthalen-1-yl)methanone) .

1938 139. RCS-4 ((4-methoxyphenyl) (l-pentyl-1H-indol-3-

1939 yl)methanone) .

1940 140. RCS-8 (l1-(l1-(2-cyclohexylethyl)-1H-indol-3-yl)-2-(2-

1941| methoxyphenylethanone).
1942 141. WIN55,212-2 ((R)-(+)-[2,3-Dihydro-5-methyl-3-(4-
1943 morpholinylmethyl)pyrrolo[l,2,3-de]-1,4-benzoxazin-6-yl]-1-
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1944| naphthalenylmethanone).
1945 142. WINS55,212-3 ([(3S)-2,3-Dihydro-5-methyl-3-(4-

1946| morpholinylmethyl)pyrrolol[l,2,3-de]-1,4-benzoxazin-6-yl]-1-
1947 naphthalenylmethanone) .

1948 Section 5. Subsections (1) through (6) of section 893.13,
1949 Florida Statutes, are amended to read:

1950 893.13 Prohibited acts; penalties.—

1951 (1) (a) Except as authorized by this chapter and chapter

1952 499, it is unlawful for any person to sell, manufacture, or

1953 deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or

1954 deliver, a controlled substance. Any person who violates this
1955| provision with respect to:

1956 1. A controlled substance named or described in s.

1957 893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (1)(d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)4d.,

1958 commits a felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in
1959 s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

1960 2. Except as provided in this chapter, chapter 468, and

1961 chapter 499, a controlled substance named or described in s.
1962 893.03 (1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6.,
1963 (2) (c¢)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of

1964 the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.

1965| 775.083, or s. 775.084.

1966 3. A controlled substance named or described in s.

1967 893.03(5) commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable
1968 as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

1969 (b) Except as provided in this chapter, chapter 468, and

1970 chapter 499, it is unlawful to sell or deliver in excess of 10

1971| grams of any substance named or described in s. 893.03(1) (a) or

1972 (1) (b), or any combination thereof, or any mixture containing
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1973| any such substance. Any person who violates this paragraph
1974| commits a felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in
1975 s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

1976 (c) Except as authorized by this chapter, chapter 468, and

1977 chapter 499, it is unlawful for any person to sell, manufacture,

1978 or deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or
1979 deliver, a controlled substance in, on, or within 1,000 feet of
1980 the real property comprising a child care facility as defined in
1981 s. 402.302 or a public or private elementary, middle, or

1982 secondary school between the hours of 6 a.m. and 12 midnight, or
1983 at any time in, on, or within 1,000 feet of real property

1984 comprising a state, county, or municipal park, a community

1985| center, or a publicly owned recreational facility. For the

1986| purposes of this paragraph, the term “community center” means a
1987 facility operated by a nonprofit community-based organization
1988 for the provision of recreational, social, or educational

1989| services to the public. Any person who violates this paragraph
1990 with respect to:

1991 1. A controlled substance named or described in s.

1992 893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (L)(d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)4.,

1993 commits a felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in
1994 s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. The defendant must be
1995 sentenced to a minimum term of imprisonment of 3 calendar years
1996 unless the offense was committed within 1,000 feet of the real
1997| property comprising a child care facility as defined in s.

1998| 402.302.

1999 2. A controlled substance named or described in s.

2000 893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6.,
2001 (2) (¢)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of

Page 69 of 133
CODING: Words striekern are deletions; words underlined are additions.




Florida Senate - 2013 SB 1250

27-00511B-13 20131250
2002 the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.
2003| 775.083, or s. 775.084.
2004 3. Any other controlled substance, except as lawfully sold,
2005| manufactured, or delivered, must be sentenced to pay a $500 fine
2006 and to serve 100 hours of public service in addition to any
2007 other penalty prescribed by law.
2008
2009| This paragraph does not apply to a child care facility unless
2010 the owner or operator of the facility posts a sign that is not
2011 less than 2 square feet in size with a word legend identifying
2012 the facility as a licensed child care facility and that is
2013| posted on the property of the child care facility in a
2014| conspicuous place where the sign is reasonably visible to the
2015| public.
2016 (d) Except as authorized by this chapter, chapter 468, and

2017 chapter 499, it is unlawful for any person to sell, manufacture,

2018 or deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or
2019 deliver, a controlled substance in, on, or within 1,000 feet of
2020 the real property comprising a public or private college,

2021 university, or other postsecondary educational institution. Any
2022| person who violates this paragraph with respect to:

2023 1. A controlled substance named or described in s.

2024 893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (1) (d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)4.,

2025| commits a felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in
2026| s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2027 2. A controlled substance named or described in s.

2028 893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6.,
2029 (2) (¢)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of
2030 the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.
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2031 775.083, or s. 775.084.
2032 3. Any other controlled substance, except as lawfully sold,
2033| manufactured, or delivered, must be sentenced to pay a $500 fine
2034 and to serve 100 hours of public service in addition to any
2035 other penalty prescribed by law.
2036 (e) Except as authorized by this chapter, chapter 468, and

2037 chapter 499, it is unlawful for any person to sell, manufacture,

2038 or deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or
2039| deliver, a controlled substance not authorized by law in, on, or
2040| within 1,000 feet of a physical place for worship at which a
2041 church or religious organization regularly conducts religious
2042 services or within 1,000 feet of a convenience business as

2043| defined in s. 812.171. Any person who violates this paragraph
2044 with respect to:

2045 1. A controlled substance named or described in s.

2046 893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (1) (d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)4.,

2047 commits a felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in
2048 s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2049 2. A controlled substance named or described in s.

2050 893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6.,
2051 (2) (¢)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of
2052 the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.

2053 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2054 3. Any other controlled substance, except as lawfully sold,
2055| manufactured, or delivered, must be sentenced to pay a $500 fine
2056| and to serve 100 hours of public service in addition to any
2057 other penalty prescribed by law.

2058 (f) Except as authorized by this chapter, chapter 468, and

2059 chapter 499, it is unlawful for any person to sell, manufacture,

Page 71 of 133
CODING: Words striekern are deletions; words underlined are additions.




Florida Senate - 2013 SB 1250

27-00511B-13 20131250
2060 or deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or
20061 deliver, a controlled substance in, on, or within 1,000 feet of
2062 the real property comprising a public housing facility at any
2063 time. For purposes of this section, the term “real property
2064 comprising a public housing facility” means real property, as
2065| defined in s. 421.03(12), of a public corporation created as a
2066| housing authority pursuant to part I of chapter 421. Any person
2067| who violates this paragraph with respect to:
2068 1. A controlled substance named or described in s.
2069| 893.03(1) (a), (L) (), (L)(d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)4d.,
2070 commits a felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in
2071 s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.
2072 2. A controlled substance named or described in s.
20731 893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6.,
2074 (2) (¢)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of
2075 the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.
2076 775.083, or s. 775.084.
2077 3. Any other controlled substance, except as lawfully sold,
2078| manufactured, or delivered, must be sentenced to pay a $500 fine
2079| and to serve 100 hours of public service in addition to any
2080 other penalty prescribed by law.
2081 (g) Except as authorized by this chapter, chapter 468, and

2082 chapter 499, it is unlawful for any person to manufacture

2083| methamphetamine or phencyclidine, or possess any listed chemical
2084 as defined in s. 893.033 in violation of s. 893.149 and with
2085 intent to manufacture methamphetamine or phencyclidine. If any
2086| person violates this paragraph and:

2087 1. The commission or attempted commission of the crime

2088 occurs in a structure or conveyance where any child under 16
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2089 years of age is present, the person commits a felony of the

2090 first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083,
2091 or s. 775.084. In addition, the defendant must be sentenced to a
2092| minimum term of imprisonment of 5 calendar years.

2093 2. The commission of the crime causes any child under 16
2094 years of age to suffer great bodily harm, the person commits a
2095 felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in s.

2096 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. In addition, the defendant
2097| must be sentenced to a minimum term of imprisonment of 10

2098 calendar years.

2099 (h) Except as authorized by this chapter, chapter 468, and

2100 chapter 499, it is unlawful for any person to sell, manufacture,

2101 or deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or
2102 deliver, a controlled substance in, on, or within 1,000 feet of
2103| the real property comprising an assisted living facility, as
2104 that term is used in chapter 429. Any person who violates this
2105| paragraph with respect to:

2106 1. A controlled substance named or described in s.

2107 893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (L)y(d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2) (c)4.

2108 commits a felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in
2109 s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2110 2. A controlled substance named or described in s.

2111 893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6.,
2112 (2) (c¢)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of
2113 the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.
2114 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2115 (2) (a) Except as authorized by this chapter, chapter 468,

2116 and chapter 499, it is unlawful for any person to purchase, or

2117 possess with intent to purchase, a controlled substance. Any
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2118| person who violates this provision with respect to:

2119 1. A controlled substance named or described in s.

2120 893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (1) (), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)4.,

2121 commits a felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in
2122 s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2123 2. A controlled substance named or described in s.

2124 893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6.,
2125 (2) (c)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of
2126| the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.

2127 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2128 3. A controlled substance named or described in s.

2129 893.03(5) commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable

2130 as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
2131 (b) Except as provided in this chapter, chapter 468, and

2132 chapter 499, it is unlawful to purchase in excess of 10 grams of

2133 any substance named or described in s. 893.03(1) (a) or (1) (b),
2134 or any combination thereof, or any mixture containing any such
2135 substance. Any person who violates this paragraph commits a
2136 felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in s.

2137 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2138 (3) Except as provided in this chapter, chapter 468, and

2139| chapter 499, any person who delivers, without consideration, not

2140 more than 20 grams of cannabis, as defined in this chapter,
2141 commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as

2142| provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. For the purposes of this
2143| paragraph, “cannabis” does not include the resin extracted from
2144 the plants of the genus Cannabis or any compound manufacture,
2145 salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of such resin.

2146 (4) Except as authorized by this chapter, chapter 468, and
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chapter 499, it is unlawful for any person 18 years of age or

older to deliver any controlled substance to a person under the

age of 18 years, except for an emancipated minor, or to use or

hire a person under the age of 18 years as an agent or employee
in the sale or delivery of such a substance, or to use such
person to assist in avoiding detection or apprehension for a
violation of this chapter. Any person who violates this
provision with respect to:

(a) A controlled substance named or described in s.
893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (1) (d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)d.,
commits a felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in
s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

(b) A controlled substance named or described in s.
893.03 (1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6.,
(2) (¢)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of
the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.
775.083, or s. 775.084.

Imposition of sentence may not be suspended or deferred, nor
shall the person so convicted be placed on probation.

(5) It is unlawful for any person to bring into this state
any controlled substance unless the possession of such

controlled substance is authorized by this chapter or chapter

499 or unless such person is licensed to do so by the
appropriate federal agency. Any person who violates this
provision with respect to:

(a) A controlled substance named or described in s.
893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (1) (d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)d.,

commits a felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in
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s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

(b) A controlled substance named or described in s.
893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6.,
(2) (¢)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) commits a felony of
the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s.
775.083, or s. 775.084.

(c) A controlled substance named or described in s.
893.03(5) commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable
as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

(6) (a) It is unlawful for any person to be in actual or
constructive possession of a controlled substance unless such
controlled substance was lawfully obtained from a practitioner
or pursuant to a valid prescription or order of a practitioner
while acting in the course of his or her professional practice
or to be in actual or constructive possession of a controlled
substance except as otherwise authorized by this chapter,

chapter 468, and chapter 499. Any person who violates this

provision commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as
provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.
(b) Except as provided in this chapter, chapter 468, and

chapter 499, if the offense is the possession of not more than

20 grams of cannabis, as defined in this chapter, or 3 grams or
less of a controlled substance described in s. 893.03(1) (c)46.-
50. and 114.-142., the person commits a misdemeanor of the first
degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. For
the purposes of this subsection, “cannabis” does not include the
resin extracted from the plants of the genus Cannabis, or any

compound manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation

of such resin, and a controlled substance described in s.
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2205 893.03(1) (¢)46.-50. and 114.-142. does not include the substance
2206 in a powdered form.

2207 (c) Except as provided in this chapter, chapter 468, and

2208 chapter 499, it is unlawful to possess in excess of 10 grams of

2209 any substance named or described in s. 893.03(1) (a) or (1) (b),

2210 or any combination thereof, or any mixture containing any such
2211 substance. Any person who violates this paragraph commits a

2212| felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in s.

2213 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2214 (d) Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary of the
2215 laws of this state relating to arrest, a law enforcement officer
2216| may arrest without warrant any person who the officer has

2217| probable cause to believe is violating the provisions of this

2218 chapter and chapter 499 relating to possession of cannabis.

2219 Section 6. Section 893.1351, Florida Statutes, i1s amended
2220 to read:

2221 893.1351 Ownership, lease, rental, or possession for

2222 trafficking in or manufacturing a controlled substance.—

2223 (1) Except as provided by this chapter, chapter 468, and

2224 chapter 499, a person may not own, lease, or rent any place,

2225 structure, or part thereof, trailer, or other conveyance with
2226 the knowledge that the place, structure, trailer, or conveyance
2227 will be used for the purpose of trafficking in a controlled
2228 substance, as provided in s. 893.135; for the sale of a

2229 controlled substance, as provided in s. 893.13; or for the

2230| manufacture of a controlled substance intended for sale or

2231 distribution to another. A person who violates this subsection
2232 commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in
2233 s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

Page 77 of 133
CODING: Words striekern are deletions; words underlined are additions.




Florida Senate - 2013 SB 1250

27-00511B-13 20131250

2234 (2) Except as provided by this chapter, chapter 468, and

2235 chapter 499, a person may not knowingly be in actual or

2236 constructive possession of any place, structure, or part

2237 thereof, trailer, or other conveyance with the knowledge that
2238 the place, structure, or part thereof, trailer, or conveyance
2239| will be used for the purpose of trafficking in a controlled
2240 substance, as provided in s. 893.135; for the sale of a

2241 controlled substance, as provided in s. 893.13; or for the
2242| manufacture of a controlled substance intended for sale or
2243 distribution to another. A person who violates this subsection
2244 commits a felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in
2245 s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

2246 (3) Except as provided by this chapter, chapter 468, and

2247| chapter 499, a person who is in actual or constructive

2248 possession of a place, structure, trailer, or conveyance with
2249 the knowledge that the place, structure, trailer, or conveyance
2250 is being used to manufacture a controlled substance intended for
2251 sale or distribution to another and who knew or should have

2252 known that a minor is present or resides in the place,

2253 structure, trailer, or conveyance commits a felony of the first
2254| degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s.
2255 775.084.

2256 (4) Except as provided by this chapter, chapter 468, and

2257 chapter 499, for the purposes of this section, proof of the

2258| possession of 25 or more cannabis plants constitutes prima facie

2259 evidence that the cannabis is intended for sale or distribution.

2260 Section 7. Section 893.145, Florida Statutes, is amended to
2261 read:
2262 893.145 “Drug paraphernalia” defined.—Except as provided in
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2263 this chapter, chapter 468, and chapter 499, the term “drug

2264| paraphernalia” means all equipment, products, and materials of
2265 any kind which are used, intended for use, or designed for use
2266 in planting, propagating, cultivating, growing, harvesting,

2267| manufacturing, compounding, converting, producing, processing,
2268| preparing, testing, analyzing, packaging, repackaging, storing,
2269| containing, concealing, transporting, injecting, ingesting,

2270 inhaling, or otherwise introducing into the human body a

2271 controlled substance in violation of this chapter or s. 877.111.
2272 Drug paraphernalia is deemed to be contraband which shall be
2273 subject to civil forfeiture. The term includes, but is not

2274 limited to:

2275 (1) Kits used, intended for use, or designed for use in the
2276| planting, propagating, cultivating, growing, or harvesting of
2277 any species of plant which is a controlled substance or from
2278| which a controlled substance can be derived.

2279 (2) Kits used, intended for use, or designed for use in
2280| manufacturing, compounding, converting, producing, processing,
2281 or preparing controlled substances.

2282 (3) Isomerization devices used, intended for use, or

2283 designed for use in increasing the potency of any species of
2284| plant which is a controlled substance.

2285 (4) Testing equipment used, intended for use, or designed
2286 for use in identifying, or in analyzing the strength,

2287 effectiveness, or purity of, controlled substances.

2288 (5) Scales and balances used, intended for use, or designed
2289 for use in weighing or measuring controlled substances.

2290 (6) Diluents and adulterants, such as guinine

2291 hydrochloride, mannitol, mannite, dextrose, and lactose, used,
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2292 intended for use, or designed for use in cutting controlled
2293 substances.
2294 (7) Separation gins and sifters used, intended for use, or
2295 designed for use in removing twigs and seeds from, or in
2296 otherwise cleaning or refining, cannabis.
2297 (8) Blenders, bowls, containers, spoons, and mixing devices
2298| wused, intended for use, or designed for use in compounding
2299 controlled substances.
2300 (9) Capsules, balloons, envelopes, and other containers
2301 used, intended for use, or designed for use in packaging small
2302 quantities of controlled substances.
2303 (10) Containers and other objects used, intended for use,
2304| or designed for use in storing, concealing, or transporting
2305 controlled substances.
2306 (11) Hypodermic syringes, needles, and other objects used,
2307 intended for use, or designed for use in parenterally injecting
2308 controlled substances into the human body.
2309 (12) Objects used, intended for use, or designed for use in
2310 ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing cannabis, cocaine,
2311 hashish, hashish o0il, or nitrous oxide into the human body, such
2312 as:
2313 (a) Metal, wooden, acrylic, glass, stone, plastic, or
2314 ceramic pipes, with or without screens, permanent screens,

2315| hashish heads, or punctured metal bowls.

2316 (b) Water pipes.

2317 (c) Carburetion tubes and devices.

2318 (d) Smoking and carburetion masks.

2319 (e) Roach clips: meaning objects used to hold burning

2320 material, such as a cannabis cigarette, that has become too
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small or too short to be held in the hand.

(f) Miniature cocaine spoons, and cocaine vials.

(g) Chamber pipes.

(h) Carburetor pipes.

(1) Electric pipes.

(j) Air-driven pipes.

(k) Chillums.

(1) Bongs.

(m) Ice pipes or chillers.

(n) A cartridge or canister, which means a small metal

device used to contain nitrous oxide.

(o) A charger, sometimes referred to as a “cracker,” which
means a small metal or plastic device that contains an interior
pin that may be used to expel nitrous oxide from a cartridge or
container.

(p) A charging bottle, which means a device that may be
used to expel nitrous oxide from a cartridge or canister.

(q) A whip-it, which means a device that may be used to

expel nitrous oxide.

(r) A tank.

(s) A balloon.

(t) A hose or tube.

(u) A 2-liter-type soda bottle.
(v) Duct tape.

Section 8. Present subsection (3) of section 921.0022,
Florida Statutes, is redesignated as subsection (4), a new
subsection (3) is added to that section, and paragraphs (a),
(b), (c), (), (g), (h), and (i) of present subsection (3) of

that section are amended, to read:
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921.0022 Criminal Punishment Code; offense severity ranking
chart.—

(3) For the purpose of this section, the term “cannabis”

does not include any form of cannabis which is cultivated,

manufactured, possessed, and distributed in the form of medical

cannabis in compliance with chapter 499.

(4) 43> OFFENSE SEVERITY RANKING CHART

(a) LEVEL 1

Florida Felony

Statute Degree Description

24.118(3) (a) 3rd Counterfeit or altered state lottery
ticket.

212.054 (2) (b) 3rd Discretionary sales surtax; limitations,
administration, and collection.

212.15(2) (b) 3rd Failure to remit sales taxes, amount
greater than $300 but less than $20,000.

316.1935(1) 3rd Fleeing or attempting to elude law
enforcement officer.

319.30(5) 3rd Sell, exchange, give away certificate of
title or identification number plate.

319.35(1) (a) 3rd Tamper, adjust, change, etc., an

odometer.
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2365
320.26 (1) (a) 3rd Counterfeit, manufacture, or sell
registration license plates or validation
stickers.
2366
322.212 3rd Possession of forged, stolen,

(1) (a)-(c) counterfeit, or unlawfully issued
driver’s license; possession of simulated
identification.

2367
322.212 (4) 3rd Supply or aid in supplying unauthorized
driver’s license or identification card.
2368
322.212(5) (a) 3rd False application for driver’s license or
identification card.
2369
414.39(2) 3rd Unauthorized use, possession, forgery, or
alteration of food assistance program,
Medicaid ID, value greater than $200.
2370
414.39(3) (a) 3rd Fraudulent misappropriation of public
assistance funds by employee/official,
value more than $200.
2371
443.071(1) 3rd False statement or representation to
obtain or increase reemployment
assistance benefits.
2372
509.151 (1) 3rd Defraud an innkeeper, food or lodging
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value greater than $300.
2373
517.302 (1) 3rd Violation of the Florida Securities and
Investor Protection Act.
2374
562.27 (1) 3rd Possess still or still apparatus.
2375
713.69 3rd Tenant removes property upon which lien
has accrued, value more than $50.
2376
812.014(3) (c) 3rd Petit theft (3rd conviction); theft of
any property not specified in subsection
(2) .
2377
812.081(2) 3rd Unlawfully makes or causes to be made a
reproduction of a trade secret.
2378
815.04 (4) (a) 3rd Offense against intellectual property
(i.e., computer programs, data).
2379
817.52(2) 3rd Hiring with intent to defraud, motor
vehicle services.
2380
817.569(2) 3rd Use of public record or public records
information to facilitate commission of a
felony.
2381
826.01 3rd Bigamy.
2382
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828.122(3) 3rd Fighting or baiting animals.
2383
831.04 (1) 3rd Any erasure, alteration, etc., of any
replacement deed, map, plat, or other
document listed in s. 92.28.
2384
831.31(1) (a) 3rd Sell, deliver, or possess counterfeit
controlled substances, all but s.
893.03(5) drugs.
2385
832.041 (1) 3rd Stopping payment with intent to defraud
$150 or more.
2386
832.05(2) (b) & 3rd Knowing, making, issuing worthless checks
(4) (c) $150 or more or obtaining property in
return for worthless check $150 or more.
2387
838.15(2) 3rd Commercial bribe receiving.
2388
838.16 3rd Commercial bribery.
2389
843.18 3rd Fleeing by boat to elude a law
enforcement officer.
2390
847.011 (1) (a) 3rd Sell, distribute, etc., obscene, lewd,
etc., material (2nd conviction).
2391
849.01 3rd Keeping gambling house.
2392
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09 (1) (a) -
23

25(2)

08

13(1) (a)
13(2) (a)2.
13(6) (a)
03 (1) (a)

(b) LEVEL 2

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd

SB 1250

20131250
Lottery; set up, promote, etc., or assist
therein, conduct or advertise drawing for
prizes, or dispose of property or money

by means of lottery.

Gambling-related machines; “common

offender” as to property rights.

Engaging in bookmaking.

Interfere with a railroad signal.

Operate aircraft while under the

influence.

Purchase of cannabis, except as

authorized by this chapter, chapter 468,

and chapter 499.

Possession of cannabis (more than 20

grams), except as authorized by this

chapter, chapter 468, and chapter 499.

Intercepts, or procures any other person
to intercept, any wire or oral

communication.
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Florida Felony
Statute Degree Description
2403
379.2431 3rd Possession of 11 or fewer marine turtle
(1) (e) 3. eggs in violation of the Marine Turtle
Protection Act.
2404
379.2431 3rd Possession of more than 11 marine turtle
(1) (e)4. eggs in violation of the Marine Turtle
Protection Act.
2405
403.413(5) (c) 3rd Dumps waste litter exceeding 500 lbs. in
weight or 100 cubic feet in volume or
any quantity for commercial purposes, oOr
hazardous waste.
2406
517.07(2) 3rd Failure to furnish a prospectus meeting
requirements.
2407
590.28 (1) 3rd Intentional burning of lands.
2408
784.05(3) 3rd Storing or leaving a loaded firearm
within reach of minor who uses it to
inflict injury or death.
2409
787.04 (1) 3rd In violation of court order, take,
entice, etc., minor beyond state limits.
2410
806.13 (1) (b) 3. 3rd Criminal mischief; damage $1,000 or more
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to public communication or any other
public service.

2411

810.061(2) 3rd Impairing or impeding telephone or power
to a dwelling; facilitating or
furthering burglary.

2412

810.09(2) (e) 3rd Trespassing on posted commercial
horticulture property.

2413

812.014(2) (c) 1. 3rd Grand theft, 3rd degree; $300 or more
but less than $5,000.

2414

812.014 (2) (d) 3rd Grand theft, 3rd degree; $100 or more
but less than $300, taken from
unenclosed curtilage of dwelling.

2415

812.015(7) 3rd Possession, use, or attempted use of an
antishoplifting or inventory control
device countermeasure.

2416

817.234 (1) (a) 2. 3rd False statement in support of insurance
claim.

2417

817.481(3) (a) 3rd Obtain credit or purchase with false,
expired, counterfeit, etc., credit card,
value over $300.

2418

817.52(3) 3rd Failure to redeliver hired vehicle.
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2419
817.54 3rd With intent to defraud, obtain mortgage
note, etc., by false representation.
2420
817.60(5) 3rd Dealing in credit cards of another.
2421
817.60(6) (a) 3rd Forgery; purchase goods, services with
false card.
2422
817.61 3rd Fraudulent use of credit cards over $100
or more within 6 months.
2423
826.04 3rd Knowingly marries or has sexual
intercourse with person to whom related.
2424
831.01 3rd Forgery.
2425
831.02 3rd Uttering forged instrument; utters or
publishes alteration with intent to
defraud.
2426
831.07 3rd Forging bank bills, checks, drafts, or
promissory notes.
2427
831.08 3rd Possessing 10 or more forged notes,
bills, checks, or drafts.
2428
831.09 3rd Uttering forged notes, bills, checks,
drafts, or promissory notes.
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2429
831.11 3rd Bringing into the state forged bank
bills, checks, drafts, or notes.
2430
832.05(3) (a) 3rd Cashing or depositing item with intent
to defraud.
2431
843.08 3rd Falsely impersonating an officer.
2432
893.13(2) (a)2. 3rd Purchase of any s. 893.03(1) (c),
(2) (c)1., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5.,
(2) (c)o., (2)(c)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9.,
(3), or (4) drugs other than cannabis.
2433
893.147(2) 3rd Manufacture or delivery of drug
paraphernalia, except as authorized by
this chapter, chapter 468, and chapter
499.
2434
2435 (c) LEVEL 3
2436
Florida Felony
Statute Degree Description
2437
119.10(2) (b) 3rd Unlawful use of confidential information
from police reports.
2438
316.066 3rd Unlawfully obtaining or using
(3) (b) - (d) confidential crash reports.
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2439
316.193(2) (b) 3rd Felony DUI, 3rd conviction.
2440
316.1935(2) 3rd Fleeing or attempting to elude law
enforcement officer in patrol wvehicle
with siren and lights activated.
2441
319.30(4) 3rd Possession by junkyard of motor vehicle
with identification number plate
removed.
2442
319.33 (1) (a) 3rd Alter or forge any certificate of title
to a motor vehicle or mobile home.
2443
319.33 (1) (c) 3rd Procure or pass title on stolen vehicle.
2444
319.33(4) 3rd With intent to defraud, possess, sell,
etc., a blank, forged, or unlawfully
obtained title or registration.
2445
327.35(2) (b) 3rd Felony BUI.
2446
328.05(2) 3rd Possess, sell, or counterfeit
fictitious, stolen, or fraudulent titles
or bills of sale of vessels.
2447
328.07 (4) 3rd Manufacture, exchange, or possess vessel
with counterfeit or wrong ID number.
24438
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376.302(5) 3rd Fraud related to reimbursement for
cleanup expenses under the Inland
Protection Trust Fund.

2449

379.2431 3rd Taking, disturbing, mutilating,

(1) (e)5. destroying, causing to be destroyed,
transferring, selling, offering to sell,
molesting, or harassing marine turtles,
marine turtle eggs, or marine turtle
nests in violation of the Marine Turtle
Protection Act.

2450
379.2431 3rd Soliciting to commit or conspiring to

(1) (e) 6. commit a violation of the Marine Turtle
Protection Act.

2451

400.9935(4) 3rd Operating a clinic without a license or
filing false license application or
other required information.

2452

440.1051(3) 3rd False report of workers’ compensation
fraud or retaliation for making such a
report.

2453

501.001(2) (b) 2nd Tampers with a consumer product or the
container using materially
false/misleading information.

2454

624.401 (4) (a) 3rd Transacting insurance without a
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certificate of authority.
2455
624.401(4) (b)) 1. 3rd Transacting insurance without a
certificate of authority; premium
collected less than $20,000.
2456
626.902 (1) (a) & 3rd Representing an unauthorized insurer.
(b)
2457
697.08 3rd Equity skimming.
2458
790.15(3) 3rd Person directs another to discharge
firearm from a vehicle.
2459
796.05 (1) 3rd Live on earnings of a prostitute.
2460
806.10 (1) 3rd Maliciously injure, destroy, or
interfere with vehicles or equipment
used in firefighting.
2461
806.10(2) 3rd Interferes with or assaults firefighter
in performance of duty.
2462
810.09(2) (c) 3rd Trespass on property other than
structure or conveyance armed with
firearm or dangerous weapon.
2463
812.014 (2) (c) 2. 3rd Grand theft; $5,000 or more but less
than $10,000.
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81l2.

815.

817.

817

817

817.

0145 (2) (c)

04 (4) (b)

034 (4) (a) 3.

.236

.2361

413(2)

3rd

2nd

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd
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Theft from person 65 years of age or
older; $300 or more but less than

$10,000.

Computer offense devised to defraud or

obtain property.

Engages in scheme to defraud (Florida
Communications Fraud Act), property
valued at less than $20,000.

Burning to defraud insurer.

Unlawful solicitation of persons

involved in motor vehicle accidents.

Insurance fraud; property value less
than $20,000.

Filing a false motor vehicle insurance

application.
Creating, marketing, or presenting a
false or fraudulent motor wvehicle

insurance card.

Sale of used goods as new.
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817.505 (4)

828.12(2)

831.28(2) (a)

831.29

838.021(3) (b)

843.19

860.15(3)

870.01(2)

893.13(1) (a)2.

3rd

3rd

3rd

2nd

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd

3rd
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Patient brokering.

Tortures any animal with intent to
inflict intense pain, serious physical
injury, or death.

Counterfeiting a payment instrument with
intent to defraud or possessing a

counterfeit payment instrument.

Possession of instruments for
counterfeiting drivers’ licenses or

identification cards.

Threatens unlawful harm to public
servant.
disable,

Injure, or kill police dog or

horse.

Overcharging for repairs and parts.

Riot; inciting or encouraging.

Sell, manufacture, or deliver cannabis,

except as authorized by this chapter,

chapter 468, and chapter 499 (or other
s. 893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2.,
(2) (c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6., (2)(c)7.,
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(2) (c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) drugs).
2482
893.13(1) (d) 2. 2nd Sell, manufacture, or deliver s.
893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2.,
(2) (¢)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6., (2)(c)7.,
(2) (¢)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) drugs,

except as authorized by this chapter,

chapter 468, and chapter 499, within

1,000 feet of university.

2483

893.13(1) (£)2. 2nd Sell, manufacture, or deliver s.
893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2.,
(2) (¢)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6., (2)(c)7.,
(2) (c¢)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) drugs
within 1,000 feet of public housing
facility.

2484

893.13(6) (a) 3rd Possession of any controlled substance
other than felony possession of cannabis

and possession of cannabis as authorized

by this chapter and chapter 499.

2485

893.13(7) (a) 8. 3rd Withhold information from practitioner
regarding previous receipt of or
prescription for a controlled substance.

2486

893.13(7) (a) 9. 3rd Obtain or attempt to obtain controlled
substance by fraud, forgery,

misrepresentation, etc.
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2487

893.13(7) (a)10. 3rd Affix false or forged label to package
of controlled substance.

2488

893.13(7) (a)1ll. 3rd Furnish false or fraudulent material
information on any document or record
required by chapter 893.

2489

893.13(8) (a)1l. 3rd Knowingly assist a patient, other
person, or owner of an animal in
obtaining a controlled substance through
deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent
representations in or related to the
practitioner’s practice.

2490

893.13(8) (a) 2. 3rd Employ a trick or scheme in the
practitioner’s practice to assist a
patient, other person, or owner of an
animal in obtaining a controlled
substance.

2491

893.13(8) (a) 3. 3rd Knowingly write a prescription for a
controlled substance for a fictitious
person.

2492

893.13(8) (a)4. 3rd Write a prescription for a controlled
substance for a patient, other person,
or an animal if the sole purpose of

writing the prescription is a monetary
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918.13 (1) (a)

944.47

(1) (a)l.-2.

944 .47 (1) (c)

985.721

(e) LEVEL 5

Florida
Statute

316.027 (1) (a)

316.1935(4) (a)

322.34(6)

3rd

3rd

2nd

3rd

Felony

Degree

3rd

2nd

3rd
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benefit for the practitioner.

Alter, destroy, or conceal investigation

evidence.

Introduce contraband to correctional

facility.

Possess contraband while upon the

grounds of a correctional institution.
Escapes from a juvenile facility (secure

detention or residential commitment

facility).

Description

Accidents involving personal injuries,

failure to stop; leaving scene.
Aggravated fleeing or eluding.
Careless operation of motor wvehicle

with suspended license, resulting in

death or serious bodily injury.
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327.30(5) 3rd Vessel accidents involving personal
injury; leaving scene.

2504

379.367(4) 3rd Willful molestation of a commercial
harvester’s spiny lobster trap, line,
or buoy.

2505

379.3671(2) (c) 3. 3rd Willful molestation, possession, or
removal of a commercial harvester’s
trap contents or trap gear by another
harvester.
2506
381.0041 (11) (b) 3rd Donate blood, plasma, or organs knowing
HIV positive.
2507
440.10(1) (9) 2nd Failure to obtain workers’ compensation
coverage.

2508

440.105(5) 2nd Unlawful solicitation for the purpose
of making workers’ compensation claims.

2509

440.381(2) 2nd Submission of false, misleading, or
incomplete information with the purpose
of avoiding or reducing workers’
compensation premiums.

2510

624.401(4) (b) 2. 2nd Transacting insurance without a
certificate or authority; premium

collected $20,000 or more but less than
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$100,000.
2511
626.902 (1) (c) 2nd Representing an unauthorized insurer;
repeat offender.
2512
790.01(2) 3rd Carrying a concealed firearm.
2513
790.162 2nd Threat to throw or discharge
destructive device.
2514
790.163(1) 2nd False report of deadly explosive or
weapon of mass destruction.
2515
790.221(1) 2nd Possession of short-barreled shotgun or
machine gun.
2516
790.23 2nd Felons in possession of firearms,
ammunition, or electronic weapons or
devices.
2517
800.04 (6) (c) 3rd Lewd or lascivious conduct; offender
less than 18 years.
2518
800.04(7) (b) 2nd Lewd or lascivious exhibition; offender
18 years or older.
2519
806.111 (1) 3rd Possess, manufacture, or dispense fire
bomb with intent to damage any
structure or property.
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2520
812.0145(2) (b) 2nd Theft from person 65 years of age or
older; $10,000 or more but less than
$50,000.
2521
812.015(8) 3rd Retail theft; property stolen is wvalued
at $300 or more and one or more
specified acts.
2522
812.019(1) 2nd Stolen property; dealing in or
trafficking in.
2523
812.131(2) (b) 3rd Robbery by sudden snatching.
2524
812.16(2) 3rd Owning, operating, or conducting a chop
shop.
2525
817.034(4) (a) 2. 2nd Communications fraud, value $20,000 to
$50,000.
2526
817.234(11) (b) 2nd Insurance fraud; property value $20,000
or more but less than $100,000.
2527
817.2341 (1), 3rd Filing false financial statements,

(2) (a) & (3) (a) making false entries of material fact
or false statements regarding property
values relating to the solvency of an
insuring entity.

2528
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817.568(2) (b) 2nd Fraudulent use of personal
identification information; value of
benefit, services received, payment
avoided, or amount of injury or fraud,
$5,000 or more or use of personal
identification information of 10 or
more individuals.

2529

817.625(2) (b) 2nd Second or subsequent fraudulent use of
scanning device or reencoder.

2530

825.1025(4) 3rd Lewd or lascivious exhibition in the
presence of an elderly person or
disabled adult.

2531

827.071(4) 2nd Possess with intent to promote any
photographic material, motion picture,
etc., which includes sexual conduct by
a child.

2532

827.071(5) 3rd Possess, control, or intentionally view
any photographic material, motion
picture, etc., which includes sexual
conduct by a child.

2533

839.13(2) (b) 2nd Falsifying records of an individual in
the care and custody of a state agency
involving great bodily harm or death.

2534
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843.01 3rd Resist officer with violence to person;
resist arrest with violence.
2535
847.0135(5) (b) 2nd Lewd or lascivious exhibition using
computer; offender 18 years or older.
2536
847.0137 3rd Transmission of pornography by
(2) & (3) electronic device or equipment.
2537
847.0138 3rd Transmission of material harmful to
(2) & (3) minors to a minor by electronic device
or equipment.
2538
874.05(2) 2nd Encouraging or recruiting another to
join a criminal gang; second or
subsequent offense.
2539
893.13(1) (a)l. 2nd Sell, manufacture, or deliver cocaine
(or other s. 893.03(1) (a), (1) (b),
(1) (d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)4.
drugs) .
2540
893.13(1) (c)2. 2nd Sell, manufacture, or deliver cannabis,
except as authorized by this chapter,
chapter 468, and chapter 499, (or other
s. 893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2.,
(2) (c)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6., (2)(c)7.,
(2) (¢)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) drugs)
within 1,000 feet of a child care
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facility, school, or state, county, or
municipal park or publicly owned
recreational facility or community
center.

2541

893.13 (1) (d) 1. 1st Sell, manufacture, or deliver cocaine
(or other s. 893.03(1) (a), (1) (b),

(1) (d), (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2)(c)4.
drugs) within 1,000 feet of university.

2542

893.13(1) (e)?2. 2nd Sell, manufacture, or deliver cannabis,

except as authorized by this chapter,

chapter 468, and chapter 499, or other
drug prohibited under s. 893.03(1) (c),
(2) (c)1l., (2)(c)2., (2)(c)3., (2)(c)5.,
(2) (c)6., (2)(c)7., (2)(c)8., (2)(c)9.,
(3), or (4) within 1,000 feet of

property used for religious services or

a specified business site.

2543

893.13(1) (£) 1. 1st Sell, manufacture, or deliver cocaine
(or other s. 893.03(1) (a), (1) (b),
(1) (d), or (2)(a), (2)(b), or (2) (c)4.
drugs) within 1,000 feet of public
housing facility.

2544

893.13(4) (b) 2nd Deliver to minor cannabis, except as

authorized by this chapter, chapter
468, and chapter 499 (or other s.
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893.03(1) (c), (2)(c)l., (2)(c)2.,
(2) (¢)3., (2)(c)5., (2)(c)6., (2)(c)7.,
(2) (c)8., (2)(c)9., (3), or (4) drugs).
2545
893.1351 (1) 3rd Ownership, lease, or rental for
trafficking in or manufacturing of
controlled substance.
2546
2547 (g) LEVEL 7
2548
Florida Felony
Statute Degree Description
2549
316.027 (1) (b) 1st Accident involving death, failure to
stop; leaving scene.
2550
316.193(3) (c)2. 3rd DUI resulting in serious bodily injury.
2551
316.1935(3) (b) 1st Causing serious bodily injury or death
to another person; driving at high
speed or with wanton disregard for
safety while fleeing or attempting to
elude law enforcement officer who is in
a patrol vehicle with siren and lights
activated.
2552
327.35(3) (c) 2. 3rd Vessel BUI resulting in serious bodily
injury.
2553
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402.319(2) 2nd Misrepresentation and negligence or
intentional act resulting in great
bodily harm, permanent disfiguration,
permanent disability, or death.
2554
409.920 3rd Medicaid provider fraud; $10,000 or
(2) (b)1l.a. less.
2555
409.920 2nd Medicaid provider fraud; more than
(2) (b)1.Db. $10,000, but less than $50,000.
2556
456.065(2) 3rd Practicing a health care profession
without a license.
2557
456.065(2) 2nd Practicing a health care profession
without a license which results in
serious bodily injury.
2558
458.327 (1) 3rd Practicing medicine without a license.
2559
459.013 (1) 3rd Practicing osteopathic medicine without
a license.
2560
460.411 (1) 3rd Practicing chiropractic medicine
without a license.
2561
461.012 (1) 3rd Practicing podiatric medicine without a
license.
2562
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462.17 3rd Practicing naturopathy without a
license.

2563
463.015(1) 3rd Practicing optometry without a license.
2564
464.016 (1) 3rd Practicing nursing without a license.
2565
465.015(2) 3rd Practicing pharmacy without a license.
2566
466.026 (1) 3rd Practicing dentistry or dental hygiene
without a license.
2567
467.201 3rd Practicing midwifery without a license.
2568
468.366 3rd Delivering respiratory care services
without a license.
2569
483.828 (1) 3rd Practicing as clinical laboratory
personnel without a license.
2570
483.901 (9) 3rd Practicing medical physics without a
license.
2571
484.013(1) (c) 3rd Preparing or dispensing optical devices
without a prescription.
2572
484.053 3rd Dispensing hearing aids without a
license.
2573
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494.0018(2) 1st Conviction of any violation of ss.
494.001-494.0077 in which the total
money and property unlawfully obtained
exceeded $50,000 and there were five or
more victims.

2574

560.123(8) (b) 1. 3rd Failure to report currency or payment
instruments exceeding $300 but less
than $20,000 by a money services
business.

2575

560.125(5) (a) 3rd Money services business by unauthorized
person, currency or payment instruments
exceeding $300 but less than $20,000.

2576

©655.50(10) (b) 1. 3rd Failure to report financial
transactions exceeding $300 but less
than $20,000 by financial institution.

2577

775.21(10) (a) 3rd Sexual predator; failure to register;
failure to renew driver’s license or
identification card; other registration
violations.

2578

775.21(10) (b) 3rd Sexual predator working where children
regularly congregate.

2579

775.21(10) (9) 3rd Failure to report or providing false

information about a sexual predator;
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782.071

782.072
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harbor or conceal a sexual predator.

Attempted felony murder of a person by
a person other than the perpetrator or

the perpetrator of an attempted felony.

Killing of a human being by the act,
procurement, or culpable negligence of

another (manslaughter).

Killing of a human being or viable
fetus by the operation of a motor
vehicle in a reckless manner (vehicular

homicide) .

Killing of a human being by the
operation of a vessel in a reckless

manner (vessel homicide).
Aggravated battery; intentionally
causing great bodily harm or

disfigurement.

Aggravated battery; using deadly

weapon.

Aggravated battery; perpetrator aware

victim pregnant.
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784.

784.

784.

784.

784

784 .

784 .

784.

787.

7877

048 (4)

048 (7)

07(2) (d)

074 (1) (a)

.08(2) (a)

081 (1)

082 (1)

083 (1)

06 (3) (a)

.06 (3) (e)

3rd

3rd

1st

1st

1st

1st

1st

1st

1st

1st
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Aggravated stalking; violation of

injunction or court order.

Aggravated stalking; violation of court

order.

Aggravated battery on law enforcement

officer.

Aggravated battery on sexually violent

predators facility staff.

Aggravated battery on a person 65 years

of age or older.

Aggravated battery on specified

official or employee.

Aggravated battery by detained person

on visitor or other detainee.

Aggravated battery on code inspector.

Human trafficking using coercion for

labor and services.
Human trafficking using coercion for
labor and services by the transfer or

transport of any individual from
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outside Florida to within the state.

2597

790.07 (4) 1st Specified weapons violation subsequent
to previous conviction of s. 790.07(1)
or (2).

2598

790.16 (1) 1st Discharge of a machine gun under
specified circumstances.

2599

790.165(2) 2nd Manufacture, sell, possess, or deliver
hoax bomb.

2600

790.165(3) 2nd Possessing, displaying, or threatening
to use any hoax bomb while committing
or attempting to commit a felony.

2601

790.166(3) 2nd Possessing, selling, using, or
attempting to use a hoax weapon of mass
destruction.

2602

790.166(4) 2nd Possessing, displaying, or threatening
to use a hoax weapon of mass
destruction while committing or
attempting to commit a felony.

2603

790.23 1st,PBL Possession of a firearm by a person who
qualifies for the penalty enhancements
provided for in s. 874.04.

2604
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794.08 (4) 3rd Female genital mutilation; consent by a
parent, guardian, or a person in
custodial authority to a victim younger
than 18 years of age.
2605
796.03 2nd Procuring any person under 16 years for
prostitution.
2606
800.04 (5) (c) 1. 2nd Lewd or lascivious molestation; victim
less than 12 years of age; offender
less than 18 years.
2607
800.04 (5) (c) 2. 2nd Lewd or lascivious molestation; victim
12 years of age or older but less than
16 years; offender 18 years or older.
2608
806.01(2) 2nd Maliciously damage structure by fire or
explosive.
2609
810.02(3) (a) 2nd Burglary of occupied dwelling; unarmed;
no assault or battery.
2610
810.02 (3) (b) 2nd Burglary of unoccupied dwelling;
unarmed; no assault or battery.
2611
810.02(3) (d) 2nd Burglary of occupied conveyance;
unarmed; no assault or battery.
2612
810.02(3) (e) 2nd Burglary of authorized emergency
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vehicle.

2613

812.014(2) (a)1l. 1st Property stolen, valued at $100,000 or
more or a semitrailer deployed by a law
enforcement officer; property stolen
while causing other property damage;
1st degree grand theft.

2614

812.014(2) (b)2. 2nd Property stolen, cargo valued at less
than $50,000, grand theft in 2nd
degree.

2615

812.014(2) (b) 3. 2nd Property stolen, emergency medical
equipment; 2nd degree grand theft.

2616

812.014(2) (b)4. 2nd Property stolen, law enforcement
equipment from authorized emergency
vehicle.

2617

812.0145(2) (a) 1st Theft from person 65 years of age or
older; $50,000 or more.

2618

812.019(2) 1st Stolen property; initiates, organizes,
plans, etc., the theft of property and
traffics in stolen property.

2619

812.131(2) (a) 2nd Robbery by sudden snatching.

2620

812.133(2) (b) 1st Carjacking; no firearm, deadly weapon,
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or other weapon.

2621

817.234(8) (a) 2nd Solicitation of motor vehicle accident
victims with intent to defraud.

2622

817.234(9) 2nd Organizing, planning, or participating
in an intentional motor wvehicle
collision.

2623

817.234(11) (c) 1st Insurance fraud; property value
$100,000 or more.

2624

817.2341 1st Making false entries of material fact

(2) (b) & or false statements regarding property

(3) (b) values relating to the solvency of an
insuring entity which are a significant
cause of the insolvency of that entity.

2625

825.102 (3) (b) 2nd Neglecting an elderly person or
disabled adult causing great bodily
harm, disability, or disfigurement.

2626

825.103(2) (b) 2nd Exploiting an elderly person or
disabled adult and property is wvalued
at $20,000 or more, but less than
$100,000.

2627

827.03(2) (b) 2nd Neglect of a child causing great bodily

harm, disability, or disfigurement.
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2628
827.04 (3) 3rd Impregnation of a child under 16 years
of age by person 21 years of age or
older.
2629
837.05(2) 3rd Giving false information about alleged
capital felony to a law enforcement
officer.
2630
838.015 2nd Bribery.
2631
838.016 2nd Unlawful compensation or reward for
official behavior.
2632
838.021(3) (a) 2nd Unlawful harm to a public servant.
2633
838.22 2nd Bid tampering.
2634
847.0135(3) 3rd Solicitation of a child, via a computer
service, to commit an unlawful sex act.
2635
847.0135(4) 2nd Traveling to meet a minor to commit an
unlawful sex act.
2636
872.06 2nd Abuse of a dead human body.
2637
874.10 1st,PBL Knowingly initiates, organizes, plans,
finances, directs, manages, or
supervises criminal gang-related
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activity.

2638

893.13(1) (c) 1. 1st Sell, manufacture, or deliver cocaine
(or other drug prohibited under s.
893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (1) (d), (2)(a),
(2) (b), or (2)(c)4.) within 1,000 feet
of a child care facility, school, or
state, county, or municipal park or
publicly owned recreational facility or
community center.

2639

893.13(1) (e) 1. 1st Sell, manufacture, or deliver cocaine
or other drug prohibited under s.
893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (1) (d), (2)(a),
(2) (b), or (2)(c)4., within 1,000 feet
of property used for religious services
or a specified business site.

2640

893.13(4) (a) 1st Deliver to minor cocaine (or other s.
893.03(1) (a), (1) (b), (1) (d), (2)(a),
(2) (b), or (2)(c)4. drugs).

2641

893.135(1) (a) 1. 1st Trafficking in cannabis, except as

authorized by this chapter, chapter

468, and chapter 499, more than 25
lbs., less than 2,000 lbs.

2642
893.135 1st Trafficking in cocaine, more than 28

(1) (b)1l.a. grams, less than 200 grams.
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893.135(1) (c)1l.a. 1st

893.135(1) (d) 1. 1st

893.135(1) (e) 1. 1st

893.135(1) (£) 1. 1st

893.135 1st
(1) (g)1.a.

893.135 1st
(1) (h)1.a.

893.135 1st
(1) (3)1.a.

893.135 1st
(1) (k)2.a.
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Trafficking in illegal drugs, more
than 4 grams, less than 14 grams,

excluding cannabis and

tetrahydrocannabinols, when excepted

by this chapter or chapter 499.

Trafficking in phencyclidine, more than

28 grams, less than 200 grams.

Trafficking in methaqualone, more than

200 grams, less than 5 kilograms.

Trafficking in amphetamine, more than

14 grams, less than 28 grams.

Trafficking in flunitrazepam, 4 grams

or more, less than 14 grams.

Trafficking in gamma-hydroxybutyric
acid (GHB), 1 kilogram or more, less

than 5 kilograms.
Trafficking in 1,4-Butanediol, 1
kilogram or more, less than 5

kilograms.

Trafficking in Phenethylamines, 10

grams or more, less than 200 grams.
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2651

893.1351(2) 2nd Possession of place for trafficking in
or manufacturing of controlled
substance.

2652

896.101 (5) (a) 3rd Money laundering, financial
transactions exceeding $300 but less
than $20,000.

2653

896.104 (4) (a)l. 3rd Structuring transactions to evade
reporting or registration requirements,
financial transactions exceeding $300
but less than $20,000.

2654

943.0435(4) (c) 2nd Sexual offender vacating permanent
residence; failure to comply with
reporting requirements.

2655

943.0435(8) 2nd Sexual offender; remains in state after
indicating intent to leave; failure to
comply with reporting requirements.

2656

943.0435(9) (a) 3rd Sexual offender; failure to comply with
reporting requirements.

2657

943.0435(13) 3rd Failure to report or providing false
information about a sexual offender;
harbor or conceal a sexual offender.

2658
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943.0435(14) 3rd
944.607 (9) 3rd
944.607(10) (a) 3rd
944.607(12) 3rd
944.607 (13) 3rd
985.4815(10) 3rd
985.4815(12) 3rd
985.4815(13) 3rd
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Sexual offender; failure to report and
reregister; failure to respond to

address verification.

Sexual offender; failure to comply with

reporting requirements.

Sexual offender; failure to submit to

the taking of a digitized photograph.

Failure to report or providing false
information about a sexual offender;

harbor or conceal a sexual offender.

Sexual offender; failure to report and
reregister; failure to respond to

address verification.

Sexual offender; failure to submit to

the taking of a digitized photograph.

Failure to report or providing false
information about a sexual offender;

harbor or conceal a sexual offender.
Sexual offender; failure to report and

reregister; failure to respond to

address verification.

Page 119 of 133

words underlined are additions.



Florida Senate - 2013 SB 1250

27-00511B-13 20131250
2667 (h) LEVEL 38
2668
Florida Felony
Statute Degree Description
2669
316.193 2nd DUI manslaughter.
(3) (c)3.a.
2670
316.1935(4) (b) 1st Aggravated fleeing or attempted eluding
with serious bodily injury or death.
2671
327.35(3) (c) 3. 2nd Vessel BUI manslaughter.
2672
499.0051(7) 1st Knowing trafficking in contraband
prescription drugs.
2673
499.0051(8) 1st Knowing forgery of prescription labels
or prescription drug labels.
2674
560.123(8) (b) 2. 2nd Failure to report currency or payment
instruments totaling or exceeding
$20,000, but less than $100,000 by
money transmitter.
2675
560.125(5) (b) 2nd Money transmitter business by
unauthorized person, currency or
payment instruments totaling or
exceeding $20,000, but less than
$100,000.
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2676

©655.50(10) (b) 2. 2nd Failure to report financial
transactions totaling or exceeding
$20,000, but less than $100,000 by
financial institutions.

2677
777.03(2) (a) 1st Accessory after the fact, capital
felony.

2678

782.04 (4) 2nd Killing of human without design when
engaged in act or attempt of any felony
other than arson, sexual battery,
robbery, burglary, kidnapping,
aggravated fleeing or eluding with
serious bodily injury or death,
aircraft piracy, or unlawfully
discharging bomb.

2679

782.051(2) 1st Attempted felony murder while
perpetrating or attempting to
perpetrate a felony not enumerated in
s. 782.04(3).

2680

782.071 (1) (b) 1st Committing vehicular homicide and
failing to render aid or give
information.

2681

782.072(2) lst Committing vessel homicide and failing

to render aid or give information.
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2682

787.06(3) (b) lst Human trafficking using coercion for
commercial sexual activity.

2683

787.06(3) (c) 1st Human trafficking using coercion for
labor and services of an unauthorized
alien.

2684

787.06(3) (f) lst Human trafficking using coercion for
commercial sexual activity by the
transfer or transport of any individual
from outside Florida to within the
state.

2685

790.161 (3) st Discharging a destructive device which
results in bodily harm or property
damage.

2686

794.011 (5) 2nd Sexual battery, victim 12 years or
over, offender does not use physical
force likely to cause serious injury.

2687

794.08 (3) 2nd Female genital mutilation, removal of a
victim younger than 18 years of age
from this state.

2688

800.04 (4) 2nd Lewd or lascivious battery.

2689

806.01(1) 1st Maliciously damage dwelling or
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810.02(2) (a)

810.02(2) (b)

810.02(2) (c)

812.014(2) (a) 2.

812.13(2) (b)

812.135(2) (c)

817.568(6)

825.102(2)

825.1025(2)

1st, PBL

1st, PBL

lst

lst

1st

lst

2nd

lst

2nd
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structure by fire or explosive,

believing person in structure.

Burglary with assault or battery.

Burglary; armed with explosives or

dangerous weapon.

Burglary of a dwelling or structure
causing structural damage or $1,000 or
more property damage.

Property stolen; cargo valued at
$50,000 or more, grand theft in 1st
degree.

Robbery with a weapon.

Home-invasion robbery, no firearm,

deadly weapon, or other weapon.
Fraudulent use of personal
identification information of an

individual under the age of 18.

Aggravated abuse of an elderly person

or disabled adult.

Lewd or lascivious battery upon an
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825.103(2) (a) 1st
837.02(2) 2nd
837.021(2) 2nd
860.121(2) (c) 1st
860.16 1st
893.13 (1) (b) 1st
893.13(2) (b) 1st
893.13(6) (c) 1st
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elderly person or disabled adult.

Exploiting an elderly person or
disabled adult and property is valued
at $100,000 or more.

Perjury in official proceedings
relating to prosecution of a capital

felony.

Making contradictory statements in
official proceedings relating to

prosecution of a capital felony.
Shooting at or throwing any object in
path of railroad vehicle resulting in
great bodily harm.

Aircraft piracy.

Sell or deliver in excess of 10 grams
of any substance specified in s.
893.03(1) (a) or (b).

Purchase in excess of 10 grams of any
substance specified in s. 893.03(1) (a)
or (b).

Possess in excess of 10 grams of any
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substance specified in s. 893.03(1) (a)

or (b).

893.135(1) (a)?2. 1st Trafficking in cannabis, except as

authorized by this chapter, chapter

468, and chapter 499, more than 2,000

lbs., less than 10,000 1lbs.

893.135 lst Trafficking in cocaine, more than 200
(1) (b)1.b. grams, less than 400 grams.

893.135 1st Trafficking in illegal drugs, more than
(1) (c)1l.b. 14 grams, less than 28 grams, excluding

cannabis and tetrahydocannabinols, when

excepted by this chapter or chapter

499.

893.135 1st Trafficking in phencyclidine, more than
(L) (d)1.b. 200 grams, less than 400 grams.

893.135 1st Trafficking in methaqualone, more than
(1) (e)1.b. 5 kilograms, less than 25 kilograms.

893.135 1st Trafficking in amphetamine, more than
(L) (£)1.Db. 28 grams, less than 200 grams.

893.135 1st Trafficking in flunitrazepam, 14 grams
(1) (g)1l.b. or more, less than 28 grams.
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(1) (h)1.b.

893.135
(1) (3)1.b.

893.135
(1) (k)2.Db.

893.1351(3)

895.03 (1)

895.03(2)

895.03(3)

896.101(5) (b)
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Trafficking in gamma-hydroxybutyric
acid (GHB), 5 kilograms or more, less

than 10 kilograms.

Trafficking in 1,4-Butanediol, 5
kilograms or more, less than 10

kilograms.

Trafficking in Phenethylamines, 200

grams or more, less than 400 grams.

Possession of a place used to
manufacture controlled substance when

minor is present or resides there.

Use or invest proceeds derived from

pattern of racketeering activity.

Acguire or maintain through
racketeering activity any interest in
or control of any enterprise or real

property.
Conduct or participate in any
enterprise through pattern of

racketeering activity.

Money laundering, financial

transactions totaling or exceeding
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$20,000, but less than $100,000.
2722
896.104 (4) (a) 2. 2nd Structuring transactions to evade
reporting or registration requirements,
financial transactions totaling or
exceeding $20,000 but less than
$100,000.
2723
2724 (i) LEVEL 9
2725
Florida Felony
Statute Degree Description
2726
316.193 1st DUI manslaughter; failing to render
(3) (c)3.b. aid or give information.
2727
327.35(3) (c)3.b. 1st BUI manslaughter; failing to render
aid or give information.
2728
409.920 1st Medicaid provider fraud; $50,000 or
(2) (b)1l.c. more.
2729
499.0051 (9) 1st Knowing sale or purchase of contraband
prescription drugs resulting in great
bodily harm.
2730
560.123(8) (b) 3. 1st Failure to report currency or payment
instruments totaling or exceeding
$100,000 by money transmitter.

Page 127 of 133
CODING: Words striekern are deletions; words underlined are additions.




2731

2732

2733

2734

2735

2736

2737

2738

Florida Senate - 2013

27-00511B-13

560.125(5) (c)

655.50(10) (b) 3.

775.0844

782.04 (1)

782.04 (3)

782.051(1)

782.07(2)
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Money transmitter business by
unauthorized person, currency, or
payment instruments totaling or
exceeding $100,000.

Failure to report financial
transactions totaling or exceeding

$100,000 by financial institution.

Aggravated white collar crime.

Attempt, conspire, or solicit to

commit premeditated murder.

Accomplice to murder in connection
with arson, sexual battery, robbery,
burglary, aggravated fleeing or
eluding with serious bodily injury or

death, and other specified felonies.

Attempted felony murder while
perpetrating or attempting to
perpetrate a felony enumerated in s.
782.04(3) .

Aggravated manslaughter of an elderly

person or disabled adult.
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787.

787.

787.

787.

787

787.

787.

790.

01(1) (a)1l.
01(1) (a)2.
01(1) (a)4.
02 (3) (a)
.06(3) (d)
06(3) (9)
06(4)

161

1st, PBL

1st, PBL

1st, PBL

1st

lst

1st, PBL

lst

lst

CODING: Words strieken are deletions;

SB 1250

20131250

Kidnapping; hold for ransom or reward

or as a shield or hostage.

Kidnapping with intent to commit or

facilitate commission of any felony.

Kidnapping with intent to interfere
with performance of any governmental

or political function.

False imprisonment; child under age
13; perpetrator also commits
aggravated child abuse, sexual
battery, or lewd or lascivious
battery, molestation, conduct, or

exhibition.

Human trafficking using coercion for
commercial sexual activity of an
unauthorized alien.

Human trafficking for commercial
sexual activity of a child under the

age of 18.

Selling or buying of minors into human

trafficking.

Attempted capital destructive device
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offense.

2746

790.166(2) 1st,PBL Possessing, selling, using, or
attempting to use a weapon of mass
destruction.

2747

794.011(2) 1st Attempted sexual battery; victim less
than 12 years of age.

2748

794.011 (2) Life Sexual battery; offender younger than
18 years and commits sexual battery on
a person less than 12 years.

2749

794.011 (4) 1st Sexual battery; victim 12 years or
older, certain circumstances.

2750

794.011(8) (b) 1st Sexual battery; engage in sexual
conduct with minor 12 to 18 years by
person in familial or custodial
authority.

2751

794.08 (2) 1st Female genital mutilation; victim
younger than 18 years of age.

2752

796.035 1st Selling or buying of minors into
prostitution.

2753

800.04 (5) (b) Life Lewd or lascivious molestation; victim

less than 12 years; offender 18 years
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or older.
2754
812.13(2) (a) 1st,PBL Robbery with firearm or other deadly
weapon.
2755
812.133(2) (a) 1st,PBL Carjacking; firearm or other deadly
weapon.
2756
812.135(2) (b) 1st Home-invasion robbery with weapon.
2757
817.568(7) 2nd, Fraudulent use of personal
PBL identification information of an
individual under the age of 18 by his
or her parent, legal guardian, or
person exercising custodial authority.
2758
827.03(2) (a) 1st Aggravated child abuse.
2759
847.0145(1) 1st Selling, or otherwise transferring
custody or control, of a minor.
2760
847.0145(2) 1st Purchasing, or otherwise obtaining
custody or control, of a minor.
2761
859.01 1st Poisoning or introducing bacteria,
radioactive materials, viruses, or
chemical compounds into food, drink,
medicine, or water with intent to kill

or injure another person.
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2762
893.135 1st Attempted capital trafficking offense.
2763
893.135(1) (a) 3. 1st Trafficking in cannabis, except as
authorized by this chapter, chapter
468 and chapter 499, more than 10,000
1bs.
2764
893.135 lst Trafficking in cocaine, more than 400
(1) (b)1l.c. grams, less than 150 kilograms.
2765
893.135 1st Trafficking in illegal drugs, more
(1) (c)1l.c. than 28 grams, less than 30 kilograms,
excluding cannabis and
tetrahydocannabinols, when excepted by
this chapter, chapter 468, or chapter
499.
2766
893.135 1st Trafficking in phencyclidine, more
(L) (d)1.c. than 400 grams.
2767
893.135 1st Trafficking in methaqualone, more than
(1) (e)1l.c. 25 kilograms.
2768
893.135 1st Trafficking in amphetamine, more than
(L) (f)1.c. 200 grams.
2769
893.135 1st Trafficking in gamma-hydroxybutyric
(1) (h)1l.c. acid (GHB), 10 kilograms or more.
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Trafficking in 1,4-Butanediol, 10

kilograms or more.

Trafficking in Phenethylamines, 400

grams oOr more.

Money laundering, financial
instruments totaling or exceeding

$100,000.

Structuring transactions to evade
reporting or registration
requirements, financial transactions

totaling or exceeding $100,000.

Section 9. If any provision of this act or its application

to any person or circumstance is held invalid, the invalidity

does not affect other provisions or applications of the act

which can be given effect without the invalid provision or

application, and to this end the provisions of this act are

severable.

Section 10. This act shall take effect July 1, 2013.
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The Florida Department of Health’s preliminary analysis of the petition initiative language was
prepared by the department at the request of the Legislature’s Office of Economic and

Demographic Research.



Florida Department of Health
“Use of Marijuana for Certain Medical Conditions”
Constitutional Amendment Analysis

I PLANNING ASSUMPTIONS

This analysis assumes the proposed Constitutional Amendment entitled “Use of Marijuana for
Certain Medical Conditions” will be approved by the Florida voters and will have an effective
date of January 1, 2015. These planning assumptions are based on the best information
available as of October 11, 2013 and may be amended as additional information becomes
available. These assumptions are not a statement of position of the department.

1.0 General Planning Assumptions

1.1. The Constitutional Amendment will appear on the ballot in November 2014.

1.2.  The Constitutional Amendment will be approved by voters and be effective
January 1, 2015.

1.3. The Florida Legislature will pass laws necessary to support this Constitutional
Amendment and the Governor will enact these laws.

1.4. The program will be supported by fee revenue beginning October 1, 2015 and
beyond.

1.5. Definitions included in the Constitutional Amendment will not be altered, but may
be clarified in Florida Statute and/or Florida Administrative Code.

1.6.  Applicable definitions not included in the Constitutional Amendment will be
identified in Florida Statute and/or Florida Administrative Code.

1.7. The Florida Medical Marijuana Program has four components: (1) Physician
issuance of certification, (2) Patient and caregiver identification cards, (3) Medical
Marijuana Treatment Center registration and regulation and (4) regulation of the
adequate supply of marijuana for a qualifying patient’s medical use.

1.8.  The Florida Medical Marijuana Program will not provide the following:

e Physician referral list. The program will not serve as a referral source.
However, any medical doctor (MD), doctor of osteopathy (DO), dentist, or
podiatric physician licensed in Florida can certify a patient for the
program.

e Caregiver referral. The program will not serve as a referral source for
patients who are seeking caregivers.

e Medical research. The program will not provide information or address
the health effects of using medical marijuana.

e Legal advice. If there are any questions concerning how to comply with
the program requirements, it will be recommended that a person consult a
private attorney.

e Growing process resources. The program will not provide resources for
the growing process and will not have information about where to get the
seeds or plants to start growing medical marijuana.

2.0 Marijuana
2.1. Marijuana (referred to as Marihuana) is a Schedule 1 Controlled Substance
under the Federal Controlled Substances Act, 21CFR1308.11.
2.2.  Cannabis is a Schedule 1 Controlled Substance in section 893.03(1)(c)7, Florida
Statutes, meaning the drug has no current acceptable medical use in treatment
in Florida.
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2.3.

2.4,

Florida Department of Health
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Constitutional Amendment Analysis

Dronabinol is approved by the Federal Drug Administration and listed as a
Schedule 11l Controlled Substance in section 893.03(3)(f), Florida Statutes.

The Department of Health does not have the resources or knowledge base to
provide information on cultivation or transportation and would need to look to
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services for assistance in these areas.

3.0 Physicians

3.1

3.2.

3.3.

3.4.

3.5.

3.6.

3.7.

Florida licensed physicians authorized to provide certification of a qualified
patient include medical doctors, doctor of osteopathy, dentists, and podiatric
physicians. These physicians are currently authorized to prescribe controlled
substances in schedules Il through V as defined in Chapter 893, Florida Statutes.
Currently, optometrists may diagnose glaucoma; however, no optometrists may
prescribe any oral ocular pharmaceutical agent unless the drug is specifically
listed in statute.

Licensed physicians in Florida cannot prescribe marijuana under Florida law, see
section 893.03(1), Florida Statutes.

Licensed physicians will not be required to offer patients a certification for use of
medical marijuana.

Pharmacies and dispensing physicians are not authorized to dispense Schedule
1 Controlled Substances.

Physician certification and other documentation that links the patient to their
medical condition are protected health information and exempt from public
records release.

Physical exam and full assessment of patient’s medical history will be required
prior to issuing a physician certification.

Existing physician disciplinary laws and rules are sufficient for this program.

4.0 Qualifying Patients & Personal Caregivers

4.1.

4.2.
4.3.

4.4,

4.5.

Quialifying patient and personal caregiver identification cards will authorize the
holder to acquire and possess medical marijuana.

All records of the qualifying patients will be exempt from public records release.
Qualifying patient and personal caregiver request for an identification card will be
conducted via web-based and mail-in processes.

Quialifying patients under the age of eighteen will have custodial parent or legal
guardian permission to obtain an identification card.

Personal caregivers will be at least twenty-one (21) years old and have agreed to
assist a qualifying patient.

5.0 Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers

5.1.

5.2.

5.3.

Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers will register with the Florida Department of
Health (DOH) using a web-based system.

Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers will have to comply with any federal
registration requirement prior to applying for registration in Florida.

Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers will be inspected quarterly by the DOH.

6.0 Department of Health

6.1.

2|Page

The DOH will promulgate rules by June 30, 2015 to implement the program
regulation outlined in the Constitutional Amendment.
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6.2. Education materials or required trainings for caregivers, patients, physicians,
treatment centers and DOH staff will be available prior to the issuance of
identification cards and registrations.

6.3. The DOH will begin issuance of patient and caregiver identification cards prior to
October 1, 2015.

6.4. The DOH will begin registering Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers prior to
October 1, 2015.

Il. PROGRAM DESCRIPTION

If the proposed Constitutional Amendment is enacted, the Florida Department of Health will
establish a Florida Medical Marijuana Program. The Program will have four components: (1)
Physician issuance of certification, (2) Patient and caregiver identification cards, (3) Medical
Marijuana Treatment Center licensure and regulation and (4) regulation of the adequate supply
of marijuana for a qualifying patient’s medical use. The key responsibilities for each of the
Program components are outlined below.

1. Physician Certification Issuance

Definitions from Proposed Constitutional Amendment

o Debilitating Medical Condition means cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human
immunodeficiency virus (HIV), acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), hepatitis
C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Crohn's disease, Parkinson's disease, multiple
sclerosis or other conditions for which a physician believes that the benefits of the
medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for a patient.

¢ Marijuana has the meaning given cannabis in Section 893.02(3), Florida Statutes (2013).

¢ Medical Use: means the acquisition, possession, use, delivery, transfer, or
administration of marijuana or related supplies by a qualifying patient or personal
caregiver for use by a qualifying patient for the treatment of a debilitating medical
condition.

e Physician: A physician who is licensed in Florida
Physician Certification: A written document signed by a physician, stating that in the
physician’s professional opinion, the patient suffers a debilitating medical condition, that
the potential benefits of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health
risks for the patient, and for how long the physician recommends the medical use of
marijuana for the patient.

FDOH Responsibilities
1. Establish standards for the certification issued by physicians
2. Educate physicians on the requirements to issue certifications based on current Florida
Statutes

2. Patient and Caregiver Identification Cards

Definitions from Constitutional Amendment
¢ Identification Card means a document issued by the Department that identifies a person
who has a physician certification or a personal caregiver who is at least twenty-one (21)
years old and has agreed to assist with a qualifying patient’s medical use of marijuana.
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e Personal Caregiver means a person who is at least twenty-one (21) years old who has
agreed to assist with a qualifying patient's medical use of marijuana and has a caregiver
identification card issued by the Department. A personal caregiver may assist no more
than five (5) qualifying patients at one time. An employee of a hospice provider, nursing,
or medical facility may serve as a personal caregiver to more than five (5) qualifying
patients as permitted by the Department. Personal caregivers are prohibited from
consuming marijuana obtained for the personal, medical use by the qualifying patient.

¢ Qualifying Patient means a person who has been diagnosed to have a debilitating
medical condition, who has a physician certification and a valid qualifying patient
identification card. If the Department does not begin issuing identification cards within
nine (9) months after the effective date of this section, then a valid physician certification
will serve as a patient identification card in order to allow a person to become a
"qualifying patient” until the Department begins issuing identification cards.

FDOH Responsibilities

1. Develop and maintain administrative rules which define procedures for:

¢ Issuance and renewal of qualifying patient identification cards

e Issuance and renewal of personal caregiver identification cards
Develop a registry to maintain qualified patient information and personal caregiver
information
Educate patients and caregivers on identification card issuance processes
Educate law enforcement partners on patient and caregiver identification cards
Ensure qualifying patient information is kept confidential.
Collect fees for identification cards
Issue identification cards
Replace lost identification cards, if necessary
Renew identification cards

n

©CoNoOA~®

3. Medical Marijuana Treatment Center Licensure and Regulation

Definitions from Constitutional Amendment
¢ Medical Marijuana Treatment Center: means an entity that acquires, cultivates,
possesses, processes (including development of related products such as food,
tinctures, aerosols, oils, or ointments), transfers, transports, sells, distributes, dispenses,
or administers marijuana, products containing marijuana, related supplies, or educational
materials to qualifying patients or their personal caregivers and is registered by the
Department.

FDOH Responsibilities
1. Develop and maintain administrative rules which:
o Define procedures for registration of Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers,
including issuance, renewal, suspension and revocation of registration
o Establish standards to ensure security, record-keeping, testing, labeling,
inspection and safety
Develop a treatment center registry
Collect fees for registered treatment centers
Educate treatment center owners on laws, rules and procedures
Educate law enforcement partners on treatment centers requirements and authority
Issue registrations to treatment centers

ook wnN
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7. Inspect treatment centers based on established standards
8. Investigate, suspend and revoke registrations as established procedures
9. Renew treatment center registrations

4, Regulation of the Adequate Supply for Qualifying Patients’ Medical Use

Definition from Constitutional Amendment
o Aregulation that defines the amount of marijuana that could reasonably be presumed to
be an adequate supply for qualifying patients’ medical use, based on the best available
evidence. This presumption as to quantity may be overcome with evidence of a
particular qualifying patient’s appropriate medical use.

FDOH Responsibilities
1. Develop and maintain administrative rules which:
o Define adequate supply for qualifying patients
e Determine the evidence necessary to define an adequate supply.
e Outline a threshold for a particular patient’s appropriate medical use.
2. Educate physicians, caregivers, patients and law enforcement on administrative rules
concerning adequate supply of qualifying patients’ medical use.
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Table 1

Florida Medical Marijuana Program
Qualified Patient, Caregiver & Treatment Facility Estimates

Number

Methodology

Estimated Number of
Qualified Patients

347,700

Estimate assumes mature program - 18 patients per 1,000
population, based on average actual 2012 experience of
Colorado and Oregon. Florida 2012 population
(19,317,568/1,000 *18), rounded to nearest 100. First year
registration estimate assumes 6 per 1,000 population, based
on Arizona actual 2011 experience. (19,317,568/1,000 *6,
rounded to nearest 100) = 115,900.

Alternate methodology to consider - proportion of
prevalence of named debilitating diseases compared across
states.

Estimated Number of
Personal Caregivers

208,620

Estimate assumes mature program - 6 caregivers for every
10 patients, based on Colorado actual 2012 experience,
rounded. First year registration (115,900/10*6) = 69,540

Estimated Number of
Medical Marijuana
Treatment Centers to be
Registered

809

Estimated number of facilities based on Colorado program.
Approximate Number of Facilities:

e 629 dispensaries (1 dispensary/30,325 persons)

e 60 commercial transporters (transporting from
cultivator/processor to dispensary or dispensary to
patient)

e 60 processors

e 60 cultivators (commercial or patient)

6|Page
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Table 2

Florida Medical Marijuana Program
Cost Estimates, 2015 & 2016

Cost of Program Year 1 Year 2 Description

Implementation 2015 2016

Program Staff — State Health $96,541 $217,121 | Year 1 Program Manager, $60,000 salary, fringe (35%)

Office & expense package ($15,541). Expense = $6,211
recurring expense, $3,762 non-recurring, $5,568

Year 1 — Program Manager limited travel. Recurring FTE. Year 2 additional 2.0

Only FTEs to manage established program. Environmental

Year 2 — Program manager, Consultant ($82,587) and Senior Clerk ($37,993).

environmental consultant and

senior clerk.

Support for rule development $59,406 $0 Contracted operations management consultant $20
hr/2080 hours plus fringe (35%) and contract overhead
(4%). One-time contractual.

Develop & disseminate $42,120 $21,060 | Contracted educator $20.00 hr/1500 hours plus fringe

educational materials (35%) and contract overhead (4%). One-time
contractual. Year 2 includes 750 hours of contracted
time to refresh training materials.

Business Analyst for data $88,400 $0 $85 per hour for 1040 hours. One-time contractual.

system

Data system for $150,000 $0 Cost to design, develop, and test data system based

patient/caregiver registration on business requirements. One-time contractual 1800

& medical treatment center hours at $75.00 per hour and $15,000 for hardware.

management

Annual data system user $0 $25,000 | Annual cost of help desk and software maintenance

support and maintenance 625 hours per year at $40 per hour. Recurring $25,000
after Year 1 implementation.

Treatment facility inspections, $110,394 $444,075 | Cost per service determined from biomedical waste

reinspections, and complaint program with similar program/inspection components.

investigations Cost for services for 12 months - 749 dispensary/
transporter/processor quarterly inspections @ $85

Year 1 — 3 months each= $254,660; 25% reinspections rate = $63,665;

Year 2 — 12 months 20% complaint investigations 150 @ $85 = $12,750;
125 cultivators quarterly inspections @ $170 =
$85,000; 25% reinspections rate $21,250; 20%
complaint investigations 25 @ $170 = $4,250.
Interagency Agreement with DOACS for inspections of
cultivators/processors - $2,500 per year beginning year
2.

Regional Inspector $366,440 $0 One-time cost for 10 state vehicles @ $35,000 each

Transportation, Computers and 10 pentablets @ $1,500 each for regional

and Connectivity inspectors. Routine repair and maintenance in Year 2
included in cost per service. VPN connectivity service
$48 per month per inspector for 3 months in year 1 —
$1,440. Year 2 costs included in cost per service.

Total Estimated Costs $913,301 | $707,256
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Preliminary Draft 10/11/13




Florida Department of Health
“Use of Marijuana for Certain Medical Conditions”
Constitutional Amendment Analysis

V. OPEN DISCUSSION ITEMS

ATTACHMENTS
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Draft — Summary of Initiative Financial Information Statement

The draft elements of the “Summary of Initiative Financial Information Statement” that are
included to date are:
[) Substantive Analysis

A) Proposed Amendment

Ballot Title

e Ballot Summary
e Statement and Purpose
e Proposed Amendment to the Florida Constitution
e Effective Date
B) Effect of Proposed Amendment

e Background



INITIATIVE FINANCIAL INFORMATION STATEMENT
ALLOWING THE USE OF MARIJUANA FOR CERTAIN MEDICAL CONDITIONS

SUMMARY OF INITIATIVE FINANCIAL INFORMATION STATEMENT
I.  SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS
A. Proposed Amendment
Ballot Title:
Use of Marijuana for Certain Medical Conditions.
Ballot Summary:

Allows the medical use of marijuana for individuals with debilitating diseases as
determined by a licensed Florida physician. Allows caregivers to assist patients’
medical use of marijuana. The Department of Health shall register and regulate
centers that produce and distribute marijuana for medical purposes and shall
issue identification cards to patients and caregivers. Applies only to Florida law.
Does not authorize violations of federal law or any non-medical use, possession
or production of marijuana.

Statement and Purpose:

According to the sponsors, “doctors should have the freedom to recommend the
treatment they deem appropriate for their patients - including medical
marijuana...[and] studies show that many patients suffering with HIV/AIDS,
glaucoma, cancer and chemotherapy, multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, and other
debilitating illnesses find that marijuana provides relief from their symptoms.”1

Proposed Amendment to the Florida Constitution:
ARTICLE X, SECTION 29. Medical marijuana production, possession and use.—

(a) PUBLIC POLICY.
(1) The medical use of marijuana by a qualifying patient or personal
caregiver is not subject to criminal or civil liability or sanctions under
Florida law except as provided in this section.
(2) A physician licensed in Florida shall not be subject to criminal or civil
liability or sanctions under Florida law for issuing a physician certification

! See http://www.unitedforcare.org/. (last visited on Oct. 10, 2013)
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to a person diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition in a manner
consistent with this section.

(3) Actions and conduct by a medical marijuana treatment center
registered with the Department, or its employees, as permitted by this
section and in compliance with Department regulations, shall not be
subject to criminal or civil liability or sanctions under Florida law except
as provided in this section.

(b) DEFINITIONS. For purposes of this section, the following words and terms
shall have the following meanings:

Draft — October 18, 2013

(1) “Debilitating Medical Condition” means cancer, glaucoma, positive
status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), acquired immune
deficiency syndrome (AIDS), hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
(ALS), Crohn's disease, Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis or other
conditions for which a physician believes that the medical use of
marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for a patient.
(2) “Department” means the Department of Health or its successor
agency.

(3) “Identification card” means a document issued by the Department
that identifies a person who has a physician certification or a personal
caregiver who is at least twenty-one (21) years old and has agreed to
assist with a qualifying patient’s medical use of marijuana.

(4) “Marijuana” has the meaning given cannabis in Section 893.02(3),
Florida Statutes (2013).

(5) “Medical Marijuana Treatment Center” means an entity that acquires,
cultivates, possesses, processes (including development of related
products such as food, tinctures, aerosols, oils, or ointments), transfers,
transports, sells, distributes, dispenses, or administers marijuana,
products containing marijuana, related supplies, or educational materials
to qualifying patients or their personal caregivers and is registered by the
Department.

(6) “Medical use” means the acquisition, possession, use, delivery,
transfer, or administration of marijuana or related supplies by a
qualifying patient or personal caregiver for use by a qualifying patient for
the treatment of a debilitating medical condition.

(7) “Personal caregiver” means a person who is at least twenty-one (21)
years old who has agreed to assist with a qualifying patient's medical use
of marijuana and has a caregiver identification card issued by the
Department. A personal caregiver may assist no more than five (5)
gualifying patients at one time. An employee of a hospice provider,
nursing, or medical facility may serve as a personal caregiver to more
than five (5) qualifying patients as permitted by the Department.
Personal caregivers are prohibited from consuming marijuana obtained
for the personal, medical use by the qualifying patient.

(8) “Physician” means a physician who is licensed in Florida.
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(9) “Physician certification” means a written document signed by a
physician, stating that in the physician's professional opinion, the patient
suffers from a debilitating medical condition, that the potential benefits
of the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks for
the patient, and for how long the physician recommends the medical use
of marijuana for the patient. A physician certification may only be
provided after the physician has conducted a physical examination of the
patient and a full assessment of the patient’s medical history.

(10) “Qualifying patient” means a person who has been diagnosed to

have a debilitating medical condition, who has a physician certification
and a valid qualifying patient identification card. If the Department does
not begin issuing identification cards within nine (9) months after the
effective date of this section, then a valid physician certification will serve
as a patient identification card in order to allow a person to become a
"qualifying patient" until the Department begins issuing identification
cards.
(c) LIMITATIONS.
(1) Nothing in this section shall affect laws relating to non-medical use,
possession, production or sale of marijuana.
(2) Nothing in this section authorizes the use of medical marijuana by
anyone other than a qualifying patient.
(3) Nothing in this section allows the operation of a motor vehicle, boat,
or aircraft while under the influence of marijuana.
(4) Nothing in this law section requires the violation of federal law or
purports to give immunity under federal law.
(5) Nothing in this section shall require any accommodation of any on-
site medical use of marijuana in any place of education or employment,
or of smoking medical marijuana in any public place.
(6) Nothing in this section shall require any health insurance provider or
any government agency or authority to reimburse any person for
expenses related to the medical use of marijuana.
(d) DUTIES OF THE DEPARTMENT. The Department shall issue reasonable
regulations necessary for the implementation and enforcement of this section.
The purpose of the regulations is to ensure the availability and safe use of
medical marijuana by qualifying patients. It is the duty of the Department to
promulgate regulations in a timely fashion.
(1) Implementing Regulations. In order to allow the Department sufficient
time after passage of this section, the following regulations shall be
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promulgated no later than six (6) months after the effective date of this
section:
a. Procedures for the issuance of qualifying patient identification
cards to people with physician certifications, and standards for
the renewal of such identification cards.
b. Procedures for the issuance of personal caregiver identification
cards to persons qualified to assist with a qualifying patient’s
medical use of marijuana, and standards for the renewal of such
identification cards.
c. Procedures for the registration of Medical Marijuana Treatment
Centers that include procedures for the issuance, renewal,
suspension, and revocation of registration, and standards to
ensure security, record keeping, testing, labeling, inspection, and
safety.
d. A regulation that defines the amount of marijuana that could
reasonably be presumed to be an adequate supply for qualifying
patients’ medical use, based on the best available evidence. This
presumption as to quantity may be overcome with evidence of a
particular qualifying patient’s appropriate medical use.
(2) Issuance of identification cards and registrations. The Department
shall begin issuing qualifying patient and personal caregiver identification
cards, as well as begin registering Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers
no later than nine months (9) after the effective date of this section.
(3) If the Department does not issue regulations, or if the Department
does not begin issuing identification cards and registering Medical
Marijuana Treatment Centers within the time limits set in this section,
any Florida citizen shall have standing to seek judicial relief to compel
compliance with the Department’s constitutional duties.
(4) The Department shall protect the confidentiality of all qualifying
patients. All records containing the identity of qualifying patients shall be
confidential and kept from public disclosure other than for valid medical
or law enforcement purposes.
(e) LEGISLATION. Nothing in this section shall limit the legislature from enacting
laws consistent with this provision.

(f) SEVERABILITY. The provisions of this section are severable and if any clause,
sentence, paragraph or section of this measure, or an application thereof, is
adjudged invalid by any court of competent jurisdiction other provisions shall
continue to be in effect to the fullest extent possible.
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Effective Date:

Article XI, Section 5(e), of the Florida Constitution states that, unless otherwise
specified in the Florida Constitution or the proposed constitutional amendment,
the proposed amendment will become effective on the first Tuesday after the
first Monday in January following the election. This amendment does not specify
an effective date and will be effective as stated in Article XI, Section 5(e), of the
Florida Constitution. However, the amendment delays implementation of
certain provisions by allowing the Department of Health six months after the
effective date to promulgate regulations and nine months after the effective
date to begin issuing identification cards.

B. Effect of Proposed Amendment
According to People United for Medical Marijuana’ the amendment would:
e Legalize medical marijuana for use by qualifying patients;

e Define qualifying patients as individuals with debilitating diseases as
determined by a physician where the benefits of the use of medical
marijuana would outweigh the potential harms;

e Remove criminal and civil penalties from qualifying patients, physicians who
recommend the use of medical marijuana, caregivers who assist with the
administration of medical marijuana to people who are very debilitated and
weak; and

e Set up aregulatory structure through the state Department of Health that
allows the state to:

o Keep a database of the folks that are qualifying patients and
caregivers;

o Register treatment centers that would grow, produce, and distribute
medical marijuana; and

o Put safety and quality checks on the product coming out and to
establish guidelines for quantities that people can have.

Z See http://www.unitedforcare.org/q_a_the effort to_make medical marijuana legal in_florida. (Last
visited on Oct. 10, 2013).
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Background

Current Legal Status Marijuana in Florida

Florida law defines Cannabis as “all parts of any plant of the genus Cannabis, whether
growing or not; the seeds thereof; the resin extracted from any part of the plant; and
every compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant or
its seeds or resin”> and places it, along with other sources of tetrahydrocannabinol
(THC), on the list of Schedule 1 drugs.* Schedule 1 drugs are substances that have a high
potential for abuse and no currently accepted medical use in treatment in the United
States. As a Schedule 1 drug, possession and trafficking in cannabis carry criminal
penalties that vary from a misdemeanor of the first degree” up to a felony of the first
degree with a possible minimum sentence of 15 years in prison and a $200,000 fine.®
Paraphernalia7 that is sold, manufactured, used, or possessed with the intent to be used
to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert,
produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain, conceal, inject,
ingest, inhale, or otherwise introduce into the human body a controlled substance is
also prohibited and carries criminal penalties ranging from a misdemeanor of the first
degree to felony of the third degree.®

The Necessity Defense in Florida

Despite the fact that the use, possession, and sale of marijuana is prohibited by state
law, Florida courts have found that circumstances can necessitate medical use of
marijuana and circumvent the application of any criminal penalties. The necessity
defense was successfully applied in a marijuana possession case in Jenks v. State® where
the First District Court of Appeal found that “section 893.03 does not preclude the
defense of medical necessity” for the use of marijuana if the defendant:

¢ Did not intentionally bring about the circumstance which precipitated the unlawful
act;

e Could not accomplish the same objective using a less offensive alternative available;
and

e The evil sought to be avoided was more heinous than the unlawful act.

¥S.893.02(c), F.S.

*S. 893.03(c)7. and 37., F.S.

> For possessing or delivering less than 20 grams. See s. 893.13(3) and (6)(b), F.S.

® Trafficking in more than 25 pounds, or 300 plants, of cannabis is a felony of the first degree with a minimum
sentence that varies from 3 to 15 years in prison depending on the amount of cannabis. See s. 893.135(1)(a), F.S.
" As defined in s. 893.145, F.S.

®S.893.147,F.S.

°582 So. 2d 676
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In the cited case the defendants, a married couple, were suffering from uncontrollable
nausea due to AIDS treatment and had testimony from their physician that he could find
no effective alternative treatment. Under these facts, the First District found that the
Jenks met the criteria for the necessity defense and ordered an acquittal of the charges
of cultivating cannabis and possession of drug paraphernalia.

Medical Marijuana Laws in Other States

Currently, 20 states and the District of Columbia'® have some form of law that permits
the use of marijuana for medicinal purposes. These laws vary widely in detail but most
are similar in that they touch on several recurring themes. Most state laws include the
following in some form:

e Alist of medical conditions for which a practitioner can recommend the use of
medical marijuana to a patient.

o Nearly every state has a list of medical conditions though the particular
conditions vary from state to state. Most states also include a way to expand
the list either by allowing a state agency or board to add medical conditions
to the list or by including a “catch-all” phrase.’* Most states require that the
patient receive certification from at least one, but often two, physicians
designating that they have a qualifying condition before they can be issued
an ID card.

e Provisions for the patient to designate one or more caregivers who can possess the
medical marijuana and assist the patient in preparing and using the medical
marijuana.

o The number of caregivers allowed and the qualifications to become a
caregiver vary from state to state. Most states allow 1 or 2 caregivers and
require that they be at least 21 years of age and, typically, cannot be the
patient’s physician. Caregivers are generally allowed to purchase or grow
marijuana for the patient, be in possession of the allowed quantity of
marijuana, and aid the patient in using the marijuana, but are strictly
prohibited from using the marijuana themselves.

e A required identification card for the patient, caregiver, or both that is typically
issued by a state agency.

e Aregistry of people who have been issued an ID card.

19 These states include Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois (effective
2014), Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico,
Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington. California was the first to establish a medical marijuana program
in 1996 and Illinois was the most recent state to pass medical marijuana legislation in August of 2013. Illinois
legislation does not become effective until 2014. See http://www.ncsl.org/issues-research/health/state-medical-
marijuana-laws.aspx. Last visited on Oct. 17, 2013.

' Such as in California’s law that includes “any other chronic or persistent medical symptom that either:
Substantially limits the ability of the person to conduct one or more major life activities as defined in the Americans
with Disabilities Act of 1990, or If not alleviated, may cause serious harm to the patient's safety or physical or
mental health.”
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e A method for registered patients and caregivers to obtain medical marijuana.

o There are two general methods by which patients can obtain medical
marijuana: either they must self-cultivate the marijuana in their homes, or
the state allows specified marijuana points of sale or dispensaries. The
regulations governing such dispensaries, in states that allow them, vary
widely.

e General restrictions on where medical marijuana may be used.

Medical Marijuana Laws and the Federal Government

Regardless of whether or not an individual state has allowed the use of marijuana for
medicinal purposes, or otherwise, the Federal Controlled Substances Act lists it as a
schedule 1 drug with no accepted medical uses. Under federal law possession,
manufacturing, and distribution of marijuanais a crime.’? Although state medical
marijuana laws protect patients from prosecution for the legitimate use of marijuana
under the guidelines established in that state, such laws do not protect individuals from
prosecution under federal law should the federal government choose to act on those
laws.

In August of 2013, the United States Justice Department issued a publication entitled
“Smart on Crime: Reforming the Criminal Justice System for the 21* Century.” B This
document details the federal government’s changing stance on low-level drug crimes
announcing a “change in Department of Justice charging policies so that certain people
who have committed low-level, nonviolent drug offenses, who have no ties to large-
scale organizations, gangs, or cartels will no longer be charged with offenses that
impose draconian mandatory minimum sentences. Under the revised policy, these
people would instead receive sentences better suited to their individual conduct rather
than excessive prison terms more appropriate for violent criminals or drug kingpins.”
This announcement indicates the justice department’s relative unwillingness to
prosecute low-level drug cases leaving such prosecutions largely up to state authorities.

Proposed Florida Laws

Distinct from the petition initiative, legislation was proposed to enact concepts similar
to the subject of the amendment. During the 2013 legislative session, identical bills
were introduced in the Senate and House of Representatives relating to medical
cannabis. The bill established regulatory responsibilities and rulemaking authority for
the Department of Health (DOH) and the Department of Business and Professional
Regulation (DBPR), and provided rulemaking authority for the Department of Revenue
(DOR) specific to taxation and reporting responsibility for specified entities. The bill:

'2 The punishments vary depending on the amount of marijuana and the intent with which the marijuana is
possessed. See http://www.fda.gov/regulatoryinformation/legislation/ucm148726.htm#cntlsbd. Last visited Oct. 17,
2013.

13 See http://www.justice.gov/ag/smart-on-crime.pdf. Last visited on Oct. 17, 2013
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J Authorized a qualifying patient and the patient's qualified caregiver to possess
and administer medical cannabis to a qualifying patient, and to possess and use
paraphernalia for specified purposes;

J Provided procedures and requirements for DOH administration;

J Authorized a physician to recommend use of medical cannabis under specified
procedures and requirements;

J Required DBPR to regulate licensure of cultivation centers and dispensaries,
under related procedures and requirements;

] Established a medical cannabis section within DBPR, including procedures and

requirements to authorize a medical cannabis farm to possess, cultivate, and
manufacture medical cannabis, medical cannabis-based products, and marijuana
plants for wholesale in this state, including permitting and licensing procedures
and fees, administrative fines, license suspension, and injunctive relief.

. Required rule adoption by specified dates;

. Provided that use of medical cannabis is a defense to certain offenses, and does
not create defense to certain other offenses;

. Made conforming revisions to a variety of criminal provisions, including changes
to the Offense Severity Ranking Chart;

. Included a severability clause; and

. Provided an effective date of July 1, 2013.

The bill stipulated that fees established by DOH must offset all expenses of
implementing and administering the provisions of the bill, specified fee caps for DBPR
permitting purposes, and indicated that fees collected by DOH, DBPR, and DOR be
applied first to administering the responsibilities assigned under the provisions. Senate
Bill (SB) 1250, introduced by Senator Clemens and one co-sponsor, was referred to four
committees of reference. House Bill 1139, introduced by Representative Edwards and
five co-sponsors, was referred to four committees of reference. A related public records
exemption bill, SB 1214, was also filed by Senator Clemens. When the 2013 session
ended, each bill died in its initial committee of reference, having not been heard.
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Analysis Data

The following presents a summary of applicable fees in those states and the District of

Columbia with approved medical marijuana provisions.



Applicable Fees in those States and DC with Approved Medical Marijuana Provisions

State | Patient Registry | Caregiver Fee Dispensary / Source Fee
Alaska $25 initial / $20 renewal $25 initial/$20 renewal Dispensaries are not allowed
Arizona® See note below’ See note below® See note below*
California $66, or $33 for Medi-Cal participants, plus applicable See note below®

county fees
Colorado® S35 none See note below’

Connecticut®

DC

Delaware

Hawaii

lllinois

Maine

Massachusetts™

Michigan

Montana

Nevada

"Reasonable fee" set by state rule, currently $100 for each”’.

$100 initial or renewal fee, or $25 for low income
patients

$125 (a sliding scale fee is available based on income)

$25

$100 initial or renewal fee, or $25 for low
income caregivers

$125 (a sliding scale fee is available based
on income)

Non-refundable fee is $1,000; Upon approval
additional fee of $5000. Renewal fee is
$5,000"°

11
See note below

12
See note below

Dispensaries are not allowed

To be determined via rulemaking. Signed into law Aug. 1, 2013; law effective date Jan. 1, 2014; Department has 120 days from effective date to

$0

$50 annually / Hardship cultivation $100

$100 new or renewal application / $25 Medicaid or SSI
patients

$25 new application / $10 renewal (reduced from $50
as of Oct. 1, 2009)

$50 application fee, plus $150 for the card (new or
renewal), plus $15-42 in additional related costs. SB
374 requires the fee to be reduced at least by half
before Apr. 1, 2014

develop rules

Caregivers pay $300 / patient (limit of 5
patients; if not growing marijuana, there is
no fee)

No separate fee from patient registry fee

Effective July 1, 2011 caregiver’s cards will
no longer be valid. Individuals will need to
register with the department as a provider
if they wish to provide marijuana to
patients.

13
See note below

Agent registration $500. Phase 1 application
$1,500; Phase 2 application $30,000; Annual
registration $50,000

Michigan Supreme Court ruled that
dispensaries are illegal: State of Michigan vs.
McQueen, Docket No. 143824

Provider/Marijuana Infused Products provider
(MIPP) application fees are $50. Providers
and MIPPs must reapply annually.

Dispensaries are not allowed

October 18, 2013
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State | Patient Registry Caregiver Fee Dispensary / Source Fee

New Hampshire To be determined during the rulemaking process

$200 (valid for two years). Reduced fee of $20 for Application fee of $20,000, 2,000 of which is

New J . s .

ew Jersey patients qualifying for state or federal assistance non-refundable
programs

New Mexico SO See note below™

$200 for new applications and renewals; $100 for

16 application and annual renewal fee for persons Allowed starting in 2014, currently developing
Oregon L 17
receiving SNAP (food stamp) and for Oregon Health rules and fees
Plan cardholders; $20 for persons receiving SSI benefits
Rhode Island $100 / $25 for appllc?&?ts on Medicaid or Supplemental
Security Income (SSI)
$2,500 non-refundable application fee;
Vermont $50 $50"° $20,000 dispensary fee in first year and
$30,000 in subsequent years
Washington No state registration program has been established Not allowed

Source: Initially compiled with information from: http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourcelD=000881 on October 7, 2013; and from
http://www.mpp.org/assets/pdfs/library/State-by-State-Laws-Report-2011.pdf on October 11, 2013, and updated with information as listed below.

1, .
Arizona
The fees are listed in rules and are detailed below. For all there is:
* $10 to amend, change, or replace a registry identification card.

2 Arizona
» $150 for an initial or a renewal registry identification card for a qualifying patient. Some qualifying patients may be eligible to pay $75 for initial and renewal cards if they currently
participate in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program.

3 Arizona
» $200 for an initial or a renewal registry identification card for a designated caregiver. A caregiver must apply for a new card for every patient under their care (up to five patients).

4 Arizona
» $500 for an initial or a renewal registry identification card for a dispensary agent.
» $5,000 for an initial dispensary registration certificate.
» $1,000 for a renewal dispensary registration certificate.
* $2,500 to change the location of a dispensary or cultivation facility.
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> California
* Dispensaries are licensed at the local level. For example, Oakland imposes graduated fee based on number of patients served: $5,000 for under 500 patients to $20,000 for over
1,500 patients (2011).

® Colorado
¢ No general funds have been designated for this program. The Colorado Constitution authorizes CDPHE to collect fees to cover the costs of administering the program.

7 Colorado

¢ Currently the fee is $35, and is evaluated annually by CDPHE. The fee was lowered from $110 on June 1, 2007, and was again lowered from $90 on January 1, 2012.

* State application fees for medical cannabis businesses are: $7,500 for 300 or fewer patients, $12,500 for 301 to 500 patients, and $18,000 for those serving 501 or more patients.
A cultivation license is $1,250, and an infused products manufacturer license is $1,250. For further detail see:
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?blobcol=urldata&blobheadernamel=Content-Disposition&blobheadername2=Content-
Type&blobheadervaluel=inline%3B+filename%3D%22MED+Fee+Schedule.pdf%22&blobheadervalue2=application%2Fpdf&blobkey=id&blobtable=MungoBlobs&blobwhere=1251
857124942&ssbinary=true

* State retail marijuana business license fees are $3,750 for 300 or fewer patients, $8,750 for 301 to 500 patients, and $14,000 for those serving 501 or more patients. For further
detail, see http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Page&childpagename=Rev-MMIJ%2FCBONLayout&cid=1251646187389&pagename=CBONWrapper

8 Connecticut
¢ Details of the fees are specified in Sec. 21a-408-28 commencing on page 34 of: http://www.ct.gov/dcp/lib/dcp/pdf/laws_and_regulations/reg-medical_marijuana-
final06sept2013.pdf.

? Connecticut
An applicant shall submit the following fees with each license and registration
¢ The non-refundable application fee and each renewal fee for each qualifying patient and for each primary caregiver application shall be twenty-five dollars. In addition, there shall
be a non-refundable fee of seventy-five dollars for administrative costs for each qualifying patient application, for a total non-refundable fee of one hundred dollars per qualifying
patient application and for each renewal.
¢ The non-refundable fee for a replacement registration certificate for a qualifying patient or primary caregiver whose information has changed or whose original registration
certificate has been lost, stolen or destroyed shall be ten dollars;

10 .
Connecticut

An applicant shall submit the following fees with each license and registration

¢ The non-refundable fee for a dispensary facility license application shall be one thousand dollars. In addition, upon approval of the applicant’s dispensary facility license, the
applicant shall pay an additional fee of five thousand dollars prior to receiving a license;

¢ The non-refundable fee for each renewal of a dispensary facility license shall be five thousand dollars;

¢ The non-refundable fee for a dispensary license and for each renewal shall be one hundred dollars;

¢ The non-refundable fee for a dispensary technician and dispensary employee registration and each renewal shall be fifty dollars;

¢ The non-refundable registration fee and each renewal fee for a dispensary facility backer shall be one hundred dollars;

¢ The non-refundable fee for an application to change a dispensary facility name shall be one hundred dollars;

¢ The non-refundable fee for a change of dispensary facility manager form shall be fifty dollars;

¢ The non-refundable fee for an application to expand or change the location of a dispensary facility shall be one thousand dollars. If the application is approved, the applicant shall
pay an additional one thousand five hundred dollars upon such approval;

¢ The non-refundable fee for an application to make a physical, non-cosmetic alteration of a dispensary facility or a dispensary facility department, other than an expansion, shall be
five hundred dollars;
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The non-refundable application fee for a producer license shall be twenty-five thousand dollars. In addition, if an application for a producer license is approved, the applicant shall
pay a fee of seventy-five thousand dollars prior to receiving a license;

The non-refundable fee for each renewal of a producer license shall be seventy-five thousand dollars per production facility location;

The non-refundable application fee for a producer to open an additional production facility location shall be twenty-five thousand dollars. In addition, if an application for an
additional location is approved, the applicant shall pay a fee of seventy-five thousand dollars prior to receiving permission to open an additional production facility.

The non-refundable fee for a production facility employee registration and for each renewal shall be one hundred dollars;

The non-refundable fee for a producer backer registration and for each renewal shall be one hundred dollars;

The non-refundable fee for an application to change a producer name or production facility name shall be one hundred dollars;

The non-refundable fee for an application to expand or change the location of a production facility shall be three thousand five hundred dollars. In addition, upon approval of the
application, the applicant shall pay an additional fee of one thousand five hundred dollars;

The non-refundable fee for an application to make a physical, non-cosmetic alteration of a production facility, other than an expansion, shall be five hundred dollars; and

The non-refundable fee for a producer to register a marijuana brand name with the department shall be twenty five dollars per brand name.

™ pistrict of Columbia
Registration and Permit Fees:

The annual fee for a medical marijuana dispensary registration shall be ten thousand dollars ($10,000). This fee shall also cover any audit and inspection costs incurred by the
Department.

The annual fee for a cultivation center registration shall be five thousand dollars ($5,000). This fee shall also cover any audit and inspection costs incurred by the Department.
The annual fee for each director, officer, member, incorporator, or agent registration shall be two hundred dollars ($200).

The annual fee for an employee registration shall be seventy-five dollars ($75).

The fee for a medical marijuana certification provider permit shall be three hundred dollars ($300).

The annual fee for a Manager's registration shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150).

The annual fee for a transport permit shall be twenty-five dollars ($25).

The fee for a duplicate registration or replacement of a lost registration shall be twenty-five dollars ($25).

The fee for a duplicate permit or replacement of a lost permit shall be twenty-five dollars ($25).

Application Fees:

The fee for the filing of an initial application for a medical marijuana dispensary shall be five thousand dollars ($5,000).

The fee for the filing of an initial application for a medical marijuana cultivation center shall be five thousand dollars ($5,000).
The fee for the filing of a renewal application for a medical marijuana dispensary shall be three thousand dollars ($3,000).

The fee for the filing of a renewal application for a medical marijuana cultivation center shall be three thousand dollars ($3,000).
The fee for the filing of a medical marijuana certification provider permit shall be one hundred dollars ($100).

The fee for a change of director, officer, member, incorporator, or agent shall be one hundred dollars ($100).

The fee for a corporate or trade name change shall be one hundred dollars ($100).

12
Delaware

The request for proposals (RFP) to open a compassion center will be advertised in December 2013. Questions and answers will be posted on the state’s website in February and
completed bids will be due in mid-March 2014. This RFP progression will follow the established State of Delaware contracting process. There will be a substantial cost associated
with submitting an application.

13 .
Maine

The state requires all dispensary applicants to pay a $15,000 application fee, $14,000 of which is refunded if they are not awarded a registration, and the annual renewal fee is
$15,000.
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! Massachusetts
¢ Updated with information from http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/quality/drugcontrol/medical-marijuana/fee-structure.pdf. Phase information at:
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/dph/programs/hcqg/medical-marijuana/registered-marijuana-dispensary-application-process.htmi

1> New Mexico
¢ Imposes a graduated fee schedule based on how long the non-profit producer has operated: $5,000 for those licensed less than a year, $10,000 for those licensed for more than

one year, $20,000 for more than two years, and $30,000 for more than three years.

16 Oregon
* An additional $50 grow site registration fee is charged if the patient is not his or her own grower.

v Oregon
e Oregon’s medical marijuana dispensary law: http://www.oregon.gov/oha/Pages/medicalmarijuanadispensaries.aspx

18
Rhode Island
¢ Updated with information from: http://www.health.ri.gov/forms/registration/MedicalMarijuanaNewApplication.pdf

19 Vermont
® Updated with information from: http://vcic.vermont.gov/marijuana_registry/faq
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Analysis Data

The following presents a summary of program financial information in those states and the

District of Columbia with approved medical marijuana provisions.



Medical Marijuana Program Financial Information by State

Medical Marijuana Program Financial Information by State
Revenues from Registries and Licenses and Program Expenses (State-Level)

Program

Per 1,000 Population

State Population® - Year
Revenues Expenses Net Revenues Expenses Net

Alaska 731,449 $ 20,633 22,277 -1,645 28 |%$ 30 |$ -2 FY 2012
Arizona 6,553,255 7,945,277 2,380,459 5,564,818 1,212 363 849 FY 2012
California 38,041,430 45,700 276,000 -230,300 1 7 -6 FY 2011-12
Colorado 5,187,582 6,500,000 5,900,000 600,000 1,253 1,137 116 see below

Dept. of Health® 3,800,000 3,800,000 0 FY 2012-13

Dept. of Revenue 2,700,000 2,100,000 600,000 FY 2011-12
DC 632,323 60,000 N/A N/A 95 N/A N/A FY 2012-13
Hawaii 1,392,313 409,325 N/A N/A 294 N/A N/A 2013
Maine 1,329,192 612,370 466,028 146,342 461 351 110 2012
Michigan 9,883,360 9,900,000 3,600,000 6,300,000 1,002 364 637 FY 2012
Montana 1,005,141 550,900 N/A N/A 548 N/A N/A 2012
Nevada 2,758,931 713,000 N/A N/A 258 N/A N/A 2013
New Jersey 8,864,590 300,000 784,000 -484,000 34 88 -55 2013
New Mexico 2,085,538 598,000 598,000 0 287 287 0 FY 2013
Oregon 3,899,353 6,000,000 2,650,000 3,350,000 1,539 680 859 2010
Rhode Island 1,050,292 566,655 589,086 -22,431 540 561 -21 |FY 2011 & 2012
Vermont 626,011 140,800 138,500 2,300 225 221 4 FY 2013

! U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division, Annual Estimates of the Population for the United States, Regions, and States: July 1, 2012,
released December 2012.
% In some cases revenues might have been estimated based on patient counts and user fees rather than obtained from the respective

departments. Therefore, revenues may be overestimated due to possible discounts for indigent or Medicaid patients whose counts are

not known.

® This is an estimate calculated from user fees and patients, based on the self-funding provision of the program. No general funds are
appropriated for Colorado’s program.

Source: State Medical Marijuana Programs Financial Information, Marijuana Policy Project, www.mpp.org, Report provided by e-
mail correspondence dated October 18, 2013.
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State Medical Marijuana Programs
Financial Information

State medical marijuana programs have generally had no trouble covering their expenses and
have even generated substantial surpluses. Most states require the departments that administer their
medical marijuana programs to set the fees high enough to cover all costs of administering the
programs. Medical marijuana dispensaries typically have to pay an annual fee of between $5,000 and
$30,000, while patients typically pay between $25 and $100 for registry identification cards that they
renew once every year or two. In Michigan, Oregon, and Arizona, patient registry programs,
dispensary regulation programs, or both, have brought in millions of dollars in surpluses. Other
states, such as New Mexico and Maine, have been able to run comprehensive medical matijuana
programs for under $700,000, including dispensary regulation, while covering the program costs
through fees. In addition to fee-related revenue, most of the states that allow dispensaries impose
their generally applicable sales tax on medical marijuana. In Colorado alone, the annual state and local
tax revenue from medical marijuana businesses exceeds $11 million. In California, the state sales tax
revenue from dispensaries is estimated at up to $105 million per year.

In New Mexico, which was the first state to license entities to produce and provide medical
marijuana, the entire program will cost $598,000 in FY 2013." The program initially charged minimal
fees and was an unfunded mandate. Now, however, it is self-sustaining and covers all of its expenses,
despite the fact that the only patients who are charged a fee are those who both cultivate marijuana
for themselves and whose income is more than 200% above the federal poverty line.

The total FY 2013 staff costs for the state’s program (salary and benefits) are $453,200. The
program has seven full-time staff members. Its non-personnel expenses total $134,800 for the fiscal
year. Those expenses include office supplies, telephone, mileage, lab testing, attorney fees, mail costs,
and other office expenses. The program uses a combination of Microsoft Excel and Access and did

not require development of any new software. When the program was new, it purchased a machine
to make holographic cards, which cost about $6,000-$8,000.

As of August 30, 2013, 9,760 patients and 23 non-profit producers were licensed in New
Mexico. There is a non-refundable $1,000 fee for licensed producer applications. Producers’” annual
renewal fees depend on how long the non-profit producer has operated. The fee is $5,000 for those
who have been licensed less than a year. The fee is $10,000 for those licensed for more than one year,
$20,000 for more than two years, and $30,000 for more than three years. 3,119 patients have personal
cultivation licenses. Of the revenue in FY 2013, $508,000 comes from licensed producer fees, while
$90,000 is generated from patients’ personal production license fees.

In New Mexico, medical marijuana sales are subject to a gross receipts tax of 5.125% to
8.8675%, depending on the locality. According to the state Department of Health, in FY 2012, the
state collected approximately $650,402 in gross receipts taxes from dispensaries.? This is in addition
to annual revenue collected from fees, which will equal the regulatory costs of the medical marijuana
program.

Colorado has the largest state-regulated dispensary program in the nation. As of FY 2012,
more than 1,700 medical marijuana businesses were operating in the state — 532 medical marijuana

!'The source of the FY 2013 financial information is a March 5, 2013 email from Andrea Sundberg of the New Mexico
Department of Health. The information from prior years was obtained via phone calls and emails in 2010 and 2011 to
Dominick Zurlo of the New Mexico Department of Health.

2 Email communications with Andrea Sundberg, June 13, 2013. Ms. Sundberg noted, “This is an approximation as we
obtained this information from our Producers and there were some reports that were not submitted.”
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centers (dispensaries) and 1,459 cultivation facilities and infused products manufacturers.? Although
there have been a few bumps in the regulatory road after the state regulatory department
overestimated revenue and made some questionable large expenditures while not focusing on the
more essential aspects of regulation,* the program is still fairly new, and it is the most ambitious
medical marijuana regulatory program in the nation. Medical marijuana taxes and fees have been
quite lucrative, both at the city and state levels. State and city tax, registry, and licensing medical
marijuana revenues exceeded $20 million in FY 2012. On November 6, 2012, Colorado voters
approved allowing all adults 21 and older to use, grow, and purchase marijuana, but adult retail
marijuana sales will not begin until around December 30, 2013, so all of these figures are limited to
medical marijuana.

The Department of Public Health and Environment runs the state’s patient and caregiver
registry, and both the Department of Revenue’s Medical Marijuana Enforcement Division (MMED)
and individual cities license dispensaries. The state’s patient and caregiver registry collects a $35 fee
from each patient to cover its costs. No general funds have been appropriated to the program. The
department re-evaluates the fee each year, and the fee was reduced from $110 to $90 on June 1,
2007.5 It was reduced again on January 1, 2012, after the $§90 fee generated a substantial surplus.® The
department has issued about 109,622 current registrations,” meaning it generated at least $3.8 million
in the past year. The surpluses from patient registrations have been so great in past years that they
have been redirected to other purposes. In 2010, the legislature shifted a $3 million surplus from the
patient ID program, and then-Governor Bill Ritter discussed using $9 million more from the medical
marijuana registry program to help reduce the state’s $60 million budget shortfall.8

In addition to the patient registry program revenue, the MMED collected $3.779 million in
fees in FY 2011-2012. The total MMED expenses for the year were $5.262 million.? Although the
program was in the red for the year, it started the year with a balance of more than $3.8 million, so it
actually ended the fiscal year with a balance of $2.37 million. The decline in revenue was due to the
fact that new applications were not accepted for additional medical marijuana businesses, and — as is
the case with all businesses — some businesses that had been approved the prior year failed. Another
factor was that annual medical marijuana business fees are relatively modest in the state and, in the
case of medical marijuana centers, are lower than application fees.

The state application fees for medical marijuana centers are $7,500 for 300 or fewer patients,
$12,500 for 301 to 500 patients, and $18,000 for those serving 501 or more patients. A cultivation
application is $1,250, as is an infused products manufacturer application.! Annual renewal fees are
lower, with centers’ fees ranging from $3,750 to $14,000, depending on the center’s size. Cultivation
and infused products manufacturers’ annual fees are $2,750.

In addition to medical marijuana patient and business fees, medical marijuana in Colorado
generates substantial tax revenue. Unless a patient who has been certified by the state as indigent
purchases it, medical marijuana is subject to state and city sales taxes in Colorado. In the 2012 fiscal

3 Colorado Department of Revenue, 2012 Annual Report. See p. 38, M-1 and M-2.

4 http://www.denverpost.com/ci 22872574/ colorado-audit-adequate-medical-marijuana-oversight-doesnt-exist

5 http:/ /www.cdphe.state.co.us/hs/medicalmarijuana/statistics.html. Viewed March 2, 2011.

¢ http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/hs/medicalmarijuana/index.html. Visited September 28, 2011.

7 http:/ /www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/ COPHE-CHEIS/CBON/1251593017044. Accessed on October 18, 2013.

8 “Governor Ritter wants to use fees from medical marijuana to close budget gap,” NBC11news.com, August 27, 2010.
“Medical marijuana: Does using $9 million in fees for budget shortfall screw MM] patients?,” Westword, August 25, 2010.

http://blogs.westword.com/latestword/2010/08 /medical marijuana does using 9 million in fees for budget shortfall

screw _mmj patients.php
¢ Colorado Department of Revenue, 2012 Annual Report. See p. 38, M-1 and M-2.

10 http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?’c=Page&childpagename=Rev-

MM]%2FCBONLayout&cid=1251643932266&pagename=CBONWrapper

Last npdated October 18, 2013 Page 2 of 15


http://www.denverpost.com/ci_22872574/colorado-audit-adequate-medical-marijuana-oversight-doesnt-exist
http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/hs/medicalmarijuana/statistics.html
http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/hs/medicalmarijuana/index.html
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/CDPHE-CHEIS/CBON/1251593017044
NBC11news.com
http://blogs.westword.com/latestword/2010/08/medical_marijuana_does_using_9_million_in_fees_for_budget_shortfall_screw_mmj_patients.php
http://blogs.westword.com/latestword/2010/08/medical_marijuana_does_using_9_million_in_fees_for_budget_shortfall_screw_mmj_patients.php
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Page&childpagename=Rev-MMJ%2FCBONLayout&cid=1251643932266&pagename=CBONWrapper
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Page&childpagename=Rev-MMJ%2FCBONLayout&cid=1251643932266&pagename=CBONWrapper

year, medical matijuana sales taxes brought in more than $5.4 million to state coffers.!! In Denver
alone, the city collected $2.4 million in sales tax for FY 2012,12 with a rate of 2.9%. Statewide, it
appears that at least $6.3 million was collected in county and local sales taxes on medical marijuana in
FY 2012.13

Cities have also collected substantial revenue from business licensing. For example, Denver
charges $2,000 for a dispensary application fee and $3,000 for an annual or renewal license fee.'* As
of October 2012, there were 266 licensed dispensaries with 272 applications pending,' generating
$1.35 million in application and licensing fees. Denver reports there were no start-up costs involved
when it began licensing dispensaries, and any costs incurred are part of the department’s regular
operating budget. Medical marijuana is but one of the 91 types of licenses the Community Planning
and Development Department provides, and the medical marijuana business licenses do not have a
separate dedicated staff.!¢

In Arizona, the state’s medical marijuana program generated $5.5 million more than it spent
from mid-2011 through mid-2012. That was before any sales taxes were collected, since dispensaries
did not begin to open until late 2012. The program is generating so much revenue that it has been
able to make several substantial non-essential expenditures.

Arizona’s medical marijuana fees totaled more than $7.9 million from April 14, 2011 through
June 30, 2012.17 About $2.4 million of the revenue was from dispensary fees and about $5.5 million
was from patient ID card fees. Meanwhile, the program — including both patient ID cards and
dispensaries — cost under $600,000 in salaries and wages to run. (This does not include litigation,
such as Arizona’s unsuccessful lawsuit questioning whether federal law preempted the law.) It
incurred an additional $1.5 million in operating expenditures and $300,000 on capital equipment.

Arizona’s medical marijuana program had approved 98 dispensaries and 28,977 patient
applications as of the time the annual report was published. Other than salaries and wages, the
expenditures were generally not ones that are essential to a medical marijuana program. For example,
the expenses include $284,325 to improve physicians' ability to check the prescription drug
monitoring database and $200,000 to the University of Arizona to review the evidence and make
recommendations on adding debilitating conditions.

In addition to the $5.5 million surplus generated by Arizona’s medical marijuana program
last year, marijuana is subject a 6.6% sales tax. It is unknown what the total sales tax revenue will be.
The first dispensary opened in late 2012 and about 70 are operational as of October 2013.

In California, dispensaries have operated for more than a decade, but no state agency is
charged with regulating them. Instead, several cities and counties have set up regulations and collect
licensing fees. San Francisco, for example, charges a non-refundable permit application fee of

11 “Colorado Medical Marijuana Dispensary Retail Sales and State Sales Tax by County FY2012,” Colorado Department of
Revenue.

12 http:/ /blogs.westword.com/latestword/2012/10/medical marijuana dispensaries 266 licensed colorado.php?page=2
13 This estimate is based on applying local or county sales tax rates to the revenue listed by city in the Colorado Department

of Revenue’s “Colorado Medical Marijuana Dispensary Retail Sales and State Sales Tax by County FY2012.”
14

http://www.denvergov.org/businesslicensing/DenverBusinessLicensingCenter/BusinessLicenses/MedicalMarijuanaCenter
s/tabid/441765/Default.aspx. Viewed October 18, 2013.

15 http:/ /blogs.westword.com/latestword /2012/10/medical marijuana dispensaries 266 licensed colorado.phprpage=2
16 Email communication with Sue Cobb, Communications Director, Denver Community Planning & Development. August
27, 2010.

17 Arizona Medical Matijuana Program Annual Report — 2012

http:/ /www.azdhs.gov/medicalmarijuana/documents/reports/az-medical-marijuana-program-annual-report-2012.pdf

Last npdated October 18, 2013 Page 3 of 15


http://blogs.westword.com/latestword/2012/10/medical_marijuana_dispensaries_266_licensed_colorado.php?page=2
http://www.denvergov.org/businesslicensing/DenverBusinessLicensingCenter/BusinessLicenses/MedicalMarijuanaCenters/tabid/441765/Default.aspx
http://www.denvergov.org/businesslicensing/DenverBusinessLicensingCenter/BusinessLicenses/MedicalMarijuanaCenters/tabid/441765/Default.aspx
http://blogs.westword.com/latestword/2012/10/medical_marijuana_dispensaries_266_licensed_colorado.php?page=2
http://www.azdhs.gov/medicalmarijuana/documents/reports/az-medical-marijuana-program-annual-report-2012.pdf

$8,459.18 While the state does not regulate medical marijuana sales, it does tax them. The state Board
of Equalization collects sales taxes from dispensaries and estimates that they generate $58-$105
million in annual sales tax revenue.! In addition to the statewide sales tax of 7.5%, cities levy up to
1.5% more in local sales taxes. In 2012, Los Angeles collected $2.5 million on a 0.6% gross receipts
tax on medical marijuana, which was in addition to state and local sales taxes on medical marijuana.?

The California Department of Public Health also runs a voluntary registry program for
patients, which fewer than 2% of patients utilize. Although there are estimated to be well over
500,000 patients in California, only 5,798 patients obtained registry cards in FY 2012/2013 because
the cards are optional.2! California’s registry program is the most complex because each of 58
counties had to implement it. The program funds itself with registry fees, but borrowed $1.5 million
in FY 2004/2005 for start-up costs, which were incurred expecting a much higher rate of
participation. In FY 2011/2012, the program generated $457,000, and its expenses totaled
$276,000.22 The program has two full-time analysts and one supervisor.

Maine’s original medical marijuana law passed in 1999 and voters added dispensaries and a
registry system in November 2009. The Department of Human Services’ Licensing and Regulatory
Services approved eight dispensaries by August 2010, and as is the case with most other states,
Maine’s program has easily covered its expenses. In 2012, the medical marijuana program generated
$10,261 in medical marijuana license application fees and $602,109 in registration fees. It spent
$466,028.45 that year.> When one adds in sales tax revenue — which totaled $265,655 in 201224 —
the 2012 surplus was more than $400,000.

The Department of Human Services’ Licensing and Regulatory Services requires all
dispensary applicants to pay a $15,000 fee, $14,000 of which is refunded if they are not awarded a
registration.?> The annual renewal fee is also $15,000, and a $5,000 fee is charged to change locations.
Meanwhile, each employee ID card costs $56 per year, which includes $31 for a background check.
Ninety-five dispensary employees were licensed in 2012.

In 2010, the department issued a total of eight non-profit dispensary registrations, which
brought in a total of $120,000 in revenue. Thirty-one unsuccessful applications brought in an
additional $31,000. The eight dispensaries continue to be registered.

In Maine, patient ID cards are free and voluntary. In 2012, the state issued 1,455 patients
identification cards. Meanwhile, the state issued 1,311 cards to 575 caregivers at a cost of $331 each
for those who cultivate matijuana (a $300 cultivation fee, plus a $31 background check fee) and $31
for a background check for those that do not cultivate.

As of 2011, the program planned to have two staff run the program — a program specialist
and an administrative support person. The department did not provide updated staffing numbers in
its 2012 annual report, but it did include the total cost of personnel: $119,460.65. The non-personnel

18 San Francisco Health Code, Article 33, Sec. 3304.
19 “Bcrkelev cannabis collectives slapped with huge tax bills,” Berkeleyside, February 3, 2011.

20 See http://www.smartvoter.org/2013/05/21/ca/la/meas/D

21 http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MMP/Pages/ MMPCardDATA.aspx. Viewed October 18, 2013.

22 The California Budget Act 2012, HHS, Department of Public Health, pages 48-49. http://www.cbudget.ca.gov

23 "Maine Medical Use of Matijuana Program: January 1, 2012 - December 31, 2012. Annual Report to the Maine State
Legislature."

24 Douglas Rooks, "Tipping point on legal marijuana," Seacoast Online. April 14, 2013.
http://www.seacoastonline.com/articles/20130414-OPINION-304140317

25 http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/dlrs /rulemaking/adopted.shtml
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expenses in 2012 totaled $346,567.80. The state did not provide an itemization of those expenses in
2012, either. The previous year, it provided more detailed numbers. That year, the department spent
$125,000 in IT expenses, which included both monthly expenses and start-up costs for a data
management system. There was also a one-time $47,000 expense for law enforcement to confirm the
validity of cards roadside.

Rhode Island’s medical marijuana registry program opened in 2006, and compassion
centers (dispensaries) were added to the law in June 2009. The department finalized rules in March
2010 and registered three compassion centers on March 15, 2011. Because of mixed signals from the
federal government and other delays, however, compassion centers did not begin operating until
2013. There are now two operational compassion centers.

In 2011-2012, inclusive, the state’s program took in $566,655 in fees, and it spent slightly
more — $589,086.16 in personnel and equipment costs.?¢ The medical marijuana program shared 2.1
full-time staff (FTE) with other programs, and added 1.25 FTE in 2012, though they were also
assigned to other programs. The delays in implementing the compassion center program likely
reduced revenue, since there was no need to renew compassion center registrations or register
compassion center staff during that time. Another factor in Rhode Island’s modest shortfall is that
the compassion center fees are lower than in most states.

There were two rounds of compassion center applications, in which first 15, then 18,
applicants paid a very modest, non-refundable $250 fee. Each compassion center that was registered
paid a $5,000 fee, which will be charged annually. In addition, compassion center agents pay $100
and caregivers are charged $200 in annual fees for registry identification cards. Patients’ cards cost
$100, unless they receive benefits from Medicaid, SSI, or SSDI, in which case their fee is $25. All of
the registry identification card fees were increased in 2012 to ensure adequate funding. As of
September 9, 2013, there were 5,941 registered patients and 3,458 registered caregivers in Rhode
Island.?”

Michigan voters approved that state’s medical marijuana law in November 2008. The state
issues patient and caregiver registry cards, but there are no state-registered dispensaries. The
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) is responsible for processing
applications and setting fees that are sufficient to cover all program costs.

As of May 31, 2013, LARA has issued 128,441 current patient ID cards.?8 The last time the
program responded to the inquiry, it reported that about 60% of applicants are charged $100, and
40%, who demonstrate low-income, are charged $25.2° Caregivers are also required to pay an
application fee of $100 per patient (with a maximum of five). As of May 31, 2013, 26,875 caregiver
registrations had been issued, with a “large backlog” awaiting processing.? In mid-2012, the program
had one manager, 16 full-time staff, seven temporary staff, and one student. During fiscal year 2012,
the program generated $9.9 million in revenue, with just $3.6 million in expenditures, leaving a $6.3
million surplus for the year.’!

26 Rhode Island Department of Health, “Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Program Report,”, January 1, 2013.

27 September 9, 2013 telephone communication with Mike Simoli, Acting Health Program Administrator, Licensing
Team/Prescription Monitoring Program, Office of Health Professionals Regulation, Rhode Island Department of Health.
28 http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-35299 63294 63303 51869 60731---,00.html. Viewed October 18, 2013.
29 Email communication with program administrator Rae Ramsdell, June 8, 2009.

30 Michigan Medical Marihuana Program Data: http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-

35299 63294 63303 51869 60731---,00.html.

31 Melissa Anders, "Michigan rakes in $9.9 million in medical marijuana catd fees; see patient/caregiver numbers by
county," February 7, 2013._(http://www.mlive.com/news/index.ssf/2013/02/michigan medical marijuana 1.html
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The Oregon Medical Matijuana Program (OMMP) began in 1998 and is run entirely on
registry fees. It operates a registry for patients, caregivers, and grow sites. Beginning in 2014, the state
will also license dispensaries in Oregon. The OMMP has been in the black every biennium except the
tirst one (ending in 1999), when it was in the red by $14,000. The OMMP surplus was so substantial
in 2005 that the Oregon Legislature siphoned off $902,000 to pay for other non-medical-marijuana-
related budget needs for the Oregon Department of Human Services.”” The legislature siphoned off
an additional $168,286 to the general fund during the July 2007 to June 2009 fiscal period.?> At the
end of the fiscal period ending in May 2010, the program had a $269,354 balance. Since 2011, the
program has not been responsive to MPP’s inquires about financial information.

Despite the fact that the program was already generating a surplus, in late 2011, the state
doubled the standard patient registry fees to $200, with a discount of $100 for food stamp recipients,
or $20 for those patients who receive SSI benefits. On October 1, 2013, it revised the fees to charge
$60 to patients receiving food stamps and $50 for patients enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan. It
maintained the $20 fee for patients who receive SSI benefits. As of October 1, 2013, there are 58,484
registered patients and 29,323 caregivers.>* The OMMP website does not provide a breakdown for
how many patients pay the discounted rates. The program started out with only one manager and
one employee, computers, and basic software. It has slowly grown and, as of early 2011, had 24 full
time employees (FTE), including temporary workers. The OMMP initially used Microsoft Access,
but the program became more complex after a 2007 law passed, so it developed a custom database.
The program also pays expenses for travel and related expenses for a medical marijuana advisory
committee.

Although we have not received recent expense data from Montana’s medical marijuana
program, in the past, the program generated a surplus even with much lower patient fees. The state
does not have state registration or regulations for dispensaries. Patients’ registry fee was initially set at
$200, but that was steadily reduced since such a large fee was not needed to cover costs. The fee had
been reduced to $25 for new patient applications and $10 for renewals as of September 2011, but the
legislature increased the fees in 2011. The annual registration fee for patients is now $75, and
providers are charged $50. As of September 2013, there were 7,150 registered patients.?> The
program, which is housed in the Department of Public Health & Human Services, generated a
minimum of $550,900 during the past year. As of mid-2011, when it had far more patients enrolled,
the program involved a portion of two supervisors’ time and the equivalent of eight full-time
employees.

Vermont has operated a patient and caregiver medical marijuana registry since 2004. In
2011, the legislature approved the licensing of four non-profit dispensaries, two of which opened in
2013. The Department of Public Safety, which operates the medical marijuana program, produced a
report on actual and projected revenues for the program on January 9, 2012.3¢ The report shows that
the program expected to operate on a very modest budget of about $140,000, and that it expected to
have fee revenue cover all of its costs.

32 “Oregon Lawmakers Discover Unexpected Revenue from Medical Matijuana,” Associated Press, June 1, 2005, available at
http:/ /www.firstcoastnews.com/news/ strange/news-article.aspx?storyid=38168. See also Oregon Medical Marijuana
Program Advisory Committee on Medical Marijuana minutes, December 14, 2005, available at
http://mercycenters.org/ommp/libry/wrkgrp minutes 121405.doc.

3 “Oregon Medlcal Marijuana Program Fmanclal Statemcnt ”]une 1, 2010.

Accessed October 17, 2013.

3 http:/ /www.dphhs.mt.gov/matijuanaprogram/. Viewed October 18, 2013.

36 "Report from the Department of Public Safety: In compliance with S.17 of the 2011 Vermont General Assembly, Section
2a and Section 3 of the Act for the Matijuana for Medical Symptom Use by Persons with Severe Illness," Vermont
Department of Public Safety, January 9, 2012.
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In March 2011, the program reported an estimated annual revenue of $22,000 and an annual
cost of $8,000, including $3,700 in staff time (about 16 hours per month) for the year.’” In its eatly
2012 report, the department found that the actual revenue in FY 2011 was slightly higher than was
projected — $22,750. That figure did not include a final tally for expenses for the year.

For FY 2013, the department estimated annual revenue of $140,800 and estimated the
program’s cost at $138,500, including $90,000 for a full-time administrator and $30,000 for a half-
time data entry staffer. The remaining expenses were for software and office supplies.

Each applicant for a dispensary registration must pay a $2,500 application fee, and those
granted registration must pay an annual registration fee of $20,000 their first year and $30,000 in
subsequent years. The department also charges patients, caregivers, and dispensary personnel each
$50 for registry identification cards. As of September 9, 2013 the program had 846 patients,’® making
it one of the smallest programs in the nation. Those numbers have significantly increased, however,
over the years and especially since medical marijuana access improved with the opening of
dispensaries.

In New Jersey, the state has been very slow to implement its medical marijuana program,
which was approved by the legislature and then-Governor Jon Corzine in early 2010. Despite the law
providing for six alternative treatment centers (ATCs) initially, only one has opened as of October
2013, with a second expected to open soon. The sole AT'C has been unable to meet patient
demand,? which likely reduces the number of patients registering. The slow implementation has
likely reduced both patient registry revenue and revenue from ATCs.

New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services charges ATC applicants a $20,000
annual fee, $2,000 of which is non-refundable. Every two years, patients must apply for an ID card,
which costs $200, unless the patient receives certain benefits, in which case it costs $20. As of
September 9, 2013, there were 1,200 patients and 114 caregivers active in New Jersey.*

As of March 2013, the program had an annual budget of $784,000. At the time, the program
had 12 full-time employees and one part-time employee. It also has assistance from several sister
agencies that provide services within their areas of expertise, such as investigations, testing, and legal
issues.*! Gov. Chris Christie requested $1.6 million for the program in FY 2014, and the medical
marijuana program requested authorization during FY 2014 to expand its FTEs to a total of 18.
Medical marijuana sales are subject to a 7% sales tax.

Alaska has one of the smallest medical marijuana programs in the country. In FY 2012,
there were 917 patients and caregivers in the program, which does not allow dispensaries. The state
charges a very low fee — $25 for initial applications and $20 for renewals — so it does not cover its
modest costs. The state reported the program generated an estimated $20,632.50 in FY 2012. As of

37 Email communication with Sheri Englert, March 2, 2011.
38 September 9, 2013 telephone communication with Jeffrey Wallin, Director, Vermont Criminal Information Center.

% Jan Hefler, "NJ Marijuana Patients Now At 1000 But Most Just Wait," June 26, 2013
http:/ /www.philly.com/philly/blogs/butlington/NJ-Matijuana-Patients-Now-At-1000-But-Most-Just-
Wait html#wMH2800rSBtWc]5W.99

40 September 9, 2013 telephone communication with New Jersey Department of Health Medicinal Marijuana Program
staffer.

41 Email from program director John O’Brien, March 19, 2013.
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FY 2012, the program took a portion of one staffer’s time, totaling $13,410 in personnel costs. The
program was also spending $5,272.75 to send out cards and incurring $3,594.64 printing ID cards.*?

Hawaii officials did not respond to requests for information. The state has a registry
program for patients and caregivers, but it does not have a dispensary program. The Hawaii program
is run by the state Department of Public Safety’s Narcotics Division, but is moving to the health
department pursuant to a law passed in 2013. Patients’ annual fee is $35.

Nevada’s program currently only includes a patient and caregiver registry, but in 2014, it will
expand to include a regulated medical marijuana industry. The program is run by the state Health
Division, which charges patients $50 for an application and $150 to process the application each year.
In addition, patients must pay $11-$22 to the DMV for the 1D card and $4-$20 for fingerprinting.
Nevada’s program has generated such a substantial surplus that one state legislator proposed
transferring $700,000 from the fund to substance abuse education each year for the next two years.*3

Nevada’s dispensary law will reduce the maximum patient fee to $100.4 It sets a schedule of
fees for medical marijuana dispensaries (of which there may be up to 66), medical marijuana
cultivation facilities, infused product manufacturers, testing laboratories, and staff. The initial fees
range from $3,000 for a cultivator to $30,000 for a dispensary. Renewal fees range from $1,000 to
$5,000. Annual staff ID cards will be $75. Finally, in addition to standard sales taxes, there is also a
2% excise tax at the wholesale level and a 2% excise tax at the retail level.

Delaware, Massachusetts, Washington D.C., New Hampshire, and Illinois’ laws were
all enacted recently, between 2011 and 2013. All five jurisdictions are in the process of implementing
their programs, so it is too soon to determine their total costs or revenue. They will all regulate
dispensaries and issue patients and caregivers 1D cards.

In D.C,, the District began licensing patients, cultivation locations, and dispensaries in 2012-
2013, though the law passed in 2011. The health department is charging $100 per year for patient and
caregiver 1D cards, but low-income patients and caregivers instead pay $25 per year. Dispensaries are
charged $10,000 annually for a registration, and cultivation centers are charged $5,000 annually.* In
addition, both dispensary and cultivation center applications are $5,000, $2,500 of which is non-
refundable. Dispensary and cultivation center directors, officers, members, agents, and incorporators’
fees are $200, while managers’ are §150, and employees’ are §75.4¢

There are currently three medical marijuana dispensaries and three cultivation facilities
operating within the city limits. There is a 6% tax on the gross receipts for medical matijuana sales.
The health department has not responded to requests for a breakdown of total revenue and
expenses, nor did it provide a number of identification card holders.

The Delaware Medical Marijuana Act took effect on July 1, 2011. The law calls for three
dispensaries (“compassion centers”) to be open statewide. However, due to concerns from Gov. Jack
Markell, the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services delayed implementation of
compassion center rules, and then — in draft rules released on October 1, 2013 — reduced the
number of compassion centers to only one. Those concerns were based on mixed signals from the
U.S. Department of Justice, which has clarified its position since Gov. Markell announced the
requested changes to the program.

42 Email communication with Andrew Jessen, March 18, 2013.
43 "Bill: Divert Nevada medical matijuana money for treatment," Reno Gagette-Journal, May 1, 2011.
44 SB 374 (http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Bills/SB/SB374 R3.pdf)

46 http:/ {doh.dc.&ovg sites/default/files/dc/sites/doh/publication/attachments/1210MMPDirector_etalFinal.pdf
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As a result of the lack of access to medical marijuana, very few patients have registered,
resulting in very limited revenue. Delaware’s proposed rules would charge a non-refundable $5,000
application fee to compassion centers. Any compassion centers that are approved would pay a
$40,000 annual fee. Patients and caregivers are charged $125 annually for medical marijuana
identification cards.

On June 1 2012, Connecticut Gov. Dannel Malloy signed a bill to legalize medical
marijuana for severely ill patients. Under the state’s law, patients may not grow their own medical
marijuana. Instead, patients will obtain marijuana from a registered dispensing facility, which in turn
will obtain marijuana from a licensed producer. The Department of Consumer Protection proposed
draft rules in 2013, which were approved and are now final. The state charges producers far more
than other states do for application fees, which may reduce access significantly.

The department requires a non-refundable $25,000 application fee from producers, plus an
additional $75,000 annual fee if they are accepted.#’ For dispensaties, the department requires an
initial non-refundable application fee of $1,000. If accepted, there is a $5,000 fee for registration and
a yearly renewal fee of $5,000.4

As of October 15, 2013 1,115 patients have been registered into Connecticut’s medical
marijuana program.* They are charged $100 each for the registration. Caregivers are charged $25.
The state has not responded to requests for any additional information on expenses and revenue for
the new program. As of October 17, 2013, the state has issued a request for producer applications,
but it has not yet licensed producers and dispensary facilities.

On November 6, 2012, Massachusetts voters approved Question 3 with 63% voting in
favor of establishing a medical marijuana program. Once the law is fully implemented, there should
be up to 35 non-profit dispensaries statewide.

Prospective medical marijuana dispensaries are now applying through a two-phase
application process. Applicants were required to pay a $1,500 fee for submission and consideration
of the Phase 1 application. The Department of Public Health reported receiving 181 dispensary
applications by its August 22, 2013 deadline.’® That generated $271,500 in application fees. Of those
applicants, 158 were approved to submit a Phase 2 application. Those that qualify for a Phase 2
application must pay $30,000 to be considered. All of the fees are non-refundable. Dispensaries that
are selected will be required to pay a $50,000 annual fee for a certificate of registration. There will
also be a $500 annual registration fee for each dispensary agent.5!

Patients are charged $50 per year for applications. Patients who demonstrate a hardship,
including a financial hardship, may be eligible to cultivate a modest supply of their own marijuana.
An application for a hardship cultivation license is $100.

On July 23, 2013, Gov. Maggie Hassan signed a bill to allow setiously ill New Hampshire
residents access to medical marijuana. Currently, New Hampshire is in the process of rulemaking and
implementation. Under this law, the state is expected to allow four non-profit alternative treatment
centers (dispensaries). ATCs are unlikely to open before late 2014, and the patient registry will

47 http:/ /www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=42878&q=527988
48 http:/ /www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=4287&q=527978
49 http:/ /www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=4287&q=533228&dcpNav= | &dcpNav_GID=2109

50 Dan Ring, “Massachusetts releases list of 181 applications for medical marijuana stores,” Mass Live, August 23, 2013.

51 http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/newsroom/press-releases/dph/applications-for-registered-marijuana-dispensaries-
.html
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probably not be available before 2014. The law did not specify the fee structure for ATCs or patient
and caregiver applications.

On August 1, 2013, Illinois became the most recent state to authorize a medical marijuana
program, when Gov. Pat Quinn signed HB 1. Illinois’ medical marijuana law will become effective
on January 1, 2014. At that point, three state departments will have four months to implement rules,
including setting a fee structure for patients, dispensaries, and cultivation centers. The state plans on
having 60 dispensaries around the state, with 22 cultivation centers statewide. Illinois also plans on a
7% excise tax and a 1% sales tax for medical marijuana.>

Finally, Washington’s law is the only one of the 21 that does not provide for a registry
card, and there are also no state-regulated dispensaries. Voters, however, approved regulating and

taxing marijuana for sales to all adults. Any adult 21 or older will be able to buy marijuana beginning
in mid-2014.53

52 http://www.ilga.gov/legislation /98 /HB /PDF/09800HB00011v.pdf

53 The fiscal analysis for 1-502 is available at http://vote.wa.gov/guides/2012/1-502-Fiscal-Impact.html
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State Registered State Breakdown of| Fees Total Total Annual
Patients Regulated Expenses Annual Expenses
Dispensaries Revenues
IAlaska 917 patients [No. Personnel: $25 per patient or [Estimated  [$22,277.39 (FY
(population  |Jand $13,410 caregiver; $20 for $20,632.50 [2012)
731,449) caregivers Printing cards: [renewal (FY 2012)
(2012) $3,594.64
Mail:
$5,272.75
|Arizona 40,328 (as of 98 have been  [Salaries, wages [$5,000 dispensary [$7,945,277  ($2,380,459 (FY
(population  {10/02/13) japproved, 70  jand benefits: japplication fee, |(FY 2012) [2012) At least
6.55 million) are open as of [$570,972 $1,000 renewal;  |plus tax some of the
October 2013.  (Operating $150 per patient, |revenue surplus is used
expenses: $75 reduced fee for interagency
$1,505,023 for low-income expenses,
Capital applicants; including a
equipment:  [$200/patient for lawsuit where
$304,464 caregivers; $500 |Arizona sought
for dispensary unsuccessfully to
agents; 6.6% sales overturn the law.
tax
California 5,798 No, all Registry $66 per card to  [$457,000 to [$276,000 for
(population  |patients and |dispensary program: two [the state, $33 the state state registry ('Y
38.04 million) [396 regulationis  [full-time, one [reduced fee for  [registry 2011-2012)
caregivers in [local. (Under  [supervisor; Medi-Cal patients;program (FY
Y state law, they joperating dispensary fees  [2011-2012);
2012/2013 fare called expenses and  |vary by locality; |state sales
collectives and fequipment;  [7.5% sales tax;  |tax: est. up
cooperatives.) fand indirect [local taxes vaties [to $100
costs. million
Colorado 109,622 (as [Yes,in 2012,  [The health $35 patient fee; [MMED IMMED: $2.1
(population  |of there were 532 |department  [Annual state revenue: $2.7million ($5.2
5.19 million) [08/31/13) |medical (patient dispensary fee:  million ($3.8 million the
matijuana registry) did ~ [$3,750-$14,000; |million the |previous year)
centers not respond;  [Annual infused  |prior year);
(dispensaries) asthe Medical ~ |products maker or[Registry: Health
well as 1,459 IMarijuana cultivation fee: $3.8 million; |[department
linfused Enforcement [$2,750 State sales  |(patient registry)
products Division (applications are [taxes: $5.4  |did not respond,
manufacturers [((MMED) has more); 2.9% state million; but the fees are
and cultivation |15 staff sales tax; local [Local sales [set to cover
facilities. sales tax varies taxes: >$6  [costs, SO it was
million no more than
$3.8 million.

Last npdated October 18, 2013

Page 17 of 15




22 growers.

State Registered State Breakdown of| Fees Total Total Annual
Patients Regulated Expenses Annual Expenses
Dispensaries Revenues
Connecticut (1,115 (as of [Yes, there will [N/A — The [Producers: non- [N/A IN/A
(population  [10/15/13) |be a number of [law passed in  [refundable
3.59 million) dispensaries 2012 and has  [$25,000
that is TBD and not been fully [application fee
three to 10 implemented [and $75,000/year;
lgrowers. yet. IDispensaries:
non-refundable
application fee of
$1,000 and
$5,000/year;
Patients: $100;
Caregivers: $25
Delaware 21 On hold, there [Not available [Patient fee: $125; [Not INot available,
(population would have Compassion available,  |and program is
917, 092) been three center rules have [and program jmostly stalled
initially, now not been lis mostly
only one. promulgated yet [stalled
D.C. Not available|Six cultivation [Did not $5,000 dispensary [Unknown, [Unknown, did
(population centers and fourjrespond to and grower $60,000 just [not respond to
617,996) dispensaries inquiry applications; from the linquiry
have been $5,000 annual fee |existing
approved. for cultivators;  |cultivator
Three $10,000 annual  fand
dispensaries and fee for dispensary
three cultivation dispensaries; $75- jannual fees,
facilities are 200 per staffer;  [plus ID
open as of patient and cards
October 2013. caregivers: $25 or
$100; 6% sales tax
Hawaii 11,695 No Did not $35 annual patient|At least Did not respond
(population respond to fee $409,325 to inquiry
1.39 million) inquiry
Illinois N/A — Yes, the state  [N/A — IN/A — progtam [N/A — IN/A — program|
(population  |programis |plans to allow [program is not [is not yet program is fis not yet
12.88 million) [not yet 60 dispensaries [yet operational joperational not yet operational
operational [statewide and operational
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for various
services

or $20 patient ID

tax

card fee; 7% sales

State Registered State Breakdown of| Fees Total Total Annual
Patients Regulated Expenses Annual Expenses
Dispensaries Revenues
Maine Registry is  [Yes, eight Staff: $15,000/year per [$612,370 in [$466,028.45 was
(population  voluntary to [nonprofit $119,460.65 dispensary; staff  [fees in 2012, jexpended
1.33 million) |patients, dispensaries. IDs: $25; no plus through
1,455 are O;iléegé patient fee; $265,655 in |December 31,
registered $346,567.80. $300/patient for |sales tax 2012
most caregivers;
5% sales, plus 7%
meals/rooms
taxes for edibles
Massachu- [N/A — \Yes, 35 should [N/A — Dispensary non- [Not yet IN/A — program|
setts programis jopen in 2014. |program is not [refundable available, lis too new
(population  |not yet yet operational japplication fees: |dispensary
6.45 million)  |operational $1,500 (Phase 1), [application
$30,000 (Phase 2);|process is
IAnnual fee: not done
$50,000; Patients:
$50/year, $100
for hardship
cultivation
certificates
Michigan 128,441 (as [No. One manager, [$100 per patient; [$9.9 million [$3.6 million (FY
(population  |of 16 full-time, 7 |reduced fee $25; |(FY 2012) [2012)
9.89 million) [05/31/13) temp staff, one[$100/patient for
student caregivers
Montana 7,150 (as of [No. IHas not $75 per year per  |At least Unknown, but
(population  {10/01/13) provided patient $550,900 in [significantly less
1.01 million) updated application; $50  [the past year [than the revenue
information  [per provider per
yet year
New N/A — Yes, but N/A — IN/A — progtam [N/A — IN/A — program|
Hampshire |programis [officials have |program is not |is not yet program is fis not yet
(1.32 million) |not yet until January  |yet operational joperational not yet operational
operational 2015 to operational
establish rules
for dispensaties.
New Jersey [1,200 (as of |One opened in (12 full-time  $20,000 Should Current budget:
(populaton  {09/09/13) 2012, five mote [(FTE), one  (dispensaty fee exceed $784,000; Total
8.87 million) were approved |part-time; each year; $2,000 [$300,000, |expected budget
but are not yet [MOA with for unsuccessful [not counting [for FY 2014:
open. other agencies [applicants; $200 |sales tax $1.4 million
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office expenses

which patient is
not cultivator

State Registered State Breakdown of| Fees Total Total Annual
Patients Regulated Expenses Annual Expenses
Dispensaries Revenues
New Mexico 9,760, 3,119 [Yes, 23 Seven full time [$30 cultivation ~ $598,000 in [$598,000 (FY
(population  |of which “licensed staff; office  [license for some |program fees2013)
2.09 million) |have producers.” supplies, patients; $1,000 (Y 2013),
received telephone, producer $650,402 in
licenses for mileage, lab  application; lgross
personal testing, annual producer receipts tax
cultivation attorney fees, [fee: $5,000- (2012
(as of imail costs, $30,000; gross estimate)
08/30/13) office expensesireceipts tax of
5.125% to
8.8675%
Nevada 4,322 (as of [Not yet; there |Unknown, did |Annual patient  [Exceeds Did not respond
(population  [09/04/13) will be up to 60 [not respond to [fees total at least [$713,000 in |to inquity, but
2.76 million) dispensaries, linquiries $165-$192; will be [the past year generated
plus infused reduced to $100 enough of a
products surplus that a
imakers, Initial fees range legislator
lgrowers, and from $3,000 for a proposed
labs. cultivator to siphoning off
$30,000 for a $700,000/year
dispensary.
Renewal fees
range from $1,000
to $5,000.
Staff IDs: $75
2% excise tax at
wholesale and
retail level
Oregon 55,937 (as of [Not yet; IAs of 2011, 24 [$200 per patient; [Est. at $6  [Est. at $2.65
(population 3.9{07/01/13) (dispensary law [full-time staff; freduced fees of  |million (Est. imillion (Est. $5.3
million) passed in 2013 [travel for $60 (food $12 million million for the
and they will be jadvisory stamps), $50 (statejfor the 2011-[2011-13
registered in  |[committee health program), (13 biennium)biennium;
2014. meetings; IT  fand $20 (SSI expenses in the
support, benefits); $50 biennium:
including orow site fee for $29,478)
database; applications in
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State Registered State Breakdown of| Fees Total Total Annual
Patients Regulated Expenses Annual Expenses
Dispensaries Revenues

Rhode Island (5,941 (as of |Yes, three Staff: the Compassion $566,655 $589,086.16 for
(population 09/09/13)  [‘compassion |equivalent of |centers: $250 2011-2012 [2011-2012,
1.05 million) centers” were  [3.35 full-time |application fee; |[combined, [combined

approved. Two fas of Jan. 2013;$5,000 registrationjwithout taxes

centers are shared card fee; $100 staff fee;|(Note: ID

open; it is imachine with [$20 or $100 card fees all

unclear when  [other licensing [patient fee; $200  fincreased at

the third will  [program caregiver fee the end of

open. 2012)
Vermont 846 (as of [T'wo One full time [$50 annual fee for [Estimated  |Estimated
(population  09/09/13) |dispensaries are [staffer, one  |patients and $140,800 for [$138,500 for FY
626,011) open as of June jpart-time caregivers; $2,500 [FY 2013.  [2013

2013. Two staffer, application fee for[Revenue

more software, dispensaries; expected to

dispensaries are |office supplies annual registrationfincrease with

set to open in fee of $30,000 imore

the near future. ($20,000 in first  |dispensaries

year) for and fees.
dispensaries

'Washington [N/A —-no [No, but the IN/A N/A IN/A IN/A
(population 6.9 [registry state will allow
million) regulated, taxed

sales of
marijuana to all
adults 21 and
older in late
2013.
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Analysis Data

The following presents a variety of analysis methodologies to determine a range of estimates of

possible Florida medical marijuana registrants.



A. Summary of estimates of medical marijuana users in Florida

Estimates of Medical Marijuana Users in Florida

in 2015 by various estimation approaches

10/17/2013

Estimates of Florida Medical Marijuana Users

Estimation Approach April 1, 2015

|. States with medical marijuana laws 452 to 417,252
Il. Disease prevalence 1,295,922
lll. Disease incidence 116,456
IV. Use by cancer patients 173,671
V. Deaths 46,903
VI. Self-reported marijuana use 1,052,692 to 1,619,217
Range 452 t0 1,619,217

Page 1 of 5



B. Description of estimation approaches

I. Medical marijuana registrants in states that have legalized medical use of marijuana

Estimated Marijuana Users for Certain Medical Conditions in Florida
Based on Registered Users in States with Legalized Marijuana for Medical Conditions
Ranked by Estimated Florida Users

Year Report Patient Marijuana Population® Percent of Fl.orida FI.Orida
State Passed! Date Registry Users? ?2012) Population Estimates Estimates
(2012)* (2015)°

Colorado 2000 2013 Mandatory 109,622 5,187,582 2.11% 403,074 417,252
Oregon 1998 2013 Mandatory 58,484 3,899,353 1.50% 286,086 296,149
California 1996 2012 Voluntary 553,684 38,041,430 1.46% 277,624 287,389
Washington 1998 2013 None 99,943 6,897,012 1.45% 276,403 286,126
Michigan 2008 2013 Mandatory 128,441 9,883,360 1.30% 247,885 256,605
Hawaii 2000 2012 Mandatory 11,183 1,392,313 0.80% 153,205 158,594
Montana 2004 2013 Mandatory 7,150 1,005,141 0.71% 135,685 140,457
Arizona 2010 2013 Mandatory 38,564 6,553,255 0.59% 112,247 116,196
Rhode Island 2006 2013 Mandatory 4,849 1,050,292 0.46% 88,063 91,161
New Mexico 2007 2012 Mandatory 9,607 2,085,538 0.46% 87,866 90,957
Alaska 1998 2012 Mandatory 1,246 731,449 0.17% 32,493 33,636
Nevada 2000 2013 Mandatory 4,449 2,758,931 0.16% 30,759 31,841
Maine 1999 2012 Voluntary 1,455 1,329,192 0.11% 20,880 21,614
Vermont 2004 2012 Mandatory 559 626,011 0.09% 17,033 17,632
New Jersey 2010 2012 Mandatory 239 8,864,590 0.00% 514 532
Delaware 2011 2012 Mandatory 21 917,092 0.00% 437 452
Connecticut 2012 N/A Mandatory N/A 3,590,347 N/A N/A N/A
DC 2010 N/A Mandatory N/A 632,323 N/A N/A N/A
Massachusetts 2012 N/A Mandatory N/A 6,646,144 N/A N/A N/A
Note:

Florida 2015 estimates were developed by applying the 2012 use rates to Florida’s April 1, 2015 population. The rates are not age-adjusted.
The estimation assumes usage rates will remain the same.

Sources:

! ProCon.org, http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.answers.php?questioniD=001199, Last updated Dec 2012, accessed Sep 25, 2013.
% The Office of Economic and Demographic Research obtained 2013 data for Colorado, Oregon, Washington, Michigan, Montana, Hawaii,

Arizona, Rhode

Island, and Nevada (see notes below by state). The estimates for the remaining states were developed by the Marijuana

Policy Project and published by ProCon.org, http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/view.answers.php?questionID=001199, Last updated Dec

2012, accessed

Arizona:

Colorado:
Hawaii:
Maine:
Michigan:
Montana:
Nevada:

New Mexico:
Oregon:

Rhode Island:

Washington:

Sep 25, 2013.

This is a count of active qualifying patient cardholders (individuals) as of August 2013; application counts are higher than
cardholder counts because individuals can have more than one application; This count excludes caregiver and dispensary
counts; patients are often caregivers and/ or dispensaries; Arizona Department of Health; Arizona Medical Marijuana August
2013 Report, http://www.azdhs.gov/medicalmarijuana/documents/reports/arizona-medical-marijuana-end-of-year-report-
2012.pdf

This is a count of the number of patients with valid ID cards as of August 2013; Colorado Department of Public Health and
Environment, Medical Marijuana Registry; http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/ CDPHE-CHEIS/CBON/1251593017044
This is a count of registered patients as of June 2012, Hawaii Department of Public Safety, Narcotics Enforcement Division,
Annual Report 2012, http://dps.hawaii.gov/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/PSD-ANNUAL-REPORT-2012.pdf

Voluntary patient registry effective December 31, 2012. Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Medical Use of
Marijuana Program, 2012 Annual Report, http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/dIrs/mmm/annual-report.pdf

This is a count as of May 2013, Michigan Department of Health, http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-

35299 63294_63303_51869_60731---,00.html

This is a count of active patients as of September 2013, Montana Marijuana Program, Department of Public Health and
Human Services, http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/marijuanaprogram/mmpregistryinformation.pdf

This is a count of current patient cardholders as of October 2013, Nevada Health Division, Medical Marijuana Program,
http://health.nv.gov/PDFs/MMP/Reports/2013-09 _MedicalMarijuanaReport.pdf

This is a count as of August 2013, http://www.abgjournal.com/245506/news/new-light-shed-on-nm-medical-marijuana.html
Counts are as of October 1, 2013, Oregon Health Authority, Medical Marijuana Program,
http://public.health.oregon.gov/DiseasesConditions/ChronicDisease/MedicalMarijuanaProgram/Pages/data.aspx

This is a count of registered patient cardholders as of January 2013, Rhode Island Department of Health, Medical Marijuana
Program, http://www.health.ri.gov/publications/programreports/MedicalMarijuana2013.pdf

No patient registry. Estimate confirmed with Washington Department of Revenue. Washington does not have a registry, so
counts of medical marijuana patients are not kept.

% U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division, Annual Estimates of the Population for the United States, Regions, and States: July 1, 2012,
released December 2012.

* Florida’s official April 1, 2012 population estimate was used to generate these estimates.

® Florida Demographic Estimating Conference, July 2013, population projection for April 1, 2015 was used to generate these estimates.

10/17/2013
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Il. Disease prevalence?® (people alive with the disease)

Florida Prevalence of Selected Diseases

Medical Condition 2002-2012 2015
Cancer (2010)* 795,135 835,060
Hepatitis C (2002-2006) 300,000 326,289
HIV (2012) 130,000 134,573
Total cancer, hepatitis C, and HIV 1,225,135 1,295,922
Notes:

Estimates include cancer, hepatitis C, HIV, and ALS prevalence rates. Prevalence rates for the remaining specified conditions in the petition
initiative were not identified but they are expected to be relatively low.

! Estimates for cancer were developed by applying a national cancer prevalence rate to the Florida April 1, 2010 population.

Florida 2015 estimates were developed by applying the 2002- 2012 prevalence rates to Florida’s April 1, 2015 population. The rates are not

age-adjusted. The estimation assumes prevalence rates will remain the same.

Sources:
Cancer complete prevalence 2010 data, Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program (www.seer.cancer.gov). Prevalence

database: "US Estimated Complete Prevalence Counts on 1/1/2010". National Cancer Institute, DCCPS, Surveillance Research Program,
Data Modeling Branch, released April 2013, based on the November 2012 SEER data submission.

Hepatitis C complete prevalence 2002-2006 data, Florida Department of Health, Hepatitis C surveillance report 2002-2006, published 2009,
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/disease ctrl/aids/hep/5 Year Report Jan2 09 FINAL.pdf.

HIV prevalence 2012 data, Florida Department of Health, 2012 HIV/AIDS Annual report,
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/disease_ctrl/aids/trends/epiprof/HIVAIDS-annual-morbidity-2012.pdf.

Florida Demographic Estimating Conference, July 2013, population projection for April 1, 2015.

IIl. Disease incidence® (newly diagnosed with the disease)

Florida New Cases with Selected Diseases

Medical Condition 2011 2015

Cancer (2009) 103,783 109,658
Hepatitis C 100 104
HIV 6,046 6,315
ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease) 362 378
Total cancer, hepatitis C, HIV, & ALS 110,291 116,456

Notes: Estimates include cancer, hepatitis C, HIV, and ALS incidence rates. Incidence rates for the remaining specified conditions in the

petition initiative are not available.
Florida 2015 estimates were developed by applying the 2011 prevalence rates to Florida’s April 1, 2015 population. The rates are not age-

adjusted. The estimation assumes incidence rates will remain the same.

Sources:
Florida Department of Health, 2011 Annual Morbidity Report, http://www.doh.state.fl.us/disease_ctrl/epi/Morbidity Report/Section3.pdf.

Florida Department of Health, Florida ALS Surveillance Project.
Florida Demographic Estimating Conference, July 2013, population projection for April 1, 2015.

% Prevalence represents the proportion of people alive on a certain day who were diagnosed with the disease, regardless of how long ago the
diagnosis was made; National Cancer Institute definitions; complete prevalence: http://surveillance.cancer.gov/prevalence/complete.html;
limited prevalence: http://surveillance.cancer.gov/prevalence/limited.html

® Incidence: number of new cases during a given time period; National Institute of Health definition:
http://painconsortium.nih.gov/symptomresearch/chapter 19/sec4/cihs4pgl.htm
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IV. Use rates by cancer patients

Florida Medical Marijuana User Estimates
Based on Average Medical Marijuana Usage Rates
among Cancer Patients across Seven States

Population Categories 2011 2015
Population with cancer 795,135 835,060

Medical marijuana users 5,622 5,905
Total medical marijuana users 165,368 173,671
Note:

Using counts for medical marijuana use by cancer patients and cancer prevalence data across the seven states in the table below, an average
share of marijuana users among cancer patients was calculated. The share was applied to the Florida cancer population to estimate Florida
marijuana users with cancer. The average share that cancer patients represent among all marijuana users from the table below was applied
to the estimate of Florida marijuana users with cancer to estimate the total Florida population that may use medical marijuana. The estimation
assumes usage rates will remain the same.

Sources

100,000 Reasons: Medical Marijuana In The Big Apple, Appendix: Methodology, New York City Comptroller John C. Liu, August 2013.
Cancer complete prevalence 2010 data, Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program (www.seer.cancer.gov). Prevalence
database: "US Estimated Complete Prevalence Counts on 1/1/2010". National Cancer Institute, DCCPS, Surveillance Research Program,
Data Modeling Branch, released April 2013, based on the November 2012 SEER data submission.

Florida Demographic Estimating Conference, July 2013, population projection for April 1, 2015

Cancer Patients Using Medical Marijuana for Selected States

A B C D E F G

Cancer Patients Using Marijuana
Total Users Users of Medical

. . - . Cancer 0
% of Total U

State Population of M?dlca| Marijuana with patients % of All Cancer ool To a. sers

Marijuana Cancer Pati of Medical

atients .

Marijuana
Arizona 6,392,017 36,634 696 270,327 0.26% 1.90%
Colorado 5,029,196 106,817 2,843 212,692 1.34% 2.70%
Hawaii 1,360,301 11,164 152 57,529 0.26% 2.00%
Michigan 9,883,640 124,131 2,526 417,993 0.60% 2.10%
Nevada 2,700,551 4,173 143 114,210 0.13% 3.40%
Oregon 3,831,074 55,937 2,332 162,021 1.44% 4.20%
Rhode Island 1,052,567 4,849 354 44,515 0.80% 7.30%
Total/ Average 30,249,346 343,705 9,046 1,279,287 0.71% 3.40%

Source:
100,000 Reasons: Medical Marijuana In The Big Apple, Appendix: Methodology, New York City Comptroller John C. Liu, August 2013.
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V. Deaths from specified diseases (as primary cause of death)

Florida Deaths by Selected Causes

Primary Cause of Death 2012 2015

Cancer 41,696 43,235
Glaucoma N/A N/A
HIV 923 957
AIDS N/A N/A
Viral Hepatitis 523 542
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) N/A N/A
Crohn's disease 89 92
Parkinson's disease 1,824 1,891
Multiple sclerosis 178 185
Total 45,233 46,903

N/A — not available

Note:

Data for hepatitis C only were not available; data for viral hepatitis were used instead.

Florida 2015 estimates were developed by applying the 2012 cause of death rates to Florida’s April 1, 2015 population. The rates are not age-

adjusted. The estimation assumes death rates will remain the same.

Sources:
Florida Department of Health, Florida Vital Statistics Annual Report 2012.
Florida Demographic Estimating Conference, July 2013, population projection for April 1, 2015.

VI. Self-identified marijuana users from the 2011 National Health and Drug Use Survey
(This approach was used to estimate the potential number of recreational marijuana users in the fiscal impact
statement for the Washington State initiative to legalize recreational marijuana)

Florida Self-Reported Marijuana Use!

Marijuana
Age Group Users 2011 2015
Population 18-24 31.19% 544,678 566,525
Population 25+ 7.61% 1,001,331 1,052,692
Total 1,546,009 1,619,217

" Has used marijuana once or more times during the past year.

Note:
Marijuana use rates for 18-25 and 26+ groups for Florida for 2011 were applied to Florida’s April 1, 2011 and 2015 population

estimate/projection for ages 18-24 and 25+ groups, respectively. The estimation assumes usage rates will remain the same.

Sources:

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration, Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality, National Survey on Drug Use
and Health, 2010 and 2011 (2010 Data - Revised March 2012), http://www.samhsa.gov/data/NSDUH/2k11State/NSDUHsaeTOC2011.htm.
Florida Demographic Database, August 2013 based on results from the Florida Demographic Estimating Conference, February 2013 and the

Florida Demographic Estimating Conference, July 2013.
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