## SB 1552 - Law Enforcement Activities

This bill amends s. 775.21, F.S. (sexual predator registration) and s. 943.0435, F.S. (sexual offender registration) with the same language. First, it adds that for these groups the current requirement of reporting a change in vehicles owned can be made "through the department's online system." It also adds (in bold that) one who "intends to establish a permanent, temporary, or transient residence in another state or jurisdiction other than the State of Florida or intends to travel outside of the United States shall report in person to the sheriff of the county of current residence at least 48 hours before the date he or she intends to leave this state to establish residence in another state or jurisdiction or at least 21 days before the date he or she intends to travel outside of the United States. Any travel that is not known...48 hours before he or she intends to establish a residence in another state or jurisdiction or 21 days before the departure date for travel outside of the United States must be reported to the sheriff's office as soon as possible before departure." Current language states that establishing residence in another state/jurisdiction would have to occur within 48 hours, where this new language requires at least 48 hours. The 21 days before departure outside of the United States is currently only required if the stay is 5 days or more. However, it does permit the opportunity to report to the sheriff's office as soon as possible before departure if this travel was not known by the sexual predator/offender before these time periods. Furthermore, it adds more detail for international travel, including flight numbers, airports of departure and return, cruise ports of departure and return, as well as intended country of travel. Currently, only a single flight number, airport of departure, cruise port of departure, and country of residence are required. This new language has the potential to expand the pool of sexual predators/offenders committing registration offenses.

Further amending s. 943.0435, F.S., this bill allows sex offenders to petition for relief of registration if they are only required to register based on a requirement to register in another state and if their registration is considered confidential from being disclosed to the public in that state. This could reduce the number of sex offenders required to register in Florida.

Per FDLE, as of June 2019, there were a total of 31,143 sexual predators and sexual offenders who were not incarcerated in the state of Florida. Per DOC, in FY 18-19, there were 536 new commitments to prison for sexual predator/offender registration offenses. It is not known how many offenders will or won't be charged with these offenses under the amended language.

**CONFERENCE ADOPTED ESTIMATE: Positive/Negative Indeterminate** 

Requested by: Senate